Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Room to Improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Yeh if you like an extra 20k lobbed on.

The builder didn’t speak to the QS. Hence the shock at the 20k extras.

none of that was the builders fault. there are always extras. and those have to be paid for. he claims to have goten the ok from the client or from dermot.

his failing was in not getting paperwork to back that up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

none of that was the builders fault. there are always extras. and those have to be paid for. he claims to have goten the ok from the client or from dermot.

As I said in the last episode builders need to act like other professionals. If there’s a change that costs, tell people immediately.

it sounds like he did but not oficially enough with costs worked out. he was a bit too trusting and took their ok as good enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

tretorn wrote: »
    I know but she irritated the hell out of me.

I get where you're coming from though. I'm 35 so probably close in age to them. At one stage back in college I used to spike up my hair like crazy in every direction. Wouldn't dream of doing that now unless I was in a big, successful punk band!

Each to their own, I didn't find her hair too out there being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I've often felt that builders on previous episodes were messed around and had to add or knock walls etc with no mention of the extra cost/time involved and I've often wondered if they've gone along with it due to the fact that it's on tv and they were reluctant to make a scene.

Tonight's builder was probably completely right and not the type to be railroaded by anyone but his attitude was a bit brash,seems like he did a great job but I wouldn't like to work for him ..😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

" somewhere in all of us is the power to change the world ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,090 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It was an extremely limited project to have made the show. There were very little alternatives to what DB presented as his plan. Main house had to be left as was, had to knock down sheds and replace with a fairly standard structure.

As for the final result, a little too edgy for me. Fake edgy, trying too hard. I couldn't live in a hipster cafe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,090 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

maxresdefault.jpg

a 3D wall mural would have been better

They could be sipping coffee looking out past the decking and into their 3D 4th bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,866 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

She looks very familiar to me....have I seen her on TV before?
    Really wasn't mad about that for a build last night. But that's largely down to taste, and theirs most definitely didn't coincide with mine! But they seemed genuinely delighted with it, so more power to them.

I'm in two minds about the builder. If that 20K overspend was for real (and not just hammed up for the sake of creating drama for the telly) then I'd have absolutely KILLED him. Whoever he was meant to be taking order from, whoever he should have told, whatever the chain of command was meant to have been - if that really was the first the clients heard of an actual (not proposed, mind) overspend that size, then that was a disgrace.

On the other hand, what an efficient machine he appeared to be running. I'd say his manner would have worn thin on me very quickly - but my goodness he was able to run a site to time!

The house they visited was awful! (IMO) But again that's a matter of taste, so if they liked it (and they did) then off with them.

It was very strange site - big house on a really awkward triangular site, I also wondered had it been carved up and some sold off. Was there ever a mention the aspect the house/garden?

HUUUUUUGE money for what they got in the end, but then that's houses in Dublin for ya at the moment I suppose.

The whole show was dominated for me by the fact that Ciara reminded me unnervingly of Capt. Dara Fitzpatrick from R116 - her hairstyle, her looks and her manner and how she spoke were really really like how I remember the late captain in shows about R116. RIP :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,406 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

That builder was very pushy, the whole thing seemed very rushed.

591 k to buy it, they spent 30 k themselves and then something like 180 k for the build, they would want well paying jobs to pay that off.

I was hoping they would tell us how the argument over the 20 k was sorted because I thought it was the most interesting bit in an otherwise boring episode out but of course they didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Birdsong

I was looking at the back wall and all I could see was Venus Williams !
    Did not like it & no mention of the cost off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

I know. Especially as they said they just didn't have the money to pay for it. It is annoying when they leave things unanswered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,866 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Birdsong wrote: »
    I was looking at the back wall and all I could was Venus Williams !
    Did not like it & no mention of the cost off it.

I'm always intrigued by clients who push the budget to the limits and beyond for the build, yet always seem to have the wherewithall for design statements like those lights and the mural in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

It wouldnt surprise me at all if it was ok'd by Dermot and he "forgot " to tell the clients .Dermot has a knack of putting things in and presuming the client knew

I liked the couple and thought the house suited them , the mural was simply hideous but that aside it was just a matter of taste .I liked her hair and it was her taste and it was clean and neat and what else matters ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Cant watch it anymore..its gone all too "rehersed" imo....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/i-learned-why-people-go-mad-for-dermot-bannon-and-his-magical-notebook-a-newcomers-guide-to-room-to-improve-36718736.html

Dermot is very good at putting ideas in people’s heads…

And – here’s the fabulous part - making them believe that they came up with them. Don’t believe me? Go back and watch Dermot convincing Micheal that he should reconsider the decking out the back. Seriously, watch it.

But Room to Improve is difficult to watch…

We are, after all, talking about a show where a nice man named Dermot comes into your home, listens to you list off all the ways you’d love it to be better and then tells you all the ways those dreams are impossible, but that – and here’s the best bit – he’ll happily take your money, hire a team and try to prove everyone (including himself) wrong while you go and live with your sister for eight weeks. Two words, lads: me nerves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Only ever watched the last two weeks of this after hearing about it every Monday in work. Very disappointed in the end result. Seems very little bang for what is significant outlay.

