Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let's all take Blindboy seriously now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

He's not rich enough to be a corporate shill, just saying.

They hang out with the same people they hung out with before they got famous, and put their friends in their videos.

They're nice, genuine people. The hatred here is weird and way off the mark.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

They hang out with the same people they hung out with before they got famous, and put their friends in their videos.

There is no hatred. Lots of self loathing being projected onto them though. Yhurt :)

• Site Banned Posts: 15 Dancing Inferno

The constant preaching from those twats is unbearable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Second Yellow

The thing that annoys me about the Rubberbandits is that they try to use comedy to introduce people to things they might not otherwise contemplate, but too many people can't see past the comedy to take them seriously when they make a serious point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Dannyriver wrote: »
    What do you listen to if you dont mind me asking because I cant my head around your dismissal of Bandits music [I can understand not liking the lyrics if its not your thing] but you say you are a musician and how u dont appreciate the musical element of their stuff confuses me. They ve done hip hop/pop/electronica/post punk/RandB and hardcore techno and I might be leaving some out .... very few acts would ever dream of trying those different genres not to mind making them work.

Alt rock mainly. Fave bands be Smiths, The National, Eels, Pixies, Dears, Shins, explosions in the sky.

Ah people take me far too literally on this.

Ive been accused of anger. Anger is the twin brother of depression.

I rant so does everyone on this. Good luck to blindboy. Its just I think his arguments arent as strong as perhaps he thinks they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Dude, musical comedy is very gimmicky at the best of times..ok, horse outside was alright..for a while..but was overplayed and became gimmicky..and some of it was absolute muck..im all for absurdism etc, but it has to work too..not just being mad for the sake of it..that 'trout of no craic' craic like..that was just stupid..the accent only gets you so far..i dont even want to be going on about it really, but you're actually asking this dude what music he listens to because he disagrees with you..if he's a classically trained beethoven fan would it alter your view?

I only asked him a question about what music he listens to because he said he was a musician and Im surprised a musician is totally writing off what they do musically [leaving the comedy element aside] take a way the words and its just music and they ve done way to much to dismiss them as muck. I believe they ve always been more than just musical comedy, and there are established musicians that give them credit for that. Like the link below.

https://twitter.com/bankspaulbanks/status/876233031396339716

Its not like I asked him something heavy and he s entitled not to tell me if he doesnt want to which is fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Alt rock mainly. Fave bands be Smiths, The National, Eels, Pixies, Dears, Shins, explosions in the sky.

Ah people take me far too literally on this.

Ive been accused of anger. Anger is the twin brother of depression.

I rant so does everyone on this. Good luck to blindboy. Its just I think his arguments arent as strong as perhaps he thinks they are.

He s just giving his opinion just like you and me and we all think our opinions have worth or else we wouldnt put them out there , thats exactly the point isnt it, assuming he thinks his are stronger than yours or mine is out of line by the way I m into all those bands as well High Violet and Strangeways here we are come are stone wall classics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Just finished the book there, good read, lots of plot twists, would recommend to a friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I think in general there is a massive anti-working class undercurrent in boards.ie which is weird since none of us had a bob until recent decades and there is such an overwhelming population of working class people in Ireland. Odd...maybe its the likes of nobodys like Vogue Williams and Roz Purcell instagramming us their latest 4 bed in South Dublin and their new cookbook that's making people think they are to be aspired to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,967 ✭✭✭buried

There is a huge cultural war going on in the western world. Individual Imagination and original creativity born from real emotions vs highly promoted shiny image franchise creations born to make cash.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

I think in general there is a massive anti-working class undercurrent in boards.ie which is weird since none of us had a bob until recent decades and there is such an overwhelming population of working class people in Ireland. Odd...maybe its the likes of nobodys like Vogue Williams and Roz Purcell instagramming us their latest 4 bed in South Dublin and their new cookbook that's making people think they are to be aspired to.

They're not working class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

They're not working class

Vogue and Roz? I know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭CWF

https://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/the-tommy-tiernan-show-tv-extras-30004519/10831502/

Blindboy isn't going anywhere and it's fantastic...

Very interesting interview from last night. Hate him or love him the man is fascinating it has to be said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

CWF wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/the-tommy-tiernan-show-tv-extras-30004519/10831502/

Blindboy isn't going anywhere and it's fantastic...

Very interesting interview from last night. Hate him or love him the man is fascinating it has to be said.

He is in his hole fascinating.

"Blindboy Boatclub discusses with Tommy his concern for our country and it's people, the state of mental health in Ireland today, and why he wears the bag"

So exactly the same he says in every interview.

Patww79 wrote: »

A bit of advise would be to start at the start, I might be wrong but it's usually a good place to start, being the start and what not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Finished reading his book of short stories there the other week. ****ing brilliant IMO.

I love that people get so angry because someone dares to wear a plastic bag on his head, as if that invalidates the content of what he says. If you disagree with the content of what he says, fine, make your case, but just saying "Ah, look at the eejit, hiding behind a plastic bag!" is nonsense.

You're entitled to your opinion thanks Bob. Have a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

CWF wrote: »
    You're entitled to your opinion thanks Bob. Have a good one.

