Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster V Leinster Build up Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Granny15 wrote: »
    You sure you aren't one of those posters on the "real rugby forum" who comes from a school with a particularly male orientation?

Please don't fall to their level. They won't be replying anyway...

• Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Was it not Keatley who got turned inside out on halfway?

If so that's even more excusable. He's meant to tackle Larmour in a ton of space moving at top speed? He's going to get beaten every single time.

Yup. That last-man position is near impossible to defend, you're damned if you do, damned if you don't. He got caught on his heels, but if he tried to close the space down it'd be an even easier step for Larmour.

Found it really strange for people to be name checking him in that try. Nobody didn't anything wrong. Just they all gave Larmour too much space with that kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Larmour's try was well taken,
    However, the two players that were side stepped to open up the centre of the field were way too casual,
    And Murray made a bit of a jog back, no attempt to really sprint,
    Conway was slow to get back at first,
    All because Keatley allowed the runner go down the outside, he should have covered the outside and made the runner turn infield where Zebo would certainly have stopped him.
    Zebo had to react late as the other players fecked up so badly, fair play to him for catching up and nearly spoiling the try, fresh legs helped but clearly had the pace to cover the run.
    There was no proper grounding shown from any video angle, looked like it was given for the effort to run in from his 22 and not based on a visible grounding. People were too busy marvelling at how easy the break was to question the grounding.
    Any other day he would have been stopped by the first or second chaser, after that it was poor from Keatley to show him a free run at the outside and nobody else chased back early enough.
    Munster defence was very poor in that instance.
    But well taken by Larmour, hope he can continue to score tries from long range like this, but I'd guess he'll be watched more closely by teams and will be shut down more decisively.
    Hope he will get a run with Ireland in the 6 nations, between himself and Conway to back up Kearney, both have great gas.

He 100% grounded it, twice, showed it in the reply and Owens was there anyway so no need for TMO.

Also disagree that 1) anyone let him go on the outside, that would've been the ideal thing anyway, and 2) players weren't making an effort to keep up with him.

He's just too quick, lost no pace off that step. Frightening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Any highlights available yet. Missed good bit of first half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭Granny15

Larmour's try was well taken,
    However, the two players that were side stepped to open up the centre of the field were way too casual,
    And Murray made a bit of a jog back, no attempt to really sprint,
    Conway was slow to get back at first,
    All because Keatley allowed the runner go down the outside, he should have covered the outside and made the runner turn infield where Zebo would certainly have stopped him.
    Zebo had to react late as the other players fecked up so badly, fair play to him for catching up and nearly spoiling the try, fresh legs helped but clearly had the pace to cover the run.
    There was no proper grounding shown from any video angle, looked like it was given for the effort to run in from his 22 and not based on a visible grounding. People were too busy marvelling at how easy the break was to question the grounding.
    Any other day he would have been stopped by the first or second chaser, after that it was poor from Keatley to show him a free run at the outside and nobody else chased back early enough.
    Munster defence was very poor in that instance.
    But well taken by Larmour, hope he can continue to score tries from long range like this, but I'd guess he'll be watched more closely by teams and will be shut down more decisively.
    Hope he will get a run with Ireland in the 6 nations, between himself and Conway to back up Kearney, both have great gas.

Backup or replace Kearney? Conway is looking very dangerous and a handful and Larmour despite his inexperience has great strengths. I think it will be the showing of whether joe is an attacking coach or defensive negative coach by who he picks at full back in the 6 nations

I've watched it a number of times and could not see a proper grounding, either his hand was under it or Zebo was under it, and after that it looked like he spilled it onto the ground.
    Allowing someone pass you is relevant if you make a balls of covering space, has nothing to do with pace, if Keatley had taken one step to his right that move would have been shut down.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Any highlights available yet. Missed good bit of first half

The full game should be on TG4 Player. I don't know when we'll see Pro14 highlights with the odd scheduling and holidays.

Granny15 wrote: »
    Backup or replace Kearney? Conway is looking very dangerous and a handful and Larmour despite his inexperience has great strengths. I think it will be the showing of whether joe is an attacking coach or defensive negative coach by who he picks at full back in the 6 nations

I think Conway has the edge, he has the pace but can also chase kicks, puts in ferocious tackles, and has good positioning, and a bit of experience in the Irish camp.
    I believe Kearney is the safest fullback we have, he has the best positioning sense and is great in contact and has a good up and under and chase which suits the Irish game plan.
    Larmour is potentially a future Irish right wing if he can reproduce that level of footwork consistently.
    Not convinced he has the all round game for Ireland at fullback yet

I've watched it a number of times and could not see a proper grounding, either his hand was under it or Zebo was under it, and after that it looked like he spilled it onto the ground.
    Allowing someone pass you is relevant if you make a balls of covering space, has nothing to do with pace, if Keatley had taken one step to his right that move would have been shut down.

If Keatley tried to shepard him to the right he'd just bounce off his left peg again.

Its generally the reason why a fullback is generally accused as being a bad defender, because they end up in situations as the last man defending.

My backs coach always says: One on one, the attacker SHOULD win EVERY time.

Unless your in the 5m channel, even then the percentage is with you.

Regarding the grounding, if you watch the replay on the match you'll see when he flips over it gets caught on top of Zebo for a second, then slips down and touches the grass. That's what the supporting Leinster players are pointing at, and that's what Owens sees.

