The majority people of Tallaght need to stand up**MOD Warning Post 1, 478**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

Tallaght is by no means alone. Have heard of a few shops around the country getting robbed and some low lifes in Meath stole electrical equipment from a special needs school last night. I doubt if there will be as much vitriolic tweeting at the people of Meath. I do agree that commandeering a JCB is next level looting but sadly people who are incapable of living outside their own hard man/hard done by persona are everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Seriously parents need to become a hell of a lot more responsible and actually bring their kids up.

That's not going to happen. The parents of these kids were probably just like them at that age and haven't changed that much.

Gatling wrote: »
    Nothing will change too many **** heads living mostly social housing causing most of trouble unfortunately till they solve that it's carry on as normal

And you still have some quarters of Irish politics campaigning for more social housing estates to be built

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭limnam

Míshásta wrote: »
    I'm not from Dublin, but doesn't Tallaght cover a huge area and have a large population?.

I can't see how they all can be held responsible for the activities of a hoodlum element taking advantage of an unprecedented weather event.

70k or so.

Pretty big.

The scum element is quiet small actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Tallaght... Great bunch of lads.

Seriously parents need to become a hell of a lot more responsible and actually bring their kids up.

More Garda and zero tolerance approach.

Too many wannabe gangs and anti social behaviour.

Better laws and fix the legal system including prison's.

Go over to any of the shock jock Dublin radio stations Facebook pages and say that.
    You’ll soon get your answer.
    “You can’t watch them 24/7” is the general theme.
    Then there’s the “no facilities” theme. When it’s pointed out that there are plenty of facilities you will be told that all these activities cost too much.
    If you go to that persons Facebook page you will see them enjoying themselves at a football match in Old Trafford or on holidays in Spain with the girls.
    The Gardai/government/foreigners/school/bankers/Denis OBrien are to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

We are standing here thank you . Our neighbours have been out shovelling snow and helping the eldery and trying to help nurses who live here to the Hospital . The vast majority in Tallaght have been doing what the rest of the country is doing and helping each other out . Three people knocked on my door yesterday to see what we needed .

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Effects wrote: »
    That's not going to happen. The parents of these kids were probably just like them at that age and haven't changed that much.

Let government computers talk to each other.
    Child not attending school - no child benefit
    Child not attending Hospital appointment - no child benefit
    Child not being parented in any way resembling normality - no child benefit.
    Interactions with the guards - investigation leading to loss of child benefit.
    Hit them where it hurts, stop 'their' money.

The Joan Burton saga has a lot to answer for. It showed that elected representatives (Murphy, Mahon and Murphy) thought it ok to behave like thugs and get away with it. It showed young people hailed as heroes for abusing those in authority. “No way. We won’t pay” my ar**. Scarce funds have to be taken from other services to pay for their behavior.

splinter65 wrote: »
    Go over to any of the shock jock Dublin radio stations Facebook pages and say that.
    You’ll soon get your answer.
    “You can’t watch them 24/7” is the general theme.
    Then there’s the “no facilities” theme. When it’s pointed out that there are plenty of facilities you will be told that all these activities cost too much.
    If you go to that persons Facebook page you will see them enjoying themselves at a football match in Old Trafford or on holidays in Spain with the girls.
    The Gardai/government/foreigners/school/bankers/Denis OBrien are to blame.

If only the mother of the 47yr old who was arrested was keeping an eye on him...:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

limnam wrote: »
    Guards been scumbags.

That's exactly what will fix it.

100 per cent fixed it that day. What would you have done? There was no internet back then for your self righteous and weak kneed posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

And you still have some quarters of Irish politics campaigning for more social housing estates to be built

SF controlled county councils are demanding 30% minimum social housing in new developments over the usual 10%

spurious wrote: »
    Let government computers talk to each other.
    Child not attending school - no child benefit
    Child not attending Hospital appointment - no child benefit
    Child not being parented in any way resembling normality - no child benefit.
    Interactions with the guards - investigation leading to loss of child benefit.
    Hit them where it hurts, stop 'their' money.

Your view like most is too simplistic.

Forcing a child into school and removing their "safety" net does nothing but generate more crime.

Oh how will the ever manage to generate 38e a week with crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Loueln

Consecutive jail sentences, none of this concurrent nonsense. Allow prison governers no leeway in releasing before sentences up. Still allow time off for good behaviour though to motivate rehabilitation but leave this to a judge or probation service

Loueln wrote: »
    Consecutive jail sentences, none of this concurrent nonsense. Allow prison governers no leeway in releasing before sentences up. Still allow time off for good behaviour though to motivate rehabilitation but leave this to a judge or probation service

We need to build the prisons first to hold them all . Thats a huge stumbling block to this problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

If anyone in court is found "not guilty" then pay Free Legal Aid.
    If they're found "guilty" then take it from their dole/ wages.

People only understand when it costs them.

If anyone in court is found "not guilty" then pay Free Legal Aid.
    If they're found "guilty" then take it from their dole/ wages.

People only understand when it costs them.

So they turn to more crime to make money...

But it was only a peaceful protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

So they turn to more crime to make money...
    No. They jail them for further crimes.Make it tough too.
    If everyone turned to crime when fined there would be anarchy.

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    But it was only a peaceful protest

:confused::confused::confused::confused:

What has this got to do with water protests ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

The Joan Burton saga has a lot to answer for. It showed that elected representatives (Murphy, Mahon and Murphy) thought it ok to behave like thugs and get away with it. It showed young people hailed as heroes for abusing those in authority. “No way. We won’t pay†my ar**. Scarce funds have to be taken from other services to pay for their behavior.

