Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act Two Scene II - Well met in Clayton

• 21-12-2017 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭

Day 1:

The party march through the Blight Mountains. It's a rough enough trip the first day. Up slopes, down worn out passes, across the remnants of Kyrtin empire roads. The dwarves chat merrily to Moy about the virtues of Vergadain and BandyLegs gets more than a few questions about the outside world. This dwarves are excited to be outside Dwarrowtown for the first time in their lives. Kidunli shares a knowing smile with BandyLegs about their naivety.

Around sunset the party is chatting happily and Othegre rises from her sleep. The dwarves do a bit of blood letting to allow the "night lady" as they've taken to calling her, to get her sustenance.

Suddenly there is a loud shadow cast over the party and colossal beating of wings. A female white dragon lands in the snow in front of them and wipes the snow off her mate, a male white dragon. He remains sleeping.

She turns and looks at the party, regarding them suspiciously. The dwarves gesture to Ekbard, suggesting a tight formation. Goodie estimates her to be 80' x 35', male slightly smaller.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 55,409 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Bandylegs calls out.

'Be ye friend or foe?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

The dragon tilts her head, a slight confused look on her face.

OOC: As a dwarf you would know this suggests inability to comprehend speech.

"She hasn't learned any bipedal tongue I'm afraid lads" says Kidunli.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

"Her mate is sleeping, I think we have have took a wrong turn somewhere." Ekbard says to bandy. He the addresses the dragon, " Can we offer assistance, is your friend the hurt, we have magic people who might be able to cast a healing spell on him".

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 55,409 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Bandylegs turns to the group.

'Tight formation lads and lassies! Do not draw yer weapons yet! We will try to pass meanin' no harm... Two dragons is too many to trifle with.'

Ekbard gives the dragons a wide berth and trys to continue onwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Goodie slings his bow and nugmdges humility forward
    arms open palms upnin the universal gesture of meaning no harm
    he smiles at the dragon and whistles a soothing song that lings have about beautiful dragons

The dragon looks at Ekbard and tilts her up slowly, then sharply pulls it down. She does this again and again.

Ekbard stops the cart.. "have me magic users who can cast heal wounds. I thin the 2nd dragon is hurt. if we heal it, They might let us pass freely."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Goodie jumps down off Humility and stands by her side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

"I think she's clearing her throat so she can swallow you cleanly"

'Othegre, Moy... and Flak.

Have ye got any healin' spells? As Ekbard said... if we heal the mate they may let us pass.'

The female walks forward, advancing on Ekbard and stops and looks at the rest of the party.

"she's not looking for a healer. She's looking for seasoning...." Othegre ensures she's not standing near Ekbard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Kal stays very still and tries not to breath.

Ekbard raises his head up slowly, them snaps in down again and keeps it bowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

OOC: My spell for the day is Sleep Also, do I have any dragon knowledge (nature lore?)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OldGoat wrote: »
    OOC: My spell for the day is Sleep Also, do I have any dragon knowledge (nature lore?)
    OOC: Not for this species.

Ekbard raises his bow enought to peek out from under the bow. ooc: plz dont see giant tonsils

The dragon emits a loud drone at Ekbard, but has a sort of smile on her face.

Bandylegs steps forward carefully, readying his metal arms to cast Cure Light Wounds on the slumbering male dragon. He tries to do so without making any aggressive actions.

Ekbard does the hole head nodding thing again, hopping to reassue the dragon that what bandy is doing it of good intentions.

The dragon snarls, moving her feet in an agitated way, but keeps her distance and looks back to Ekbard every few seconds.

Ekbard continues his nodding dance.

Bandylegs casts the spell on the sleeping dragon.

'Vergedain save me, I hope this works!'

The male dragon rises up from the snow, lets out a loud roar and rises into the air.

The female makes several short roars. She dives off the mountain, only to rise back up a few moments later with seven gems worth 3,000GP collectively and dumps them at Ekbard's feet. She then takes flight once more.

OOC: I'll work out XP later. Roughly 430 each.

Ekbard breathes again after holding his breath for what seems like an eternity.

Bandylegs motions toward the treasure.

'Put that in yer cart, Ekbard lad. Let's continue on our way tae Clayton.'

