Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PW Boards Draft XI - Discussion Thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,268 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

5 Posts Max
    A bit of the current topic, would the general opinion be to post all your shows as close together as possible to make it easier for the reader to follow? Im working on my shows one at a time rather than simultaneously, so Im reluctant to post any more until I have all completed. I guess the good thing about that also is I can make changes if needed.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,156 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

5 Posts Max
    Post them how you like Kolido, I do like to keep mine as close together as possible tbh. With four posts it's a lot easier than last year's marathon that's for sure :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,025 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

6 Posts Max
    Kolido wrote: »
    A bit of the current topic, would the general opinion be to post all your shows as close together as possible to make it easier for the reader to follow? Im working on my shows one at a time rather than simultaneously, so Im reluctant to post any more until I have all completed. I guess the good thing about that also is I can make changes if needed.

Not really, it doesnt hurt.

Links to your shows will be compiled at various times through out teh next few weeks as new shows become available, its makes them easier to read.

6 Posts Max
    I must say I dont want to be the bad guy host of THe draft, but Im willing to cut the show deadline to 4 weeks, I agree alot of what both MNG and Necro have posted.

Any challenges to this change, speak up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,985 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

5 Posts Max
    beakerjoe wrote: »
    I must say I dont want to be the bad guy host of THe draft, but Im willing to cut the show deadline to 4 weeks, I agree alot of what both MNG and Necro have posted.

Any challenges to this change, speak up

I don't know where the 6 week period was first mooted, but I've been working off that deadline for some time anyway. I'd struggle to get everything together within 4 weeks, but 6 should be fine. That's just down to my particular shift pattern at work.

Plus, I think it makes sense to finish around WrestleMania time.

5 Posts Max
    I don't mind. TBH

I'm finishing my episode structure properly later then I'll be firing them up quick enough anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭A Brad Maddox Guy

4 Posts Max
    I understand their point too, would a 4 week post deadline and a 1/2 week reading period work? Encourages us to put in our shows while the draft is still fresh but maybe relieves a bit of pressure at the same time. Obviously votes can be put in at any time after the show deadline but at least for anyone who doesn't keep up as new shows are posted they'll not need to rush through posts.

Fwiw I'm not planning on doing anything more this week but hoping to have two posts ready to go next weekend and then the PPV the week after.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

5 Posts Max
    4 or 6 is fine for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,427 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

5 Posts Max
    Could I suggest getting at least a first post/preview post up by say this time next week?

Would get people into first gear and hopefully encourage a steady stream of shows from everyone by the 4/6 week deadline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

4 Posts Max
    I can only speak for myself: in my case I haven't done any writing yet beyond a few scribbled notes. I was hoping the deadline would be the kick up the arse I needed to push me to get a move on but tbh 6 weeks will just see me procrastinate for around another month.

I won't be reading any shows until I get my own plans in order and I suspect others will feel the same as me; that means the lads that have already submitted write-ups will probably be waiting a long time for any feedback. I sympathise in that regard because I have been in that situation myself one year where I finished up early and had to wait a good while for others to finish up because there had been an extension granted, as became the norm.

It sounds great to have 6 weeks to do shows, but in reality it's detrimental because there's no incentive to get things done. We've seen over the years that the longer this game drags on the more the interest wanes. I can predict what will happen: one or two will come in with the oul', "Sorry lads I won't be able to do any shows this year because of (insert reason)"; some will put it on the long finger telling themselves they'll do it in the last week and when the last week comes they find the excitement they got from the picking phase has faded and the motivation just isn't there; others do maybe one show and then find that their enthusiasm didn't extend beyond that one show, a bit like a writer who vows to write a book and only gets a few pages sorted; and then there's the guys who we just don't hear from at all until the winner is announced.

The writing part - even with lesser shows this year - is always going to be a pain in the arse because it requires effort. But having a bunch of free time to get it done isn't the answer because it gives your mind a chance to put it on the back burner. Yes, there will be a disciplined few who get things done early, just like in school or college there were a disciplined few who got their assigments done early, but most people I knew got stuff in right before the deadline. And if we look at previous games, the number of submissions is always highest in the last 24 hours.

