Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Belfast rape trial - all 4 found not guilty Mod Note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,737 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

That's always a reliable classic. Breathtaking really.

According to Snopes that's a fairly accurate statement.

I thought Snopes was supposed to be non-partisan.

People were linking to it constantly during the Trump/Clinton election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Where is this 'rape culture' that fool Coppinger is protesting about?

Also if these consent classes ever did come in it should be for both genders and not just young lads who the radfems seem to think have no control over their sexual urges.

Hatred of women in Ireland has been passed from father and son down for generations.

That's quite the claim. What leads you to believe this is the case?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

We are seen as an alcoholic, misogynistic nation.
    You do know other countries don-t treat women the same way that we do?
    Ive lived in Spain for a considerable length of time. I have lived in different countries (teaching English). Spain is known for having a macho culture. I was treated with 10 times more respect in Spain than I was in Ireland.
    Youve got to look at ourselves. Hatred of women in Ireland has been passed from father and son down for generations. How do we change it? Do you want to continue on like this? Teach the next generation to hate?

Honestly with that sort of a warped perspective I would suggest you need help in dealing with some serious issues.

There's opinion - and strong opinion - and then there's outright detachment from reality.

That's a new level of fantasy even by the standards set on boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭RuMan

Do people really not see how Ireland is preceived abroad.
    Had anyone been abroad for a considerable length of time, that is talking on here?
    Ive lived in Spain for a considerable length of time. I have lived in different countries (teaching English). Spain is known for having a macho culture. I was treated with 10 times more respect in Spain than I was in Ireland.
    Youve got to look at ourselves. Hatred of women in Ireland has been passed from father and son down for generations. How do we change it? Do you want to continue on like this? Teach the next generation to hate?

Balderdash.
    Most countries know little about us and even less about perceived treatment of woman.
    U2 and Guinness is about the extent of it. Woman in ireland are treated extremely well in international and historical terms.

Our we moving from MOPE ( most oppressed people ever) to MOWE?

I suspect you are taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,498 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Had anyone been abroad for a considerable length of time, that is talking on here?

What utter horse manure.
    Hatred of women has not been passed down from father to son.

The vast majority, VAST majority of men have nothing but respect for women.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    That's quite the claim. What leads you to believe this is the case?

desperation to be outraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

RuMan wrote: »
    Balderdash.
    Most countries know little about us and even less about perceived treatment of woman.
    U2 and Guinness is about the extent of it. Woman in ireland are treated extremely well in international and historical terms.

Our we moving from MOPE ( most oppressed people ever) to MOWE?

Hatred of women eh? Just trying to think of our recent presidents here...

Father's teaching sons to hate women? Can't remember my dad ever telling us that or any of his brothers having hatred towards other women.
    Some crap posted on here this past few days tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ah yes, the greatest concern of the Irish Liberal: what will the neighbors think of us?

This is a disgusting opinion. And says more about what you think about men than what you actually believe men think about women.

Actually, no, it says more about you.

I really hope you don't pass this anti-male bile down to any members of your family. It is a dangerous line of logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,938 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

RuMan wrote: »
    Balderdash.

i think its conclusive now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,937 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Would it be mad to close the thread ?

The hysteriameter has gone way off the scale.

It is almost at a stage this is getting way more energy than say the efforts to restoring the assembly in the North.
    People are not even as energised about homelessness.

Lock the thread ?

It is almost at a stage this is getting way more energy than say the efforts to restoring the assembly in the North.

Lock the thread ?

You don't actually have to read or post in it?

Why enter a thread to say you don't want to read the thread!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 755 ✭✭✭NAGDEFI

I was taught the exact opposite as a child and teenager by my dad. Utmost respect for women and gentlemanly conduct.

You don't actually have to read or post in it?

True.

But I've seen threads locked - way way less defamatory.

Some of the posts are pure hatred on both side.

Lock the thread ?

No.

it's important people see how off the rails certain social groups have become.

Its important to see exactly what online hysterica can create.

Witch trials 4.0

True.

But I've seen threads locked - way way less defamatory.

Some of the posts are pure hatred on both side.

Hatred leads to the dark side.

No.

it's important people see how off the rails certain social groups have become.

Its important to see exactly what online hysterica can create.

Witch trials 4.0

Ok so :D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Sidebaro

The vast majority, VAST majority of men have nothing but respect for women.

