Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lahvlahn: the Great Panjandrum Panto Edition - 22/12 two-seventeen so to speak

• 22-12-2017 6:51pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,030 Mod ✭✭✭✭

OK, the last thread has reached the 10,000 limit, here's the last thread of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,706 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Whoy does it always rain on me?
    Is it because I lied when I was seventeen?
    Whoy does it always rain on me?
    Even when the sun is shinning I can't avoid the lightning, so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Never Say Never Again

Damo o Reilly is filling in for Dufffffffy the first two weeks of the new year

M

I suppose the 9am start on St Stevenzis Day Christmas Eve would take a lot out of a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Well earned break after all his hard work in 217...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

OK, the last thread has reached the 10,000 limit, here's the last thread of the year.

Joe: Hang on! Hang on! You can’t say dat! You can’t say dat! De Christmas Eve Lahv Lahn Show on De Grafton Street wit De Funny Fryday Crew will easily get 10,000 posts in and all of itself and dat an all in anyways says I so to speak such will be the festive fun and frollicks dat will be had by one and all and all delivered free pro gratt-tiss by de wunderful, fantastic Funny Fryday Crew and dat compliments of RTE so to speak. Where else in de wurldid would yous get de cream de la cream of top notch comedy talent dat will be dare on de day and dat? Easily 10,000.....oh wait, 10,000 is me fees for de day seen as I’m doing de Sunday and dat. Praise be to Allah!

Start as you mean to go on I suppose. He’ll start de 2-18 Wurkday Calendar with a 10 day deficit.

It’s beyond a joke. He had 50+ days off in 2-17 and de year isn’t finished yet!

Source?

I suppose the 9am start on St Stevenzis Day would take a lot out of a person.

He’ll be up earlier dan dat! Don’t forget he (ironically!) goes to de Wurkers Mass too ;)

M

Tonights seem of Liveline Callback gold is about de death of Bridget Crosbie who lay dead in her home for over 2 months, she was in de Palmarian Church.

https://www.independent.ie/life/religious-cult-took-our-sister-from-us-says-family-of-bridget-crosbie-34237646.html

The rules of de Palmarian Church...
    10. Visiting beaches is banned.
    11. All voting banned. e.g. Local and general elections, referendums etc.
    14. Denim cloth is banned, therefore wearing jeans is banned.
    15. Listening to popular / modern music is banned.
    26. Children must be told Christmas presents are from parents and not Santa Claus as he doesn’t exist
    30. Nobody allowed in the home if not dressed to Palmarian dress code except workmen.
    31. In work, contact with non-palmarian co-workers must be kept to a minimum, i.e. only talk to when necessary to carry out the job and no social chat.
    36. Birthday candles on birthday cakes are banned.
    38. Throwing coins in a fountain/well/water is banned.
    42. The neckline of a shirt or blouse etc must when worn be at least 2 fingers width above the breast bone.
    45. Giving or opening presents on Christmas day (25th December) is banned.
    46. Christmas presents must be given and opened on the feast of the Epiphany
    43. Christmas trees are banned.

http://homepage.eircom.net/~palmardetroya/rules.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Tonights seem of Liveline Callback gold is about de death of Bridget Crosbie who lay dead in her home for over 2 months, she was in de Palmarian Church.

https://www.independent.ie/life/religious-cult-took-our-sister-from-us-says-family-of-bridget-crosbie-34237646.html

What happened next? Which is the whole premise of the show supposedly coz people are always stopping Joe and asking him.i guess in this case like any of the Ines I watched nothing happened next,it's just a rehash of another misery tale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Never Say Never Again

Source?

The RTE GUIDE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

After the highs and lows of the year show today.

My vote was D for Áine Dude and her lovely homeless lady who no one else could talk about because we didn't know her. (Please read the last part of that sentence shouting). I would say surprisingly enough it was not a Joe show but than again the odds of it not been a Joe show aren't that long.

