Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Severe Weather Snow / Ice Weds 28 FEB ( Onwards ) ** READ MOD NOTE POST#1**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 East Beast 18

What's going on????? I thought the worst was meant to be last night . Bucketing down big flakey snow all day in blackrock. No thaw. This is the worst its been all week as yesterdays "blizzard" was just wind and light snow?

I'm nearly out of food lads in the gaff. Beginning to panic now. What if the shops aren't going to open for days yet????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Dodge wrote: »
    We’re now into 48 hours of straight snow in Clondalkin. As heavy now as at any stage (day time anyway) since the first flakes on Tuesday

It’s insane tbh

Yes. Non stop. Incredible scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

NAGDEFI wrote: »
    Who is that eadgit co presenting the Afternoon Show!? He's after asking a climatologist was 'Black 1947 after the famine' particularly bad snow!!

100 years out..now coincidentally there was severe snowfalls from December 1846- Feb 1847.

I was half watching/listening and wondering what he was talking about the famine re 1947?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

largepants wrote: »
    I can't understand how Waterford an Cork have been taken off red alert so early.

It's madness, snowing here since 8am yesterday and no letting up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭RustyGate

Aye, but I presume you are prepared. It isn't like this was something that came at you out of the blue. There couldn't have been any more warnings given to people.

Previous cold snap events were not accompanied by blanket shutdowns and earlier on in the week weather models were not nailed on with absolute certainty so it was not reasonable then to expect these shutdowns. I did try to stock up on Thursday morning before Emma but found everywhere shut. At the beginning of the week we were all scoffing at panic buyers, but it now seems panic buying was the thing to do. Note, I am NOT saying the current shutdown for Emma and aftermath is not justified, as the weather is obviously mental out there now - and I would also be concerned about a lot of business premises with flat roofs if the accumulations continue to mount up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Titain

Still snowing here in sw kerry, fairly heavily actually. I did wonder why we don't have a warning as we have easily had more snow today than last night, and we got a good load then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Been lashing snow all day here in D24 and doesnt seem to be letting up.
    Was anyone around for the snow in 1982? If so how does it compare to whats happening now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,868 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Will Kilkenny get any much more? Snow here in Kilkenny itself has been rubbish, envious of our neighbours in Wexford, Waterford Wicklow and Kildare. Seems to be much worse and more "quality" snow!
    Bit of a thaw on actually and slushy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,798 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

This is INSANE...it’s no overstatement now here in Dublin to say that roads are almost if not impassible in this area. Constant snow deluge. Impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭mumo3

Sweet baby jebus...its pelting in clondalkin and people never learn....I can see the nangor road, people driving on it, the civil defence where out earlier helping idiots who decided to take their BMW out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

Strumms wrote: »
    This is INSANE...it’s no overstatement now here in Dublin to say that roads are almost if not impassible in this area. Constant snow deluge. Impressive

Where exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭homolumo

Stopped here in Co. Waterford for now. Measured up to 50 cm in spots around my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Here in Cork City the snow has died off a bit, still lightly falling after falling for a number of hours. It had gotten to be very wet snow though sadly :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Where exactly?

Clondalkin/Lucan anyway. Wind and constant snow. No visibility now. Constantly accumulating. Roads a complete no go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 East Beast 18

What's going on????? I thought the worst was meant to be last night . Bucketing down big flakey snow all day in blackrock. No thaw. This is the worst its been all week as yesterdays "blizzard" was just wind and light snow?

I'm nearly out of food lads in the gaff. Beginning to panic now. What if the shops aren't going to open for days yet????

Don't worry you'll be grand :rolleyes:

Thanks. There was me worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

Still Wicklow mountains blocking any significant snowfall here :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Tobinjl91

Only getting worse here in Harolds Cross! Thought we had seen the last of it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

Biggest snow of the week in Bray at the moment.
    Relentless stream of fairly small pellets, I’d say we’re up to a foot, foot and a half in some places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Little help?

86_BF018_E-_DE30-427_C-_AC90-_E6_A2_DD1_E0_CE4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

Dublin 3: very skiddy and icy on side roads in Clontarf. Blizzard here now which is not what Met were predicting AFAIK?

Main thoroughfares Clontarf Road, Fairview, Ballybough, Dorset Street all very slushy and skiddy but passable.

Eurospar Fairview is open, all other convenience stores around those areas shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭one world order

Would be great to be back to normal again and this horrible snow would piss off. Hopefully tomorrow the snow thaws away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

RustyGate wrote: »
    Previous cold snap events were not accompanied by blanket shutdowns and earlier on in the week weather models were not nailed on with absolute certainty so it was not reasonable then to expect these shutdowns. I did try to stock up on Thursday morning before Emma but found everywhere shut. At the beginning of the week we were all scoffing at panic buyers, but it now seems panic buying was the thing to do. Note, I am NOT saying the current shutdown for Emma and aftermath is not justified, as the weather is obviously mental out there now - and I would also be concerned about a lot of business premises with flat roofs if the accumulations continue to mount up.

Predicting weather isn't an exact science. These things are constantly evolving and changing as the develop so its impossible to give exact details. It was perfectly reasonably to me to think parts of the country would get shut down given the severity of the warnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,798 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Very weak accumulations here in north coastal Dublin. Lots of tiny snow falling but nothing to show for it. Light dusting on the road.

The netweather radar seems to want to not move the heavier precipitation in the Irish Sea.

I’m in Glasnevin not a million miles away and white out....levels of snow getting worse this is armeggedon sryle snow fall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Honestly regretting not doing a bit of panic buying myself, out of bread and even more concerningly alcohol stocks being depleted rapidly. Its starting to get serious here!
    Anyone know will regular flour do for making bread instead of "strong flour" (not joking!)

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭oterra

tunguska wrote: »
    Been lashing snow all day here in D24 and doesnt seem to be letting up.
    Was anyone around for the snow in 1982? If so how does it compare to whats happening now?

I was around in 82, living in Dundrum. We weren't prepared at all. As far as I remember the forecast was for sleet in Dublin and the rest is history. The drifts were huge in 82 maybe bigger than today but very similar to where I am now in Ballycullen, D24 in the foothills. I do remember that in 82 the cold was prolonged for at least a week after and the winds were stronger. Please correct me if I'm wrong. There were also queues everywhere due to the fact that we were not given many warnings. Maybe that's the difference between both events.

I'm sure after all the data is collected some of the experts in here will make a comparison. In 82 winter was on our side which enabled a prolonged coldspell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Where exactly?

Here in Tallaght for starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Slashermcguirk

Heaviest snow since this whole snow event started in raheny. Phenomenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Daniel2590

Been sat watching cars try to get to the car park of the park, but little do they know there is about 2 foot of snow across the road after a stretch of having maybe 6 inches.. Cue every single one of them plowing straight into the deep snow and having to do the reverse of shame :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

mumo3 wrote: »
    Sweet baby jebus...its pelting in clondalkin and people never learn....I can see the nangor road, people driving on it, the civil defence where out earlier helping idiots who decided to take their BMW out

As i said earlier they all should be fined if help is required from the emergency services unless they can prove they are front line staff or it's a genuine emergency and by that i don't mean a run to the shops for some milk and fags.

Absolute weapons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Zerbini Blewitt

The M50 snow ploughing / clearing today was impressive.

5 ploughs worked in staggered relay. The lead plough was in lane 4 throwing the snow into lane 3. The plough in lane 3 was 20m behind and threw the snow into lane 2 etc.

Plus there are a surprising amount of snow ploughs available at all the airports. I think they have multi-use vehicles that can have a front plough attached just for snow events.