So whether we go with 4 or 6 weeks, the late rush will see the biggest spike of submissions. The problem is that by 6 weeks you have people who have become much less engaged with the game and are much more likely to say, "this ain't worth the effort now."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,654 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

4 Posts Max
    And with Spongey1975s final pick, we now end the drafting phase to the game. Each roster has made 15 picks and assembled 20 locker rooms filled with excellent talent.

Id like to take this moment to thanks all 20 participants on making the drafting good fun over the last 40 or so days and thank you to DM-7 for his roster updates, Bounty Hunter for helping out with pick queries and everyone else for making it extremely enjoyable.

As you can see the Evaluation thread is up and running with already 3 players submitting work, which is a great start. I hope that due to the rule tweeks and amendments we shall see all 20 players submit their work.

The deadline is set for 6 weeks from now at April 1st. THERE WILL BE NO EXTENSIONS! 6 weeks should be more than enough to get work in. Remember that the minimum requirement is to get your PPV card in, but you are allowed 4 posts in total to work with over the coming weeks.

Once the April 1st passes, voting cards will be issued via PM for you guys to vote on a wide range of Slammy Awards as well as the grand prize itself of Overall Winner. Hopefully I can have the Champion crowned by April 8th aka Wrestlemania.

So good luck guys, its been a pleasure.

giphy.gif

First off, thanks beakerjoe and Bounty Hunter

I prefer the 6 weeks but if changed 4 weeks that is fine too

I am getting my plans in place but tbh some plans which are good in my head and not translating to paper so doing some changing around

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

6 Posts Max
    Cheers Joe for running this (smoothly) again this year.

On the 4/6 week thing:

I'd be reluctant to lessen what was already stated if people thought that they might not get their shows in as a result. ATM however I think only Mr Guappa has suggested that could be the case. I do however think that MNG has a point and would not mind a compromise and Brad's idea of 4weeks and 2weeks to read seems fair. If necessary late submissions could go in during those 2 weeks but obviously if it's late there is no guarantee people will have time to read it / vote on it.

6 Posts Max
    Firstly thanks for all the nice thank yous and such, it makes teh draft worthwhile with playing with some nice appreciative folks.

Now on to the burning issue (Partridge joke)

Initially when I announced the 6 week deadline, while I felt a shorter deadline may aid the game to a degree, because it’s not a guaranteed way of getting most players to produce work. In theory it may help and MNG makes a good few points, but I do not feeling pressurising people to play is the best course of action. I don’t want to force people to contribute, I feel people should feel obligated to do this out of respect to everyone else in the game.

We have already agreed to make the game less daunting to players with the 4 post max, I feel that alone should be enough to encourage others to get involved. At the end of the day it is a game, I want everyone to have fun to. I enjoy the write up phase and I wish everyone else taking part shared the same love I have for it.

The reason we have 100 percent completion of the drafting phase is because of how easy it is, as you can jump in pick and jump out without much effort. The write up phase is requires time and effort, and while I agree 4 weeks should be enough for folks to get work up, I do realise too that people may have tougher working / family life than I do. I can get a lot done in work and can make time to do a few bits at home, but others don’t have the same advantages I have. Real life can get in the way, and while I agree some may procrastinate with the 6 week deadline, I feel having a 4 week deadline wont aid those who have tougher real life situations.

Last year we had a six week deadline plus a 2 week extension. This year we have no extension, a rule I have been very clear about. I feel a 4 week deadline may work better than a 6 week deadline given the reasons MNG laid out, however it may also hinder others like Mr Guppa in submitting work at all considering his work circumstances.

In relation to the MNG prediction of lads coming in with excuses near the end of the 6 weeks, pushing it back to 4 weeks wont solve that problem in my opinion. It gives people less time to submit work, and I see no reason how a shorter deadline will solve this. If people aren’t bothered doing write ups, then they shouldn’t be playing to begin with.

If you participated in the draft phase, you should submit something in my opinion out of respect for the other players. But I can’t force people to play. However, I would suggest a rule where if you don’t submit any PPV this year, you are excluded from joining the draft next year.

