The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,314 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Crap news. This is the sole reason I treat any wet roundabout as if it's minus 3 out. It's wet, you've 2 wheels for grip and only a section of the wheels is touching the ground at any point when leaning in . And roundabouts by their nature see alot of vehicle action and can have any sort of debris or surface slick on them. Exiting fast isn't worth it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I've a set of shorty levers here frozen.
    Not sure if they will fit or not but you can have them if you want.
    Let me know if you need them and I'll post them on to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭D3V!L

My wife is getting started on wrapping my GS Adventure , so far so good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Damn FF glad you weren't hurt

The Pilot Road 4 IMO is the best tire out there and exceptional in the wet. Tires on the GSA are five years old and ill be replacing them with the Pilot Road 4

Interested to know the age of the tires, date code should be on the sidewall somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭thos

@frozenfrozen - sorry to hear dude, do you carry a camera? Might be an idea to help re-play events for yourself, spot something you mightnt have seen, or get a 2nd opinion on handling/speed/conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Sorry to hear the bad news,but look at this way,you are safe,thats what matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

thanks lads

rear tyre is 25 2016 manufacture date

I don't think it's something wrong with the tyre. The grip is unreal it's just twice now all of a sudden there has been no grip. It could be the way my suspension is or the way I am riding or the road surface etc.

Having said that I think I'll try a different type of tyre, I think I'll go for something stickier and for better weather and just go on sunny days for a while.

I don't have a camera but would be good to have footage of it to see exactly what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Mal_83

Stay safe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Thats a bit of a confidence shaker, how are your tyres? Are they ok not old and hard?
    Grip is hard to find in this weather, cold and damp.
    A tiny amount of diesel or oil can cause a very slippery situation in no time.

In this weather when the roads are constantly damp and it's only 3 or 4 degrees I must have the shíttest lean angle, hard to be confident in those conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

bad luck ff.

FWIW, i have a set of pr4 on the busa, and have had a couple of unexpected moments at the rear end when wet on roundabouts. Not going fast, or openning throttle or anything like that. I normally ride bridgestone, and only got the pr4 because the shop had no bridgestone in stock, but i wont be buying another set of the pr4s.

Today i did fcuk all to any of the bikes.
    Instead I went for a cold spin.:D

440326.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

And what did I do to my bike today?... I changed it for another one lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Today i did fcuk all to any of the bikes.
    Instead I went for a cold spin.:D

440326.jpg

That's a gorgeous scooter

D3V!L wrote: »
    That's a gorgeous scooter

tis a fine lookin machine,so tis.....:pac::D rofl

And what did I do to my bike today?... I changed it for another one lol

what you get?:)

This is from a test ride I took last week (Howth summit).

BMW R1200GS in Alpine white.

440357.jpg

Just have to wait for a few set of tyres, then the usual JD service & hopefully have her this weekend.

440357.jpg

Just have to wait for a few set of tyres, then the usual JD service & hopefully have her this weekend.

Ah so you are a BMW rider then again.:)

Lovely machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

thanks lads

rear tyre is 25 2016 manufacture date

I don't think it's something wrong with the tyre. The grip is unreal it's just twice now all of a sudden there has been no grip. It could be the way my suspension is or the way I am riding or the road surface etc.

Having said that I think I'll try a different type of tyre, I think I'll go for something stickier and for better weather and just go on sunny days for a while.

I don't have a camera but would be good to have footage of it to see exactly what happened.

I've never ridden on pr4s but, the dual compound on front side is quite soft as far as a revzilla reciew tells me. While the side of the back is medium... it makes sense to me but i could be wrong that if the front is softer and therefore stickier than the back it could catch just a tiny bit too much grip when in a lean and back wheel goes sideways as it's not as sticky.

Now I'm still quite an amatuer but given it happened our friend pn the busa above it could be the case! Sorry to hear about your off, hopefully it doesn't shake you too much.

Mak, she's a beauty... could never get one myself but christ she's nice to look at 😂😂😂

Ah so you are a BMW rider then again.:)

Lovely machine.
    Mak, she's a beauty... could never get one myself but christ she's nice to look at

Thanks lads, never thought I'd own a BMW again (or rather that I'd deal with JD's in D11), but as stated earlier the sales staff were really easy to deal with as opposed to a few years back.

And while the last BMW turned into the anti-christ and fist fvcked me to death I did get four years absolute trouble free riding out of her, and I rode the tits off that thing.

But the last BMW was all electrical stuff, the engine was bullet proof and never gave me trouble. And the boxer engines do have a character unique to BMW.

Now the wait :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

OK, not stalking you or anything Mak, but:
    Ok I've no real 'stand out' bikes.

I'd a few RD's (125 & 350) and a DT, blew the crap out of all of them.

One of my absolute best bikes ever was my Vespa PX200. I came home from service in Lebanon with a wad of cash, went into town to buy an R1 and rode home that afternoon with a brand new PX200E and fecking loved it to bits.

For comfort I'd say my CBR1000F.

Fun was a few trailies, particularly a Dominator 650 ~ I'd some craic on that yoke.

I rode a BMW for four years, while it was a fun bike (R1100S) dealing with Joe Duffys n Finglas left me with a sour taste in my mouth and I'd never own another BMW.

