Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Hows everyone's milk production going this spring well behind here on litres and solids only have 5kg of grass in the diet rest a mix of maize and grass silage . Sitting at the same production for the past 3 weeks

I remember asking an old lad many moons ago how does he stop his hounds from consistent barking? (He had quite a few)....I feed them, he said.
    Not being smart, but that’s poor return from fresh calved cows. Assuming their fresh, not stale.
    A balanced diet is what’s needed. Emphasis on ’balanced’ Trixi.
    Yip fresh enough calvers alright hard to get enough in to them alright there far from being hungry tho and holding condition. Well 3.4p and 5.1 f urea still in the mid 20s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

You feeding maize straight ? Trying hard to get some distillers type product but hard to get with all going to the bio digesters these days .

Yeah, after rain yday back in today and 2nite so will add silage back in, plenty maize tight on silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

alps wrote: »
    How much if this could you add to the diet? If toasted maize not available, would maize meal do? Would you be inclined to drop the parlour 6kg a little and go hard with the maize through the silage?

Rolled maize is an excellent source of energy but be careful how you go. ‘Going hard’ is dangerous. Go easy and introduce slowly. Careful also with fresh calvers entering the herd as they won’t be up to speed with the maize meal.
    Toasted maize is much safer.

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Well north of 200 euro for flaked maize, brilliant feed though feeding flaked maize/cooked peas/soya bean meal plus nis and beet-pulp at 4 kgs through the silage and their motoring away along with 6 kgs nuts in the parlour

Is there need for all that fibre?
    NIS is straw, isn’t it?
    Beet pulp is a good source of fibre. Are the dungs loose?

Yip fresh enough calvers alright hard to get enough in to them alright there far from being hungry tho and holding condition. Well 3.4p and 5.1 f urea still in the mid 20s

I’d be looking towards an energy source for fresh calvers.
    Protein to fat ratio looks a bit out of kilter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Rolled maize is an excellent source of energy but be careful how you go. ‘Going hard’ is dangerous. Go easy and introduce slowly. Careful also with fresh calvers entering the herd as they won’t be up to speed with the maize meal.
    Toasted maize is much safer.

Luckily I guess, only small numbers left to valve, so can prepare and mind those. Ordered a high maize 16%mix at pretty good value to be fair, and going to go in the silage.

Diet feeder here only used in emergency situations and is like something that has come back from a war...so it must go back to battle now again..

Mooooo wrote: »
    Yeah, after rain yday back in today and 2nite so will add silage back in, plenty maize tight on silage

Why not add silage to forage maize? If you’d good quality maize and grass silage balance their intake to 16%p and cut down on nuts.
    Works here...

Luckily I guess, only small numbers left to valve, so can prepare and mind those. Ordered a high maize 16%mix at pretty good value to be fair, and going to go in the silage.

Diet feeder here only used in emergency situations and is like something that has come back from a war...so it must go back to battle now again..

You could go to 2kg rolled maize no bother, or even further, but slowly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Why not add silage to forage maize? If you’d good quality maize and grass silage balance their intake to 16%p and cut down on nuts.
    Works here...

Short of silage and quality of what grass silage there is poor, mid 60s dmd and 12%p. Have plenty maize so if I can get cows out and enough grass into them idea is give maize to milkers and dry cows can get silage and maize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Do the cows know that fodder is tight or something. 3rd and 4th calves for today are on the way. I'll be down to single figures in dry cows fairly quick with the way s few more are springing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Do the cows know that fodder is tight or something. 3rd and 4th calves for today are on the way. I'll be down to single figures in dry cows fairly quick with the way s few more are springing

35 still dry here, and wouldn't expect more than one or 2 the next week, and thank Fook for that, a side from grass being short I'm having some serious issues with scour in the calves born the last week. Compact calving is all grand and dandy during feb but wheels alot harder to keep on the wagon from mid March on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Well north of 200 euro for flaked maize, brilliant feed though feeding flaked maize/cooked peas/soya bean meal plus nis and beet-pulp at 4 kgs through the silage and their motoring away along with 6 kgs nuts in the parlour

Is there need for all that fibre?
    NIS is straw, isn’t it?
    Beet pulp is a good source of fibre. Are the dungs loose?

