Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I don't think any of the old rail line routes were ever returned to private ownership.

The last train to leave Edenderry Co Offaly was a special that was ran after the station had closed. It was ran to bring the Faithful supporters to the All Ireland final of 1961. Offaly vs Down. It still stands as the attendance record for Croke Park. Something over 90,000. Though I'm told that there was in fact many more as gates were opened to allow throngs of people in!
    The line was subsequently disbanded and offered for sale to adjoining landowners, often split down the middle if different landowners were involved. It was done officially, I recall seeing maps and folio numbers. They were a great place to out winter cattle, good dry lying. Many farmers had round feeders on the old line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Base price wrote: »
    I'll have a look to see if the wax option is available here but they are not on that website.

There not kawakas. their farm source which is an own brand for a farm store here. There should be some wax ones available somewhere though

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Grueller wrote: »
    Mulling it over here too. Have never done the full but have several halfs under the belg and have trained to 22 miles.

Ah if u have that much done it would be no bother to you! 😀
    Dublin is a great one to do. Great atmosphere and the crowds are mighty to keep u going. If you could get in with a group that is running it then that also helps. I’ll be doing it with a local charity group here in Clare that has a gang going to Dublin every year. So all the long runs are done as a group and there is a bit of craic along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭Grueller

Parishlad wrote: »
    Ah if u have that much done it would be no bother to you! 😀
    Dublin is a great one to do. Great atmosphere and the crowds are mighty to keep u going. If you could get in with a group that is running it then that also helps. I’ll be doing it with a local charity group here in Clare that has a gang going to Dublin every year. So all the long runs are done as a group and there is a bit of craic along the way.

I am starting long runs again this Sunday with a mate who has several county and a leinster x-country title(s) to his name. It starts with 9 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Grueller wrote: »
    I am starting long runs again this Sunday with a mate who has several county and a leinster x-country title(s) to his name. It starts with 9 miles.
    You’re way ahead of the game so. I’m only fartin around at the minute with runs up to 10k. There are a few 10k and 10m races over the next couple of months locally that I will do and might do the half in Lmk in May. Marathon training plan normally kicks off in June and starts at 8 miles. August and September are ‘fun’ when the long runs are actually long! 😳
    Trying to convince myself that I just want to get round in one piece this time without pushing too hard, but that won’t happen. Distance is never the problem, it’s the pace. And I’m no spring chicken. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I don't think any of the old rail line routes were ever returned to private ownership. I know here in Cavan that the County Council claim to have ownership of the actual track bed.

Now there are people with slatted houses built on the old track, and in Navan loads of private housing likewise, but for the purpose of creating Greenways the Council seem to have a free hand.

That's how they were able to build the green line luas so straight and handy, it was an old train or tram line. Ppl had extended their gardens but never bought it so they were able to say 'tighten up a bit there' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,666 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Birdnuts wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/farm-property/changes-to-cpo-legislation-on-the-way-after-farmer-prevents-purchase-of-land-for-tech-giant-36502774.html?utm_content=bufferd8281&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Suprised no one has commented on the above here. Its one thing the government using CPO's for public projects like roads and sewage schemes - but we are getting into dangerous territory when the government of the day decides to pass laws allowing landgrabbing by big corporations:mad:
    FFS....
    Thanks for the link/information.

There not kawakas. their farm source which is an own brand for a farm store here. There should be some wax ones available somewhere though
    Any chance you can pick up a set for me (at local rates :rolleyes:) and post them home :)

Do any ye know of anyone with Border Terriers in Leinster/Midlands area.
    I recently lost a 15yo bitch and I would like to get a pup/young bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Base price wrote: »
    Any chance you can pick up a set for me (at local rates :rolleyes:) and post them home :)

Was in the co op today two actually and they hadnt them

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I don't think any of the old rail line routes were ever returned to private ownership.

