Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€1500 for a simple task

• 24-03-2018 8:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1

Long time reader of this website. First time poster.

A friend of mine was almost caught out by what i believe to be a scam online.
    She replied to an ad on a website for someone asking for them to do a simple task for €1,500. (seems too goo to be true right?)

Anyway she replied for more information and below is the reply that she got.

Im guessing the they are looking for the identification documents and intend to use it somehow to scam you.
    What could they potentially do with copies of these documents? Havmt come across this particular scam before. I have of course warned her to stay well away from it!!!

Hello,

Further to my message of few days ago regarding a small job which i intend to offer you.
    I will pay you good salary/reward you with €1,500 (I mean, i will pay you A "one-off" payment of €1,500 ) if you can do this small task/small job on my behalf.

My English is not so good, so please take patience to read it.
    Hope you will understand what I wrote below and do this small task/small job for me.

I am in a perplexing awkward situation that is beyond me in which a difficult choice have to be made by me and i therefore looking for someone i can trust to do this below errand/task on my behalf and I will reward/pay you handsomely for this small below task/small job below. Explanation is below.

I came to Ireland few months ago from the Philippine with tourist visa. I have Irish and German Shengel visa which enable me to travel around Europe. I went to Germany from Dublin to attend friendly Poker tournament.

Unfortunately I had an argument at a Casino while I was in Germany with one of their staff which attracted German Police and the Police handover me to their immigration and was eventually deported three days later because my Shengel German visa already expired. The German immigration did not even allow me to travel back to Ireland to take my suitcase and my other possessions in my vacation rental apartment in Dublin.

I’m kindly asking you if you can assist me go to my former flat and pick up my suitcase (is just one suitcase). I will give you the landlord contacts as soon as you reply. I do not own him any rent at all.

I would have just forgotten about the suitcase if not that I have some substantial amount ( €15,700 ) of cash inside it and high value two Rolex diamond watches, i bought each of them €7,000

I tried to contact my former landlord but he just replied to my email once that he is hospitalize then he wrote me again that he is traveling -too many stories too many excuses from him. I did not disclose to him that I have cash money inside my suitcase to avoid him being tempted to taken my cash money.

Please you do not need to be worried if that my money is legal. It is my money and i made it from legal source. The source of the money is from casino poker gambling. I am a gambler, to be precise a poker player which i am highly addicted to and pretty good in it. I made this money from casino gambling. Casinos in Germany pay winners cash, any winning that don't exceed £3,000 they pay winners in cash.

That was how i have been saving my winning cash money gradually for the few weeks i attended some Poker playing event in Dublin while i was there there in yr country and i kept my winning cash in my suitcase because i cannot bank it due to my tourist visa. The bank over there in your country required that someone must be residence (must have a residence permit and proof of address) in order to be able to open a bank account. So at that time i therefore have no option than to keep the money in my room inside my suitcase.

My plan was to convert the cash into expensive luxuries jewelries that is by going to several shops and use the cash money to buy jewelries. Which I would have easily sold (convert it to cash) when I arrive back to my home country. Which i have already bought two Rolex watches, which is also inside the my suitcase.

I am pretty good in poker playing, I play poker for a living, I am addicted and obsessed to casino gambling.

I play every day live at casino 14 to 15 hours every day most time i win and sometime i loss. I won decent amount of money at the casino almost
    every day while in Dublin before travelling to Germany for casino poker event.

But unfortunately most time I will lose it all back. My big win would be gone over the course of a few days because i always replay/re-betting big
    with my winning in order to target to win millions but loss it all again.

But manage to save some of my winning which i kept in my room in my suitcase.

I hope you will understand my perplexing ugly situation and you will use a Godly and conscience mind to assist me as a fellow human being.

My only friend that would have help me is not reliable at all, is heavily addicted to gambling and hard drugs so there is absolutely no doubt in my mind
    that he will take the next available cab/taxi to the casino and bet and Squandered away the whole money.

I will be very happy if i can arrange this with you.

Please reply early to enable me determine if i should start looking for someone else because my landlord have given me deadline till two weeks’ time that he will give the suitcase to whoever I sent to him. He said my suitcase is intact has kept it for me.

In case you are not able to do this task for me, may be you are not in the Country at moment or so, could you perhaps introduce someone else to me?

As soon as I hear from you I will give you the lanlords number and email so you can contact him. You just tell him that his former tenant, Mr Hari ask you to collect his suitcase.

