If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ulster Team Talk Thread III: Les Miserables SEE MOD WARNING POST #1924 + #2755

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

Top underage prospects for the academy:

Callum Reid(LH Prop/under-19)
    John McKee(Prop/under-18)

Claytan Milligan(Hooker/under-19)

Conor McMeniman(Lock/under-18)

Matthew Agnew(Openside/under-20)

Azur Allison(Backrow/under-19)
    Jamie MacCartney(Backrow/under-19)
    David McCann(Backrow/under-18)

Graham Curtis(Scrumhalf/under-19)

Bruce Houston(Outhalf/under-19)

Mark Keane(Wing/under-20)

Angus Kernohan(Outside Back/under-19)
    Stewart Moore(Outside Back/under-19)
    Aaron Sexton(Outside Back/under-18)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

irishfan9 wrote: »
    Of course they would, would he be interested in leaving leinster is another thing entirely.

Yeah his loyalty might be his undoing. I don't think he'll be anything other than 4th choice over the next few years.

If he is happy for that, fair enough. I'm comforted by the fact Leinster can call upon him if needs be

Also Byrne is ahead of Dooley because he is playing better than him and has been all season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

irishfan9 wrote: »
    Also Byrne is ahead of Dooley because he is playing better than him and has been all season.

I don't disagree there. Byrne's performances this year have been top notch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

If Jordi wasn’t regretting his decision to move to Ulster before now, Cunningham’s comments will certainly have changed that. As they will for any other potential signings. If those comments get widely published, it will do untold damage to Ulsters future recruitment.

• Administrators Posts: 55,701 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

stephen_n wrote: »
    If Jordi wasn’t regretting his decision to move to Ulster before now, Cunningham’s comments will certainly have changed that. As they will for any other potential signings. If those comments get widely published, it will do untold damage to Ulsters future recruitment.

Nonsense

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Holy ****balls. I thought that was a private team & staff meeting, not a supporters Q&A! That stuff is utterly mind blowing. Is he trying to clear Ulster's suit army out by encouraging everyone to give themselves their own marching orders from the top down? Pretty good attempt, if he is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

awec wrote: »
    Nonsense

Just because he said what the baying fans wanted to hear and protected himself in the effort. You don't seem to mind his fluffy comments about the lack of due diligence around Van Der Merwe's signing. Any players potentially signing for Ulster and looking at those comments would be a thanks but no thanks. If you don't think so, then you'd need to take the blinkers off.

You go for a job interview and are about to take the job. On the way out you pass some employees and the guy hiring you says. See tom there, he's useless deadwood, he's going. As for Johnny and Bill over there, they better buck their ideas up or they'll be out the door too. Are you going to quit your job and take this one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

I just noticed that Sam Hildago Clyne has been released by Edinburgh. Would he be a good signing for a back up to Cooney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

Dubinusa wrote: »
    I just noticed that Sam Hildago Clyne has been released by Edinburgh. Would he be a good signing for a back up to Cooney.

Was regarded as the future at 9 for Scotland for a while, form went off a cliff though. Decent squad player, kicks goals and captained Edinburgh a few times.

Personally I reckon Ulster have a couple of decent young lads who should be trusted rather than bringing in a NIQ.

Was regarded as the future at 9 for Scotland for a while, form went off a cliff though. Decent squad player, kicks goals and captained Edinburgh a few times.

Personally I reckon Ulster have a couple of decent young lads who should be trusted rather than bringing in a NIQ.

at 9?

Stewart only decent young 9 around.

Ulster will recover. The quality of the u20 players shows that. Remember, if the legal issues with Jackson and Olding never happened, ulster would be contending at a higher level. Unseen circumstances, that destroyed the make up of the team. Deysel has been crap, Diack is not up to standard, Bowe, Trimble and Henry are at the end of their careers. There are so many issues that need to be fixed and recruitment seems to be top of the list. I always thought that Piatau was a bad signing. I would have invested thst money into the pack. A lh and a 2nd row. The fans a right to be disgruntled because the team folds week in and week out. That is probably poor coaching. If it's not the coaching and it's the players attitude, then they need to be released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stl.ire

Does a supporter’s meeting count as public? It’s more a gray area between public and private.

