Irish and Proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭con___manx1

naw, cuz most of em are either in Oz, Canada, US or the UK or are working on getting out of here because this country of supposedly brave people let crooked politicians and bankers destroy their future and that's nothing to be proud of. neither is our crumbling health service, our housing crisis, our corrupt to the core garda siochana, or our worship of alcohol. i guess we can be proud of the rugby team if you overlook its connections to a current criminal court case in the north, which I absolutely do not.

i love irish history but we're not living in the past. leo varadkar cancelling wind farms like Trump's lapdog, he's hardly Michael fuppin Collins is he? cop on, this place is a joke.

I lived in canada and oz. ireland is better apart from the weather. its the people that make a country. stupid ****in canadiaans and arrogant dumb ****in ozzies, both of them have the queen on there coins. gob****es. havent got a patch on us. they pay loads of tax like us and there house prices are expensive to. the cost of living is around the same,
    our health system is a joke i agree with you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,016 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Hardly a huge story around the world. A couple of terrorists found out they couldn't handle big boy rules.

yet over all the ira brought those big boys to a stailmate dispite the big boys having superior weaponry and training. no mean feat that yet they did it.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

yet over all the ira brought those big boys to a stailmate dispite the big boys having superior weaponry and training. no mean feat that yet they did it.

They won the Battle of Warrington too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

endacl wrote: »
    Why are all republican songs so shyte?

A lot of the songs are great. Some tell a great story. Now if you want to hear sh1te then nothing beats the orange songs. Very difficult to sing about plundering a country, causing millions of people to starve and emigrate, inter thousands of young men without trial, refuse Catholics votes and housing and then when a peaceful march take place have a sovereign army murder dozens in cold blood to a good beat and a nice melody. But by god they give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

My religious faith and my pride are not up for discussion. There's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish and there's lots of things that make me proud to be Irish catholic. The fight for Irish freedom by Irish Catholics is just one that comes to mind..
    I'm actually buzzing today at the news that the Popes visit to Ireland has been confirmed..

The loyalists were right about one thing...Home rule was Rome rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

The loyalists were right about one thing...Home rule was Rome rule.
    im afraid to like this post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭shaunr68

I believe the phrase "live by the sword, die by the sword" is appropriate.

im afraid to like this post

We left pretty much what amounted to a foreign power to indoctrinate our people and for a large part shape govt policy.

And by and large we liked it that way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭storker

joeguevara wrote: »
    A lot of the songs are great. Some tell a great story. Now if you want to hear sh1te then nothing beats the orange songs. Very difficult to sing about plundering a country, causing millions of people to starve and emigrate, inter thousands of young men without trial, refuse Catholics votes and housing and then when a peaceful march take place have a sovereign army murder dozens in cold blood to a good beat and a nice melody. But by god they give it a go.

Political songs are usually shyte no matter what the persuasion. It goes with the territory, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭storker

Never understand why people are proud of something they have no control over.

Proud of something they did nothing to achieve.

"...there were many officers' clubs that Yossarian had not helped build, but he was proudest of the one on Pianosa. It was a sturdy and complex monument to his powers of determination. Yossarian never went there to help until it was finished; then he went there often, so pleased was he with the large, fine, rambling shingled building. It was a truly splendid structure, and Yossarian throbbed with a mighty sense of accomplishment each time he gazed at it and reflected that none of the work that had gone into it was his."
    - Catch-22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

shaunr68 wrote: »
    I believe the phrase "live by the sword, die by the sword" is appropriate.

Yeah they viewed themselves as soldiers.

They went out there with the explicit intent to kill other soldiers as part of a war effort.

There can be no complaints on the Republican side about what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

We left pretty much what amounted to a foreign power to indoctrinate our people and for a large part shape govt policy.

And by and large we liked it that way...

Yeah - was London with the shoneens. Then Rome with the holy Joes. And now Brussels with the federalists.

It's practically a fetish with the Irish. A desire to govern themselves coupled with a desperate fear of actually doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Berserker wrote: »
    They get very excited about it, don't they. They'll sit in their pub of choice on easter sunday, watching premier league football for most of the day and they'll spend the rest of the day telling fibs about their grandfather who fought at the GPO.

:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,470 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Anyone can do that with guerrilla warfare.
    It is seen throughout history and the present day in wars in the Middle East and Africa.
    It won't get you the victory but will get a long dragged out draw!

What was achieved by it?
    Over 3000 killed in the troubles for nothing.
    They have half assed power sharing now, where both sides cannot even be bothered to sit down and run a small patch of land between them.

It is an insult to all those who lost thier lives on both sides.
    Glorified county councilors the lot of them, soldiers my @rse!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,016 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Anyone can do that with guerrilla warfare.
    It is seen throughout history and the present day in wars in the Middle East and Africa.
    It won't get you the victory but will get a long dragged out draw!

What was achieved by it?
    Over 3000 killed in the troubles for nothing.
    They have half assed power sharing now, where both sides cannot even be bothered to sit down and run a small patch of land between them.

It is an insult to all those who lost thier lives on both sides.
    Glorified county councilors the lot of them, soldiers my @rse!

they overthrew the sectarian statelet that was loyalist rule.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

They were caught out badly. And outsmarted. Probably set up too looking back.

