Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Breaking: At least 1 man dead after stabbing rampage in Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The Gardai can ask you, me or anyone else our name and address, and if you refuse, or they believe you are lying they have the right to detain you until they can confirm who you are. I hope the Garda that let this lad go the other day is hounded with their conscious.

You don't know anything about happened the other day. Perhaps he was able to produce his passport but no other documentation. Unlikely they would wave someone on their way who could not prove who say they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Maybe he was mentally ill? You could be right.

Maybe he just had a really bad day and it all got on top of him? Sounds plausible.

Maybe it was Islamic terrorism? What!!! No speculating, Get out of here you scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

I know what it's called, I'm merely stating that I don't morally or politically agree with it and I tend to vote accordingly. So do many others. Your post assumed that the majority view was that one nation imposing its will on another nation was a good thing, I am merely countering that this is far from clear and I suspect probably just downright untrue.

The Repeal campaign would like a word...

This is the part I absolutely disagree with. All human beings are inherently exactly important as all other human beings. If our best interests clash with the best interests of another country, who are you or I to suggest that ours take priority? That's the kind of view which in my view is central to conservative thinking and is the primary reason why I am and always have been a leftist. I don't believe in the primacy of one race, nation, or even human being over any other human being.

Take Iran for instance. What happened in the 1950s greatly benefitted America but greatly harmed the Iranian people. By your standards, that makes it ok, I guess since you consider America an ally and Iran not. By my standards, it was the epitome of evil - f*cking someone else over because "my life is more important than theirs".

And replaced it with what, exactly? Specifically what would you like to replace it with? The Irish model, where we put the profits of a few well connected people ahead of people being able to afford somewhere to live? The American model, where you don't get healthcare unless you're well off? No country is perfect.

Speak for yourself. I'd hazard a guess that atheism will fairly soon become the dominant religion in the West.

Being thankful to Western Democracy doesn't mean supporting or approving literally pillaging other people to get what we want cheaper and more conveniently. That's called elitism or supremacism - "my wellbeing matters more than yours, because I say so". That ideology is at the heart of Western imperialism in the middle east and for most of the 20th century Western powers didn't even pretend otherwise - "we need oil for our quality of life and if you won't give it to us cheaply we'll take it by force".

F*ck that. That's not something I would ever, ever vote for even if not voting for it left me destitute.

You do realise that it's perfectly possible to condemn any and all forms of terrorism while also condemning our own western governments for their childish and selfish antics that created the perfect conditions for it to blossom, right? The two are not mutually exclusive.

Atheism is a religion now? I thought most atheists virulently reject that concept.
    This is interesting.
    Who is your leader? Where do you worship ? What do you worship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

It was a section of Irish people against them. Seems to be a lot of the same subsection that want open borders and the state to provide housing for everyone, but don't want to pay for anything.

the same people are the ones (and rightly so) looking for equality for all genders, homosexuals etc, diversy and tolerant society but then want open borders to bring in 1000s of people who are completely opposed to any form of equality and tolerance what so ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

the same people are the ones (and rightly so) looking for equality for all genders, homosexuals etc, diversy and tolerant society but then want open borders to bring in 1000s of people who are completely opposed to any form of equality and tolerance what so ever.

It’s as if they imagine that once muslims are removed from the Muslim country, they will automatically drop all their homophobia, misogyny etc and embrace the western lifestyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

racist profiling and identity cards aren't needed. if one has nothing to hide they would have lots to fear with your ideas. i am against terrorism but i'm not giving up any freedoms in exchange for my protection.

ive no issue going to the likes of US, russia, middle east, india, far east etc and producing my ID to officials multiple times,having the correct visas/documentation in place if it ensures my safety.

why should be any different for people coming here?

last time i was in india, my passport was checked 14 times before i flew home....but because im a pasty white irish man, its grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Anyway, you're correct, the left does seem to fetishize Islam and completely ignores the problems that importing people from muslim majority countries brings with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Mtx

So tolerant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Mtx

Is this Ireland's first Islamic terrorist attack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Mtx wrote: »

yes , if it is one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

511 wrote: »
    The only way to prevent these attacks is offshore detention centers and banning immigration from Muslim countries. Asylum seekers simply shouldn't be allowed to roam freely around Europe because you can't vet them when they show up with no documents.

