Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lahvlahn: the Great Panjandrum Panto Edition - 22/12 two-seventeen so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    As well as boring the holes off us, he'll be dining out on it for years.

He's so deluded he's probably expecting an invite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,380 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Who's yer wan in the photo? I had to look up who Barry Egan was

Possibly Camille O'Sullivan. Not sure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,758 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Possibly Camille O'Sullivan. Not sure though.
    She was my second guess! (honestly!!)

for reasons best known to himself Joe is fond of the pose he's adopting here. I've seen hm do it more than once, perhaps it's his Blue Steel?

SN%20DC%20026PARTY.jpg

What is the collective noun for a gathering of such useless, deluded arseh*les?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,252 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

for reasons best known to himself Joe is fond of the pose he's adopting here. I've seen hm do it more than once, perhaps it's his Blue Steel?

SN%20DC%20026PARTY.jpg

In the name of jaysus what is Duffy doing ? Is he sitting on the toilet ? Jaysus twink and joe Duffy in the one picture ? That's too much so to speak.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    In the name of jaysus what is Duffy doing ? Is he sitting on the toilet ? Jaysus twink and joe Duffy AND BARRY EGAN in the one picture ? That's too much so to speak.

FYP. All we're missing is "celebrity" solicitor (and Lahv Lahn Soccer Correspondent) Gerald Kean.........and Rory Cowan.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,252 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

In the name of jaysus what is Duffy doing ? Is he sitting on the toilet ? Jaysus twink and joe Duffy AND BARRY EGAN in the one picture ? That's too much so to speak.

FYP. All we're missing is "celebrity" solicitor (and Lahv Lahn Soccer Correspondent) Gerald Kean.........and Rory Cowan.....
    Ah yeah Rory cowen who came across like a really dislikeable person that one time I heard him. I have to say the celebrity quality in Ireland is fairly poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

SN%20DC%20026PARTY.jpg

Ok I'm beginning to side with the conspiracy theorist's....the first picture had Joe doing the pointy finger thing for no obvious reason and now Marty is doing the same thing in this photograph with the pointy finger for no good reason either.

Beam me up Scotty.......quick !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,538 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Just watching a show on BBC2 about Alan Partridge.

Alan had a lot in common with liveline.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Wtf. Did our wunderful, fantastic, magnificient phone operator bring a wardrobe change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

SN%20DC%20026PARTY.jpg

Sudas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

citykat wrote: »
    Wtf. Did our wunderful, fantastic, magnificient phone operator bring a wardrobe change?
    Looks like the same gear, just the lighting has changed.

Jeff2 wrote: »
    Just watching a show on BBC2 about Alan Partridge.

Alan had a lot in common with liveline.:)

In a radio interview whilst promoting his autobiography a number of years ago Steve Coogan revealed that the inspiration for the Alan Partridge character was none other than............Pat Kenny. Coogan is of Irish descent (Irish parents, raised Irish Catholic in the Yew Kay) and used to spend his summers in the West of Ireland (Mayo from memory, though it may have been in another part) - he credits this partly with his ability to do accents, and Irish accents in particular. There wasn't much by way of entertainment in those days save for RTE 1 TV and Radio 1 and 2FM....hence how he was exposed to Kenny. It's obviously greatly exaggerated in the Partridge character, though there are still some similarities remaining.

I AM NOT MAKING THE ABOVE UP BTW!

Have said book, just have to get around to reading it. I suspect it may be better tan Joe's buke about himself.

I can't imagine what Alan Partridge would sound like if he had been exposed to Joe Duffy in his formative years. I'd suspect he'd decide he's just so ridiculous it couldn't possibly be lampooned further, so to speak.

Looks like the same gear, just the lighting has changed.

Wat colour is de lighting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Wat colour is de lighting?

Hard to say - in the first one I'd take a stab at something near 4K, and the second probably 3K wiv a golden filter on a bounce flash, just to pull it out of my arse, like.

4K? Dat's very dear for a light so to speak.......dat money wood be better spent on 75mins (incl. breaks) on Joe taking phone calls.

Ah yeah Rory cowen who came across like a really dislikeable person that one time I heard him. I have to say the celebrity quality in Ireland is fairly poor.