Also vote Hew for you calm down and I will calm down as Joe said to perfectly clam caller.*

* I think that was this year, wasn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

He’ll be up earlier dan dat! Don’t forget he (ironically!) goes to de Wurkers Mass too ;)

We should have a bet as to how quickly and how often he mentions that. He never fails to emphasis it, though there's nothing like cosying up to your largest listening demographic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

I suppose the 9am start on St Stevenzis Day would take a lot out of a person.

Gerrowada wit yer Oul guff!

De Stephenseses day show is recorded, so to speak. Fateen will be sleeping off the Port and Stilton until midday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Liveline Calls Back, featuring garden burials, street sign vandals and John O'Donovan.

Dave McSavage couldn't do Parody like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Any chance of a livelier thread title moriya? It just doesn't do justice to the wunderful, magnificient show and dat so to speak. Text 1 for yes and a for no.

Does Duffy use “so to speak” on the telly, so to speak? Dis is unbeknownst to me.

M

De Stephenseses day show is recorded, so to speak. Fateen will be sleeping off the Port and Stilton until midday.

I meant Christmas Eve, I'm been on the porter since the afternoon so speak :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭Jeff2

No wonder he wasn't having death on the show today knowing he would get his death fix tonight on the callback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Does Duffy use “so to speak” on the telly, so to speak? Dis is unbeknownst to me.
    I don't know. I only ever watched the first 10minutes o the first show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭Jeff2

After the highs and lows of the year show today.

My vote was D for Áine Dude and her lovely homeless lady who no one else could talk about because we didn't know her. (Please read the last part of that sentence shouting). I would say surprisingly enough it was not a Joe show but than again the odds of it not been a Joe show aren't that long.

Also vote Hew for you calm down and I will calm down as Joe said to perfectly clam caller.*

* I think that was this year, wasn't it.

It was this year and was "I'll calm down if you calm down,back after these".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

As a nation we have to ask ourselves some serious questions about how this travesty can be allowed to continue...

I mean I remember listening to MF in my Granny's house back in the day and that put the hook in me, I listened since but this clown is making fun of us all. Seriously. He reads twitter, yawns, presses the cough button amateurishly to cover himself laughing at his own callers, and basically indulges his own every whim. Lets not mention his millions and how he deals with his own fam.... Thats a bully? I just realised he is the Nations Bully in Chief.

Now, check yourself if you’ve had a drop to many, djya hear me? Don’t forget to stand in front of de statue of St Joseph de Wurker in de morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

The silicon chip inside his head
    Gets switched to overload
    And nobody's gonna be heard today
    he's going to shout at them down the phone
    And fateen doesn't understand it
    He always said he was as good as sold
    And he can see no reason
    'Cause there are no reasons
    What reason do you need to be a cute hoor

Oh, oh, oh tell me whoy
    I don't like Mondays

Tell me whoy
    I don't like Mondays

Tell me whoy
    I don't like Mondays
    I want to pollute
    The whole show down x2

The internet machine is kept so clean
    As it types to a waiting world
    And mannix flynns so shocked
    Father's darcys world is rocked
    And joes thoughts turn to his gig
    Sweet 600k ain't that peachy keen
    Now, it ain't so neat to give a receipt
    He can see no reasons
    What reason do you need oh, woah

the playing's stopped in The Rte now
    Dee wants to play with her toys a while
    And joes out early and soon we'll be learning
    And the lesson today is how to die
    And then the bully crackles
    And the fateen tackles
    With the problems and the how's and why's
    And he can see no reasons
    What reason do you need to die, die

Well done, so to speak.

Have you thought of auditioning for de Funny Froyday.

De Stephenseses day show is recorded, so to speak. Fateen will be sleeping off the Port and Stilton until midday January.

FYP

Not unless it's on the autocue, so to speak.

Wud you loike to discuss yur unwellness live on air to the nation?

M

citykat wrote: »
    Wud you loike to discuss yur unwellness live on air to the nation?

