Netflix Recommendations 2.0 *READ FIRST POST*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭21Savage

Enjoying the series of Race for the White House CNN Specials on Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,452 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

1) Watched The Man With The Iron Heart.

Didn't get a great score on IMBD, but I enjoyed it.
    Quite graphic, a la Schindlers List.

7/10.

Starting to enjoy Jason Clarke as an actor. Had never heard of him before until about 6 months ago, now seen him in this and Mudbound. Excellent. I also see he was in Home and Away in 2002!

2) Watched Alone in Berlin, with Brendan Gleeson and Emma Thompson. About a German couple who lose their son in the war and decide to start distributing anti-Nazi cards around Berlin. 2 main actors good as usual, and shocked to see at the end that its a true story.

7/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Finished Frozen Dead,bit slow to begin with but very good in the end?

What next?
    Wormwood
    Indian Detective
    Morrocco: Love in a time of war (sounds a bit vom but has an 8/10 on IMDb)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I watched Open House last night for some godforsaken reason.

Do not watch it. It's absolutely atrocious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Shockwave tunnel ( Hong Kong action thriller )
    The Belko experiment
    Added today

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 24,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

What next?

Morrocco: Love in a time of war (sounds a bit vom but has an 8/10 on IMDb)

Haven't watched this one but any of the other Spanish things I've watched have been quite good. High production values, good casts, sometimes they're a little bit soapy but in a good way, always entertaining.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,207 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

For those posting about The Open House being awful, can you be more specific? Is it just a lame jump scare vehicle? What are the things that make it not worth watching? And how do you think it compares to McG's The Babysitter?

I saw the trailer and thought it might be a fun one for friday night with a couple of cans, like The Babysitter was, but if it's terrible I'd rather skip it and rewatch The Belko Experiment or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Starting watching Drug Lords, documentary. Watched the first 2 episodes about Pablo Escobar and then the Cali Cartel. It’s brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,016 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Fysh wrote: »
    For those posting about The Open House being awful, can you be more specific? Is it just a lame jump scare vehicle? What are the things that make it not worth watching? And how do you think it compares to McG's The Babysitter?

I saw the trailer and thought it might be a fun one for friday night with a couple of cans, like The Babysitter was, but if it's terrible I'd rather skip it and rewatch The Belko Experiment or something like that.

Honestly, you aren't going to find any merit in it.

Difficult to say more without e "ruining" it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Myself and the wife just finished the belko experiment. Decent enough, perfect for a lazy Sunday evening.

I'm on the 4th episode of Alias Grace. It's kind of boring so far. Your woman's accent is kind of annoying me too. It's odd, her pronunciation of all the words is fine but her lilt is weird, like she's asking a question all the time, although it's more obvious when she's talking to the doctor guy, so maybe it's on purpose?

I'll stick with it but it's not gripping me so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

noodler wrote: »
    The open house is one of the worse movies I have ever seen.

Avoid at all costs.

Certainly the worst ending to a horror I have ever seen.

Too late! In agony, somebody shoot me.

“Female is real, and it's sex, and femininity is unreal, and it's gender.

For that to become the given identity of women is a profoundly disabling notion."

— Germaine Greer

I would recommend the film The finest Hours, saw it in the cinema but noticed it has just been added to Netflix. It’s based on a true story about the US coast guards rescue of a stricken oil tanker. Starring Chris Pine and Casey Affleck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Plus one for The Finest Hours. Very enjoyable movie.

I’m just starting to watch it now again, I know I recognized that actress from somewhere in another show on Netflix, I think it was called Lady Annabelle lover or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Anybody watched glitch?

I was thinking of giving alias grace a try but not so sure after reading the latest review in this thread.

I'd love a recommendation for a light, silly comedy series. I've watched and loved Brooklyn 99. Also watched the good place, master of none (gave up early into it), grace and frankie, don't trust the b in apt 23 and the unbreakable kimmy. Any other suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,546 ✭✭✭✭km79

Whispered wrote: »
    Anybody watched glitch?

I was thinking of giving alias grace a try but not so sure after reading the latest review in this thread.

I'd love a recommendation for a light, silly comedy series. I've watched and loved Brooklyn 99. Also watched the good place, master of none (gave up early into it), grace and frankie, don't trust the b in apt 23 and the unbreakable kimmy. Any other suggestions?

Lovesick was recommended to me and I'm really really enjoying it
    Short episodes and short seasons

It's kind of like a funnier TV version of Notting Hill /Love Actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,483 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Detectorists is very funny, subtle and slow paced, but well worth a watch.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,707 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Detectorists is very funny, subtle and slow paced, but well worth a watch.

Yeah really loved that show, and the theme music is brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

fin12 wrote: »
    I’m just starting to watch it now again, I know I recognized that actress from somewhere in another show on Netflix, I think it was called Lady Annabelle lover or something.

Lady Chatterley's Lover. She was also in that Electric Dreams series on Channel 4.

^ Holliday Grainger is her name.

Speaking of Their Finest Hours, I highly recommend Their Finest, which was added fairly recently. Gemma Arterton stars as a writer who is involved in making a propaganda film during WW2 about Dunkirk. I've heard many say it's the best film about Dunkirk released last year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

the sentinel (2006)
    https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/sentinel/
    added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭tigger123

Whispered wrote: »
    Anybody watched glitch?

I thought Alias Grace was excellent. Give it two episodes; you'll know after that whether it's for you or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,378 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

noodler wrote: »
    Honestly, you aren't going to find any merit in it.

Difficult to say more without e "ruining" it.
    Just to second this...the open house....is utterly absymal, I found the babysitter fun...I can see why netflix have buried it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,197 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Watched the first hour of The Open House.. and it really is a disappointing horror-by-numbers. Meandering between horror cliche after horror cliche at a snail's pace. Doubt I'll finish it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,378 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Basq wrote: »
    Watched the first hour of The Open House.. and it really is a disappointing horror-by-numbers. Meandering between horror cliche after horror cliche at a snail's pace. Doubt I'll finish it.
    If you thought the first hour was bad......the rest is even worse imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭RainMakerToo

Though it started off ok, decent production values at least even if the story was very cliched (parent and son/daughter going to a remote house). At least it was a nice house, not a cabin in the woods type thing. The middle seemed a bit confused. The ending, well - that was quite astonishing in that they didn't really bother with an ending at all. I really can't ever remember seeing anything end like that before - not a movie anyway. more like the ending of a tv-show that ends with a cliffhanger and then gets cancelled, not even the cliffhanger in this case though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭neirbloom

gmisk wrote: »
    Just to second this...the open house....is utterly absymal, I found the babysitter fun...I can see why netflix have buried it

I second The Babysitter, good B movie fun. Nice to see a McG redeem himself somewhat. This is the movie he should of really started his career off with as opposed to those god awful Angel movies.

I didn't know that Samara Weaving was Hugo Weavings niece. Never made that connection while she was in Home and Away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Finished end of the ****ing world. It's a decent watch but at times I didn't know if I liked or hated the main characters.

Started Dark, 2 episodes in and I must say it's very dark :) not sure about it, seems like a German stranger things without the charm. Will give it another episode to suck me in.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Basq wrote: »

No, no.. please watch it until the end. Guarantee you'll roar the house down, punch yourself senseless and stab your eyes out with whatever's at hand.. pen, pencil, nails.. the fecking remote.

I do not want be only one left battered and bruised after that movie.

“Female is real, and it's sex, and femininity is unreal, and it's gender.

For that to become the given identity of women is a profoundly disabling notion."

— Germaine Greer