LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

S class is for rear leg room
    just bought a LWB one, its one car Id be as happy in the back as in the front, if not more so :D

I also agree with the other comments, I cant believe the rubbish rear leg room in most cars, even the "premium" ones...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300/17655513

€1850 for a 05 GS with test, alloys need to a refurb!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

Truckermal wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300/17655513

€1850 for a 05 GS with test, alloys need to a refurb!

So does the paint.

Look at pic. 10. He must have p*ssed someone off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

Lads would you consider this Mercedes E Class luxobarge?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/merc-e280-3-0-cdi-v6-2007-facelift/17646818

I am considering an E class around 2006 to 2008 to last me 2-3 years. What is the better model, the diesel or petrol for someone who does low miles and short runs.

What known problems should I be looking out for in both diesel and petrol models of this age?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

An E-Class isn't a Luxobarge. We're talking full size cars here, think S-Class, 7 Series, A8 and the big Toyota thing! :p

Nothing wrong with an E-Class though. Petrol would suit your mileage better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

Big Nasty wrote:
    An E-Class isn't a Luxobarge. We're talking full size cars here, think S-Class, 7 Series, A8 and the big Toyota thing!

Big Nasty wrote:

I would have thought that E Class I posted a link to is equivalent to a GS300?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,914 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Big Nasty wrote:
    An E-Class isn't a Luxobarge. We're talking full size cars here, think S-Class, 7 Series, A8 and the big Toyota thing!

Big Nasty wrote:

I would have thought that E Class I posted a link to is equivalent to a GS300?
    It is. The gs appears to qualify for some unknown reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

LS is the only model that could / should be considered a barge though.

An E-Class, A6, 5 Series, GS are mid size executive saloons. Doesn't take away from them in the least, they are certainly luxo in the right spec but they ain't barges.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,410 ✭✭✭✭beertons

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a8/17571395

Pics are a bit crap. Nct till next January. Tax is out though.

Apologies lads for posting the GS.....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,503 ✭✭✭ofcork

To my mind the gs always seem to me to be more of a barge than an e class 5er or a6 maybe just a bigger car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,627 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

ofcork wrote: »
    To my mind the gs always seem to me to be more of a barge than an e class 5er or a6 maybe just a bigger car.

It’s not though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

Cyrus wrote: »
    It’s not though

lexus-gs-2012.jpg

bmw-serie-5-2013.jpg

mercedes-benz-e-2013.jpg

audi-a6-2011.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Ah here I'm out...

@jayo26 me too Shower of fcuking arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I don't think a GS/e/a6/5 series is a barge, a segment d exec saloon yes, but not a barge.

That said, having turf burning e220d's and 520d's posted in here is not the way to go, however if somebody found a savage deal on an rs6, e550/e63 amg / 550i/M5 etc…. (segment D but with insane spec or massive engine) - it would be welcome here, while not in the normal remit of a barge.

we can be a little bit flexible here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Thread is full of GS. I asked a while ago why they qualify and someone said they are equivalent to a high end 5 series type car and don't have a 2 litre diesel under the bonnet.
    It's probably ok as there's not that many of them out there, they sold in numbers like luxobarge did. If the 5 series, e class and a6 are allowed in they will dominate the thread as there are just so many of them out there for sale, outnumber the GS 10 to 1 I'd say.

Thread is full of GS. I asked a while ago why they qualify and someone said they are equivalent to a high end 5 series type car and don't have a 2 litre diesel under the bonnet.
    It's probably ok as there's not that many of them out there, they sold in numbers like luxobarge did. If the 5 series, e class and a6 are allowed in they will dominate the thread as there are just so many of them out there for sale, outnumber the GS 10 to 1 I'd say.

A petrol V6 and a higher standard spec (you can get a 5/a6 with cloth interior and not much else) puts them in a grey area. I personally don't mind them being here as its only occasional but sure each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I don't think a GS/e/a6/5 series is a barge, a segment d exec saloon yes, but not a barge.

That said, having turf burning e220d's and 520d's posted in here is not the way to go, however if somebody found a savage deal on an rs6, e550/e63 amg / 550i/M5 etc…. (segment D but with insane spec or massive engine) - it would be welcome here, while not in the normal remit of a barge.

we can be a little bit flexible here.

Segment E no? I think D is 3-series, IS, C-class territory.

you are correct, my bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭homer90

NGM5ODAyYTJjODNjY2YzMGMwNGNhNmIxZGFkMzBlOGGnHSbhvd0vFIIjMH6BCdB5aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185MjIzMDkzM3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Just to diffuse the tension :D

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-430-only-80k-on-car-like-new/17671758
    short test, on the upside ---->> €1,950

Luxurious barge it is.

Serious value imo. Short test however, if you could negotiate a test into the deal,

Take my money.

MjU5OGU1MmQxMThlYzRjNzc5NDA2YmMzZTAwMmEzYzFStxkzopjURKYm0fomkqvIaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185MjI3MjIyMnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

€4950

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-xf-premium-luxury-model-2008/17678117

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

That is the sexiest car posted in this thread in a long time stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,627 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

homer90 wrote: »
    Luxurious barge it is.

Serious value imo. Short test however, if you could negotiate a test into the deal,

Take my money.

MjU5OGU1MmQxMThlYzRjNzc5NDA2YmMzZTAwMmEzYzFStxkzopjURKYm0fomkqvIaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185MjI3MjIyMnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

€4950

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-xf-premium-luxury-model-2008/17678117

er not to be a dick :pac: but isnt that just the same as posting GS's, 5 series or A6s, its even the diesel version :(

NjBjNzgxMmZhN2MxNzdjOGRhZWI0N2E0NWZjYjBlNWUTu0FH4Ru_ewB1YP1Ebk1EaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185MjIxNjQ3NHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Service history would need a good going over. A rare sight on there roads, love it for that reason alone !!

€5250.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-phaeton-executive-3-0-tdi-2006/17639759?campaign=3d

[HTML][/HTML]
    Cyrus wrote: »
    er not to be a dick :pac: but isnt that just the same as posting GS's, 5 series or A6s, its even the diesel version :(

Here we go again......:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

[HTML][/HTML]

Here we go again......:mad:

I think that E-Class, a6 and 5-er are just too common. Otherwise they would be fine here as well. A stunning XF, a 550i or A6 V8 would be fine as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

NjBjNzgxMmZhN2MxNzdjOGRhZWI0N2E0NWZjYjBlNWUTu0FH4Ru_ewB1YP1Ebk1EaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185MjIxNjQ3NHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Service history would need a good going over. A rare sight on there roads, love it for that reason alone !!

€5250.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-phaeton-executive-3-0-tdi-2006/17639759?campaign=3d

Pretty sure I saw that bombing up the N7 the other night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Luxurious barge it is.

Take my money.

€4950

Lovely motor,even nicer pile of stones behind it though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

€5250.

I'm waiting on the "sure that's just a big pissat" ..