Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carlow GAA Discussion Thread

brookville wrote: »
    Fair play to them continuing their good form for last year.

Absolutely. Amazing what a manager with a bit of pride and love for the county can instill in a panel of players. Turlough is very similar to Cheddar Plunkett in many respects in that his affection for Carlow is inspiring his panel to go where previous Carlow teams dared dream of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

This is great news.

Have had a serious grá for this team since they took us on in the LQF last year in Port Laoise.

Congrats to all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

I remember where this side was only 3 years ago, during the end of Anthony Rainbow's time in charge. Expectations, moral and player commitment to the side was as low as I seen it. Shipped some heavy beatings that year against Tipp, Clare & Meath, along with convincing defeats against other so called minnows in division 4. The future of Carlow football looked bleak and I even remember the county chairman at the time stating publicly if things got worse, Carlow would no longer field a senior football team.

To see the strides Carlow football has made since then has been staggering and extremely satisfying to those who remember the bad times (and trust me there has been many). Alot of credit must go to Turlough O'Brien, who steadily regained the confidence & belief of the players who he took charge of. Getting Stephen Poacher in was also a key addition, as you can see the fitness levels & conditioning of the team grow year after year.

At the start of nearly every season, you could probably name a team of players who did not commit to the county, that would arguably be better than what the county was fielding. That's not the case anymore and it's even great seeing Carlow actually putting out a team with it's best players on the field.

I know alot of people around the country are probably bemused by the coverage this team has gotten having "just" won promotion from the bottom tier of inter county football, but it's hard to explain to people who have no concept of being starved of even the slightest bit of success for such a long period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭king size mars bar

Great post TaosHum, very happy to see the footballers get out of div 4, a must if they to improve at all. More fond of the smaller ball and those boys are only a win away from promotion too. Let's not take anything away from the footballers and the massive effort by all involved with the team to get them where they are now.
    I was a very proud Carlow man Sunday evening sitting down waiting for Carlow's mention on the Sunday game. #carlowrising

Great post TaosHum, very happy to see the footballers get out of div 4, a must if they to improve at all. More fond of the smaller ball and those boys are only a win away from promotion too. Let's not take anything away from the footballers and the massive effort by all involved with the team to get them where they are now.
    I was a very proud Carlow man Sunday evening sitting down waiting for Carlow's mention on the Sunday game. #carlowrising

Yeah, huge game for the hurlers on Saturday. They badly need to get out of division 2 and have come close the last few years. Having seen them earlier in the year against Westmeath, I have my doubts they will be able to turn them over, but having said that, results would suggest they have improved as the year has progressed. Good road wins against Meath & Kerry certainly gives room for optimism.

Would be a fantastic 6 days for Carlow GAA if they can do it. Will need strong performances from their key men though. Felt the Westmeath backline got the better of Kavanagh, Byrne, Nolan & Murphy last time out and James Doyle's red card after only 10 minutes of coming on was crucial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Apart from being without John Michael Nolan tomorrow due to suspension I think we have our strongest team out. There's a big difference in tomorrow's team and the one that faced Westmeath in the first round. Hopefully the lads will have gained even more motivation from the footballers' success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Dr_serious2

Great days for Carlow GAA

Fair play to ye and long may it last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

Great days for Carlow GAA

Fair play to ye and long may it last.

Fair play to them is right 1b will be tough next year but hopefully they can stay up.

For a minute there I thought Carlow had both teams promoted within a week...... O yes we did, great result today great effort great feeling #Carlowrising again!

Excellent performance by the hurlers on Saturday and well deserved. Though Colm Bonner got the selection right in the forwards, with a very sharp and pacey full forward line in Mouse, Doyle & Nolan. Was very impressed with Eddie Byrne, who done alot of hard grafting from puck outs and took some nice scores. Felt Carlow were abit vulnerable in the full back line. as Westmeath did cause some problems. Carlow however well deserved winners and gained desperetly needed promotion to 1b.