Its needed, where extremely loose until nis was added, will be buffering them with 2kgs of nis for the entire lactation to see if I can sort out my bf issues, went in with a beet pulp/soya hull/flaked maize mix last year and was next to useless, with fats down at 3.4 at one point and not getting above 3.6 till near July
    Would be putting straw through diet feeder instead with a touch of molasses if feeding quality straw was even possible to source but it isn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Its needed, where extremely loose until nis was added, will be buffering them with 2kgs of nis for the entire lactation to see if I can sort out my bf issues, went in with a beet pulp/soya hull/flaked maize mix last year and was next to useless, with fats down at 3.4 at one point and not getting above 3.6 till near July
    Would be putting straw through diet feeder instead with a touch of molasses if feeding quality straw was even possible to source but it isn't

Add 3.5/4% megafat as well ,big improvements here since both that and nis added .megafat in at 3.5% till mid June and nis in all year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

It's an issue with high oils in the grass that causes almost all the reduction in bf. Feeding more fibre can't really do anything to help. Megafat is absorbed straight into the blood so bypasses any diet issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Anyone have recent soil temps ? Wondering is my thermometer broken, getting 9/10 degrees in a few different paddocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Anyone have recent soil temps ? Wondering is my thermometer broken, getting 9/10 degrees in a few different paddocks.

Getting 9 here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,405 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Don't have one myself but Met eireann's recording yesterday at 10cm depth at 10am have

Oak Park at 7.3
    Johnstown Castle at 6.8
    Belmullet at 8.6
    Claremorris at 7.9

I'd say your own could well be correct with the sun today. I wouldn't mind hearing from someone else that has one myself.

Nice day out today and they say Mayo is a cold place. :p

Edit: just seen the previous post.

Everyone boasts about the length of their thing....

Well it's the guys with the shortest thing....have the highest temperatures...

Temp at full depth of the probe here is 6c and temp at 2 inches is at 10c

Which one is more important for growth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,405 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The hand and head that holds the probe.;)

Where ever the roots are...

No point testing soil temperature now. Grass has been growing 3 weeks ago.
    Get it out be fecked.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Seeing as most of the root mass is in the top 2 or 3 inches of soil, I'd imagine the temperature at the 2 inch depth is the important one?

The March madness showing no sign of ending here, outbreak of crypto now, lost 4 the last 2 days and stomach tubing good few more. Fair hard to find any motivation for all this sh1t by now. Only saving grace has been calving slowed down, nothing born last few days, if I get afew more dry days I'll start calving them outside instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Timmaay wrote: »
    The March madness showing no sign of ending here, outbreak of crypto now, lost 4 the last 2 days and stomach tubing good few more. Fair hard to find any motivation for all this sh1t by now. Only saving grace has been calving slowed down, nothing born last few days, if I get afew more dry days I'll start calving them outside instead.

Are you snatch calving our letting calves suck cows, even calving outside won't break the cycle if calves are let suck the cow as your cows are probably covered in crypto oocysts, what electrolytes are you going in with

Let nearly every calf suck this yr, haven't brought the cow in for at least 24hrs after milking, and it's worked very well until now!, alot less work and good strong calves. But yeh fair point, almost definitely pushed my luck by now, the crap March has put serious pressure on sheds here, where I'd normally expect a decent number of the drys off straw and on cubicles the milkers have hogged all them the last 3wks. Young HE calves also have almost zero fight in them when they get any sort of scour also, definitely time to move back to an AA bull!

Young HE calves also have almost zero fight in theml!

Banned from here...OH wont look after any HE....

Stupid brainless bastar##

The calves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Let nearly every calf suck this yr, haven't brought the cow in for at least 24hrs after milking, and it's worked very well until now!, alot less work and good strong calves. But yeh fair point, almost definitely pushed my luck by now, the crap March has put serious pressure on sheds here, where I'd normally expect a decent number of the drys off straw and on cubicles the milkers have hogged all them the last 3wks. Young HE calves also have almost zero fight in them when they get any sort of scour also, definitely time to move back to an AA bull!
    The Angus is cursed because of the similarity to JEx calves especially at younger ages. At a month or more, the FRxAA is easier spotted than the JExAA.

It's an issue with high oils in the grass that causes almost all the reduction in bf. Feeding more fibre can't really do anything to help. Megafat is absorbed straight into the blood so bypasses any diet issues.

For a good few weeks last year I’d huge problems with solids. I was at wits end to try and find the culprit. Nutritionists were stumped. Freedominacup suggested testing the maize and soya crimp. He was right, there was way too much oil. Took out the crimp and the solids shot up...

Parafor from day 4 to 12 should sort it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Parafor from day 4 to 12 should sort it.

Is halocur any good in comparison?

What a late spring!
    Closed off some silage ground today. This time last year that same field was already in the pit.

Here’s hoping for a nice wet summer, NOT for ye though!

Is halocur any good in comparison?

I prefer Parafor. Much cheaper too.