Be careful now, Rory doesn't like being criticised. He might call you a vile creature, like he called the woman who dared to ask about the finances of a charity........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

We're still being bombarded with ads for "Liveline with Joe Duffy" even though it's not back for a week and Joe's not back for a fortnight.
    This REALLY bugs me. Same with the ads for The Ray D'Arcy Show I heard during the week as well, and no sign of Ray til the new year. You tune in for the show that they are advertising and they have some stand in. What an absolute waste of money. New rule: if you're not in, then you don't get your f**king show advertised, you overpaid shower of talentless spongers.
    The level of mediocrity that is indulged and cherished in RTE is beyond belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

The majority of ads on RTE are for RTE stuff, RTE supporting the arts, or public announcement stuff. They pick a soundbite from a Joe/Marian/ Ray/ Sean/ Ryan show and play it ad infinitum .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,440 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

On a bit of an offshoot, I believe the RTE S Orchestra off on a tour of China.

Have to be paid for by the Chinese surely?

Cost a fair auld whack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,962 ✭✭✭✭zell12

They're entitled to go to China on our dime.
    In the name of culture so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,440 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

zell12 wrote: »
    They're entitled to go to China on our dime.
    In the name of culture so to speak

Eh………………right so.

De FINAL END OF DE YEAR DAT IS DE YEAR OF OUR LORD 2-17 and dat Joe Duffy Wurkday Calculator and dat so to speak totals:

Wurkdays in 2-17 and dat: 251
    Joe Shows: 196***
    No Show Joe Shows: 56 - or 11.2 weeks off!
    PBH Shows: 31
    D'Omen Shows: 14
    AN Udder Shows: 8

De Budget Show instead of Da Lahv Lahn and dat: 1
    De Funny Fryday on de Eve of Christmas and dat*: 1
    De St.
    Stephen'sessssssssssssssss Day Bestest Deaths a De Year Xtravaganza and dat**: 1
    No Shows at all because of De Chrimbo and dat: 3

Tanks to RTÉ's "commercial sensitivity" and the real fear (:rolleyes:) dat de top talent wood be poached by de BBC and NBC etc. (:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:), we will only have to wait until 2-19 to figure out "de fee per show" structure and arrangement. Dis duz be de only way to see if Noel has managed to secure a raise for de drop in listenership (as seems to be the way RTÉ wurks and dat so to speak) dat did befell de show in recent JNLRs so to speak. I have long suspected Joe took a drop in total remuneration to just below the €400K mark purely to make the optics of de farcical situation appear less offensive to the ordinary punter so to speak, but this is balanced out with an increase in breakeen's so to speak AND an increase in fees per show. So less shows for ballpark the same outrageous fees.

Notes:
    * Technically not a Wurkday as it falls on a Sunday and dat so not included in de Wurkday total but included in Joe's total even dough he's probably on 3 x de usual fees and dat and it's nuttin' but a junket for him and his mates at de taxpayer's expense so to speak.
    **pre-recorded so to speak and darefore not included in de Wurkday total and dat but again included in Joe's total so he's benefitting from creative accounting and dat.
    ***196 shows recorded on 195 days

Special tanks to Atlantic Dawn for keeping de calendar up to date on de days I was unable to do so so to speak.

E&OE. All queries shall be answered in due course so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,398 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Special tanks to Atlantic Dawn for keeping de calendar up to date on de days I was unable to do so so to speak.

Glad to have assisted in de good wurk so to speak :D

mantiphat.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Well done X 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,538 ✭✭✭Jeff2

He cut off Brenda Harte on the book show.
    I wonder if he will have had time to read it and comes back all correct.

Whoy do I think not,an dat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Is today a funny Friday so to speak?

Well done well done well done well done
    on de wurkday calendar

Following on from Dubalin "is an unadulterated kip..the city is being turned into pound shops'"
    A judge edicts that:
    “I think it’s nothing short of a disgrace. Temple Bar is a disgrace to Ireland. You go up there first thing in the morning over any weekend and you see vomit and puke. These brawls are going on constantly.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,083 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Is today a funny Friday so to speak?
    no, laughs will be thin on the ground today, so no different to Funny Friday.

The Michael Littleton Memorial Lecture