Have you ever had an unwanted sexual experience? Mod warning in op - updated 6/3/18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 SilentWings

I read Boards all the time. This thread in particular has hit me deep in the gut tonight, Three incidences in particular that happened to me. The last one being the most recent and has disturbed me the most. I have not told a soul. Whatever about a stranger, its so much harder to process when its a family member and someone you love and trust/trusted but get frightened by. When you just can't tell.

I was going to post it here but have decided not to as I can see this thread is going to be taken over by Whoops story as it involves a Mod and this is Boards . It's awful that she knows what happened yet has to watch that person post around here. I can relate to her as in she knows and they know yet that is all. I can also relate in that I told someone once about an incident and nothing happened. Life went on.

I still feel very troubled by my own experiences, very confusing.

Anyway, I feel compelled to read this thread. It is interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's all got a bit meta hasn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭job seeker

Arghus wrote: »
    It's all got a bit meta hasn't it?

Erm, it's a thread about sharing your own experiences (on a subject which carries a taboo none the less) is it not?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,836 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

I read Boards all the time. This thread in particular has hit me deep in the gut tonight, Three incidences in particular that happened to me. The last one being the most recent and has disturbed me the most.
    I was going to post it here but have decided not to as I can see this thread is going to be taken over by Whoops story as it involves a Mod and this is Boards .

SilentWings, I suspect this thread may actually prove cathartic and in many ways helpful to many posters... It's astonishing and frightening how many people, regardless of sex, have experienced unwelcome contact, and maybe some of the stories here will help... as in... Will help make people feel they're not alone, or better still, help youngsters know it's OK to bloody well stand up for yourself if someone takes advantage of you given the "right" set of circumstances.
    If you think it'd help to tell your story, tell it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Jesus, there's an awful lot of assholes in the world. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Jesus, there's an awful lot of assholes in the world. :(

yeah, and i put my finger on one of them (albeit down someone elses pants) and i get labelled a pervert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I read Boards all the time. This thread in particular has hit me deep in the gut tonight, Three incidences in particular that happened to me. The last one being the most recent and has disturbed me the most. I have not told a soul. Whatever about a stranger, its so much harder to process when its a family member and someone you love and trust/trusted but get frightened by. When you just can't tell.

I was going to post it here but have decided not to as I can see this thread is going to be taken over by Whoops story as it involves a Mod and this is Boards . It's awful that she knows what happened yet has to watch that person post around here. I can relate to her as in she knows and they know yet that is all. I can also relate in that I told someone once about an incident and nothing happened. Life went on.

Anyway, I feel compelled to read this thread. It is interesting.
    Don’t feel like you can’t share your story, if you want to. The thread is for everyone who wants to contribute to do so and I’m sure nobody wants to or tries to take over a thread. If you don’t want to share your story that’s okay too. I’m sorry that this has happened to you, and hope in time you’ll be able to ask for help if you need to.

DBB wrote: »
    SilentWings, I suspect this thread may actually prove cathartic and in many ways helpful to many posters... It's astonishing and frightening how many people, regardless of sex, have experienced unwelcome contact, and maybe some of the stories here will help... as in... Will help make people feel they're not alone, or better still, help youngsters know it's OK to bloody well stand up for yourself if someone takes advantage of you given the "right" set of circumstances.
    If you think it'd help to tell your story, tell it! :)

Thanks DBB. You are right that this thread will be helpful. I almost wrote down the last two instances that happened to me (the last especially pains me) but I am afraid A} that someone may recognise it someday and B} I am just afraid as I think it is so disturbing.

In an ideal world it would be great to just stand up for yourself but sometimes it seems just better to stay silent as the end result could be so catastrophic and leave you totally isolated.

I did speak up once about an incident and it was so uncomfortable for me for a long time until another incident happened by this person with someone else and then I was believed. I still feel resentful and sad about that.

I just wanted to make the point that I would have no hesitation standing up when its a stranger but its so much harder and complicated when its not. This could be someone you love and still love but dislike under the influence of drink or drugs. It could be someone that if you tell about would split a family apart or make people turn against you rather than believe 'that' about 'them'.

As I said....it is such a complicated issue. Very troubling. Some people can just go through life and 'deal with' stuff and others are the 'troubled souls' we read about.

Anyway, Thanks again DBB. It's an interesting thread indeed. Comforting too seeing others reveal for the first time as well.

Anyway on topic. Yes, I’ve been on the receiving end of unwanted sexual attention. I have posted about it before but unfortunately a boards user pretended to be a member of the opposite sex on another forum, took my experience to make fun of off boards claiming I wasn’t raped and that I was a whore who rode a lot of men from boards so given that happened I’m reluctant to share it again

Thank you for replying to my post. Your experience is an example of the kind that keeps me silent on my own. It is difficult and sad and really bothers me. I just want to send a hug to you.

To be fair that one poster is an exception and I found the majority of boards posters to be kind and helpful during difficult times in my life. But I understand - it can be scary to open up. I suppose without knowing the circumstances the most important thing to remember for yourself is it wasn’t your fault. I hope with time you’re in an easier place or a less frightening place.

