Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Yeah dropped tanks a few feet here today as well. Bit of damage but better outside than in from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Do you know the way Teagasc say the cost of keeping a suckler cow every year is 500 is their a cost for keeping a Fr Dairy Cow a year thrown around??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭visatorro

Prot 3.21 fat 3.97 urea 27 scc 213 litres 21.8. Five kgs of 18 hi maize. Silage middling 70 dmd. All calved between 15oct and 15 Dec. Winter milk paid back in spades. Good market for calves as well. Cows showing good heats. Lost one calf with scours. Two still born. Few cows springing now just wait until May now to get cows out and I'll be flying!

My cows wouldn't be overly milky. I had 2000 gallon cows here before and I couldn't manage them properly. I had Jerseys as well and I don't think they are for me either. I've two or three left. It's mostly friesan bred from stock bulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Do you know the way Teagasc say the cost of keeping a suckler cow every year is 500 is their a cost for keeping a Fr Dairy Cow a year thrown around??

If i had to have a guess. 1000 euro. ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

Was going through the figures here a few weeks back.. coming in between €1400 and €1500 all in including all labour and land charges, think it included rearing replacements too .. probably working out at 1000-1100 if you don’t include land and labour.. and that’s on what’s considered to be a fairly low cost system...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Was going through the figures here a few weeks back.. coming in between €1400 and €1500 all in including all labour and land charges, think it included rearing replacements too .. probably working out at 1000-1100 if you don’t include land and labour.. and that’s on what’s considered to be a fairly low cost system...

When you say land does that mean what your paying for rented land or the cost of your own land if rented out ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

When you say land does that mean what your paying for rented land or the cost of your own land if rented out ??

Cost put down for both rented land and owned land. think we put a figure of €150 for every acre farmed, so we weren’t exactly generous with the land charge..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

visatorro wrote: »
    Prot 3.21 fat 3.97 urea 27 scc 213 litres 21.8. Five kgs of 18 hi maize. Silage middling 70 dmd. All calved between 15oct and 15 Dec. Winter milk paid back in spades. Good market for calves as well. Cows showing good heats. Lost one calf with scours. Two still born. Few cows springing now just wait until May now to get cows out and I'll be flying!

My cows wouldn't be overly milky. I had 2000 gallon cows here before and I couldn't manage them properly. I had Jerseys as well and I don't think they are for me either. I've two or three left. It's mostly friesan bred from stock bulls.

Our last year in winter milk. Looking forward to the change tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭visatorro

Our last year in winter milk. Looking forward to the change tbh

I don't have the grazing block so I've to dry off cows in August, September to cope. Was very close to going spring milk but I'd have to go down numbers. I've A milkman as well and if I let him go for winter I'd be afraid he wouldn't come back! He's entitled to a steady income as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

visatorro wrote: »
    I don't have the grazing block so I've to dry off cows in August, September to cope. Was very close to going spring milk but I'd have to go down numbers. I've A milkman as well and if I let him go for winter I'd be afraid he wouldn't come back! He's entitled to a steady income as well.

If we didn't get next door id be staying at it as well, only the addition of dry ground to grazing block has allowed me out. Keeping the calving period short important for autumn calving I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Got on very well here with using the late spring calvers and culls to fill the liquid contracts last 2 winters here.

Compact calving, which most lightly won't be able to cover the liquid litres during Jan is the target. However doing out the sums, my yearly liquid bonus is worth the same profit from about 6 spring cows, would be a hell of alot easier to put them extra 6 cows in the system, and be able to turn off the milking machine for 6wks.

Bright night out even with a bit of cloud cover

Timmaay wrote: »
    Got on very well here with using the late spring calvers and culls to fill the liquid contracts last 2 winters here.

Compact calving, which most lightly won't be able to cover the liquid litres during Jan is the target. However doing out the sums, my yearly liquid bonus is worth the same profit from about 6 spring cows, would be a hell of alot easier to put them extra 6 cows in the system, and be able to turn off the milking machine for 6wks.

What's your minimum amount to retain liquid? My min is 28k Litres per month so while I may hit it in Dec unlikely to do so in Jan without fresh calvers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

€1604 here...includes 330 labour and 154 land cost...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Let out the 21 calved there for a few hrs, need to move around cows in cubicle shed. The neighbours will be talkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Big Phil comes out with a warning about the unsustainability of the Irish dairy expansion. Overproduction etc etc.

I wonder why he didn’t threaten to release the intervention stocks to drop/control prices, as that’s the aim of the Commission for ‘18....(as I already posted).

Interesting.

Big Phil comes out with a warning about the unsustainability of the Irish dairy expansion. Overproduction etc etc.

I wonder why he didn’t threaten to release the intervention stocks to drop/control prices, as that’s the aim of the Commission for ‘18....(as I already posted).

Interesting.

Didn't they remove the minimum price for intervention last week? Could have more of an effect on those that put product in last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

She wer listening to that from a converted french man the last few years! Imo it's like NZ mark 2 at the moment in regards to expansion/environment. I see lads loaded with cows atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Mooooo wrote: »
    What's your minimum amount to retain liquid? My min is 28k Litres per month so while I may hit it in Dec unlikely to do so in Jan without fresh calvers

11k here, so liquid bonus bonus only worth 4k to me, 28kl would be a different story altogether. The 11k more just allows me to easy the transition to spring only, drying may calvers in Dec not an option, but getting 7c/bonus to milk them on nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,127 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Interesting.

