€1500 for a simple task

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I got stung by this scam, one of the 2 rolexes turned out to be fake!! I was livid!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Brian Lighthouse

rubadub wrote: »
    I got stung by this scam, one of the 2 rolexes turned out to be fake!! I was livid!!

For real?
    How did it play out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,917 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

For real?
    How did it play out?

Read that again

nah, I can't see it. It's a joke, but I'm lost.

I was wondering if that was the end game - selling the watches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,917 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

nah, I can't see it. It's a joke, but I'm lost.

If I could be so bold
    rubadub wrote: »

Aha!
    I still don't get it - is this based on pronouncing that line in a Dublin accent?
    Anyway, forget about the joke.
    Anyone know how the scam works?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,168 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Rotten12 wrote: »
    Stupid question cop on

Improve your posting standards if you want to continue posting here.

Everyone else - thread is going wildly off-track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,565 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Why no just go collect the suitcase. Give no ID, or a fake one.
    Could be real, stranger things are true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭fergus1001

a simple aul salad !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

lets call a spade a spade here , who in their right mind would answer such an email, ? delete the minute you see it.i

Surely this should be in After Hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,863 ✭✭✭touts

I don't know lads. This thread might have potential. It has "I found a safe" written all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Aha!
    I still don't get it - is this based on pronouncing that line in a Dublin accent?

It's an interesting but obvious variation on one of the standard scams out there

https://www.scamwatch.gov.au/types-of-scams/unexpected-money/nigerian-scams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

OP at least begin the fore play.

A few mins with photo shop and you could be anyone.

Might I suggest :D

Michael D Higgins,
    Áras an Uachtaráin,
    Phoenix Park,
    Dublin 8
    D08 E1W3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 The Dench

"Miggeldy Higens"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Moved to AH. Please note that the AH charter now applies

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Read op’s post in this voice for some reason

https://youtu.be/tXzUde5DMUo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Probably a Russian diplomat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Typically what happens here is that you are given bank drafts, told to deposit them in your account, take the money out as cash and transfer it via western union.

3 weeks later the draft comes back as forged/stolen and the money removed from your account, meaning that you're down €15,000 and have no way of tracing the person you sent it to.

The whole shpiel about cash in a suitcase is just a hook, to make it seem like nothing can go wrong. If you were to arrange to the meet them, the guy will turn up with some story about not having all the money today, but here's a bank draft for some of the money, he'll have another one for you in two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I wonder how many people fall for these scams. Probably a surprisingly high amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

How?

KNowing your name and address doesnt help a scammer all that much...

If it did every sammer would just smash open a post box and have 100s of names and address

Exactly, or just use the voting register. Hundreds of thousands of names and addresses at your fingertips.

A copy of a utility bill etc as proof of address / a photographic ID is a whole other kettle of fish ....
    a copy of either your id or proof of address.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

brendan17 wrote: »

Thanks, and ensure to keep this matter in the most confidential manner.

Yours Faithfully,

<name removed>

Jaysus brendan, this is confidential!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Waste their time OP, give them phony papers.

Aha!

Jesus Brian, no offence but I hope you never get one of these emails !!

:p;)

How?

KNowing your name and address doesnt help a scammer all that much...

If it did every sammer would just smash open a post box and have 100s of names and address

Getting the name and address is a red herring, it's just a way to further get the trust of the target here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

God you people are so untrusting and cynical. so much for days gone by were you could leave your door open, have the local buy run down the butcher and buy a turkey and take a man who has fallen on hard times on his word, who just wants his suitcase of money back.

brendan17 wrote:
    Thanks, and ensure to keep this matter in the most confidential manner.

Yours Faithfully,

<name removed>
    Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Jaysus brendan, this is confidential!

The writer of the letter is "Mr Hari" :pac:
    As soon as I hear from you I will give you the lanlords number and email so you can contact him. You just tell him that his former tenant, Mr Hari ask you to collect his suitcase.

Related to the Leeuwarden Hari's perhaps ;)

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mata_Hari

Maybe he is really a German/ Russian double agent and your mission is .... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Seems legit. Go for it, sure what has your friend to lose.