Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Half dacent paper review today. Only sports stories discussed. Very enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Seems "RichieMc" is the man himself.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,999 ✭✭✭✭siblers

What you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I was listening to that David Brady fella on about Mayo v Galway (interview with Joe) Brady sounds like he is talking sense most of the time.
    He was very anti the rough stuff in his talk.
    But, I cannot help thinking of the stuff he said last year

1) Tyrone will beat Dublin the the AI semi-final 2017 and implied they would put it up to them physically.

2) He said that Con O'Callaghan's inexperience will show against Mayo in the AI final and implied he could be 'got at' (Con scored a goal in early on and was pushing for man of the match)

I would love if Brady was pulled up about some of the stuff he has said in the past, or is it just forgotten about?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I was listening to that David Brady fella on about Mayo v Galway (interview with Joe) Brady sounds like he is talking sense most of the time.
    He was very anti the rough stuff in his talk.
    But, I cannot help thinking of the stuff he said last year

1) Tyrone will beat Dublin the the AI semi-final 2017 and implied they would put it up to them physically.

2) He said that Con O'Callaghan's inexperience will show against Mayo in the AI final and implied he could be 'got at' (Con scored a goal in early on and was pushing for man of the match)

I would love if Brady was pulled up about some of the stuff he has said in the past, or is it just forgotten about?

I don't see the issue? They are just opinions, thankfully in relation to sport and not sociology. He's paid to give them and he doesn't have to be correct any of the time for that. Look on the bright side: he ain't talking about doping, child abuse in swimming, equal pay for women soccer players or knickers in Copenhagen. That's nice for a change.

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    I don't see the issue? They are just opinions, thankfully in relation to sport and not sociology. He's paid to give them and he doesn't have to be correct any of the time for that. Look on the bright side: he ain't talking about doping, child abuse in swimming, equal pay for women soccer players or knickers in Copenhagen. That's nice for a change.

Exactly which is why I am discussing sport and not the other stuff.
    The other craic has been well discussed at this stage.

Anyway my point is Brady contradicts himself a lot.
    He was for physicality now he is against it.
    Maybe he is going down the Joe Brolly route and just saying things for the craic?

Exactly which is why I am discussing sport and not the other stuff.
    The other craic has been well discussed at this stage.

Anyway my point is Brady contradicts himself a lot.
    He was for physicality now he is against it.
    Maybe he is going down the Joe Brolly route and just saying things for the craic?

Seems to be the "media tactic du jour". I'm just glad of the reports back that they actually talked sport tonight. No tut-tuting at the Mayo/Galway violence you say? No "this is no way for kids' role models to behave" soundbites from any panel member? I might get back on the OTB train at this rate.

I might get back on the OTB train at this rate.[/B]

Funny enough I thought a similar thing myself.
    But, I thought isn't great to be giving out about sport again. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Jayesdiem wrote:
    Seems to be the "media tactic du jour". I'm just glad of the reports back that they actually talked sport tonight. No tut-tuting at the Mayo/Galway violence you say? No "this is no way for kids' role models to behave" soundbites from any panel member? I might get back on the OTB train at this rate.

They analysed the dynamics around the violence as normal tonight. And like normal, it was interesting.

Jayesdiem wrote:

They analysed the dynamics around the violence as normal tonight. And like normal, it was interesting.

Like THEY normally would: " this is a black day for the GAA"

Or like a normal, unoffended person would: "player x seemed to be getting on the nerves of player y all day etc....."

You'll have to specify ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Jayesdiem wrote:
    You'll have to specify

Or you'll have to listen to find out....

Jayesdiem wrote:
    You'll have to specify

Or you'll have to listen to find out....

Pass for now.

siblers wrote: »
    What you mean?

Oh, he had thanked ballymchughs post about him.. Seems he's undone it now.

Boards ID is richiemc and he reads his fan mail...

Kenny is one of my favourite OTB guests but can somebody please ask him to stop saying "the football club".

Good show tonight. They definitely seem to be cutting back on the activism...

Kenny is one of my favourite OTB guests but can somebody please ask him to stop saying "the football club".

That is hilarious!! Lots of soccer lads do that too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Brady said kildare would beat dublin in Leinster final. He said it definitively. Not just as an opinion.

He comes out with a lot of daft off the top of his head stuff...but there are many GAA media heads who are similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Kenny always does that, it’s like his tick with his eyebrows! I don’t think he can help himself.