In the next EU elections, Europe need to throw out the Eurofederalists/Europhiles and replace them with nationalists. Put an end to free movement of workers and multiculturalism.

Another thing, is for Western/ Northern Europe to pay trouble-making Muslims to return to their ancestral homeland. Jsut try an remove as many Muslims as legally possible because they're just not worth the hassle. Europe doesn't need Muslims immigrants, they offer nothing of value or other types of immigrants but bring plenty of issues.

The great tragedy here is the senseless taking of a young man's life.

The secondary tragedy is found in reviewing the immediate surge of vitriolic bile it has evoked. Have we forgotten our past? Have we forgotten the time when the Irishman was portrayed as a lecherous drunken ape by British magazines? Have we forgotten the hatred, stigma and abuse that our own flesh and blood endured when they stepped off boats? Even more recently, have we forgotten how deeply steeped in religious dogma our own society was within living memory?

Indeed, we should not be expected to bear responsibility for the mistakes of the past anymore so than I expect Germans today to bear responsibility for the Second World War. But at the very least, people need to understand that we can think carefully about the security of our society and how to safeguard it, without generalising Muslims in the same way we were once generalised by those who saw us as dirty troublemakers.

Hatred, ignorance, generalisation and paranoia have perpetually gotten us into a right mess as a species. They don't tend to get us back out. The people who massacred innocent men at Kingsmill, who bombed pensioners in Enniskillen, who savaged innocent shoppers in Omagh -- these were not Muslims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The great tragedy here is the senseless taking of a young man's life.

The secondary tragedy is found in reviewing the immediate surge of vitriolic bile it has evoked. Have we forgotten our past? Have we forgotten the time when the Irishman was portrayed as a lecherous drunken ape by British magazines? Have we forgotten the hatred, stigma and abuse that our own flesh and blood endured when they stepped off boats? Even more recently, have we forgotten how deeply steeped in religious dogma our own society was within living memory?

Indeed, we should not be expected to bear responsibility for the mistakes of the past anymore so than I expect Germans today to bear responsibility for the Second World War. But at the very least, people need to understand that we can think carefully about the security of our society and how to safeguard it, without generalising Muslims in the same way we were once generalised by those who saw us as dirty troublemakers.

Hatred, ignorance, generalisation and paranoia have perpetually gotten us into a right mess as a species. They don't tend to get us back out. The people who massacred innocent men at Kingsmill, who bombed pensioners in Enniskillen, who savaged innocent shoppers in Omagh -- these were not Muslims.

Ah Irish guilt? How long should we hold onto that for??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

Mtx wrote: »

Alot of Irish people have already died in Islamic Terror attacks outside Ireland previously most recently in Tunisia.

In fairness, you quoted my comment and in that very quote I said "we should not be expected to bear responsibility for the mistakes of the past anymore so than I expect Germans today to bear responsibility for the Second World War."

This is not a question of guilt. It is a question of asking ourselves where hatred and generalisation has ever gotten us. A quick glance at our own history, including recent history, have shown that baseless alienation of people has brought nothing to this country but grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,160 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Not at all. Convert it to empathy and use a little bit if that every now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭shaunr68

Anyway, you're correct, the left does seem to fetishize Islam and completely ignores the problems that importing people from muslim majority countries brings with it.
    Certain sections of the left yes. The idea that you must be open, welcoming and tolerant of the movement into your country of large numbers of members of what is essentially a fascist cult.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regressive_left

However one can be on the left politically and economically and yet be opposed to such hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

vetinari wrote: »
    Jaysus, there's some serious amount of "sky is falling" euro skeptics on this thread.
    Cancelling free movement throughout Europe would be far more of a pain in the ass than any nominal security benefits it accrues.
    There are some risks to living in a free and open society. I'm surprised some of the posters here are able to leave their house with the level of fear that they possess.

RIP to the poor fellow that died.

I know right. As I said earlier some on here are only wetting themselves with excitement. Finally. After years of being forced to live off events in those dark multicultural elsewheres, while patiently longing for an event of their own to frame as 'Islamic Terrorism', tonight they are only delighted about it. It gives them great opportunity to spread far right racist myths and memes. They're having boners all over. "Finally; been saying it for years; jihad in Ireland"

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,284 ✭✭✭kirving

It took approx 45 minutes for the Gards to arrest the guy. I know I'm not comparing like with like, but the Police in London killed the three attackers within 8 minutes.