Didn't get to catch the footballers against Laois, but from what I heard, it was pretty negative stuff, with Carlow being wasteful in front of goal. Even so, can't wait for tomorrow in Croker. Hopefully the performance will be better and they can get the result to cap off a fantastic league campaign.

Just read main forward for Laois dropped from panel over tweet.
    Best of luck to the footballers tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭HughCassidy

The best of luck against Laois

Hard loss to take on Saturday, but huge credit to the lads for pushing Laois all the way. Game was there for Carlow, but their finishing really let them down in the end. Too many balls dropped into the keepers hands, bad wides and make-able frees missed was what cost Carlow. Hopefully some of that can be tidied up before they come up against Louth in the Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

TaosHum wrote: »
    Hard loss to take on Saturday, but huge credit to the lads for pushing Laois all the way. Game was there for Carlow, but their finishing really let them down in the end. Too many balls dropped into the keepers hands, bad wides and make-able frees missed was what cost Carlow. Hopefully some of that can be tidied up before they come up against Louth in the Championship.

I was at the game (pure accident) your boys looked like they were on the lash for a week, so I wouldn't worry about the Louth game, some good honest ball players out there, g'wan Carlow ! that from a pure rebel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,041 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Excellent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Pat Treacy

Well done Carlow.

What a performance!

Wasn't able to get up to it, but was edge of the seat stuff on the radio. Huge achievement against a division 1 outfit. Broderick was unstoppable and no Carlow kicked no wides!

Huge belief in this side and massive credit to the players and coaching staff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

excellent result ans serious progress made , delighted for the likes of broadrick ,st ledger and sean murphy , they were all good players in division 4 a few years back when we came up against them , it was tough going in carlow at the time they stuck it out great to see them get the reward of a leinster semi final and the real prospect now of reaching the final great story this is turning out to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Would love to see Carlow in a Leinster final.

They have a great chance, I'd fancy them against Laois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭gmurphy70

Congrats Carlow from your neighbours in Wexford, fantastic performance, hopefully you can get to a Leinster final and beyond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

When are the semi final tickets on-sale ? I'm about to board the bandwagon :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Gael85

excellent result ans serious progress made , delighted for the likes of broadrick ,st ledger and sean murphy , they were all good players in division 4 a few years back when we came up against them , it was tough going in carlow at the time they stuck it out great to see them get the reward of a leinster semi final and the real prospect now of reaching the final great story this is turning out to be

Is St Ledger from Clare? Remember reading before he played with Kilrush in his youth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,041 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Gael85 wrote: »
    Is St Ledger from Clare? Remember reading before he played with Kilrush in his youth?

Correct. It is a east Carlow name but he played in his teens in Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Well done lads. That was a serious result yesterday, ye kicked some lovely scores from what I saw on the paltry coverage on TSG. To kick no wides in 74 minutes of football in a game where ye tallied 20 points is remarkable. Brilliant travelling support too, sounded like a great atmosphere considering it was 5 or 6 thousand fans in a big ground like O'Connor Park.

All the best against Laois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Nalz wrote: »
    Correct. It is a east Carlow name but he played in his teens in Clare.

Grew up in kilrush , his family worked in the area for a few years before moving back to carlow

Would love to see Carlow in a Leinster final.

They have a great chance, I'd fancy them against Laois.

Fantastic opportunity for both teams. You would have to give the edge to Laois as they have already beaten Carlow twice this season, but I think this Carlow side has improved since the league final.

Huge weekend for Carlow GAA coming up. The hurlers take on Westmeath knowing anything but defeat will ensure a place in the Joe McDonagh final. I thought they will struggle to bounce back after the Antrim defeat, but they regrouped well to put themselves in a good position.

For the footballers, they will never have a better chance to reach a Leinster final. I'm just hoping they can maintain the standards they have set so far in the championship and learn the lessons of the league defeat to Laois a couple of months back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭votecounts

Hey there, any shops in town be selling tickets for the tyrone game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

votecounts wrote: »
    Hey there, any shops in town be selling tickets for the tyrone game?

Super Value ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Pat Treacy

Well done Carlow great result in Croke park yesterday.