The last train to leave Edenderry Co Offaly was a special that was ran after the station had closed.  It was ran to bring the Faithful supporters to the All Ireland final of 1961. Offaly vs Down.  It still stands as the attendance record for Croke Park. Something over 90,000. Though I'm told that there was in fact many more as gates were opened to allow throngs of people in!
    The line was subsequently disbanded and offered for sale to adjoining landowners,  often split down the middle if different landowners were involved.  It was done officially,  I recall seeing maps and folio numbers.  They were a great place to out winter cattle,  good dry lying.  Many farmers had round feeders on the old line!

Plenty of lads around me graze it anyway. i think your close to me genghis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Chisler2

whelan2 wrote: »
    Isnt it annoying to see the dail on the news and so many empty seats there?

Enough space to re-home Dublin's sleeping-rough homeless. Now THEIR contributions to the debate would wake everyone up. Let's make 2018 the year of practical solutions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,744 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

See the farmer's journal are doing the box deal for €119. How much was it before Christmas?

€99.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,622 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hooked up to this bad boy for the next hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭roosterman71

What is this if you don't mind me asking?

Its a box of journal goodies with a years subscription

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Reggie. wrote: »
    Hooked up to this bad boy for the next hour

Funny enough, as the photo loaded from the top down, I saw Trima on the LCD display and thought to myself "He's gone and changed the loader for one with load sensing and weighting" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Its a box of journal goodies with a years subscription

Cool. Got a link? On the site the only thing I can see are the subscription options (digital, paper, both), and none are €119

Funny enough, as the photo loaded from the top down, I saw Trima on the LCD display and thought to myself "He's gone and changed the loader for one with load sensing and weighting" :D

Your a terrible man

Looking at the screen, they've got nothing from you yet. :D

Cool. Got a link? On the site the only thing I can see are the subscription options (digital, paper, both), and none are €119

It was on their fb page this morning. Cant link it as I'm on my.phone. It said the first 100 subscribers would get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭mayota

Which is plugged in more often, him or the Landini?

Ran out of kerosene today. Cooker went out. Used to be able to gauge amount in old tank with condensation that was on the outside. New bunded tank so never noticed. Thankfully I got a fill this evening. €604 for 900 liters. Anyone bought any recently is that about right?

mayota wrote: »
    Which is plugged in more often, him or the Landini?

There's a special place in hell for ye lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Ran out of kerosene today. Cooker went out. Used to be able to gauge amount in old tank with condensation that was on the outside. New bunded tank so never noticed. Thankfully I got a fill this evening. €604 for 900 liters. Anyone bought any recently is that about right?
    Yeah, about right. We got 1000l before Christmas for about 61c/l, iirc.

Classic. Guy tries to cut up a tractor & tanker on a roundabout, hits side of tanker and get door piller hooked on the side fill valve.
    Gets dragged by the tractor, and broken valve fills the car with pig slurry :D

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/pics-car-filled-with-pig-slurry-after-collision-with-tanker/?utm_content=buffer5acc3&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,388 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Not farming but.

Turkish military forces have launched an offensive against the Kurds in Syria.
    The Kurds were attempting to set up their own state in nothern Syria and were instrumental in the fight against Isis in that part of Syria.
    The Turks have commenced shelling from Turkey into Syria with a ground offensive into Syria now looking inevitable.
    Russia controls the airspace so it looks like Turkish warplanes won't have any involvement.

Just a bit of international news for ye.

Not farming but.

Turkish military forces have launched an offensive against the Kurds in Syria.
    The Kurds were attempting to set up their own state in nothern Syria and were instrumental in the fight against Isis in that part of Syria.
    The Turks have commenced shelling from Turkey into Syria with a ground offensive into Syria now looking inevitable.
    Russia controls the airspace so it looks like Turkish warplanes won't have any involvement.

Just a bit of international news for ye.

That's gonna get dirty as the US has a special OPS base in that area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Yeah, about right. We got 1000l before Christmas for about 61c/l, iirc.

Thats good. Got 1000l over xmas for €670. Tis like the petrol or diesel though, l never go by price, more on the reputation of the oil company.