Why was this guy not stopped sooner? The Gards need serious investment to cope with increasing threats such as this.

I know right. As I said earlier some on here are only wetting themselves with excitement. Finally. After years of being forced to live off events in those dark multicultural elsewheres, while patiently longing for an event of their own to frame as 'Islamic Terrorism', tonight they are only delighted about it. It gives them great opportunity to spread far right racist myths and memes. They're having boners all over. "Finally; been saying it for years; jihad in Ireland"

You do realize what Islam thinks of and does to Gay people right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,582 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It took approx 45 minutes for the Cards to arrest the guy. I know I'm not comparing like with like, but the Police in London killed the three attackers within 8 minutes.

Why was this guy not stopped sooner? The Gards need serious investment to cope with increasing threats such as this.
    They got him very quickly particularly since he had left the area and nobody knew which direction he went in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭elefant

The Gardai can ask you, me or anyone else our name and address, and if you refuse, or they believe you are lying they have the right to detain you until they can confirm who you are. I hope the Garda that let this lad go the other day is hounded with their conscious.

Wtf?

Why would anyone wish a Garda to be 'hounded with(sic) their conscious(sic)' over this? Not enough suffering caused yet?

Let's leave the EU, wish ruination of the life of a regular member of our police force and spread wild hysteria about the country falling to pieces over one piece of **** going off the rails in Dundalk. Suitably measured response.

Doltanian wrote: »
    You do realize what Islam thinks of and does to Gay people right?

"If a man lies with a male as with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination; they shall surely be put to death; their blood is upon them."

My knowledge of the Qur'an is limited but the above can certainly be found in the Bible -- the holy text of the vast majority of religious people in Ireland (a country where homosexuality was decriminalised three years after I was born).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

OMG! Shock horror! The people that have been stressing their concerns about immigration and the possible outcomes are here, in this thread about an immigrant randomly murdering someone and injuring others.
    Did you expect them to just scroll on by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,879 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

OMG! Shock horror! The people that have been stressing their concerns about immigration and the possible outcomes are here, in this thread about an immigrant randomly murdering someone and injuring others.
    Did you expect them to just scroll on by?

They're in every fecking thread. I haven't done an analysis but there are probably more threads in AH about Islam than any other single subject. Second place would be abortion.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"If a man lies with a male as with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination; they shall surely be put to death; their blood is upon them."

My knowledge of the Qur'an is limited but the above can certainly be found in the Bible -- the holy text of the vast majority of religious people in Ireland (a country where homosexuality was decriminalised three years after I was born).
    which is true, but we have changed and in a big way. The pendulum has swung away from all that cassock'd fire and brimstone sex is evil guff. Put it another way, would you like to be living in 1950's Ireland, or would you like to import a group of people who would find 1950's Ireland more to their liking? I doubt it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

The bible cautions against Homosexuality and certainly does not approve of it but there is nothing urging followers to to go out kill Gay people unlike the Koran.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Noel82

Ding Ding Ding, this is the true moral dilemma facing so many in their quest for absolute social justice. Marching behind Women rights hero's like Linda Sarsour while simultaneously trying on hijabs and pussyhats. There should be a mental term to name it, for now I'll call it modern liberalism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Noel82

Try 20 minutes across the pond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,879 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Doltanian wrote: »
    The bible cautions against Homosexuality and certainly does not approve of it but there is nothing urging followers to to go out kill Gay people unlike the Koran.

Did you read his quote from the bible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Disagree - I think you yourself have to be very cynical to think that people actually want to see incidents like today's to score points.

Maybe those posters are just passionate about not wanting Ireland to go the way of other jurisdictions in Europe. Whatever their motivations, these concerns and fears are well founded. Here's an excerpt from a BBC article today: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-42557828

It also said that migrants with little hope of being giving asylum in Germany were much more likely to commit violent crime than those from war zones like Syria whose asylum was guaranteed.

"Anyone who as a war refugee regards their chances of staying in Germany as good, will endeavour not to jeopardise those prospects by criminal offences," the authors of the study said, quoted by Die Welt newspaper.