Anyway Ulster have no DOR, no HC, likely no Champions Cup, no consistent leaders on the field, no 10 etc, etc.
    Do you really think some chippy comments by an under fire \ possibly going to be fired Director about deadwood players are really going to be what turns talent off Ulster rugby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

stl.ire wrote: »
    Does a supporter’s meeting count as public? It’s more a gray area between public and private.

Anyway Ulster have no DOR, no HC, likely no Champions Cup, no consistent leaders on the field, no 10 etc, etc.
    Do you really think some chippy comments by an under fire \ possibly going to be fired Director about deadwood players are really going to be what turns talent off Ulster rugby?

In fairness, the last thing Ulster Rugby needs is another thing to add to the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,087 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

It was a bit of a dick thing to do by Cunningham but he'd want to include himself in this mess.

An old "sorry lads but I fcuked up with some of my recruiting" wouldn't have went astray.
    He reminds me of David Brent telling the staff about job losses..."you're not going to get fired, you're not going to get fired (looks at next lad then moves on to the next person), you're not going to get fired.
    Is Nucifora involved with any of the recent signings? Not stirring here but surely if some of the recent acquisitions are anything to go by you have to ask how did he agree to them?
    Ah you left me scratching my head at the time to single out one.

mfceiling wrote: »
    It was a bit of a dick thing to do by Cunningham but he'd want to include himself in this mess.

An old "sorry lads but I fcuked up with some of my recruiting" wouldn't have went astray.
    He reminds me of David Brent telling the staff about job losses..."you're not going to get fired, you're not going to get fired (looks at next lad then moves on to the next person), you're not going to get fired.
    Is Nucifora involved with any of the recent signings? Not stirring here but surely if some of the recent acquisitions are anything to go by you have to ask how did he agree to them?

Apparently Best was instrumental in Ah you heading to Ulster. I learnt it from people in the Ulster supporters club last time I was in Belfast.

mfceiling wrote: »

He said "we", I take it he meant Ulster management of which he was a part.

Anyway, all those calling for his head are going to be sorely disappointed. Cunningham is one of the few people in the hierarchy who is pretty well liked by the fans. His straight talking is welcomed, season ticket holders appreciated the honesty. He is going absolutely nowhere.

I somehow doubt Jordi Murphy or Marty Moore or any other semi-compentent player is going to be losing sleep over Ulster Rugby's disappointment in someone like Schalk van der Merwe.

As for Nucifora, does he vet the quality of signings or just look at the proposed salary and the succession plan and tick a box? I don't know. What is clear from the meeting is that the IRFU are responsible for appointing the DoR and so it is the IRFU who must share responsibility for the disastrous Kiss era.

Also it is comforting to see the sudden interest in Ulster's attractiveness for foreign imports and players livelihoods. People seem concerned that spades being called a spade in the form of poorly performing players being criticised is going to do untold damage while at the same time not giving a crap when Pienaar was booted out the door last year after years of phenomenal service.

Foreign imports only need to look at Pienaar, Payne, Ludik, Coetzee, Muller, Van der Merwe (the semi-decent one), Wannenburg, Terblanche etc to see that foreign players who perform at Ulster are incredibly well looked after*.

* - until you're told to leave by the IRFU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,904 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

awec wrote: »
    As for Nucifora, does he vet the quality of signings or just look at the proposed salary and the succession plan and tick a box? I don't know. What is clear from the meeting is that the IRFU are responsible for appointing the DoR and so it is the IRFU who must share responsibility for the disastrous Kiss era.

It remains to be seen whether it was Kiss who was the disaster tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Dubinusa wrote: »
    Ulster will recover. The quality of the u20 players shows that. Remember, if the legal issues with Jackson and Olding never happened, ulster would be contending at a higher level. Unseen circumstances, that destroyed the make up of the team. Deysel has been crap, Diack is not up to standard, Bowe, Trimble and Henry are at the end of their careers. There are so many issues that need to be fixed and recruitment seems to be top of the list. I always thought that Piatau was a bad signing. I would have invested thst money into the pack. A lh and a 2nd row. The fans a right to be disgruntled because the team folds week in and week out. That is probably poor coaching. If it's not the coaching and it's the players attitude, then they need to be released.
    There hasnt been an issue with quality of under 20 players in past and Ulster are still in the ****e. Ulster wouldnt necessarily be much better even with those 2 available. Piatau was a poor signing based on needs at time. Team folding week in week out is related to coaching but it also has huge amount to do with players and attitudes as it isnt the first coach that has happened with. Biggest issue with a clear out is replacing them and is the age grade set up able to replace from within?