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Brady said kildare would beat dublin in Leinster final. He said it definitively. Not just as an opinion.

He comes out with a lot of daft off the top of his head stuff...but there are many GAA media heads who are similar.

That isn't just limited to GAA pundits.

In golf, there's Colin Montgomery.
    In soccer, there's Paul Merson.
    In Rugby, there's Stuart Barnes.
    In cycling, there's Carlton Kirby.

Some people say ludicrous things but it provokes conversation within the studio and sometimes, there is a grain of truth in it.

I like David, he is very passionate about the GAA and his enthusiasm for football is infectious.

Look at this thread, all sorts of different opinions. Some of the sensible, some of them... not so much. :D

That isn't just limited to GAA pundits.

In golf, there's Colin Montgomery.
    In soccer, there's Paul Merson.
    In Rugby, there's Stuart Barnes.
    In cycling, there's Carlton Kirby.

Some people say ludicrous things but it provokes conversation within the studio and sometimes, there is a grain of truth in it.

Brady seems to enjoy going the Pantomime route these days..Brolly must be considering retiring or something.
    In fairness to Brady he does come out with some hilarious stuff.
    Was it on an OTB roadshow where he explained he thought his car was robbed was walking around for ages.
    He had a white van of some description as his landmark.
    Then realised there were a number of different white vans in the area not just the one he parked beside.
    He was convinced too suspicious looking young Dubs took it who "looked like they were up to no good"

There is a touch of the Father Dougal and Father Ted about him.
    But as for taking him seriously.
    That ship has sailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Dots1982 wrote: »

I thought most people thought of David Brady as a bit of comic relief rather than being a serious analyst anyway.

Really enjoyed the paper review again yesterday. Not to everyone's taste I'd imagine but I thought it was good.

I enjoy the FA Cup Sundays with no live commentary as discussions are more interesting in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

Really enjoyed the paper review again yesterday. Not to everyone's taste I'd imagine but I thought it was good.

I enjoy the FA Cup Sundays with no live commentary as discussions are more interesting in my view.

Ya, they had good content to work off this week, not sure I get having a political commentator on the paper review though, he has good knowledge to be fair but just doesn't add enough imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

was surprised on Satrurday that neither off the ball or rte had no live coverage of the leinster and munster matches, thought they would have been decent air fillers for either station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

neris wrote:
    was surprised on Satrurday that neither off the ball or rte had no live coverage of the leinster and munster matches, thought they would have been decent air fillers for either station

Rte radio had the Leinster game. TG4 has the tv rights and they showed GAA instead. Both were on Sky Sports Main Event so maybe thats why TG4 didn't

I thought the paper review (the only remaining OTB show I listen to) was ok this week. Joe creamed his pants for a full 28 mins over a mundane interview between Kimmage two of the golf heads but things would improve after that. These insightful Kimmage interviews make me laugh. Joe marvelled at how McIlroy worries about how long his parents will be alive and that was absolutely riveting. However, it couldn't compare to the to the revelation that Rory remembers the names of the cities he plays golf in. Phenomenal stuff altogether and of course, it wouldn't be the Sunday paper review without a story of child abuse in sport and, of course, we got that right before the end. All in all, par for the course, no pun intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

ziggy wrote: »

I'm shocked. :eek:

When I was listening to it yesterday, I actually thought Jayesdiem would have no time for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

My god is it that difficult to get Pat Nevin on a decent phone line?
    Sounds like he's fallen down a well today.

ziggy wrote: »
    I thought the paper review (the only remaining OTB show I listen to) was ok this week. Joe creamed his pants for a full 28 mins over a mundane interview between Kimmage two of the golf heads but things would improve after that. These insightful Kimmage interviews make me laugh. Joe marvelled at how McIlroy worries about how long his parents will be alive and that was absolutely riveting. However, it couldn't compare to the to the revelation that Rory remembers the names of the cities he plays golf in. Phenomenal stuff altogether and of course, it wouldn't be the Sunday paper review without a story of child abuse in sport and, of course, we got that right before the end. All in all, par for the course, no pun intended.
    I'm puzzled.

As one of the people on here who moans that this is a sports show and should just cover sports, why do you not moan about the paper review?

I'm equally puzzled. Was I not just complaining about the paper review? (Unless you are being sarcastic).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy