Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snowmagedagain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭D3V!L

My employer wants us to pay them for the days work we lost !!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Civil service is being paid!

They are being paid but annual leave will be taken off them ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Laptop so worked from home, work from home most Fridays anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

I am a SAHM but Husband's Office was closed Wed, Thurs & Fri. He worked from home with his Laptop which wouldn't be usual for him but it seemed to work well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

As far as I know, if the office was closed, you get paid leave. If it was open, then its at the discretion of the employer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭kg703

I have a choice of unpaid or annual leave. Job was closed. Asked for a laptop to take home on Tuesday & didnt get one. Email went around Wednesday saying anyone with a laptop could work from home and doesnt need to take leave.

Boo.

Already have most of my A/L booked for the year so might need to bargain to work a few Saturdays :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Grateful Dread

Worked a bit from home as I sometimes do. Was grand.

I personally think people should be paid regardless. It's nobody's fault some places couldn't open, but can they pay staff and claim insurance or something? Or simply as a 'thank you'....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

erica74 wrote: »
    I know a large amount of people worked through from last Wednesday up to today but for those of us who were off work between Wednesday and today, how is your employer treating those days?
    Are you going to get paid?
    Do you have to take them as annual leave?
    Do you have to take them as unpaid leave?
    Did you have enough annual leave left to cover the time you had to take off?

I'm an office worker (Mon - Fri) in the HSE, back in this morning, and we are having to take Thursday and Friday as annual leave. An email was sent around by our line manager on Thursday morning asking anyone who was in the office to email HR and if you didn't confirm your attendance, the annual leave would be deducted from your record.

HSE and Simon Harris tweeted to the contrary on Thursday. The agreement up to Wednesday night was that time taken off would be paid but the hours had to be worked back before December, it was agreed Thursday that emergency paid leave could be taken without working hours back. The logistics probably need to be worked out but your line manager is misinformed.

https://twitter.com/SimonHarrisTD/status/969120283406815232?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Stayed at home doing nothing, getting fully paid. Good employer in the private sector.

I worked from home but was not very productive. I will be paid as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

Oh, going on some replies here, I won't have to take AL after all. I'm going to look into it further, thanks everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭larchielads

Can anyone quote me the law on this guy's. The factory chose to close what are our rights? They gave us 3 options, 1 take holidays, 2 take at own expense, 3 work in the time. Again they chose to close the place not us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

We're a fully mobile office, so everyone was expected to work from home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Have a business. I’m paying one day they can take two days unpaid or as annual leave

Fully paid for Thursday and Friday. I was working from home a good bit of both days but that was my choice*, I'll be paid either way as well anyone who can't or didn't work from home.

*I often take a day working from home/anywhere I might need to be out of the office when it suits me so I can't very well turn around and claim I couldn't get anything done at the end of last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Fully paid for Thursday and Friday. I was working from home a good bit of both days but that was my choice, I'll be paid either way.

Similar. I was able to make it in for a few hours Wed and Thurs, as I just find it easier to work in the office. I could have done nothing, and I would have had a huge pile of work for today, but as it is I'm pretty up to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Can anyone quote me the law on this guy's. The factory chose to close what are our rights? They gave us 3 options, 1 take holidays, 2 take at own expense, 3 work in the time. Again they chose to close the place not us.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/storm-emma/storm-emma-will-i-get-paid-if-i-cant-get-to-work-what-are-my-employee-rights-on-a-snow-day-36653230.html

This bit is interesting.From an employment law expert.

"However, if the workplace itself closes, in those circumstances where employees are being prevented from working, then there is an entitlement to be paid unless there is an express provision in the contract for putting employees on short-term contract, for example on seasonal contracts."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭minikin

In general I think the last week has been great for society, over visiting people in Tallaght yesterday to clear out their driveway / paths... the patience and goodwill displayed by drivers where long stretches were reduced to contra flow was amazing.

Fair dues folks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Have a business. I’m paying one day they can take two days unpaid or as annual leave

Was your business open during the snow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Thursday and Friday were rostered days off so no effect (on me) anyway, one of them essestial service jobs in Health Care (private sector). Working Saturday and Sunday, so same as any other weekend I am on.

Thankfully, we go no snow really compared to the rest of the country, inch or two in the estates and side roads Thurday and Friday, and even a dusting on Saturday and Sunday. People living further out may have got a bit more, but everyone still managed to drive in as normal all four days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭Clickbait

Is the East getting mail today? I've got a package in Portlaoise which hasn't moved since last Wednesday. Thought it might have made the way to my local sorting office yesterday and get some update this morning but it hasn't moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭minikin

Clickbait wrote: »
    Is the East getting mail today? I've got a package in Portlaoise which hasn't moved since last Wednesday. Thought it might have made the way to my local sorting office yesterday and get some update this morning but it hasn't moved.

Is it a delivery of stationary? :)

(That's a very clever joke there for ye lads)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Clickbait wrote: »
    I got a letter today here in Bray posted from Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

murpho999 wrote: »
    Was your business open during the snow?

Closed Thursday and Friday, opened Saturday if it was safe for people to get in

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

jonnycivic wrote: »
    They are being paid but annual leave will be taken off them ;)

That's not what I've heard. Many are expecting not to have to take leave if they missed work due to their building being closed based on feedback from management so far.

Minister Harris has already confirmed that HSE staff will not have to take leave if they were unable to make it into work due to the weather conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

D3V!L wrote: »
    My employer wants us to pay them for the days work we lost !!

Pretty sure that's illegal. They don't have to pay you if you don't work, but they can't force you to pay them for not working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Worked a bit from home as I sometimes do. Was grand.

I personally think people should be paid regardless. It's nobody's fault some places couldn't open, but can they pay staff and claim insurance or something? Or simply as a 'thank you'....

I agree particularly for big companies. It'd be extremely short sighted to deduct annual leave for this if someone couldn't get to work or work from home. There are countless times when you're relying on the employee to stay around to get stuff done after their hours are done.

I could understand it for small businesses to be fair who are struggling to make ends meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

With all that extra time on my hands over the past few days, I’ve done quite a bit of reading on whether or not I am legally entitled to be paid. And the answer in my case is yes!

Any employees unable to attend work because their employer closed their business must be paid.

Any employees who did not attend work, but whose employer remained open are not legally required to be paid. It will be at the discretion of the individual employer.

I’d say some employers who closed thinking they would not have to pay staff, may be in for a nasty shock. I hope that employees make themselves aware of the legalities of this issue and don’t end up out of pocket.

You would of course have huge sympathy for businesses, particularly small businesses, in these situations, but employees also have entitlements and they should be adhered to.

One reference point below, there have been many others lawyers commenting over the past few days.
    Are employers obliged to pay employees during this time?
    Where employees are not required to attend at work, for example, because the employer has closed for the day or the employer asks them not to come in or to leave early, then employees should be paid as normal.
    Where the employer’s business remains open and employees are unable to attend due to safety concerns or because they need to take care of children who are off school, then, strictly speaking and subject to any custom and practice in operation within the employer, there is no obligation on employers to pay employees during this time.

Link here.
    https://www.mhc.ie/latest/insights/ex-hurricane-ophelia-are-you-obliged-to-pay-employees-who-miss-work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Worked from home.
    I was at home, I was online (mostly), some work was done :)