I've a Vstrom 650 since Febuary, and I'm not joking when I say its fast becoming my fav bike. Its comfy, very cheap to run, slow as fook but it does what I want it to do. Lovely bike.

Very worse, a piece of sh*t to be honest ~ the Bandit 600, horrible things altogether.

Worse dealers, Joe Duffys (BMW). And best, I know I'll be kicked in the nuts for this one ~ but Bike World has never let me down!.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101738192&postcount=10

Now 2 of them in the family!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Chiorino

440357.jpg

Have you decided to ditch the Z1000?

Chiorino wrote: »
    Have you decided to ditch the Z1000?

Well I wouldn't say 'ditch' it. Someone is going to get a beautiful bike, with a silky smooth engine & gearbox. It just wasn't practical for my needs.

Interesting, it's something I'm really considering when I get a chance to change. In what way did you find it impractical? (could be some food for thought)

Cienciano wrote: »
    OK, not stalking you or anything Mak

Was that you looking in my window this morning?.

But yea, two BMW's in the family now ~ We're a family of risk takers.

I still maintain I shouldn't have gotten rid of the Vstrom, I even dropped hints to the lads in Bikeworld that I'd swap it back ~ but they never took the hint.

The Z1000 (sadly) wasn't my thing anymore.

Turn back the clock a few years and I'd have been riding the tits off it. Roll on a few years and coming off the back of a DL650 and I'm back on the litre naked, I met some lads from Clondalkin mcc in Skerries at the end of the summer and straight off I'm wheeling the thing ~ and scared myself, seriously.

I've slowed down a fair bit in the last few years, oh and I've finally got no penalty points on my license for a change :D

Chiorino wrote: »
    Interesting, it's something I'm really considering when I get a chance to change. In what way did you find it impractical? (could be some food for thought)

Impractical in the sense that my last two bikes have had top boxes, when you get used to a top box its hard going back to throwing a bag on your back.

There's also no pillion room, there's a tiny seat and very high foot rests but realistically its not big enough to carry an adult. And I'd be often asked for lifts from my son and daughter for work or college.

There's no storage under the seat except for a tiny space for a tool kit but no where for anything else like a puncture kit, knife and torch (all of which I like to pack).

There are no rider aids either, not a deciding factor but the Z1000 has very low gearing and a jerky throttle, not fun this winter!.

But its a beautiful bike, I loved the engine and gearbox on it. They're buttery smooth. And for a big lad, I'm 6'1'' and 100kgs they're surprisingly comfortable. But a few remarks about it looking small for me got to me when went into work last week and one of the lads say's 'Lenny that looks like a moped under you' ~ then my mind was made up, its gone!.

Oh, they're surprisingly good on fuel economy too. I was getting 200-220km for €20 (best I got from the Vstrom was 410km for €20). The last BMW I had was a flame spitting R1100S, which got to 160-180km before requiring a fill up, when I got the Z1000 I was expecting similar figures so I was surprised when I was getting to the 200km mark before a fill up.

But a few remarks about it looking small for me got to me when went into work last week and one of the lads say's 'Lenny that looks like a moped under you' ~ then my mind was made up, its gone!.

Personally I reckon it was the comments about the öhlins sticker on the damper made you get rid of it!
    :pac::pac:

Well wear with the GS Mak, she looks a cracker!

Impractical in the sense that my last two bikes have had top boxes, when you get used to a top box its hard going back to throwing a bag on your back.

There's also no pillion room, there's a tiny seat and very high foot rests but realistically its not big enough to carry an adult. And I'd be often asked for lifts from my son and daughter for work or college.

There's no storage under the seat except for a tiny space for a tool kit but no where for anything else like a puncture kit, knife and torch (all of which I like to pack).

There are no rider aids either, not a deciding factor but the Z1000 has very low gearing and a jerky throttle, not fun this winter!.

But its a beautiful bike, I loved the engine and gearbox on it. They're buttery smooth. And for a big lad, I'm 6'1'' and 100kgs they're surprisingly comfortable. But a few remarks about it looking small for me got to me when went into work last week and one of the lads say's 'Lenny that looks like a moped under you' ~ then my mind was made up, its gone!.

Oh, they're surprisingly good on fuel economy too. I was getting 200-220km for €20 (best I got from the Vstrom was 410km for €20). The last BMW I had was a flame spitting R1100S, which got to 160-180km before requiring a fill up, when I got the Z1000 I was expecting similar figures so I was surprised when I was getting to the 200km mark before a fill up.

Thanks for the info, definitely some stuff there to consider. Best of luck with the GS.

blade1 wrote: »
    Personally I reckon it was the comments about the öhlins sticker on the damper made you get rid of it!
    :pac::pac:

Well wear with the GS Mak, she looks a cracker!

Yeah, you heartless bastards :mad:

And thanks :D

I'll be honest, without the 12 month BMW warranty I'm not sure I'd have had the confidence to go back to JD and BMW.. Makes a joke of the three (or six?) month warranty from (for example) Bikeworld.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

'Lenny that looks like a moped under you'

your name is Lenny too?

Cool name :)

lennymc wrote: »
    your name is Lenny too?

Cool name :)

Lenny is his nickname.
    Mary is his real name!:pac: