Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Breaking: At least 1 man dead after stabbing rampage in Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

The Gardai can ask you, me or anyone else our name and address, and if you refuse, or they believe you are lying they have the right to detain you until they can confirm who you are. I hope the Garda that let this lad go the other day is hounded with their conscious.

That is absolute nonsense. A Garda can ask anyone their name or address but they don't have to answer. To arrest someone a Garda must demand their name and address under a section of law. And to my knowledge there is no section of law that allows a Garda to demand a name from someone because he looks or sounds foreign. I'm open to correction on that of course.

If he does exist, I'd say he is hounded by his conscience, even though he likely did nothing wrong, because it's likely he has empathy for victims and isn't just interested in using them to further his ideology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,605 ✭✭✭tigger123

That is absolute nonsense. A Garda can ask anyone their name or address but they don't have to answer. To arrest someone a Garda must demand their name and address under a section of law. And to my knowledge there is no section of law that allows a Garda to demand a name from someone because he looks or sounds foreign. I'm open to correction on that of course.

If he does exist, I'd say he is hounded by his conscience, even though he likely did nothing wrong, because it's likely he has empathy for victims and isn't just interested in using them to further his ideology.

Isn't there part of the Immigration Act that allows a Garda asked for ID if he/she believes the person they are speaking to is a foreign national?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭kaymin

To those stating migrants are no more criminal than Westerners:

'the report found a clear distinction between migrant groups, with no noticeable criminal statistic spike among young migrants from Syria, Afghanistan and Iraq. The big problem are youths and young men from Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia who, in 2016, comprised just 0.9 per cent of the population of Lower Saxony but 17.1 per cent of criminal suspects.'

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/more-germans-arm-themselves-amid-fears-around-refugees-1.3344232?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Arent a lot of our HSE staff immigrants?

They are educated,qualified and skilled members of a multidisciplinary team who you or anyone belonging to you would be damn glad to meet if you were sick and in need of help.
    It's the useless good for nothing lie around bums that we don't need.we have enough home grown bums with their hands out for "entitlements" without importing more of them.
    Maybe a proper vetting system would weed the useful,willing to work individuals from the bums.
    Truth be told this won't happen and this country is only going to get worse. The honest hardworking man gets screwed everyday while the frauds and bums thrive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Re multiculturalism being unquestionably a positive
    Watch from 02:29

Icepick wrote: »
    Everybody responsible for this should be fired. If not arresting people in breach of law is department policy, the minister should resign. If the garda acted contrary to normal policy, they should be fired and face charges.
    Advising criminals to go and waste more public resources must be stopped too.

Garda powers were stripped by the courts a good while back. Local Garda immigration offices were downsized during the cutbacks. Regular Gardaí have no access to immigration records. These are issues that have been going on for a decade. Even if the Garda had found a way to arrest him and bring him to court the next day he would just have been released on bail by the court in the next day or so, probably in Dublin.

I don't think you'll find anyone claiming our immigration and asylum system needs reform. But demanding token criminal charges and dismissals will get you nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Haven't you a goat you should be raping right about now?

quoting just for posterity.

EDIT: and here's the thing. I don't like religion and I particularly don't like islam. However whenever these discussions start this is what is always lurking beneath the surface. You'll often proclaim in threads like this we're not racist and you can't be racist against a religion and we're just having a discussion but every once in a while the veil slips.

Misinterpret me for posterity more like;

An obvious troll condones the murder of an innocent man and so I responded with an equally distasteful barb that was neither racist or islamaphobic but merely as crass as the post I was replying to.

That you feign offence on the behalf of the supposed defender of a murderer is utterly disgusting, you should be ashamed of yourself.

tigger123 wrote: »
    Isn't there part of the Immigration Act that allows a Garda asked for ID if he/she believes the person they are speaking to is a foreign national?

There was. It was struck down by the courts as unconstitutional. To my knowledge it hasn't been replaced by anything as useful.

Misquote me for posterity more like;

An obvious troll condones the murder of an innocent man and so I responded with an equally distasteful barb that was neither racist or islamaphobic but merely as crass as the post I was replying to.

That you feign offence on the behalf of the supposed defender of a murderer is utterly disgusting, you should be ashamed of yourself

Misquote you? The post is still there. His quote seems accurate.

Misinterpret is the more accurate term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,160 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Wibbs wrote:
    That's a hope, not a reality.

I think it's fair to say a large part of the evolution of the human race was because of a willingness to focus more on the hope than the reality.
    Wibbs wrote:
    And what if they don't? What then? Again, you are hoping. And time and time again we have living proof that multiculturalism, where a non native culture reaches a certain population percentage is at best a powder keg, at worst an abject failure and in the case of colonies a disaster for the native cultures. It's actually little to do with Islam, or "race", it happens were there is a culture clash.

Is that because of those that come or because of the welcome they receive?

I'm not suggesting the native culture should change to accommodate the arriving one but telling them continually how little you trust them and making it difficult for them to assimilate is a big part of that problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

That you feign offence on the behalf of the supposed defender of a murderer is utterly disgusting, you should be ashamed of yourself.

This is exactly what I mean. You wrote the slur and now you try and make me out to be the bad guy. Like I said, the veil slips from time to time.

The slur was in reference to a troll who condoned the murder of an innocent man.

That you wish to misconstrue my crass comment so as to label it, and by extension me, as racist is pathetic.

Anyone who so openly and gleefully supports the Butchery of an innocent man is nothing more than a troglodyte, and I defend my right to respond to them in as crass a manner as is warranted.

You wish to see racism where there is none, that is a reflection upon you not me.

IRA attacks are starting in Dublin as well. Place is falling apart. https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2018/0102/930590-tallaght-robbery/

Nowhere in this article does it reference the IRA?

What relevance does this botched armed robbery have with the topic at hand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Without focusing on this particular case, it's pretty interesting that if 9/11 happened today, certain people would be sitting here saying "But sure, a seaplane crashed a few days and people died in it. How is this any different?"

They’d be using the German wings flight as their arguing point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

kaymin wrote: »
    To those stating migrants are no more criminal than Westerners:

'the report found a clear distinction between migrant groups, with no noticeable criminal statistic spike among young migrants from Syria, Afghanistan and Iraq. The big problem are youths and young men from Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia who, in 2016, comprised just 0.9 per cent of the population of Lower Saxony but 17.1 per cent of criminal suspects.'

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/more-germans-arm-themselves-amid-fears-around-refugees-1.3344232?mode=amp

BBC are also reporting on this
    But from https://sputniknews.com/europe/201801031060492589-increased-crime-in-germany-migrant-surge/
    The researchers argued that the tendency may be partly explained by the fact that violent crimes committed by asylum seekers were twice as likely to be reported to law-enforcement services in contrast to those committed by German nationals.

Ah! so it's racist Germans that are to blame ... Thank God!

Jesus H ****ing Christ on a stick, I cannot believe the guilt these people have, it seems the nazis are still indeed destroying Germany.

Nowhere in this article does it reference the IRA?

What relevance does this botched armed robbery have with the topic at hand?

https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/drinkers-tackle-gunman-and-call-time-on-armed-raid-at-pub-36451312.html

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You can make up things and sensationalize things all you want.

From what we know from the Gardai reports. The guy was stopped by the Gardai on New Years Day, they somehow ascertained that he was here illegally, they sent him on his way and told him to go to Dublin to claim asylum. That Garda now has blood on their hands.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Stop posting links to articles that have no bearing on this incident. There is another thread on that discussion

Sorry, just mentioning another terrorist attack in the capital. Thought it was relevant. Won't do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Yosuki Sasaki (24) stabbed in the back while walking innocently with his headphones on.
    The first victim of Islamic extremism in Ireland.

nintchdbpict000376008444-e1515055659273.jpg?strip=all&w=960&quality=100

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,605 ✭✭✭tigger123

You can make up things and sensationalize things all you want.

From what we know from the Gardai reports. The guy was stopped by the Gardai on New Years Day, they somehow ascertained that he was here illegally, they sent him on his way and told him to go to Dublin to claim asylum. That Garda now has blood on their hands.

Unless there was anything to indicate that the guy was a danger to himself or others the Garda did nothing wrong. What do you think he should have done instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I think it's fair to say a large part of the evolution of the human race was because of a willingness to focus more on the hope than the reality.

True, and it's nice. I like having great ideologies myself.
    But on a more pragmatic level, evolution of the human race to me looks a bit more like a game of Agar.io than the ideal we might aspire to, where a cultural entity merrily shares a geographical space with another with no conflict or cultural assimilation.

I like our particular cultural bubble at this moment in time in the West. Bigger issues can be democratically dealt with, religions and other personal preferences are tolerated when they do not impact others dramatically, and we all thrive on more specific cultural traits that we share, or choose to share, or not.

These are good circumstances for my children to grow in, and I think in this situation where they are threatened, it's more important to defend our values than cherishing an ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Poland and Hungary are not divided countries at all. They've gone the best route in securing their borders and not allowing non-european migrants to get a foothold in their countries, they've gone about it the right way .

All the while sending millions of their citizens to other countries to work and then moaning like f*ck when their political counterparts in Western Europe deride this mass immigration as being a detriment to wages and community cohesion. Total and utter hypocrites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Everybody responsible for this should be fired. If not arresting people in breach of law is department policy, the minister should resign. If the garda acted contrary to normal policy, they should be fired and face charges.

Rotherham happened in part because of the public sector and the police's inability to enforce the law.

You don't need to go Alt Right or anything like that for a start. Just enforce the law; actually bothering to prosecute people (the same problem exists in this country with Travellers) and deport those people who break the law would be a start.

I mean, thats tough because of community intimidation, gang problems, the personality of people and self selection of people who join the public sector in the first place, but its a start like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Hey whats going on i just got here : )

Turns out the cops knew Internal Affairs were setting them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,160 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

These are good circumstances for my children to grow in, and I think in this situation where they are threatened, it's more important to defend our values than cherishing an ideal.

You must acknowledge that the wheel is always turning.

10, 30, 50 years ago Irish needed to travel to find work to survive
    100 yrs ago we were in the midst of independence and civil war
    160 yrs ago we were dealing with the famine.

Hopefully not but it's not unrealistic that your children or grandchildren will be looking outside of Ireland at some point for a welcoming face.

I'm not suggesting we forego our culture or democratic practices but that we offer compassion to others in their time of need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

You must acknowledge that the wheel is always turning.

10, 30, 50 years ago Irish needed to travel to find work to survive
    100 yrs ago we were in the midst of independence and civil war
    160 yrs ago we were dealing with the famine.

Hopefully not but it's not unrealistic that your children or grandchildren will be looking outside of Ireland at some point for a welcoming face.

I'm not suggesting we forego our culture or democratic practices but that we offer compassion to others in their time of need.

Thing is though, if you live in another country, you are a guest. You should be one hundred percent thankful that they let you in in the first place; you should respect their culture and their heritage and you should do nothing to interfere with that. And if they want you out, you should respect that as well.

It's about respect and if you're not willing to do that in a native country, then you should fùck off.

I don't see Irish lads going on stabbing rampages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,586 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Are you for real? Do you not know the situation?

That situation is quite common in Ireland. There are no stops at the border because there are no checkpoints. Our Govt is looking for this to continue i.e. Brexit talks. No hard border. You can cross as often as you like with no stops in either direction.
    There are foreign people coming to a place where i work all the time looking for information re jobs, courses etc. Many of them have no papers. They are coming from England through Belfast and Larne. Quite common.
    Dundalk has very high numbers of foreign people living in it, passing through etc.

tigger123 wrote: »
    Unless there was anything to indicate that the guy was a danger to himself or others the Garda did nothing wrong. What do you think he should have done instead?

So if I break the law, but i'm not a danger to myself or others, the Gardai should send me on my merry way. He should have been detained. He was here ILLEGALLY. The Garda knew this, pointed him in the direction of Dublin and washed his/her hands of him.