I find the majority of posters here great too. I have seen some of them offer up help and support and even money to complete strangers in need on here. Wonderful stuff. It's a great site in general and I love it. I read it faithfully every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 InfoSponge

First time poster. I was on boards for the 1st time tonight following a link to unrelated posts. I came across this thread and felt compelled to sign up and post...so here goes.

I was sexually assaulted at the age of maybe 5 or 6 by a neighbour, in my own home, somehow on my own with him in my bedroom, no one else in the house. I have no memory of how this came about. He was maybe 17 or 18. I never told a soul until my ex girlfriend about 5 years ago when I was 28. She didn't know how to react to it or talk with me about it then or after really. From that young age I have blocked it out until recently beginning to deal with it while in an addiction treatment centre, which in hindsight was a big mistake. I spent the rest of my pre-teen years in escapism wether that be computer games or fantasy. Once my teens came along I drank and used drugs by 13 and have struggled with one addiction or another since then. It for me anyway has just been escapism since that young age because I didn't deal with it/talk about it. Since starting to deal with it I am addiction free and full of plans for a bright and happy future I deserve. I have been set free in every way.

I hope this helps someone.

InfoSponge wrote: »
    First time poster. I was on boards for the 1st time tonight following a link to unrelated posts. I came across this thread and felt compelled to sign up and post...so here goes.

I hope this helps someone.

You are so brave. I felt unable to post my experience so yours has helped me. I had felt compelled to post too. I am glad you posted InfoSponge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Bobmar

Main thing yr all good now are we ????
    🀫🀫😜ðŸ’ðŸ•ðŸ•ðŸ•🀫🇮🇪 apologies just trying to lighten it up a little bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    The judge would consider it in sentencing if you want to keep this up.

Consider it in sentencing... So you admit it is an offence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

This is a quote of my post from a while back in a thread called “why I didn’t report my rapist”. The first and last sentences are in response to some absolute morons who were on that thread claiming that if you were being raped you’d fight and run and that you’d report it afterwards, with absolutely no comprehension of why that might not actually happen.
    Wow, I didn't realise there was a set of instructions I was to follow when I was raped.

I was 17, about to turn 18, and was at a house party. I'd had a few drinks but was not very drunk. My sister who had come to the party with me had fecked off with a fella, and with the only house key. (She was in college, I was due to start a few weeks later, was visiting her for a few days) I had no key to her place and no way of contacting her (this was well before mobile phones) so I stayed at the party house. Went upstairs to bed on my own. About an hour or two later I was woken by a guy beside me in the bed, someone I'd chatted to earlier in the night. I had not flirted with him, kissed him or done or said anything which may have led him to believe I was interested in him.when I was woken by him I asked him wtf he was doing, he responded by mauling my breasts. He tried to pull my top up. I told him not to. I told him to stop, said no, said I didn't want to, repeatedly. He didn't stop. He kept at me. I kept saying no, he kept saying that he knew I really wanted it, that I wasn't as innocent as I looked. I kept asking him to stop, telling him he was hurting me, telling him I didn't want it, I told him I was a virgin (which was true) and that I did not want to have sex with him. That didn't stop him. I tried to push him off, I couldn't. He was bigger and stronger than me. When he told me to "shut the fcuk up", I did exactly that as I figured he might hit me/beat me up/strangle me otherwise. Better to 'just' be raped than to be raped and murdered, eh? So I lay there while he raped me, crying, torn and bleeding. I actually lay beside him for a few hours afterwards, as he snored, I was upset, traumatised and frozen. When he woke he actually kissed me and thanked me before he left.

I didn't tell anyone immediately afterwards. I was traumatised, scared, embarrassed and humiliated. I wanted to forget it. I didn't want my parents to find out, it would have destroyed them. I didn't want my sister to feel guilty for leaving me in the house. So focussed was I on keeping it quiet that I gathered the blood-stained bed sheets and took them home with me to wash, telling the
    host and my sister that I had puked and it was only fair I do the laundry. I never reported it cos I didn't want the stress, the degradation, the humiliation on top of what I'd already had. I didn't want to have to discuss it with guards. I didn't want my parents to ever find out. I didn't want to go through a trial with a barrister asking me awful questions. And I felt that somehow I was partly responsible as I put myself in a situation where I was in a bedroom of a house where there were strangers.

But yeah, maybe it would have been better if I'd read the manual on what to do while you're being raped and afterwards, and behaved exactly as people (who have never been raped, as if they had they would not come out with such idiotic definitive statements) think I should have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Jesus lads. I wasn't expecting such a reaction to my post. Probably very naively. It happened in 2014, I was training for a particular event and wasn't drinking so I haven't misinterpreted anything. It wasn't even the filming that got me, it was the statement that it was only for him and not AH. I definitely do not consider it sexual assault. Harassment possibly. Creepy for sure.

A mod from that particular category who had been there actually stepped down from modding as soon as he became cmod and gave their reasons for doing so.

I won't be outting him and I won't be commenting on it further. There are far more serious incidents on this thread alone so I shall bow out and leave other people to tell their stories.