Time will tell. You can only hope they get it right with the dor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

You really are missing the point quite spectacularly awec. Jordi might not be bothered about what Cunningham thinks about VDM. But he could well be perturbed by the very real potential that if he doesn’t live up to expectations that it could be his name being bandied around like that. Any player can go through andip in form. If they think they might get publicly knocked because of it they could very easily decide that Ulster isn’t the place for them. I don’t get how you don’t understand this simple concept. That said, I suppose it’s been explained multiple times now so I’m probably just pissing into the wind....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

molloyjh wrote: »
    You really are missing the point quite spectacularly awec. Jordi might not be bothered about what Cunningham thinks about VDM. But he could well be perturbed by the very real potential that if he doesn’t live up to expectations that it could be his name being bandied around like that. Any player can go through andip in form. If they think they might get publicly knocked because of it they could very easily decide that Ulster isn’t the place for them. I don’t get how you don’t understand this simple concept. That said, I suppose it’s been explained multiple times now so I’m probably just pissing into the wind....

I don't think Jordi will be concerned as much as he would be with other issues, like for example the departure of Gibbes.

However Ulster are currently trying to bring in a good Director of Rugby. Any decent choice will surely be paying close attention. Who would want to inherit a situation where your players have just been sold down the river to a room of amateur onlookers? How could that ever end well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

molloyjh wrote: »
    179100.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

MJohnston wrote: »

There's a significant question mark over it. His tenure was completely unsuccessful and I don't think he's a top head coach.

But I'm not sure many would have done much better. Ulster have been on the decline for a few years now including prior to his arrival. It coincides with injuries, unavailability of players, key players reaching the end of their careers and a decline in the standard of the NIQ players.

The arrival of Murphy and Moore is a boost. If they make a couple more shrewd signings, they could have the bones of a good team. A lot hinges on legal proceedings in Belfast in the next 5-6 days also. From reading UAFC, many on there expect those involved to be back with Ulster Rugby next season if all goes well this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

MJohnston wrote: »

It's pretty obvious that Kiss was the problem. Just compare his tenure to all those years of success and progress under previous coaches.

Wait... Sorry... Never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,113 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Droll. But it wasn't long ago we were consistently in play-offs of the HEC and Pro14.

Do you get silverware for that? No.

Is it measurably and qualitatively better than not getting out of the HEC group, not qualifying for Pro14 playoffs and being in a frantic scramble to qualify for Europe? Yes.

We've been worse under Kiss than under Clarke and Doak. Worse. Sweet Baby Jeebus.

Ye mightn't have a DOR or a head coach but ye do have pre season friendly number 1 sorted

https://twitter.com/UlsterRugby/status/973863464472121344?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Ye mightn't have a DOR or a head coach but ye do have pre season friendly number 1 sorted

https://twitter.com/UlsterRugby/status/973863464472121344?s=19
    There's a connection between Ulster and Gloucester in the person of defense coach Jonny Bell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,904 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Buer wrote: »
    There's a significant question mark over it. His tenure was completely unsuccessful and I don't think he's a top head coach.

But I'm not sure many would have done much better. Ulster have been on the decline for a few years now including prior to his arrival. It coincides with injuries, unavailability of players, key players reaching the end of their careers and a decline in the standard of the NIQ players.

The arrival of Murphy and Moore is a boost. If they make a couple more shrewd signings, they could have the bones of a good team. A lot hinges on legal proceedings in Belfast in the next 5-6 days also. From reading UAFC, many on there expect those involved to be back with Ulster Rugby next season if all goes well this week.

I sincerely hope not, it would genuinely be the end of my support of the club.