Maybe he's trying to formulate a scheme to compensate all the owners of new rotarys that they will be grant aided to turn to them into merry go rounds, I reckon the Eu are starting to be quiet taken back by the rapid increase in Irish production, its still head-scratching they even renewed derogation for another 4 years they could off really curbed back cow numbers increasing dramatically by scraping it and setting a 170 limit

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

my reading dawg is he is warning ye that s**t is going to hit the fan soon but dont think there is going to be special regs for just ireland or whoever.if they are bringing back quotas we better really drive it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭einn32

kevthegaff wrote: »
    She wer listening to that from a converted french man the last few years! Imo it's like NZ mark 2 at the moment in regards to expansion/environment. I see lads loaded with cows atm

It's nowhere near NZ. And where are lads loaded with cows? I don't see it. A few 200 cow places, the odd 600 and how many have 1000 plus? Plus the subsidies!! TAMs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Maybe he's trying to formulate a scheme to compensate all the owners of new rotarys that they will be grant aided to turn to them into merry go rounds, I reckon the Eu are starting to be quiet taken back by the rapid increase in Irish production, its still head-scratching they even renewed derogation for another 4 years they could off really curbed back cow numbers increasing dramatically by scraping it and setting a 170 limit

Jesus wept,
    This shyte from a guy who completely disregards all environmental rules (by your own admission).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

The derogation protects the non intensive operator....

Do you want 7000 top class operators on the market for ground?

This is what our expat is referring to. I note France mentioned. This mainland euro crap of blaming Ireland at every turn is wearisome especially when we didn't put as much powder into intervention as other "members"

https://m.independent.ie/business/farming/dairy/irish-dairy-expansion-levels-are-unsustainable-warns-hogan-telling-farmers-to-heed-market-signals-36547287.html?utm_content=bufferfdcc9&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,127 ✭✭✭jaymla627

alps wrote: »
    The derogation protects the non intensive operator....

Do you want 7000 top class operators on the market for ground?

Im not advocating it, it's what I'd do if I was in Brussels trying to figure out how to stop the pesky Irish dairy farmers from producing billions more litres of milk going forward annually, going forward Ireland is failing miserably in all sectors in curbing emissions and facing massive fines as a result, agriculture isn't going to escape scot-free when the government is eventually made to craic down on all sectors in the economy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Im not advocating it, it's what I'd do if I was in Brussels trying to figure out how to stop the pesky Irish dairy farmers from producing billions more litres of milk going forward annually, going forward Ireland is failing miserably in all sectors in curbing emissions and facing massive fines as a result, agriculture isn't going to escape scot-free when the government is eventually made to craic down on all sectors in the economy

There are certainly some frightening statistics coming out.

Despite our green claims (plastic bag tax etc.) we are *by far* Europe's biggest producer of plastic waste - at 61kg a head we're over 20% worse than our nearest rival, and only 3 countries produce more than 40kg.

I'm afraid we've made such a paying industry out of "recycling" that actually reducing waste by just not generating so much of it has become a terrifying proposition for those who owe their existence to it - regulators, re-cyclers, and a host of quangos which support them.

It's a tragedy that in a country so well equipped to actually be environmentally friendly - small scale farming, grassland, potential for micro-renewables etc. etc. - still relatively busy high streets and indepedent shops - we allow ourselves to be so easily taken in by our own greenwashing.

Farmers would do well to campaign hard against plastic waste - food wrapped in plastic, convenience food, is convenient primarily for the retailer and his margins - not for the farmer who grows it or the poor sod who has to unwrap it and pay to throw it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

This is what our expat is referring to. I note France mentioned. This mainland euro crap of blaming Ireland at every turn is wearisome especially when we didn't put as much powder into intervention as other "members"

https://m.independent.ie/business/farming/dairy/irish-dairy-expansion-levels-are-unsustainable-warns-hogan-telling-farmers-to-heed-market-signals-36547287.html?utm_content=bufferfdcc9&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

My late mother used to say that the biggest fool was the fool that believed his own lies. Greenwash away to fcuk.

I couldn’t give a damn if ye turn Ireland into one of Trumps sh!tholes. No skin off my nose.

My post was about how the Commissioner has stopped short of saying that he will use intervention stocks to control production. That I do care about!
    The Commission has already said on French media that that is their objective.
    I already posted this.
    The Commission knows that once the drought broke in November last, that French production immediately surged. In their eyes that’s not good...
    These bureaucrats can’t help themselves from meddling in a supposedly ‘free’ market.
    It’s how they meddle bothers me.

Fwiw there are some, very few, forthright posters here that get pilloried fro saying it like it is, and that’s a shame but I hope that they continue...

My late mother used to say that the biggest fool was the fool that believed his own lies. Greenwash away to fcuk.

I couldn’t give a damn if ye turn Ireland into one of Trumps sh!tholes. No skin off my nose.

My post was about how the Commissioner has stopped short of saying that he will use intervention stocks to control production. That I do care about!
    The Commission has already said on French media that that is their objective.
    I already posted this.
    The Commission knows that once the drought broke in November last, that French production immediately surged. In their eyes that’s not good...
    These bureaucrats can’t help themselves from meddling in a supposedly ‘free’ market.
    It’s how they meddle bothers me.

Fwiw there are some, very few, forthright posters here that get pilloried fro saying it like it is, and that’s a shame but I hope that they continue...

That's me told then !!
    Please stay posting as your foresight is invaluable to us poor auld eejits.

We are well aware of what's happening and what can happen. The stock pile of powder is a huge issue that we know. The quota in my view will be dressed as environmental is cow numbers.

"Trumps ****holes" now where did that come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Would the fact that some EU countries were putting stock into intervention after we had stopped be more to do with differing tactics.
    The majority of our markets are bargain basement stuff that any of them could presumably have sold into had they wanted but instead did they opt to try and dry up their own markets a bit to protect higher value products?