I would question that given what I've seen on this thread, if you were to equate the ratio here to the ratio of the male population of Ireland. Women disbelieved when they say they've been raped (not the trial, a poster on boards), the woman in the trial labelled a slut and a liar, 'all lads talk like that, what can you do?', etc. I know that you'll say that's only a few but it's enough that I would question the claim of VAST majority. I know you'll say that women are bad too, of course they are but that's not what's being discussed. If you are blind to how ignorant a lot of comments directed at women have been then fine, I guess you don't think there's a problem but a lot of my female friends, not ones who protest or post hashtags, are intimidated by males in general. A lot of the time it's unwarranted but sometimes their fears are proved right and it's not the vast majority of the time. The flat out refusal of this, as if all posters only know good and honest men, is as unhelpful as it is expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Don’t feed it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,520 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

The entire fallacy of "love" and "romance" is based initially on sex, and not on connections in any other way. Men sleep with women first then decide if they want to get to know them beyond that.

Those who aren't very good at the "merry go round at the carnival" (to quote the defendants) get left behind. This case proves that quite probably they are better off.

Sorry for adding annoying facts...but if men are having sex before getting to know someone...by definition doesn't that mean there are also women having sex with men they don't know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

GreeBo wrote: »
    Sorry for adding annoying facts...but if men are having sex before getting to know someone...by definition doesn't that mean there are also women having sex with men they don't know?

There ya go again with your logical thinking and stuff.

Have you learnt nothing??

:D:D

Sidebaro wrote: »
    I would question that given what I've seen on this thread, if you were to equate the ratio here to the ratio of the male population of Ireland. Women disbelieved when they say they've been raped (not the trial, a poster on boards), the woman in the trial labelled a slut and a liar, 'all lads talk like that, what can you do?', etc. I know that you'll say that's only a few but it's enough that I would question the claim of VAST majority. I know you'll say that women are bad too, of course they are but that's not what's being discussed. If you are blind to how ignorant a lot of comments directed at women have been then fine, I guess you don't think there's a problem but a lot of my female friends, not ones who protest or post hashtags, are intimidated by males in general. A lot of the time it's unwarranted but sometimes their fears are proved right and it's not the vast majority of the time. The flat out refusal of this, as if all posters only know good and honest men, is as unhelpful as it is expected.

BS. And since you say you know how im going to reply, hey, boom. And your friends intimidated by 'males in general'. I don't believe this is true.

BTW, not blind or distracted. But maybe you are so distorted and hatred towards males, maybe you need to reflect on your own personal opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 755 ✭✭✭NAGDEFI

C__MC wrote: »
    Stalin’s show trials in Russia wouldn’t have a look in

In all fairness the Olding/Jackson trial can't be compared to a Stalin show trial where the innocent victim is tortured and choked with piano wire after. 1,000s of people liquidated.. not a great comparison:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Sidebaro wrote: »
    If you are blind to how ignorant a lot of comments directed at women have been then fine, I guess you don't think there's a problem but a lot of my female friends, not ones who protest or post hashtags, are intimidated by males in general.
    Jaysus. You'd swear that women were equally as adept at making cutting comments bout the appearance of the opposite sex. The difference being that if the woman says something about a man's appearance they are expected to "suck it up", if a man makes a comment about a woman's appearance it's "everybody down to HR for the afternoon".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

What do you think - Will Aodhan issue a full retraction and apology?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 pupaxxx

I was on the fence on this whole debate but this just got me.

I am a foreign woman living in Ireland for many many years, I STRONGLY disagree with this. Irish men are not what you describe. It's actually quite the opposite, they are very family and friend orientated. All of them are devoted to "Irish Mammies", sisters, daughters, nans and all other females in their lives. Yes, it is quite hard for a woman in work place as there is still prejudice that women should be saying at home, but that's a different discussion.

Could you give an example of the hatred?

One rotten apple, does not make them all bad... That's all, I'll say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,520 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I blame the mothers.

GreeBo wrote: »
    I blame the mothers.

Irish mammies are awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,377 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

What do you think - Will Aodhan issue a full retraction and apology?

What did he say so bad that he is getting sued, there is worse tweets

Hatred leads to the dark side.

Was listening to some of the stuff on TV3 last night.

The hatred for men is scary ****.
    One guest - genuinley you would fear meeting a women in a sexual way at all. You would be at serious risk if you made any move at all.

Like - some of these people don't know what sort of violence men face growing up.
    In parts of Dublin - answering "have you got a smoke bud" wrong - can lead to a serious head kicking.

Ian O'Doherty (I know a wind up merchant himself) put it well - when he said, common sense these days is a radical position.