Ekbard throws the gems in his cart and continues onwards towards clayton.

Kal breathes a sigh of relief and moves on with the group. He has an increased respect for Bandylegs and Ekbard.

Flak move beside Kal to talk.
    "You are new here too right. That was amazing, I've never been so close to a dragon let alone two."

OldGoat wrote: »
    Flak move beside Kal to talk.
    "You are new here too right. That was amazing, I've never been so close to a dragon let alone two."

'Indeed, the dwarf sprung me from the prison in the Dwarf town to help him wit this mission. I assumed they were an experienced bunch from looking at them but this is beyond my wildest imaginings. A DRAGON! My lords. And they thought nothing of walking right up to it and healing it. I am feeling very underdressed at the moment I must say.' He chuckles.

Day 2:
    In the afternoon of the following day, the party are descending the slopes of one of the taller mountains. The dwarves had taken time to point out the tomb of an ancient king in one of the mountains a mile off.

One of the dwarves stops and shouts: "ROC!!!". everybody can see a collosal bird, eight times the height of a man flying in from the distance. BandyLegs squints and can make out the heat pattern of a human on the Roc's legs. It is approaching the party rapidly.

6wMZb7.jpg

Bandylegs calls out sharply.

'Hold fast, a large bird approaches! There is a human on board so stay your weapons...for now.'

Ekbard halts his war horse.

Kal takes out his crossbow and loads a bolt.....just in case.

"....two fiddy...why you lousy...."
    Othegre slumbers

The Roc lands on the ground 80' from the party. The impact makes the entire ground shake. It let's out a screech so loud it kicks up dirt and so high pitched it cracks potion vials.

Bandylegs calls out.

'Hey, you on the bird! Do ye mean to cause us harm or what business have ye?'

Ekbard asks, "who goes there?"

The man on the Roc's legs shouts up the road.

"Give me the vampire and ye will pass unharmed. This great bird is my familiar and I am the vampire hunter Vosten Clag".

Ekbard says "what vampire?"

"Ha! Let's not play games Sir" shouts the vampire hunter.

OOC: Flak, Intelligence roll.

Kal takes aim at the Roc's breast

Bandylegs approaches the man.

'Surely we can come to some other arrangement laddie? The vampire is useful to us.

We have no quarrel with ye, but surely as ye know, dwarves are sworn enemies of vampires. We have use fer it and cannae let it out of our care until it has performed its task fer us.

If ye let us pass with no quarrel, Vergadain will bless ye strongly should ye ever swing past Dwarrowtown?'

Fourier wrote: »
    "Ha! Let's not play games Sir" shouts the vampire hunter.

OOC: Flak, Intelligence roll.
    I slip behind my cart and ready my shortbow. I may not know the gang yet but I'm ready to add to the defense.
    Edit: Deletes paradox

Flak looks at the bird. The beast is not one of the truly monstrous Osinzir Rocs found in his homelands southern mountains. Perhaps the northern climes cannot norish them as much. Scaling down he gets a good estimate on the beasts capabilities.

OOC: Roughly 130HP

Necrominus wrote: »
    We have no quarrel with ye, but surely as ye know, dwarves are sworn enemies of vampires. We have use fer it and cannae let it out of our care until it has performed its task fer us.
    "What task is this?" asks Vosten.

The Roc looks intently at BandyLegs.

Fourier wrote: »
    "What task is this?" asks Vosten.

The Roc looks intently at BandyLegs.

'We are being sent South by the Olsinzer empire on a top secret mission. Only the vampire knows the whereabouts of the village we have to travel to.

They were... residents there before their unfortunate turning. It is an important quest, given to our party by Citra herself.

I know yer bird be strong and fearless... but ye dinnae want a golden dragon huntin ye should any harm befall us laddie?'

"Citra is in Soetrard and considers herself above any mortal race. Are you telling me she would make a move against the Lord in the East by using one of his childer? Sorania, kill!!"

The Roc darts forward and impales one of the dwarves with her beak, flings him up into the air, opens her mouth and swallows.

"The vampire?" Vosten asks, sterner this time.

Kal falls backwards onto the ground and crawls under the cart, all shame blown away by the horrifying bird. He maintains aim on the bird from behind the wagon wheel however.