Once you get the suitcase from him, then open it, open the bottom. The bottom/floor of the suitcase have a zip, simply open the zip the cash is in an envelope to the bottom/floor of the suitcase and two Rolex watches also inside an envelope on the floor of the suitcase. The total cash money in the envelope is €15,700

As soon as you get the suitcase , i will then tell you how to send the money to at the post office. Post office in Dublin have a western union money transfer. The limit to send per week is 5000 euro. Which means you will send all the cash to me weekly -at least with three weeks (that is 5000 weekly).

Take 1500 as payment for doing this small task for me. And transfer the rest to me at the Western Union post office. Western Union is cash transaction (the only accept cash). You just fill up a small form and give the money 5000 each translation.

Once again i will be most grateful if i can arrange this task with you.

Could you please send me any id or any proof of address for my own security. Just a copy of either your id or proof of address.

Thanks, and ensure to keep this matter in the most confidential manner.

Yours Faithfully,

<name removed>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Id run like hell. OR, do it anyway in conjunction with a friendly guard. Cover your back, but it couldnt be legit. There has to be some scam in there somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Nollog

These scam emails don't half waffle do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭RockDesk

They could set up credit cards in her name and stick her with the debt..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

This has SCAM written all over it.
    And no mention of how the person wants to get the two watches back?
    Why trust a complete stranger more than the landlord he/she has already had dealings with?
    Very dodgy to get involved with something like this. Smells off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Mattie500

Identity theft.... all sorts of trouble to come out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Anyone have a fake id?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭corks finest

/\/ollog wrote: »
    These scam emails don't half waffle do they?
    Nigeria calling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I'd say this is totally legit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I can't believe that you never came across this kind of scam before!
    Ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Obviously it's legit. Sure what else could it be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

the same person emailed me to tell me I won the Nigerian lotto 5 times in the last few weeks

I'm a very luck chap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

brendan17 wrote:
    Hi, Long time reader of this website. First time poster.

These scams have been discussed for several years on boards. I'd advise reading more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dog walker 1234

I think the OP knows it is a scam.

They want to know how the scam works after you provide the ID document?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

it's obviously an identity theft scam, any time you get offered money that seems to good to be true and they want you to give them something as collateral it's an old scam, forget the name of it but it just preys on greed.

buddy of mine got stung with something like this as a teenager, hard to recall all the details but some guy asked him to hold onto a sum of cash, then told him something like 'i want you to guard my money like yours' and got him to put his own money into some little bag with like a grand the guy had in cash. he saw the guy's cash but somehow the guy switched it with a bag containing nothing but newspaper or something. worst part was that my buddy went to the nearest bus and jumped on it, ended up in a rough part of town with no money lol.

it's definitely a scam for the ID which is basically the collateral. probably the part of him being a poker addict is true, and he can sign up for poker sites using the ID info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Scams like this are very clever.

They are written in a way that anyone with an ounce of common sense just delete it without thinking.

All they need is one or two suckers to make it worthwhile and by getting rid of all normal thinking people, anyone that replies is easily conned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Ok, but why even ask what happens. Has anybody on boards ever supplied information to an email like this. If not, how can we advise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I think the OP knows it is a scam.

You have huge debts ran up in your name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

How?

KNowing your name and address doesnt help a scammer all that much...

If it did every sammer would just smash open a post box and have 100s of names and address

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,865 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Suspect it will involve sending some money first to show you are reliable or some crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dog walker 1234

Anyone else have any ideas how the scam work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

How?

KNowing your name and address doesnt help a scammer all that much...

If it did every sammer would just smash open a post box and have 100s of names and address

Having a copy of someone's legit ID or utility bill (proof of address) would be a completely different matter.

The sting ...
    Could you please send me any id or any proof of address for my own security. Just a copy of either your id or proof of address.

Once recieved your ID is easily copied and faked. Proof of address letter such and utility bills can be used to apply for ccards etc

Though I reckon that spiel is just to get you signed up - the fleecing by a money transfer scam is all too common

It's a hook line and sinker job imo - real you in Get you caught then bam ...

Anyone else have any ideas how the scam work?

Try here

http://www.419eater.com

Some of the very funniest storys on the internet ...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

gozunda wrote: »
    Having a copy of someone's legit ID or utility bill (proof of address) would be a completely different matter.

The sting ...

Once recieved your ID is easily copied and faked. Proof of address letter such and utility bills can be used to apply for ccards etc

Though I reckon that spiel is just to get you signed up - the fleecing by a money transfer scam is all too common

It's a hook line and sinker job imo - real you in Get you caught then bam ...
    knowing a place where you can sell legit details to those that make fake passports ids, is a gold mine business.

can believe there are such gullible people believing someone would store 20k, rolexes from excuse the pun. piss pour country, and would try to get in touch with some random person over email :pac:

if your friend wants i have a deal for 20mill in gold,thats needs to clear taxes will give her/him 10pc cut :D wu/mg/btc accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Rezident

I play every day live at casino 14 to 15 hours every day most time i win

Sounds legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭ironwalk

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Scams like this are very clever.

