Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OnePlus 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭WolfSpinach

i got the oneplus travel backpack out of it, great thing and super sturdy, love it.

And one promotion code at a time (which is what you get with the referral)

Did you get black or grey? I'm thinking about picking up the grey one but apparently cordura is black only so I'm wondering how waterproof/damage resistant it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Soccarboy11

cefh17 wrote: »
    I have 60 pts for argument sake, but the vouchers are only 10/20/50/70 so will I have to put through as two orders and use a coupon on each?

They are given as promo codes, and you select the one you want to use, so buy one thing with promo codes, use referral points another, use that promo code etc. (At least for the backpack.it was a button on the side to use a promo code)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Soccarboy11

Did you get black or grey? I'm thinking about picking up the grey one but apparently cordura is black only so I'm wondering how waterproof/damage resistant it is.

I got the black, didn't want to stand out much and I like it! Definitely very sturdy , the entire material really. Full.black with the red zips is a nice feature. I love the little hidden pockets (had it for two weeks and only found another one today!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭pandabat

So, onto Open Beta 4 for the OP5. You can now finally turn off the automatic addition of an icon to the Home screen for new apps. Yay!

Also features new clipboard (looks like the old clipboard to me), the OnePlus switch app (to allow you migrate data easily from other phone to OnePlus phone - app seems to be missing from app drawer so can't open it without poking about with adb), a dynamic desktop clock icon (the icon updates as the clock does), new app drawer with search and alphabetic index to the side, auto-naming of folders and some system changes mainly around power consumption and background app management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Nice, the icon thingy was annoying me! :)
    Mainly cos each time I try and update the Beta, it corrupts my data and I have to do a fresh install :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭WhiskeyGoblin

Lads is there anyway to get the little counter on individual apps if there are unread notifications?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭micks_address

Halflifept wrote: »
    @Devia , @micks_adress your purchased 5T or 5?

5T

marko93 wrote: »
    Lads is there anyway to get the little counter on individual apps if there are unread notifications?

Nova launcher plus tesla coil unread add on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Guys, my credit card details were stolen. Got messege from aib and asked if I spent 600eu on holiday in Italy. Needless to say I didn't.

I am trying to figure out how theu got those details and it came up to me that I bought 5t for misses as xmas present and used my cc there. It is reported that their website got hacked. So I am trying to put things together.
    Just heads up, if you bought from them in last year, then keep an eye on your credit card, pr even better, get new one.

Fair play to my bank to catch it asap. The scummers did used it for some charity first, 20eu. Must have been probing the card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Guys, my credit card details were stolen. Got messege from aib and asked if I spent 600eu on holiday in Italy. Needless to say I didn't.

I am trying to figure out how theu got those details and it came up to me that I bought 5t for misses as xmas present and used my cc there. It is reported that their website got hacked. So I am trying to put things together.
    Just heads up, if you bought from them in last year, then keep an eye on your credit card, pr even better, get new one.

Fair play to my bank to catch it asap. The scummers did used it for some charity first, 20eu. Must have been probing the card.

Yep. Compromised for the last while, they stopped accepting credit card payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

I cancelled my debit card at the start of the week as a precaution.

They've stopped accepting anything but Paypal purchases.
    Have they acknowledge/apologised for this sh!tshow does anyone know?

ILikeBoats wrote: »
    I cancelled my debit card at the start of the week as a precaution.

They've stopped accepting anything but Paypal purchases.
    Have they acknowledge/apologised for this sh!tshow does anyone know?

May be their payment processor rather than OnePlus themselves. Still investigating.

They're planning on releasing a detailed statement tomorrow

https://forums.oneplus.net/threads/an-update-on-credit-card-security.752415/

pandabat wrote: »
    May be their payment processor rather than OnePlus themselves. Still investigating.

There's a further update now. It's tomorrow there already. Looks like only some were affected. You'll probably get an email from OnePlus if you were

Email I got..

To summarise, one of their servers was compromised and a malicious script was injected into the payment page and so the payment details were stolen directly from your browser as opposed to the encrypted details being stolen from OnePlus or the payment processor. Cold comfort for those affected and, of course, their server should not have been compromised in the first place. If you were being served by another server then your details are not in jeopardy.

It's sounds like to me there was some site attack where payment details were being intercepted when keyed.. The payment processor doesn't seem to have been affected.. I'm peeved as I didn't even buy a phone just a stupid case.. They could offer something as a good will gesture to those effected.. A free dash charger or something

I believe that they're offering a years free card/payment monitoring to those affected. Some would place a value on that and it's better than nothing but, if I'd been affected, I'd prefer to have a choice of a voucher or something like a charger/headphones/case instead.

In fairness aib caught mine straight away.. Onky couple of small transactions before they texted me to verify one..I'm not sure what a different credit card monitoring service would add

Yeah I wouldn't be too thrilled with it myself. Odds on same happening again in next 12 months are slim anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭godskitchen

It looks like it has effected customers who used CC from November 2017.

Am I reading that correctly?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Unlucky to everyone caught up in the security breach lads!
    It's aright pain in the face to have to get a card re-issue and get the money back
    Especially if it's a debit card, as it's your ATM card too :(

Hopefully ye are all sorted soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

I'll be rightly pissed if it happens to me.
    I bought from the one plus site 6 months ago and I'm away traveling for 3 months and only have 1 card with me. I'd be ****ed if It was cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

That's correct.

Safe for people who used Paypal ( i myself included ) I don't trust putting in my CC details online anymore and would rather use a third party (Paypal) when paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Gunther_Gloop

Oneplus sell longer (1.5m), flat cables. When I'm released from the Christmas austerity I'm planning on getting one.

I got two 'standard' ones and a longer one from Aliexpress. Also got a plug. They took around a month to arrive. The longer one is around 5 or 6 feet (probably) and is flat -like a 1cm flexible ruler rather than circular, but all cables + plug work as a quick charger and no problems so far. Total cost for all the above was less than the price of one charger/plug from Oneplus.

Worth the wait I reckon.

So, onto Open Beta 4 for the OP5. You can now finally turn off the automatic addition of an icon to the Home screen for new apps. Yay!

I disabled this via the playstore settings -I'm pretty sure I did it before Christmas after installing Nova launcher.

?

I disabled this via the playstore settings -I'm pretty sure I did it before Christmas after installing Nova launcher.

?

Just running stock launcher

I have a few rather silly/ small issues with the 5T...

1. Sometimes when I'm finished with a call, I put out my finger to press the red hangup button, but even as I do, I realise there is a list of notifications, but the "Clear All" button is covering the hangup button and I have pressed this accidentally many times -clearing all my notifications!
    Stoopid I know -but it shouldn't be allowed happen.

2. The Power and Volume buttons should be swapped. Failing that, the power should be higher & Volume lower -to avoid confusion. Even now I get it wrong all the time.

3. I don't play many Android games, but for some reason the sound on Word Streak has never worked right on the 5T. I haven't come across anything else where the sound drops & comes back all the time. The game itself is years old though and I never had any issues playing it on any other device. Does anyone here play Word Streak on the 5T?

Just running stock launcher

So did that option in the Playstore settings not work previously?