If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

D&D Act Two Scene II - Well met in Clayton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

The sand storm seems unnatural, the ebbs and flows are too orderly. It extends as far as the eye can see.

Necrominus wrote: »
    Bandylegs thinks hard, pacing back and forth.

'Those that travel with me will be able to speak to any language, and to any beast.'
    BandyLegs catches some of the conversation this time.

"...equivalent of a minor spell, but permanent....ultimately no harm...."

"...does not break agreement we made with it...."

The change occurs.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Bandylegs again paces the desert floor.

'Bandylegs will be be unmatched in skill with a Battleaxe from this day forth.'

"...it was you who left them in the mortal plane..."

"...we can't be seen as liars..."

"...but how? The handling of the weapon alone? Would he not need to be elevated in general?..."

The powers continue to ruminate.

A mighty voice breaks the stalemate. It is Vergadain.

"I speak for my own, he is my head cleric, by his own will and my assent. He has a dread task ahead of him, you all know of what I speak. I have a solution which does not break our agreement with the Abomination. Give him the axe of Khurdiz, a small mercy on this poor soul."

The bright light dims, BandyLegs can be seen vibrating incredibly fast, but slows down to normal.

BandyLegs himself slowly loses his grip on the secrets of the world (he retains some things, salt is made of two lethal chemicals, who knew?) and the fabric of magic vanishes from his eyes.

On the ground is the mighty BattleAxe of Khurdiz, unbreakable and light as a feather. Famous in Dwarven myth. Sentient to boot.

"So you going to pick me up pal?" the axe asks.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Bandylegs looks at the axe incredulously.

'Ye can speak? O'course I'll pick ye up!'

Bandylegs attempts to lift the axe.

Bandylegs looks at the axe incredulously.

'Ye can speak? O'course I'll pick ye up!'

Bandylegs attempts to lift the axe.
    "Nice grip, lower it a bit...lower....that's it lower....

What? No sense of humour? Alright, no worries, but seriously nice grip.

You've a beholder in your group, odd. So you going to introduce me?"

Bandylegs smirks and introduces his new axe to the group, including the beholder.

'I didn't catch yer name... or yers, actually (gesturing to the beholder)'

The beholder turns.

"Khimluskialks, call me Kim."

The axe answers.

"Just the Axe of Khurdiz pal. Well full name is Axe of Khurdiz, Breaker of the Forest. "

Bandylegs gives the axe a few test swings.

'So... just how powerful be ye? Y'know what, ye can tell me on our way to the fire dwarves. They'll have a warm welcome fer the new head cleric o'Vergadain I'll be reckoning.

Kim, ye said... lead the way as ye seem ter know where it is. Can ye tell me a bit about yerself as well as we walk?'

As the party marches through the desert Kim tells BandyLegs her previous life.

"Well typical beholder upbringing, me and my older brother killed two of our other siblings for diverging from our mother too much genetically. Spent a few years amassing a great lair, took orders from the Hive Mother, my own grandmother.

Big powerful human hero enters the Underdark and kills granny. She kills him though, the blast leaving only a deck of cards he was carrying. The only survivor I try my hand at drawing a card and what do you know, it makes me good. The gods made the cards.

So now I've a lot of guilt for what I've done, especially what my hive did to Zassan. So I think I'll be mayor. Luckily my dwarven hero comes along."

She attempts a smile, but it looks as though she is going to swallow BandyLegs.

"That never works, it was a smile by the way, but seriously thanks."

The group is confronted with a massive sandstorm up ahead.

Bandylegs turns to Kim.

'Can ye do anythin about this sandstorm?'

"I can use my Telekinesis to protect the group, make a bubble the sand can't get through. If you want boss."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Fourier wrote: »
    The sand storm seems unnatural, the ebbs and flows are too orderly. It extends as far as the eye can see.
    Ekbard try to see if he notices the sandstowm moving, as a mass, if it is not, go up to the very boundary of storm / not storm.

"I can use my Telekinesis to protect the group, make a bubble the sand can't get through. If you want boss."

'Aye, that would be a good idea. Let's try that and push on. Thanks Kim, I knew I made the right decision ter ask ye to join us.'

Ekbard try to see if he notices the sandstowm moving, as a mass, if it is not, go up to the very boundary of storm / not storm.
    The sandstorm is moving like a single consistent mass, possibly expanding. The rate is slow enough that Ekbard can walk to the edge, taking a step back every few minutes.

Ekbard attempts to enter the sandstorm mass, shielding his eyes with his hands.

The beholder leads the group through the storm, but pauses.

"There are two others near this storm. One outside, the other within a cave. Or will I just keep going. We should be close enough to the one outside when we exit."

sKeith wrote: »
    Ekbard attempts to enter the sandstorm mass, shielding his eyes with his hands.
    The sand tears at Ekbards skin, a day of this might be a bit much but he is alright for now.

He can see that deep in the storm there is an area where the sand is thicker and spinning more rapidly. That area is also expanding.

Looking around there are dunes, only dunes, for the mile or so he can see.

Bandylegs turns to Kim.

'Can ye sense what types of life forms they be? Two of our party struck out on their own....

I think the cave first. Then the other.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Ooc : since Paul is ignoring her, Othegre is listening for his heartbeat so she can recognise it again in the future. And muttering to herself.

The sand tears at Ekbards skin, a day of this might be a bit much but he is alright for now.

He can see that deep in the storm there is an area where the sand is thicker and spinning more rapidly. That area is also expanding.

Looking around there are dunes, only dunes, for the mile or so he can see.

Ekbards rears himself back out of the sandstorm.

Bandylegs turns to Kim.

'Can ye sense what types of life forms they be? Two of our party struck out on their own....

I think the cave first. Then the other.'
    "Sorry don't know what they are. I can only sense them because the storm is evil."

They arrive at the cave entrance.

Banjo wrote: »
    Ooc : since Paul is ignoring her, Othegre is listening for his heartbeat so she can recognise it again in the future. And muttering to herself.
    OOC: Sorry I'm missing something, who is Paul?

Bandylegs steps inside the cave, looking for who Kim was referring to.

'Evil? What do ye mean, evil, Kim?'

sKeith wrote: »
    Ekbards rears himself back out of the sandstorm.
    A night hag lands in front of Ekbard.

k1UCDU.jpg

"I am the harbinger of this storm. Behold, it comes as death"

She rushes him.

OOC: Init time!

Bandylegs steps inside the cave, looking for who Kim was referring to.

'Evil? What do ye mean, evil, Kim?'
    "Made by an evil being. Or maybe the result of one of the ancient spells that changed the world. I don't know."

Inside the cave, the air is intensely warm. Six stones sit in a circle in the center of the cave's entrance. They seem to have been once used as seats.

The skeleton of a man in clerical clothing lies in the corner, he has recently been searched. This entry chamber seems to have a second level, which a set of crude stairs lead up to.

OOC: Obviously a repeat, but it is the same place. More so you don't have to flick back.

OOC: Sorry I'm missing something, who is Paul?

Ooc : Paul! Paul the Eyeball! It was semi-intentional that he wouldn't respond. But then again you said about a month ago you'd tell me where I stand with running water... Does he have a heart, btw?

Bandylegs checks the room for traps before proceeding up the stairs with Kim closely behind him.

'I wonder... Goodie?'

"Hey Aria, get inside the bloody cave!"

Othegre, sucker that she is, sits on one of the stones.