Then Michael Stone gets his rocks off at one of the funerals.

Then arguably the most shameful act of barbarism of that decade takes place during the funerals of one of his victims.

If that's what makes the OP proud then he's welcome to it. I bet he didn't live through it, or anywhere near it or was in any way affected by it.

With plenty 'collateral damage', who is proud of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

This thread reminds me of something from my teens.

Working in a Bar south of the boarder, another young buck working with me we must have been 17 or so it was 96 and Some Mothers Son movie was out a while, Sean Sands walks in is playing music in the bar that night. The other barman any chance he got put rebel songs on in pub and actively engaged in chat with SF punters in the pub about the struggle etc.

Anyway I say to him, oh thats Sean Sands, he doesn't know fair enough, I say you loved that movie some mothers son he agreed, so I say oh he is the brother of Bobby sands who the movie was based on.

He goes down the other side of the bar and says to a punter that yer man playing tonight is the brother of an actor from some mothers son !!

Don't get me wrong I have strong feelings about this subject but often the loudest are people who don't have the correct information and often poorly educated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

So if you have no time for murderous scumbags that means you're ashamed to be Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

So if you have no time for murderous scumbags that means you're ashamed to be Irish?

That's what the memo said. Did you not get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

The SDLP achieved that without committing a single murder, and furthermore had a mandate from their community. They sacrificed their future for the future of their community. GFA was Sunningdale for slow learners.
    Another thing: After the GFA agreement was effected the "Republicans" swanned around Belfast in cars waving flags and claiming victory. When you wrangle concessions from your adversary you don't rub his nose in it. But what would gunmen know about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Does any of the young ones know why we'r all so proud to be Irish!?
    It isn't because of those terrorists up north who would rob post offices in the Republic, and kill Gardai.

If they were still around post 9/11 all of their American funding would dry up very quickly, and the brits would receive help leveling any suspected terrorist locations in NI.

I'm proud to be Irish. The real Irish.

Not the terrorists who went around killing those that they claimed they're protecting and kidnapping young children so that they could kill and bury them in some beach where their family wouldn't know of the location until decades later, if ever again.

the_syco wrote: »
    It isn't because of those terrorists up north who would rob post offices in the Republic, and kill Gardai.

If they were still around post 9/11 all of their American funding would dry up very quickly, and the brits would receive help leveling any suspected terrorist locations in NI.

I'm proud to be Irish. The real Irish.

Not the terrorists who went around killing those that they claimed they're protecting and kidnapping young children so that they could kill and bury them in some beach where their family wouldn't know of the location until decades later, if ever again.

how do you think theyd feel about Micheal Collins? a man who would execute someone in broad daylight in front of their family
    all the killing done by him was justified? you know about the stuff that isnt widely talked about too? do you realise that the Ireland you live in now is a direct result of what is/was considered 'terrorism'? what exactly is real Irish?

is this 'real Irish'? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Executions_during_the_Irish_Civil_War#The_Ballyseedy_Massacre_and_its_aftermath

i apologise if i jumped to conclusions, but how do you feel about Collins and what I posted?

one mans murderous scumbag is another mans freedom fighter
    &
    all is fair in love and war

thats just the way it is unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

all is fair in love and war

thats just the way it is unfortunately

Wars of decolonisation are often the bitterest and most underhand of all. If you look at what the Brits, French or Dutch did elsewhere, almost contemporaneously, you would have to say the Irish got away lightly in comparison.

those are dark moments in human history. the colonists have a mindset that they are simply taking something away from savages. if history is recorded accurately, we will look back at the foundation of USA as much much worse than what the Nazis ever did(this is not a goodwin offense!). and the natives had superior forms of society, they just lacked modern gadgets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 MurmanskRun

May I suggest, OP, that you educate yourself on the aftermath of Gibraltar with "The Funeral Murders" on the Beeb2.

”Seventy-two hours later, during a funeral procession for one of the dead, two British soldiers were pulled out of their car by a mob, stripped and shot dead by the IRA.” - The Guardian, 19/03/18

I was 17 in March 1988, born and bred in Belfast... and nothing since, not even Omagh, comes close to turning my stomach more than the pictures of those men, semi-naked, dead, facedown in the mud.

There are many reasons to be proudly Irish. This isn't one, not by a long, long shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭ignorance is strength

"They were going to carry out an attack against the British state." It's comical how brazen they are in acknowledging that truth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

May I suggest, OP, that you educate yourself on the aftermath of Gibraltar with "The Funeral Murders" on the Beeb2.

”Seventy-two hours later, during a funeral procession for one of the dead, two British soldiers were pulled out of their car by a mob, stripped and shot dead by the IRA.” - The Guardian, 19/03/18

I was 17 in March 1988, born and bred in Belfast... and nothing since, not even Omagh, comes close to turning my stomach more than the pictures of those men, semi-naked, dead, facedown in the mud.

There are many reasons to be proudly Irish. This isn't one, not by a long, long shot.
    I remember a Catholic Priest tried to help them. One of the poor buggers was still alive when the IRA dumped them but died before the ambulance arrived.