Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

While it's certainly great to stay up, it's very hard to be too excited, second best for the vast majority - only for a quickfire start we would have been beaten soundly.

A big month's training needed now for the galway match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Did a Dublin on it at the end there. Caused a little flashpoint to slow down the kickout.
    was a joke

ref should have added on at least 30 seconds morw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

You'd really have to wonder will the clubs see them at all for April?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

motm conor loftus from the mid west team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    was a joke

ref should have added on at least 30 seconds morw

Be interesting to see what Fr tod makes of this tactic by the mighty mayo.hes usually over on the Galway page commenting on melees and incidents.probably be grand when it’s home grown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

Delighted for the equaliser. Serves them right i a way. Murphy went down easy. Id nearly say contactlessly, and free awarded (wrong decision imo) then sideline support came out for murphy and told him to stay down - grand if your winning well, but came back to haunt them today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Was close all the way imo. Donegal started messing and trying to slow the game at 20 minutes to go after a Mayo spurt, big mistake and cost them the game.

Very exciting nonetheless. Much better than previous matches this year. The cunning plan is still rolling along. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Squatman wrote: »
    Delighted for the equaliser. Serves them right i a way. Murphy went down easy. Id nearly say contactlessly, and free awarded (wrong decision imo) then sideline support came out for murphy and told him to stay down - grand if your winning well, but came back to haunt them today

What about the weasel running into flynn and falling in a heap like a lad hit by lightning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

What about the weasel running into flynn and falling in a heap like a lad hit by lightning.

What about him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭The Assistinator

Squatman wrote: »
    While I’m sure your delighted with the draw, it wasn’t the slowing the game down that caused Donegal to lose the game it was Mc bearty not slowing the game that caused them to lose it.
    Murphy did what any player in that position does at least he wasn’t looking for a penalty cough cough Aidan.:p

While I’m sure your delighted with the draw, it wasn’t the slowing the game down that caused Donegal to lose the game it was Mc bearty not slowing the game that caused them to lose it.
    Murphy did what any player in that position does at least he wasn’t looking for a penalty cough cough Aidan.:p

The messing about at 20 min to go cost donegal a point or two, qed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

Magical finish

Fair play to O Donoghue
    Took on the score whilst the forwards were passing backwards
    Andy was very poor today

Loftus kicked some big frees from long range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭The Assistinator

Oldtree wrote: »
    The messing about at 20 min to go cost donegal a point or two, qed.
    Don’t think you can ultimately count that as it was the last attack where the equaliser came from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Other than the obvious the only positives to take from this league campaign is the introduction of O'Donoghue and hopefully the coming of age of Loftus. Let's hope he can find some consistency now as he has all the attributes to do so...

Galway-Mayo in May will be some showdown regardless of the perceived form of both sides. Great to have 3 Connacht teams in Division 1 next year too

Don’t think you can ultimately count that as it was the last attack where the equaliser came from

Ultimately, they were in a strong position coming off a Mayo spurt and should have had a point.

Lost points mean lost matches as mayo followers know only too well.

Drives me mental when we do the hand waving on opposition kickouts other than tight man marking, lost opportunities there too, imo.

Oldtree wrote: »
    Ultimately, they were in a strong position coming off a Mayo spurt and should have had a point.

Lost points mean lost matches as mayo followers know only too well.

Drives me mental when we do the hand waving on opposition kickouts other than tight man marking, lost opportunities there too, imo.

Murphy kicked some crazy ball last 10 minutes

km79 wrote: »
    Murphy kicked some crazy ball last 10 minutes

Aido had one or two too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Just spent half an hour shopping in lidl, traffic still gridlocked.😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

PARlance wrote: »
    Yerra, never in doubt.

Haha, was saying that myself to whoever would listen :)

Many, many flaws today but **** me we have some balls. Huge support again today as well. I never thought we could have a better escape than we had than in Cork a few years ago but what do I know. I'm only sorry I didn't back the draw.

**** division two :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

That was tight.

Onwards and upwards for the championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

PARlance wrote: »
    Yerra, never in doubt.

Many, many flaws today but **** me we have some balls. Huge support again today as well. I never thought we could have a better escape than we had than in Cork a few years ago but what do I know. I'm only sorry I didn't back the draw.

Did they stay until the end then? ;)

Congrats, felicitations, jolly good show etc etc.

Div 1 just wouldn't be the same without ye.

Jesus Christ, what an ending !

Roll on the summer now....that's presuming you aren't all on trolleys in Letterkenny Generals Cardiac Wing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

I'm not buying the argument McBrearty lost it at the end. We had 4 goal chances (O'Connor, Moran, Parsons, Loftus), they had none. Andy kicked 3-4 easy wides. We should have won the game comfortably IMO. Michael Murphy was running a one man show for Donegal I felt. Well deserved to get that at the end and with so many men yet to come back for championship I'm feeling pretty positive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Also, in one criticism of Mayo and Rochford ultimately. I thought it was very strange to have Crowe on McBrearty in his first proper campaign, McBrearty is one of the best in the country!

It's one way of learning, and putting a player under some serious pressure. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

What did mcbreaty score doesxany one no. He is some player but he can’t do it all on his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

What a finish,Kevin Mc comes up with a winner score off his bad foot.Another great outing from the Knockmore man,he was everywhere as usual linking up the play.He never goes hiding when the going gets tough.

Great start out the gate but Donegal played some great stuff to get back into the game.We were all at sea in the middle for periods,mystifying why Aidan wasn't put on Michael Murphy for the kickouts.

Great perseverance on the part of the lads,I genuinely thought we were a goner.

Step up Conor Loftus and Eoin O Donoghue,super performances.

Conor recovered well after that early missed free,kicked some vital pressure frees and a point from play to boot.He showed very well for the ball in addition.A peach of a ball inside to Andy in the first half.

Young Eoin offers us so much going forward and kicked that lovely point.Stephen Coen won some important kickouts.I thought David Clarke short kickouts largely worked a treat.

We'd plenty of decent goal chances but one has to feel sorry for Donegal,it was a game they'd probably feel they should have closed out.

Feeling good going into a fallow period and work on all those walking wounded before May 13th.

Sit back and watch the league final,it should make for fascinating viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

In fairness, there's no point lying. 2 points down and I got it completely wrong... I had told the brother that it would be Paddy Durcan to kick the equaliser.

I thought he did ok............we have found a few players during the league but sadly no forwards !
    Having said that I think Conor loftus has a longer range on his frees than collision
    And he liked some pressure ones today

Listen out for the mayo news podcast this week.......one of us will be on it and might even call out Marc o se on his comments ;)

Quiet enough on here tonight ...........few lads getting worried maybe ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭muddle84

km79 wrote: »
    I thought he did ok............we have found a few players during the league but sadly no forwards !
    Having said that I think Conor loftus has a longer range on his frees than collision
    And he liked some pressure ones today

Listen out for the mayo news podcast this week.......one of us will be on it and might even call out Marc o se on his comments ;)

I think Crowe has had a pretty good league campaign and is certainly a better option than caff!