And btw, I really couldn't give a shyte if anyone doesn't believe me. It's no skin off my nose :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

Try_harder wrote: »
    Consider it in sentencing... So you admit it is an offence...

I did from the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

It's a bit difficult to take as genuine any measures Boards HQ initiate to deal with sexism (to either or any sex), bullying etc, when you realise that they allowed the "promotion" of someone they know to have committed a sexual assault.
    They should be fcukin ashamed of themselves. The CMod who committed a sexual assault against you should hang his head in shame. I hope at the very least that he is remorseful enough to never have committed such an act again.
    He's lucky you didn't bring it further by reporting him.
    What a lowlife dreg he is.

While it was wrong to film her legs it was hardly sexual assault, it was just plain creepy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,836 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

While it was wrong to film her legs it was hardly sexual assault, it was just plain creepy.

I've already since explained that I had mixed Whoops' two stories up, thinking that the CMod had both videoed her and groped her. And that no, treating someone in the way he treated her is not sexual assault... But damn creepy.
    Apologies for the confusion :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Re: whoopsadoodles thing.

Do you guys remember when people used to post pictures of themselves on boards? Don't think they do it anymore. Any woman that was anyway good-looking would have so many 'thanks' when she posted her picture.

Don't tell me they weren't getting loads of pm's from random chances then :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

a one in a wheelchair in a nighclub stuck he hand down the front of my pants and scrawl me painfully down below.literally pushed her and he chair away and asked a bouncer to **** her out.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

job seeker wrote: »
    I think though that if there were witnesses. It's fair to assume that the 'individual' is guilty of this act? To be honest, I think that if someone, done such. They only deserve to be hung out to dry imo. Regardless of how dangerous it may be.
    Again - and it's understandable - you're giving a good demonstration of how mob rule tends to work. In every narrative there are three sides; one side, the other and the truth. Whenever society puts too much weight on either of the first two, it's not good. At all*. Justice in a civilised society attempts or should attempt to tease out the last one.

*on the subject matter of the thread examples would be certain societies that automatically assume the woman is at fault QV: Iran and not so long ago many western societies including our own. Idiotic. Equally idiotic is to automatically assume the man is always at fault. That pendulum can swing too damned far in the other direction in the search for a balance. And IMHO we're seeing that at the moment in the West.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Do we really have to turn a thread where people are sharing very personal and hard stories into yet more "well actually"s and devils advocates and "that didn't actually happen you imagined it"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

I don’t know why people think the pendulum has swung the other way too much. Even here inappropriate behaviour is being excused and downplayed.

Filming someone’s behind for the lolz- really???

I’m glad I’m not a woman as there is far too much of this they have to put up with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

I'll come clean here :o, when I first posted I had conflated Whoops' two stories, thinking the CMod had grabbed her inappropriately. But that's not the case.
    Of course taking unwanted photos of her in that context, as the CMod is said to have done, is not sexual assault,
    It is a pretty feckin creepy thing to do though.
    It's the response to Whoops' complaint that has me concerned from the point of view that... well.. all too often the high moral ground is (often correctly) taken by those in control of this site when it comes to questionable stuff... It worries me that a complaint of this nature doesn't appear to have flexed the same muscle as other contentious stuff has done.
    It'd be good to get their side of this story.

Well said. I can't stand the PC bull**** world we live in, but here is a legitimate grievance about some very weird disturbing behaviour with witnesses and the guy gets promoted??? **** that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 InfoSponge

This is a quote of my post from a while back in a thread called “why I didn’t report my rapist”.

Just some of the pressures we add to it as to why we should just bottle it up and soldier on. Ignore the morons. You will of helped somebody who needed to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

Wibbs wrote: »
    Again - and it's understandable - you're giving a good demonstration of how mob rule tends to work. In every narrative there are three sides; one side, the other and the truth. Whenever society puts too much weight on either of the first two, it's not good. At all*. Justice in a civilised society attempts or should attempt to tease out the last one.

*on the subject matter of the thread examples would be certain societies that automatically assume the woman is at fault QV: Iran and not so long ago many western societies including our own. Idiotic. Equally idiotic is to automatically assume the man is always at fault. That pendulum can swing too damned far in the other direction in the search for a balance. And IMHO we're seeing that at the moment in the West.

Can we not make this a #NotAllMen debate please? I’ve posted stuff about experiences with women, a fair few guys have posted other stuff about experiences with other men and women, nobody is being directly outed or shamed. It’s just a thread where people are sharing stories. Can we leave the gender war for elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Try_harder wrote:
    I don’t know why people think the pendulum has swung the other way too much. Even here inappropriate behaviour is being excused and downplayed.

Filming someone’s behind for the lolz- really???

I’m glad I’m not a woman as there is far too much of this they have to put up with

I don't think it's being downplayed in a dismissive sense as such but you can't suggest filming someone equates to sexual assault. The poster herself said she doesn't consider it assault.

It's messed up and disconcerting but to go from there to an automatic court conviction is excessive and misleading.