Tomorrow morning I might ;)

Without fact-checking, I’m pretty sure de now infamous “I’ll calm down if you calm down” line was from 2-16 so to speak. I say this as I’m pretty sure it featured in de short-lived “Weekly Column” feature dat I did wroted for a while and dat so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,028 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Without fact-checking, I’m pretty sure de now infamous “I’ll calm down if you calm down” line was from 2-16 so to speak. I say this as I’m pretty sure it featured in de short-lived “Weekly Column” feature dat I did wroted for a while and dat so to speak.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZwVtoqMzO4

12/10/16

(It's a quiet morning at work!)

Haha, Playback calling Joe out on Da Lahvline's Book of the Year

"and it includes a chapter written by you, Joe..... hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm"!!!

(not sure who the presenter is these days - Ms. Bosco seems to have disappeared lately - but she does a wicked line in sarcasm :D:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Member it well, the Duffbag went out of his way to take Seamus's comments personally, but he got annoyed as his coffee break was due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

OOh Seamus namechecks John Waters, Duffy just won the war of words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Haha, Playback calling Joe out on Da Lahvline's Book of the Year

"and it includes a chapter written by you, Joe..... hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm"!!!

(not sure who the presenter is these days - Ms. Bosco seems to have disappeared lately - but she does a wicked line in sarcasm :D:D)
    The presenter is very good today - she's giving them all a dig - Darcy and Geldof too. Loved the bit where she said put the Brussels sprouts in the bin after she played back the bit about the cooking segment on live line.

Oooh, missed that bit!

She's been doing Playback for a while now, but I still have no idea who she is - she's very good!

What's Playback callers? Serious question!

That can NOT be a serious question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Joesph on his way to rehersals...so to speak, interesting choice of umbrella #caliphate

"...out of the way scum, A lister approaching..."

joe-duffy-and-guest-vip-guests-arrive-at-vicar-street-for-a-performance-d785ad.jpg

The state of him
    That must be Jeeves holding the brolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,982 ✭✭✭✭zell12

dvcireland wrote: »
    Joesph on his way to rehersals...so to speak, interesting choice of umbrella #caliphate

Who's de gaffer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,982 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Oooh, missed that bit!
    She's been doing Playback for a while now, but I still have no idea who she is - she's very good!
    RTÉ lifer hosted Playback
    Sinead Mooney joined RTE in 2004 and worked on variety of programmes on RTE Radio 1 and 2FM including
    The Marian Finucane Programme,
    The Tubridy Show, and
    Drivetime.
    She currently works as a producer on Arena.
    Prior to joining RTE, Sinead worked as a freelance journalist and a development worker with GOAL.
    Sinead holds a B.A. in Communication Studies from D.C.U. and an M.A. in International Studies (first class hons) from U.L.

An MA in International Studies gets you a radio job.

zell12 wrote: »
    Oooh, missed that bit!
    Sinead Mooney joined RTE in 2004 and worked on variety of programmes on RTE Radio 1 and 2FM including
    The Marian Finucane Programme,
    The Tubridy Show, and
    Drivetime.
    She currently works as a producer on Arena.
    Prior to joining RTE, Sinead worked as a freelance journalist and a development worker with GOAL.
    Sinead holds a B.A. in Communication Studies from D.C.U. and an M.A. in International Studies (first class hons) from U.L.

I wonder has the Mooney surname anything to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

sligojoek wrote: »
    I wonder has the Mooney surname anything to do with it.
    Daughter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

After nine o clock news Saturday mornings for an hour. Plays back the most riveting, so to speak, segments from radio programmes during the week. It was funny this morning you should play back Playback so to speak for the presenters comments after each snippet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,696 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

:D haha I haven't listened to liveline or playback for ages but the playback presenter is brilliant this morning. "Or throw them all in the bin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

dvcireland wrote: »

joe-duffy-and-guest-vip-guests-arrive-at-vicar-street-for-a-performance-d785ad.jpg

His head umbrella holder looks related

what does it say about you as a person fateen that you need someone to hold an umbrella for you hmmm??

zell12 wrote: »

Or.....

13 years experience in various successful forms of radio, and a BA in Communications Studies, in addition to experience in journalism got her a radio job (at which she's very good) :)