Thanks Dave..sorry Blindboy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Whats the story with the other Rubber Bandit? Never hear anything about him these days. Is Boatboy going solo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,060 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

darkdubh wrote: »
    Whats the story with the other Rubber Bandit? Never hear anything about him these days. Is Boatboy going solo?

From what I hear Mr Chrome prefers the singing and the dancing and might not be as interested in the whole opinions side of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    From what I hear Mr Chrome prefers the singing and the dancing and might not be as interested in the whole opinions side of things.

Jaysus we might see a split to rival the split of d'unbelievables back in the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

Patww79 wrote: »

Uhm, I do this all the time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Saruhashi

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I love that people get so angry because someone dares to wear a plastic bag on his head, as if that invalidates the content of what he says. If you disagree with the content of what he says, fine, make your case, but just saying "Ah, look at the eejit, hiding behind a plastic bag!" is nonsense.

It doesn't invalidate what he says, as such, but it lowers the quality of the discourse.

It's an unnecessary distraction.

What qualifies Blindboy Boatclub to discuss mental health in Ireland? Is he a qualified medical professional? Just a guy with an opinion and a gimmick that puts him in the spotlight?

Is it just that he has had mental health problems of his own? So he says "I use CBT techniques to keep anxiety in check" and that's it?

Anyone who has ever been to a therapist for help with these issues knows that it's often FAR more complicated than that.

If the message is just "if you are struggling then seek professional help" then I wonder to what extent the mask is really needed for that?

The truth is that if we bring some stuffy old therapist in a suit out on stage then we might get great advice but most people will tune out because it's not "interesting".

So instead we get some guy giving unqualified, shallow, views on mental health but it's worth listening to because he's got a plastic bag on his head and that's just so "refreshing"?

So it's all for show? We let the celebrity have the stage over the people who actually know what's going on because that's what gets people's attention?

Let's be honest here. The plastic bag is a gimmick used to push his own career.

So when someone is looking at doing a TV interview about the state of mental health in Ireland the go to person is that guy with the plastic bag. He's "interesting".

Instead of boring old medical professionals with their "experience" and their "facts" and their "useful advice" because who needs any of that stuff, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

darkdubh wrote: »

He's busy with his day job I'd imagine.

Saruhashi wrote: »
    It doesn't invalidate what he says, as such, but it lowers the quality of the discourse.

What qualifies Blindboy Boatclub to discuss mental health in Ireland? Is he a qualified medical professional? Just a guy with an opinion and a gimmick that puts him in the spotlight?

Is it just that he has had mental health problems of his own? So he says "I use CBT techniques to keep anxiety in check" and that's it?

Anyone who has ever been to a therapist for help with these issues knows that it's often FAR more complicated than that.

If the message is just "if you are struggling then seek professional help" then I wonder to what extent the mask is really needed for that?

The truth is that if we bring some stuffy old therapist in a suit out on stage then we might get great advice but most people will tune out because it's not "interesting".

So instead we get some guy giving unqualified, shallow, views on mental health but it's worth listening to because he's got a plastic bag on his head and that's just so "refreshing"?

So it's all for show? We let the celebrity have the stage over the people who actually know what's going on because that's what gets people's attention?

So when someone is looking at doing a TV interview about the state of mental health in Ireland the go to person is that guy with the plastic bag. He's "interesting".

Instead of boring old medical professionals with their "experience" and their "facts" and their "useful advice" because who needs any of that stuff, right?

What qualifies anyone to practise as a Councillor or psychotherapist?? Absolutely nothing, anybody can put a sign up right now, take people in off the street and do psychotherapy with them. Nothing stopping you, legally or otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Surely that speaks to the quality of the medium rather than Blindboy himself. Of course the TV producers are going to choose the more colourful option, their job is not to present facts, it's to get eyeballs on the ads.

But addressing that point as you make it, I'd question whether it's not valuable to have someone with a counter-view to established experts that the audience can hear and evaluate. Could be bollox, could be worth listening to, but the fact that you're able to hear it is positive, I'd argue.

Any involvement qualifies you to discuss mental health, whether professional, patient, carer or other. All bring different perspectives and have different priorities.

Therapists are not terribly well qualified. They will not necessarily have any exposure to how severely ill people are treated. Therapy is counter indicated for some types of episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I have no idea whether he's qualified or not, I've seen it stated that he's got a Masters in Psychology, but I don't know whether that's been confirmed or not.

What I would say, is you use quotation marks a lot which implies a tone as if you think having someone who appeals to people and can get them interested in and talking about mental health is a bad thing, and that instead we should only listen to doctors, because they have experience dealing with it clinically.

Is it not better that the funny lad with the bag on his head can grab peoples' attention (particularly young people) and get them thinking about and (most importantly) talking about mental health?

And as for "If the message is just "if you are struggling then seek professional help" then I wonder to what extent the mask is really needed for that?", yes, the mask would be necessary. Because the character is what people listen to. How many people would tune in to a TV show with Dave Chambers as a guest speaking about his mental health journey? Probably fewer than would tune in to Blindboy Boatclub because Dave Chambers just sounds like another blogger telling us he was depressed, whereas Blindboy Boatclub is a character people have latched onto.