They are written in a way that anyone with an ounce of common sense just delete it without thinking.

All they need is one or two suckers to make it worthwhile and by getting rid of all normal thinking people, anyone that replies is easily conned.

Absolutely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

What's the consumer issue? If you''re greedy enough to bite, you deserve all you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Even at first mention of the watches, I was like WTF? Why would you even repond to the ad, let alone, getting as far as the email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Alanhooly

How can anyone believe even for a second that these kind of things are any way legitimate!? It's actually unbelievable haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

nobody who doesnt have special needs believes them.

The OP was asking what we think the scam is.

Nobody has an idea beyond a guess at a step2..maybe involving identity theft thus far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Brian Lighthouse

I think this is a straightforward confidence trick based on the greed of the mark.

The hook is €1500 handy cash money.

You ask for more info

We have the gist from the email - there's cash and watches lying in wait, please send them on and keep 1500.

Okay, the sender of the email can't be acting alone, as a lot of people will go to the address and keep everything and not send them on.

So enter the 'landlord' when you arrive.

Landlord will spin a tale - fecker owes me money blah blah, I'm keeping the cash he can come and get it blah blah.

Not sure of the next step, could be I'll sell you the watches, but I'm going to take a punt on this scenario.

You arrive, landlord says there's 15 grand here. He owes me 5k, that's five each left over. Now I'm not willing to give you the cash until you can prove to me that you are good with money yourself. Let's go to your bank and withdraw 1500 (he's going to pay you that anyway) that'll show me you will not shove it up your nose or waste it another way - I've worked hard all my life etc etc.

So off you go to the bank withdraw 1500, hand to him, he says okay I'll get you the cash, walks around the back of the building and is gone.

I could be totally off the mark (pun) here, but there is a current scam like that hitting car parks working on a found wallet with lots of cash, three con-artists and one mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I got stung by this scam, one of the 2 rolexes turned out to be fake!! I was livid!!

rubadub wrote: »
    I got stung by this scam, one of the 2 rolexes turned out to be fake!! I was livid!!

For real?
    How did it play out?

For real?
    How did it play out?

Read that again

nah, I can't see it. It's a joke, but I'm lost.

I was wondering if that was the end game - selling the watches.

nah, I can't see it. It's a joke, but I'm lost.

If I could be so bold
    rubadub wrote: »

Aha!
    I still don't get it - is this based on pronouncing that line in a Dublin accent?
    Anyway, forget about the joke.
    Anyone know how the scam works?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,182 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Rotten12 wrote: »
    Stupid question cop on

Improve your posting standards if you want to continue posting here.

Everyone else - thread is going wildly off-track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Why no just go collect the suitcase. Give no ID, or a fake one.
    Could be real, stranger things are true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

a simple aul salad !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

lets call a spade a spade here , who in their right mind would answer such an email, ? delete the minute you see it.i

Surely this should be in After Hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

I don't know lads. This thread might have potential. It has "I found a safe" written all over it.

Aha!
    I still don't get it - is this based on pronouncing that line in a Dublin accent?
    Anyway, forget about the joke.
    Anyone know how the scam works?

It's an interesting but obvious variation on one of the standard scams out there

https://www.scamwatch.gov.au/types-of-scams/unexpected-money/nigerian-scams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

OP at least begin the fore play.

A few mins with photo shop and you could be anyone.

Might I suggest :D

Michael D Higgins,
    Áras an Uachtaráin,
    Phoenix Park,
    Dublin 8
    D08 E1W3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 The Dench

"Miggeldy Higens"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Moved to AH. Please note that the AH charter now applies

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Read op’s post in this voice for some reason

https://youtu.be/tXzUde5DMUo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Probably a Russian diplomat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Typically what happens here is that you are given bank drafts, told to deposit them in your account, take the money out as cash and transfer it via western union.

3 weeks later the draft comes back as forged/stolen and the money removed from your account, meaning that you're down €15,000 and have no way of tracing the person you sent it to.

The whole shpiel about cash in a suitcase is just a hook, to make it seem like nothing can go wrong. If you were to arrange to the meet them, the guy will turn up with some story about not having all the money today, but here's a bank draft for some of the money, he'll have another one for you in two days.