Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EA UFC 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,449 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

shrewdness wrote: »
    Where would be the cheapest spot to pick this up tomorrow, Smyths or Argos?

Smyths doing a deal where you can order and get a fiver off, think it comes to 50 quid, check their website.

Some gameplay tips about body shot spam.

https://twitter.com/GeoffHarrower/status/959230824582340609

https://twitter.com/GeoffHarrower/status/959231977969803264

https://twitter.com/GeoffHarrower/status/959239802225741824

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

I'd say that developer could coach striking at this point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Really torn now whether to pick it up or not. The urge has kicked in haha. Is career mode improved a good bit? Only real mode I'll play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Really torn now whether to pick it up or not. The urge has kicked in haha. Is career mode improved a good bit? Only real mode I'll play.

Not perfect but definitely much much improved

Anyone doing solo challenges on ut, the Diaz one is very doable on the hardest difficulty. By the time you make him limp twice your leg should he very damaged so just keep letting him check it so you lose by tko but you'll pass the challenge. No way are you lasting 5 rounds or finishing him without taking 5 body punches :D That and the Holm one is the only one I've been able to complete on the highest difficulty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Couldn’t manage the Diaz one but Holm, Khabib and Werdum insane challenges are very doable. For whatever reason, once you get half guard dominant against both Khabib and Werdum, they will always try to transition to back side at least twice in a row so it’s very easy to deny their transitions. With Khabib you just have to take him down and keep him there long enough. With Werdum, do the same until his stamina is fcuked (usually towards the end of round 3 if you’ve kept at it). Then let him transition to back side, you pass to full guard passive, block another couple of transitions to drain his stamina then slap on the guillotine for an easy win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,256 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Jesus christ I can't even get by the first bloke in career mode haha!

I'm winning first round doing ok in second round but his stamina never seems to go below mine no matter what he does!!

This is what's killing me that and everytime I'm getting a fair bit on him he keeps taking me to the ground. I can block this no problem normally but jesus I've only managed it once fighting him.

Enjoying the game but **** I need to get better!

I found the career mode a bit on the easy side if I’m being honest. Started one in the lightweight division and I’m on 31-0 at the minute and GOAT. Left that alone and started one with CM Punk on Legendary difficulty. 12-0 so far and I don’t even miss the HUD. My game is very wrestling-based though so that might be the reason for having such an easy time. The AI has very clear and obvious patterns in the ground game, it might get patched soon enough because it’s so obvious once you figure them out.

martyos121 wrote: »
    I found the career mode a bit on the easy side if I’m being honest. Started one in the lightweight division and I’m on 31-0 at the minute and GOAT. Left that alone and started one with CM Punk on Legendary difficulty. 12-0 so far and I don’t even miss the HUD. My game is very wrestling-based though so that might be the reason for having such an easy time. The AI has very clear and obvious patterns in the ground game, it might get patched soon enough because it’s so obvious once you figure them out.

Exactly the same. 22-1. Side control, deny, punch.

Although ironically my one loss is a sub defeat to Maia. That'll teach me I suppose.

D.Q wrote: »
    Exactly the same. 22-1. Side control, deny, punch.

Although ironically my one loss is a sub defeat to Maia. That'll teach me I suppose.

That’s peak realism right there, have to appreciate that even if you lost. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Caves in and picked it up. 20 quid in gamestop when trading a gamw so practically for it for free haha Much of a day 1 patch? Looking forward to getting a few scraps in.

That’s peak realism right there, have to appreciate that even if you lost. :)

Marty any tips on completing takedowns and denying transitions when you have them down? I'm rarely able to complete takedown esp against any grapplers even though I'm trying to time them when they strike. Even using Khabib I get denied alot.

stephenl15 wrote: »
    Marty any tips on completing takedowns and denying transitions when you have them down? I'm rarely able to complete takedown esp against any grapplers even though I'm trying to time them when they strike. Even using Khabib I get denied alot.

From my own point of view, as far as denying transitions, I focused on one particular position over and over again. So have someone in side control, and learn to quickly recognise when they start to move in a direction.

When you have them in side control, they generally only have two options to transition back to half guard, left or right.

So if you learn to recognise the start of the transition animation, and hold r2 and flick the stick in the same direction as them, you will block the transition.

The stupider players will keep spamming the same direction to escape, block block block. Each time draining their stamina more and more. Then start punching.

Mix it up then with crucifixes and top mounts.

Once you have the side control down, you'll instinctively start recognising transition block opportunity's in other positions too.

From my own point of view, as far as denying transitions, I focused on one particular position over and over again. So have someone in side control, and learn to quickly recognise when they start to move in a direction.

When you have them in side control, they generally only have two options to transition back to half guard, left or right.

So if you learn to recognise the start of the transition animation, and hold r2 and flick the stick in the same direction as them, you will block the transition.

The stupider players will keep spamming the same direction to escape, block block block. Each time draining their stamina more and more. Then start punching.

Mix it up then with crucifixes and top mounts.

Once you have the side control down, you'll instinctively start recognising transition block opportunity's in other positions too.

Yeah like I've no problem against the lads who spam transition straight away. It's the lads who know what they're doing I can't deal with. I find it hard to block transitions when I'm trying to rain down punches at the same time and can never keep control in crucifix or side control for long even though I know the way to deny. Always feel like I definitely denied something but it doesn't deny :p

Can't get over bispings eyes in this game haha **** sake. No chill.

stephenl15 wrote: »

Yeah exactly as DQ said earlier, he hit the nail on the head so many times. Follow that advice and practice it and you’ll be better than 90% of people online. It’s a great time to do it as well because the standard is at its lowest right now, it’ll be tougher next weekend.

Haha ufc 2 was ridiculous. Think it was easier to do in 2. The amount of people that would just quit. And then follow up with a mail calling me every name under the sun. So funny.

It’s gas the hate you’d get alright, I always just report and block them for the craic. :D

I must get better so I can experience this :D

We may try organise a grappling only match

Livestream :P I think I went 0-3 on UFC 2 against Marty and Khabib

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭TheWatcher182

Anyone know if Tesco sell this? Won't make it to Gamestop etc. for 6? Cheers!

I've had zero time with this over the last few days due to a pesky new born. I thought I'd be able to sacrifice precious sleep for game time but haven't figured it out.

I won't be able to organise any tourneys but sign me up if someone starts one and I'll do my best to take 5 minutes out of my time to kick some ass a.k.a lose horribly as I've only used about 5 roster fighters so far.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    I've had zero time with this over the last few days due to a pesky new born. I thought I'd be able to sacrifice precious sleep for game time but haven't figured it out.

I won't be able to organise any tourneys but sign me up if someone starts one and I'll do my best to take 5 minutes out of my time to kick some ass a.k.a lose horribly as I've only used about 5 roster fighters so far.

Congrats mate, best of luck to ye. :)

Next time you get a chance to play give me a shout and you can get some practice fights in.

Congrats bud!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Congrats on the new arrival lad. Did ya name the child after yourself like McGregor?

Axwell wrote: »
    Congrats on the new arrival lad. Did ya name the child after yourself like McGregor?

Thanks lads, even better, named her Conor Jr. Getting weird looks when I tell people but fook em, they'll do fooking nuttin.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Thanks lads, even better, named her Conor Jr. Getting weird looks when I tell people but fook em, they'll do fooking nuttin.

Well i hope you apologise....to absolutely nobody

Not my video but this is feckin brilliant:

I got torn apart by this lad for nearly three full rounds, but the ending made it all worth it. Best one I’ve landed so far! :D