Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snowmagedagain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Straffan1979

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    They are sensitive over on that weather forum aren't they. Pointed out it's embarrassing that people are panic buying bread, milk and other food stuffs for a couple of days of snow and got a red card.

I got the road out of it there for saying we'll soon be as bad as the yanks with doomsday preppers in woodies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    You know all this after 121 posts, Ummm.

Yes. I'm extremely intelligent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

seamusk84 wrote: »
    I

As for stripping the shops of bread etc, I have no words for that.

I do....."Panic"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭minikin

I was just outside my apartment block trying to talk a jumper down off the roof, in the freezing cold, and some phucker has just locked me out of the building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

****ing eir just blocked my streaming site there's no monster energy left in tesco, if this snow doesn't happen I will riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

I'm ready, Jeeves has the roller tooled up

rolls-royce+snow+plow.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I just hope there are enough carrots to go around. Imagine being carrotless just as snowman season starts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Use a parsnip no one likes orange nose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Use a parsnip no one likes orange nose

Arlene Foster?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

minikin wrote: »
    I was just outside my apartment block trying to talk a jumper down off the roof, in the freezing cold, and some phucker has just locked me out of the building.

There's not even a lock on the door! :P It's an interior courtyard door, the only reason it's ever held open is when you need to carry something in or out with both hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭chupacabra

GRO4vrx.png

This is the current temperature outside my apartment. Its been like this all month and will continue (even getting colder) for a few weeks. It's like this every year.

A bit of snow wont kill you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭-=al=-

-5 in Glasgow in a minute, sure it's grand. Shag all news reports here and done some shopping earlier and the place was fully stocked with a few people knocking about! Sounds like an Apocalypse is about to happen back in the homeland :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

chupacabra wrote: »
    GRO4vrx.png

This is the current temperature outside my apartment. Its been like this all month and will continue (even getting colder) for a few weeks. It's like this every year.

Got as low as -42c when I was in Canada with wind chill. It also snowed many inches on many nights. It was cleared by 6am the next morning into huge embankments on the path, as it probably is in Estonia.

Ireland... not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

GRO4vrx.png

Billy86 wrote: »
    Got as low as -42c when I was in Canada with wind chill. It also snowed many inches on many nights. It was cleared by 6am the next morning into huge embankments on the path, as it probably is in Estonia.

Ireland... not so much.

Once again:
    _Dara_ wrote: »
    They are countries where it makes sense to invest in keeping the country running in snow as it is definite that it will happen every year. It’s not a comparable situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Also cold does in fact kill people. And snow too. And ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭drillyeye

Just saw a poodle legging it down the road. Half way to where it was going (I presumed it was some hot 'n steamy poodle action with the local bitch), its legs shattered to pieces, terminator 2 style.

'tis cold.

In all fairness if we didnt stock up with snow on the way then we'd all be saying 'Oh typical Irish and the 'be grand' mentality'.

At this point in time we do not know how bad this fall of snow is going to be. Its better to be prepared in some way shape or form

The Estonia comparison is silly. Estonia can safely predict cold weather at certain parts of the year but Ireland cant. It makes no sense to invest in machinery to remove something we may never get. In the colder Eastern European countries though its a necessity so therefore it appears they manage better but the fact is they arent in the same catch 22 as we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Feck.sake lads the snow isnt even on the ground yet and the bickering about getting rid of it and 'in other countries where they get snow' comparisons already drawn up.

Just relax and enjoy it if we do get it. Tis rare enough and the humdrum of daily modern life can be put on hold for a few days, or weeks, or preferably forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Why are people discussing the cold in countries who get it EVERY year. They are capable of managing it. This is a serious anomaly for Ireland and people are rightfully worried about how it will be managed.

Nobody cares how cold it is in Estonia or what you did in Canada.

The Estonia comparison is silly. Estonia can safely predict cold weather at certain parts of the year but Ireland cant. It makes no sense to invest in machinery to remove something we may never get. In the colder Eastern European countries though its a necessity so therefore it appears they manage better but the fact is they arent in the same catch 22 as we are.

Yeah but it's not like Ireland never gets it, and the negatives are pretty bad if no one can travel. I wouldn't mind seeing the cost-benefit report that (I presume) was done on it after 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

GRO4vrx.png

Yes. But do you have a bunker underground complete with Brennan's bread padded insulation?

Yeah but it's not like Ireland never gets it, and the negatives are pretty bad if no one can travel. I wouldn't mind seeing the cost-benefit report that (I presume) was done on it after 2010

Ah now in fairness we rarely get it. You just cannot say 'Oh the poles or the Russians don't blink an eye'. Of course they wouldn't

But at least some of that* is due to the perception those of us out foreign in actually cold regions are getting from online Ireland the last few days. I think it was you who mentioned earlier that it's better than the 'ah shure be grand' attitude, and I guess it is but why can't Ireland just have the measured reasonable balance between the two, it was the same for Ophelia a few months ago. If there is a bit of warm weather in the summer are people going to be planning for droughts and desertification? :D

And from the machinery and council planning perspective, someone just needs to crunch the numbers, risk = damage X probability.

*Of course there will always be some people trolling with it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Once again:
    They are countries where it makes sense to invest in keeping the country running in snow as it is definite that it will happen every year. It’s not a comparable situation.
    That was my point! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

My local supermarket was stripped of bread and milk today, the place was packed and not a car parking space in sight!

I can understand the likes of elderly people stocking up on supplies though, they can't be too careful and if they're isolated for days on end it's better safe than sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

It’s hard to justify the investment it would require when money is badly needed elsewhere. I bet other countries hate having to budget for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

wakka12 wrote: »
    Im embarrassed for anyone who panic bought and it makes me think the country is on average much stupider than I had thought

When you think about it, half the country are more stupid than the average! (Median to be exact but I don't want to further confuse half the country).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

If it snows, it snows. If we die, we die.