So you missed the whole court case where they were found not guilty, what did they get away with?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Your view like most is too simplistic.

Forcing a child into school and removing their "safety" net does nothing but generate more crime.

Oh how will the ever manage to generate 38e a week with crime.

You may call it simplistic. Get them to finish school able to read and you will stop this nonsense. The Joy is not full of people who finished school. It's full of those whose parents let them leave early without any exams.If the parents do not know this is not a good idea, then the State has to step in and save those kids from their parents.

I worked 30 years teaching in the inner city. I have heard all the excuses about no facilities etc.. Load of cobblers.

I have watched women going out cleaning toilets at 6am every morning and asking me what to tell their kid when the local layabout fraternity jet off three and four times a year to the sun and she is struggling to pay for school things.

We have a whole underclass laughing at us fools who pay tax, pay full price for things, actually save money (shocker) and do not think looting shops (or surrounding anyone's car for hours) is 'OK'.

No. They jail them for further crimes.Make it tough too.
    If everyone turned to crime when fined there would be anarchy.

What are you going to define tough?

Like a 3 strike rule? 2 strike rule?

Whats tough?

Like 25 years on the 3rd crime?

Pay 75-80k a year to house them in a prison for 25 years? 15?

Yet whine about a social housing bill of <200k ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭mattser

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    We are standing here thank you . Our neighbours have been out shovelling snow and helping the eldery and trying to help nurses who live here to the Hospital . The vast majority in Tallaght have been doing what the rest of the country is doing and helping each other out . Three people knocked on my door yesterday to see what we needed .

Thanks for that. The thread needed this post for a bit of fairness. I'm sure the 99% of residents there are disgusted by the behaviour on the small minority. Keep up the good work.

You may call it simplistic. Get them to finish school able to read and you will stop this nonsense. The Joy is not full of people who finished school. It's full of those whose parents let them leave early without any exams.If the parents do not know this is not a good idea, then the State has to step in and save those kids from their parents.

Once the child gets to 14/15/16 it's very difficult to force them into school.
    Plus they know how to get thrown out by teachers

So then what? remove 38e a week from the parent? I don't see what problem your solving here.

I worked 30 years teaching in the inner city. I have heard all the excuses about no facilities etc.. Load of cobblers.

Sure it's a load of cobblers it's far more complicated and can't be solved by putting in a slide.
    I have watched women going out cleaning toilets at 6am every morning and asking me what to tell their kid when the local layabout fraternity jet off three and four times a year to the sun and she is struggling to pay for school things.

I'm not sure what point you're making here.
    We have a whole underclass laughing at us fools who pay tax, pay full price for things, actually save money (shocker) and do not think looting shops (or surrounding anyone's car for hours) is 'OK'.

Right, but removing 38e form a house because the kid won't show up in school doesn't really solve anything in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

The Lidl item made it on to news in Finland complete with videos. Paints a lovely picture of Ireland.

There are two questions:

Why did they do it ?
    Why didn't anyone stop them ?

The second answers the first. There is supposed to be a rapid reaction Garda section. There is also the army. This could of been a terrorist incident & shows how hopelessly unprepared we are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 actaphobia

I think this is a sensible and considered post.

But I wonder how teachers feel about dealing with anti-social behavior in the classroom. I remember being in a south-western Dublin school, when it started accepting students from undesirable areas. Many teachers were unable to deal with this type of student.

My own thinking is that these students be put in reform schools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

"The devil finds work for idle hands" is probably the truest saying my parents generation ever came up with. Paying people to spend their days doing nothing is a recipe for disaster. Nobody able-bodied should be allowed to spend years drawing on the public purse without any requirement to put some work in. If the public purse pays for your lifestyle, you should work for the public good. There's plenty to be done in our public areas, roads, etc. and plenty of people who are currently drawing a stipend who could do it.

I've suggested this on here before, and heard all the usual excuses; it would put people out of work, people don't have the required skills, it's unfair to make the poor dears work etc. All easily solvable, but the people who pretend to support the rights of the underprivileged will continue to block any attempt to get them into the workforce.

Once the child gets to 14/15/16 it's very difficult to force them into school.
    Plus they know how to get thrown out by teachers

You get them into appropriate education.
    You cannot be 'thrown out' of school in Ireland. There is a legal obligation on the State to educate you, despite your parents. A place has to be found.

38 euro is only the start. Then you investigate the 13D car, the multiple holidays and what is resourcing them etc.

'Oh I thought he was in the library studying' said no delinquent parent ever.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    So you missed the whole court case where they were found not guilty, what did they get away with?

Yes, they were rightly found not guilty of false inprisonment. That doesn’t make the behavior of the mob on that day acceptable.

Discodog wrote: »
    The Lidl item made it on to news in Finland complete with videos. Paints a lovely picture of Ireland.

There are two questions:

Why did they do it ?
    Why didn't anyone stop them ?

The second answers the first. There is supposed to be a rapid reaction Garda section. There is also the army. This could of been a terrorist incident & shows how hopelessly unprepared we are.

It paints a picture of a gang of feral thugs ,. No one else in this country should be tarred with the same brush and I am quite sure the Finns have their own troubles .Neither people in Kerry or Tipperary or City West or Jobstown who were not involved have anything to answer too . The vast majority of people in Tallaght are shocked and disgusted over this awful crime .