.ak wrote: »
    If Keatley tried to shepard him to the right he'd just bounce off his left peg again.

Its generally the reason why a fullback is generally accused as being a bad defender, because they end up in situations as the last man defending.

Regarding the grounding, if you watch the replay on the match you'll see when he flips over it gets caught on top of Zebo for a second, then slips down and touches the grass. That's what the supporting Leinster players are pointing at, and that's what Owens sees.

My point was if he had shepherded Larmour at all and made him side step infield there was cover there in Zebo.
    On the outside Conway was upfield after chasing up the kick so essentially there was nobody home and giving him the outside was giving him a straight line to the tryline.
    Easy to criticise in hindsight though, but the two first up tackles were very slack so I'd blame all three players equally.
    Doesn't take away from Larmour's run, exceptional side steps and acceleration into space and gas to get to the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

If Munster can't handle him in space they should not give him space. They kicked it to him and did not have a line set to deny him the space. Something went horribly wrong there for Munster. There are no unstoppable tries in this game.

It was well taken though to give an understatement.

I've watched the replay, it's dodgy the first impact with the ground, but when he was turned over Zebo held up the ball with his leg, then about one second later the ball slides down around Larmour's waist and appears out of his hands, so no clear grounding.
    I wouldn't complain about it too much though, Munster deserved to be punished there for the poor defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Obviously the referee saw a proper grounding or else he'd ask for the TMO. A complete non-issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Two years to the day from Ringrose leaving munster for dead with that outside break on the same ground. Looking forward to Tommy O Brien announcing himself there next Stephens Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭kuang1

Obviously the referee saw a proper grounding or else he'd ask for the TMO. A complete non-issue.

I didn't see a proper grounding either for what it's worth.
    But the purist in me overides any urge to complain about it.

Outstanding potential in Larmour. I know I've said it before, but I predict him to be our full back come Japan.
    (I don't expect him to make any appearance in this 6ns though.)

V well earned victory for yous bouys tonight.
    Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

In the 2nd half though my biggest problem was our back three. It was a green back three and it showed, they were directly responsible for lot of the points we leaked, Byrne was rusty fair enough, Larmour wasn't marshalling his wingers, and Lowe was just plain a liability. If he wasn't heralded as one of the best left wings in the world I'd be happy enough to never see him in blue jersey again, but I'll give him the benefit of doubt - he was awful, he wouldn't make it on to an AIL team with a performance like that. Leo did well not to involve him in the Exeter double bill because he would've cost us. Munster got wise to it and attacked down his channel all day because he didn't know how to defend; rushed in, bit in, ball watched, stood too flat, all the basic errors a winger of his calibre just shouldn't be making. His messing around at the breakdown was laughable too, seemed to think he'd get away with entering any way he wanted, going over the top, kicking at the ball. If he hadn't just completed a season and half of pro rugby you'd be forgiven for thinking he was rusty... Hope he gets an ear full and realizes he'll have to work for his spot in this team. But yeah, all over our back three were all over the shop. Caught out by kicks and couldn't find touch to save their life, really naive performance.

ak I respect you a lot as a poster and a mod but I think you're massively wide of the mark here.

Lowe got caught out badly in no mans land twice and was duly punished by Munster scoring. No doubt he will get lambasted by Leo and Stu for these shortcomings and learn from it.

But to say Lowe wouldn't make and AIL team and shouldn't play for Leinster save for his reputation is, quite frankly, ridiculous hyperbole. Even in his mixed game tonight he was still a class above at times.

But if you're putting him in the AIL bracket who are pretty lucky to make the Leinster 23, you're in the Brian Byrne/ Cathal Marsh/ Mick Kearney/ Darragh Fanning/ Peadar Timmins/ Royce Burke-Flynn mould which is completely insulting to label a highly rated super rugby winger who has only played 160 minutes for his team...

Jaysus like. I've been guilty of tearing players to pieces who I feel should do better. But I've given them more of a chance to prove themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Two years to the day from Ringrose leaving munster for dead with that outside break on the same ground. Looking forward to Tommy O Brien announcing himself there next Stephens Day

On the wing of course ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭FellasFellas

200.gif

pQ99nV.gif

Is that Furlong thinking he's about to get pinged for a shoulder charge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭NollagShona

This is some build up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

A shoulder charge? Wootton ran into his chest. How is that a shoulder charge. Looking at that gif there really is nothing at all in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

I suspect that he was just checking the defensive alignment around the maul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

No love for Murray soaring like an eagle in the lineout and taking a fine catch ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

No love for Murray soaring like an eagle in the lineout and taking a fine catch ?

Rugby player jumps with some help and catches a ball. Wow.

• Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Rugby player jumps with some help and catches a ball. Wow.

It was actually a pretty slick move, should have been a try but Toner tackled the maul. They tried it again later but Leinster had copped on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

It was actually a pretty slick move, should have been a try but Toner tackled the maul. They tried it again later but Leinster had copped on.

From the side if I remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

That Murray in the lineout thing was very good.

molloyjh wrote: »
    A shoulder charge? Wootton ran into his chest. How is that a shoulder charge. Looking at that gif there really is nothing at all in that.

Why else was the gif posted?