Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let's all take Blindboy seriously now...

I love the way people from limerick go spare as soon as anything negative is said about Limerick..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Step back from the computer. Ireland is a goldfish bowl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I love the way people from limerick go spare as soon as anything negative is said about Limerick..

Because a lot of the stuff said about limerick is load of spoof and has no truth to it at all.

Stab city still gets thrown around from dubliners while there is junkies robbing tourists on the quays and gangs of scrotes slapping the heads off buskers.

Limerick is really nice positive city to work and live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How old is Boatclub?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Because a lot of the stuff said about limerick is load of spoof and has no truth to it at all.

Stab city still gets thrown around from dubliners while there is junkies robbing tourists on the quays and gangs of scrotes slapping the heads off buskers.

Limerick is really nice positive city to work and live and get stabbed daily.

FYP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,060 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

How old is Boatclub?

In the same class as myself so ~33?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Have been to Jc's. Whats a conspiracy theorist in your view?.

Im saying companies know EXACTLY how thier name and logo is being used. Some agreement there
    I am a musician so know how music is made. Real music Not that muck by Rubberbandits.

You assume alot pal!.

Very obvious you see him
    as some sort of deity. Them blindboy posters above your bed must be getting old these days.

1] I know for a fact that they are not been paid by JCs. Ring the shop if you like and ask them.

2] Im also a musician and have jammed with Blindboy and he is a serious guitar player , who obsesses over sound and tone in a way that I ve never seen before. Get a listen to the guitar work on Spastic hawk, Anthonys eye, Willie O Dea, Greyhound shuffle for a sample. He produces/writes and plays all the music in his bedroom and has managed to get a song on the trainspotting movie using this method. How s your music career getting on you must direct us over to your soundcloud/bandcamp page so we can cast a cold eye.

3] Why would I have posters of someone who I ve known since I was 15 on the wall. We have an equal relationship he does his thing I do mine.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Utter garbage. Never said I don't like him have said I admire him in a way for being a pied piper to naive gullible people who he's playing like a fiddle. I admire his balls and nerve.
    Don't think I invented any argument against him no need to, Stevie Wonder can see he's another lackey vacuous celeb who thinks his opinion is more relevant than yours or mine as he's 'on da telly' despite the fact they are rubbish ie depressed men need feminism:rolleyes:

Yes he frightens me something terrible!. :rolleyes: Good what nonsense.

Not anger just amazement that foolish people would pay for his book or to listen to him frankly, why?????
    His opinions are are no more relevant than any Joe soap on this.

No anger? You’ve displayed nothing but anger towards him and his fans.

You initially didn’t like him because he was an anti catholic atheist agigtator, but he isn’t. A few arguments later you dislike him because he’s a corporate shill. Even though there is zero evidence of it. There is no way in hell JCs are paying him, it’s a ludicrous notion.

You’re also projecting this notion that he thinks he’s better than an average person, you have no evidence of this either.

I believe you’re angry and upset because his ideas challenge you. I think you need to look inside yourself. You’re probably the 2nd most frequent poster on this thread, why?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    In the same class as myself so ~33?

Same age as Christ when they put him on the cross.

Boatclub could be the second coming for all we know.

seachto7 wrote: »
    I see he is cooking now too, and is endorsed by Under Armor. He's supposed to be a bloody musician....

Where is he cooking, cant find it anywhere...and in fairness the fact that he s just released a book kind of suggests he is not just a musician in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Dannyriver wrote: »
    Where is he cooking, cant find it anywhere...and in fairness the fact that he s just released a book kind of suggests he is not just a musician in fairness.

I personally think calling him a musician is a bit of a stretch. He's hardly prolific

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    FYP :)

Its only when i go home. There is a gang of lads from hyde road waiting for the dublin train to give us a welcome stab.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,031 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I think the cooking and Under Armour comments were about Bressie. He played GAA and rugby to admirable levels before focusing on music, so it does make sense on some level that he'd be picked to advertise fitness gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,060 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Its only when i go home. There is a gang of lads from hyde road waiting for the dublin train to give us a welcome stab.

I know they mean well but sometimes I wish they'd keep it to themselves.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,031 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Same age as Christ when they put him on the cross.

Boatclub could be the second coming for all we know.

It is kind of funny that so many people are trying to interpret his message in different ways. Some day, centuries from now, there will be scholars debating the Gospel According to Blindboy according to Insect Overlord versus the interpretations of One Eyed Jack! There might even be a space-age Monty Python sketch calling us all splitters. :)

I personally think calling him a musician is a bit of a stretch. He's hardly prolific

He plays all the instruments/and engineers and produces on songs that have about 40 million views in total Id say he s a musician alright. I know some incredible Limerick musicians who ve never released a song but make a living doing covers.

I think the cooking and Under Armour comments were about Bressie. He played GAA and rugby to admirable levels before focusing on music, so it does make sense on some level that he'd be picked to advertise fitness gear.

Fair enough apologies Seachto 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Can't be arsed.