Some queries about the design too, seems like the infamous Dermot may have flown the nest and is leaving the details to sort themselves out.

Had to laugh when hearing about 8 week completion dates and then see a complete chancers sign on the windows, not exactly a beacon of high quality. The architect should ensure all materials are of a suitable spec so Dermot definitely went down in my estimation. I just hope the rest of the build was constructed properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Yes it is a bit ridiculous in parts.

Dermot making a bet with the builder was very reality TVish and entirely unprofessional.

Dermot doesn't do anything positive for the architecture profession imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Yes it is a bit ridiculous in parts.

Dermot making a bet with the builder was very reality TVish and entirely unprofessional.

Dermot doesn't do anything positive for the architecture profession imo

Over the years he's come across as a spoiled bully imo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭harr

Was speaking to a builder friend this morning and he is still scratching his head at where that extension cost €180,00 ...
    The asbestos should have spotted way earlier and the drama surrounding the brick was just stupid and probably played up for the drama factor.
    Didn’t seem like good value for money at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭prunudo

Did anybody else notice the old and new brick courses didn't match. New bricks must be narrower. That would wreck my head, I'd rather have different colours than unmatching courses.
    Are the pot plants like bamboo etc sponsored for the sake of the tv shots, just looked like they were placed there and ready to be taken back to the nursery once the cameras left.
    2 other points, in one of the demolition shots it appeared the builders were already removing the asbestos roofing. Also when they had the disagreement about the 20k of extras the announcer said they were 2 months into the project, seems the 7 weeks and 4 days is a bit off the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Fairly boring episode, your wan was annoying, she was far too try hard/hipster/edgy for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

Fairly boring episode, your wan was annoying, she was far too try hard/hipster/edgy for my liking.

But you don't have to like her!

The personal comments are ridiculous here, why does it bother people what way she does her hair/ if she is a hipster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Honestly I find the horrible swirly brothel style wallpapers people put in their house with their displaced kitchen islands (what's the craze about them anyway?) than anything I've seen in that one house.

These personal comments are so lame, people really have nothing else to worry about than her hair or her personal style?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

But you don't have to like her!

The personal comments are ridiculous here, why does it bother people what way she does her hair/ if she is a hipster?

I suppose it's because this show is as much about the people as it is the house. We all fell in love with Ma, we all have an opinion on Dermot .....on the QS- both of the main ones, we definitely have opinions on the builders, so yeah we have opinions on the couples aswell.
    You base your opinion on what you see and hear and it's hard not to see her hair in fairness. So I can see why posters comment on her and not necessarily always favourably.
    But it's also the same when they comment on Dermot, or the builders but not Ma.
    Ma is a ledge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Greybottle

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

I'm in two minds about the builder. If that 20K overspend was for real (and not just hammed up for the sake of creating drama for the telly) then I'd have absolutely KILLED him. Whoever he was meant to be taking order from, whoever he should have told, whatever the chain of command was meant to have been - if that really was the first the clients heard of an actual (not proposed, mind) overspend that size, then that was a disgrace.

On the other hand, what an efficient machine he appeared to be running. I'd say his manner would have worn thin on me very quickly - but my goodness he was able to run a site to time!

I thought he was efficient too. Which is why I think he would have arranged at the beginning that once he gets the go-ahead from one person to change something, then that is a given that the person has spoken to the clients. That person here was either the QS that the client appointed, or Dermot.

The builder is way too efficient to be running after clients and trying to chase them up in their offices etc, so I reckon that's what he did.

I think that kind of operation he runs is that he takes on one job at a time and is always on site. If you're a good project manager on a site you can have three different tasks running at once. He may have another site or two, but they would be run by people that he inherently trusts.

So I reckon that wither the fault lies with the QS or Dermot. Or it was hammed up for TV as nothing went wrong on the build.

i wonder was he trying to give himself a good reputation by finishing early. a lot of these programmes have huge over runs on time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Found it comical that at the end they said how good the builder was to let them off with the price of the brick dying and pointing .Yes that is because he absolutely rode you on the price of a shell with windows and left you with only enough money to fit in a poxy plywood kitchen . You would expect a few problems with an old house with rot , sinking etc. but they had none of that , just an asbestos roof on a shed that should have been picked off from the start, when you look at what was done of coarse he would get it done in 8 weeks , it was only a bolt on job with a few utilities ran into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

LirW wrote: »
    Honestly I find the horrible swirly brothel style wallpapers people put in their house with their displaced kitchen islands (what's the craze about them anyway?) than anything I've seen in that one house.

These personal comments are so lame, people really have nothing else to worry about than her hair or her personal style?

Nothing else to worry about? It's a TV show, light entertainment, the people sign up to be on it knowing they will be reviewed (fairly or not) on everything they say and do. As said above they are as much part of the programme as the design, the build and Dermot. I find it more strange that you feel the need to come in and defend them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

It just baffles me how people spend their time and energy thinking about other's people clothes, hair, tattoos, cars etc. Wouldn't really come to my mind. Whatever floats her boat I guess.