4 or 6 weeks doesn’t bother me a whole lot as I will get my work in regardless before either deadline, (because I love the write up phase despite the restrictions this year). That being said if you guys want to vote on the matter and shorten the deadline, maybe BH can sort out a poll and we vote on it democratically

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,156 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

5 Posts Max

If you participated in the draft phase, you should submit something in my opinion out of respect for the other players. But I can’t force people to play. However, I would suggest a rule where if you don’t submit any PPV this year, you are excluded from joining the draft next year.

This needs to be a thing tbh. Last year I was looking jealously at some people's rosters stacked with superstars and not a thing done with them.

I said it to beaker privately last year, and I'll say it publically this year. I will not be voting for any player in any fashion if they don't complete the write up phase of the competition, simple as that.

Rewarding people who put in the effort of doing write-ups is what I prefer. Yes it's a chore, yes some people (me) have more time (or it comes easier) than others.
    But we all signed up under the same banner to complete drafting and then produce write ups, otherwise we're as well to disband the write up part and all stare at our pretty rosters for the exact purpose of fcuk all. If that was the case, I wouldn't bother signing up tbh as the write up phase is my favorite part of the draft.

With regards the 6 week deadline, beaker's the boss and it's entirely up to him. I've already said I agree with MNG and I even think 4 weeks is a bit much tbh for four posts but that's just a Necro thing rather than a draft thing.

5 Posts Max
    Enjoyed seeing who got to the final in the womens champion tourney.

Keep an eye on my promotion to see how the final would really work out :pac:

6 Posts Max
    I have my first post done, just gotta get images and have the wife read over it (she tells me when its crap)

5 Posts Max
    Quick question. Can I use local enhancement talent/Jobbers???

4 Posts Max
    Quick question. Can I use local enhancement talent/Jobbers???

I think you can have it like

"Braun Strowman destroys a local talent" or "Braun beats up Bobby the Jobby" but it can't be a match with say the Brooklyn Brawler.

5 Posts Max
    I think you can have it like

"Braun Strowman destroys a local talent" or "Braun beats up Bobby the Jobby" but it can't be a match with say the Brooklyn Brawler.

That's what I was thinking alright

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

5 Posts Max
    Sorry for the lack of posts , still doing my training for work so aiming to have my first Evaluation up by the weekend

6 Posts Max
    Back from my travels now so should hopefully get my first show up in the next few days. Should I put up a 4/6week poll like Joe suggested?

5 Posts Max
    As one of the big offenders I just want to update fellow drafters.

I am working on my posts. I have post 1 pretty much done, just needs a read through and tidy up. Show 2 format is decided and mostly written. Show 3 format and purpose is decided. Final PPV card is decided.

I will post show 1 for next Monday as that is something Shagn brought up as something he would like people to achieve.

At the very least I aimed to do show 1 as a PPV on it's own right so if anything gets in the way I have done a PPV. But as a I say I have already made progress beyond that minimum.

I won't be reading anything else before posting mine though.

6 Posts Max
    My First show is up

Live from Gotham City it's the "State of the BWA" press conference

I read Necros first one and it was good but feel I should read his next one before commenting as it was before travelling around a week ago that I read it and I need a refresher.

6 Posts Max
    First post up.....

Beyond Chaos Year 5

6 Posts Max
    Great to see submissions start to roll in even if it seems like people are holding back on reading / giving feedback till closer to the end this year. I hope to have my 2nd post up in the next day or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,427 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

5 Posts Max
    Looks like we’re gonna have to hermit ourselves from tomorrow onwards.

Hopefully there’ll be a run of write ups.

Mine is coming on nicely. Have the brunt of my preview and first show done. Will try get them up before the weekend.

5 Posts Max
    Assuming we have internet and power I will post my first effort as well. Never got around to it last weekend.

6 Posts Max
    Well its March first tomorrow, I would hope more submissions start from those yet to submit anything.

4 Posts Max
    Work cancelled the next couple days so hopeful I'll get to finish that post I was talking to ya about. Still not 100% sure how to approach my next post but once that's out of the way I should be able to do my PPV quick enough. Don't think I'll go too in depth for my matches, I'm not good enough at it anyway, but I'm happy with how it's shaping up so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭daithi1989

5 Posts Max
    Snow should def give me the time to get started! Very busy at work currently, but two days now will help get fingers to keyboard! Hopefully will get first show up by wkend anyway!