That's because it never happened, it's in your head. You should listen to to blindboy, you might chill out and learn to be happy with yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Listened to the first few podcasts and I've really enjoyed them. I liked the rambling at the start and the readings from his book had me in stitches at times. The first one especially about the lad with the American Style Fridge Freezer. Just listened to the one about the chick who wanted to join ISIS and that was a lot more serious, not really my thing but I think well enough written.

As for Blindboy, in his podcasts he seemed to refer to himself more as a writer, and says that he's much more comfortable writing and goes into the state of "flow" more often than when he's writing music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,967 ✭✭✭buried

I'm really enjoying his podcast. It's class to hear a good entertaining Irish podcast that fuses together story, comedy, history, current goings on, vistas of the imagination and just plain good auld rants. I listen to a lot of USA/UK based podcasts on various subjects but the accents and themes from most of these podcasts sometimes gets really distant for me, especially the american accents and cultural themes.
    Blindboy's podcasts really are a really enjoyable 70 - 80 minutes to listen to and chill out.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Brian? wrote: »
    No anger? You’ve displayed nothing but anger towards him and his fans.

You initially didn’t like him because he was an anti catholic atheist agigtator, but he isn’t. A few arguments later you dislike him because he’s a corporate shill. Even though there is zero evidence of it. There is no way in hell JCs are paying him, it’s a ludicrous notion.

You’re also projecting this notion that he thinks he’s better than an average person, you have no evidence of this either.

I believe you’re angry and upset because his ideas challenge you. I think you need to look inside yourself. You’re probably the 2nd most frequent poster on this thread, why?

You're entitled to your opinion no matter how wrong it is. Can't be angry at someone I don't know from Adam in my book. Like I said amazed.

Last part back at ya.
    I could ask you why you have 10,000 posts?. Ever leave the laptop pal.
    Big world out there. ;)

1] I know for a fact that they are not been paid by JCs. Ring the shop if you like and ask them.

2] Im also a musician and have jammed with Blindboy and he is a serious guitar player , who obsesses over sound and tone in a way that I ve never seen before. Get a listen to the guitar work on Spastic hawk, Anthonys eye, Willie O Dea, Greyhound shuffle for a sample. He produces/writes and plays all the music in his bedroom and has managed to get a song on the trainspotting movie using this method. How s your music career getting on you must direct us over to your soundcloud/bandcamp page so we can cast a cold eye.

3] Why would I have posters of someone who I ve known since I was 15 on the wall. We have an equal relationship he does his thing I do mine.

Well done for you. You're friends with a d list 'celebrity' in Ireland.

Cold eye?. You listen to music pal it's ears you use:P
    I Don't have a music career, it's simply a hobby. Nothing more, nothing less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

You're entitled to your opinion no matter how wrong it is. Can't be angry at someone I don't know from Adam in my book. Like I said amazed.

Last part back at ya.
    Big world out there
    . ;)

Christ the irony...

Poster you quoted has 9906 posts since Sept 2004 - 206 months.

= 48.09 posts per month

You have 737 posts since Jan 2016 - 22 months

= 33.5

Not a huge amount of difference really.

Ever leave your laptop pal??:rolleyes:

Well done for you. You're friends with a d list 'celebrity' in Ireland.

Cold eye?. You listen to music pal it's ears you use:P
    I Don't have a music career, it's simply a hobby. Nothing more, nothing less.

He calls himself a Z list celebrity in his podcast. 'Cast a cold eye' is a quote from WB Yeats its actually on his headstone. But I guess you were never going to hear that in a Coldplay song ;)

Fair enough. Don't like Coldplay though.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

The first step on your road to dealing with your own issues, is to admit you have them.

You haven't addressed a single point I made, aside from the anger. Does that mean you conceded I'm correct.

Last part back at ya.

Horrific logic. I am defending someone I enjoy in a thread about him. You are attacking someone you profess not to think much of, but the frequency with which you post in this thread tells contradicts this assertion.
    Big world out there. ;)

10k posts in 13 years. So, 2 posts a day. Good one. I must never do anything else.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Begrudgery

What do you listen to if you dont mind me asking because I cant my head around your dismissal of Bandits music [I can understand not liking the lyrics if its not your thing] but you say you are a musician and how u dont appreciate the musical element of their stuff confuses me. They ve done hip hop/pop/electronica/post punk/RandB and hardcore techno and I might be leaving some out .... very few acts would ever dream of trying those different genres not to mind making them work.

Dude, musical comedy is very gimmicky at the best of times..ok, horse outside was alright..for a while..but was overplayed and became gimmicky..and some of it was absolute muck..im all for absurdism etc, but it has to work too..not just being mad for the sake of it..that 'trout of no craic' craic like..that was just stupid..the accent only gets you so far..i dont even want to be going on about it really, but you're actually asking this dude what music he listens to because he disagrees with you..if he's a classically trained beethoven fan would it alter your view?

If only they wrote a song telling the lads who became fans from horse outside to jog on..