Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I ended up watching Coronation Street was planning on watching this on plus one and then somebody announced they wanted to watch Victoria and it's on for two hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Mondos daughter is a serious moth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Jesus, how did people cope when shops like Spar were closed for Christmas Day?? They are in there 7 days a week but they still needed more supplies on the day, FFS!

Liking the Oakley-Manson story, its very effective as this storyline started off with the suggestion that Manson was a one woman show but I'm sure there is more to come from this pair, and Manson is no way this nice person she is portraying, shes even more dangerous than Oakley.

Line of the night: Caoimhe to Manson "Why don't you check to see if Santa got you a life for Christmas you nosy cow!". :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I love how used pregnancy tests are always just left around in soaps for someone to find and pick up :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Poor Damien, that was very clever of Oackley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭JoeA3

This show sucks the proverbial santa’s sack. I saw it tonight under duress, for the day that’s in it. Not one scene in the entire 50(?) minutes had any semblance of credibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I love how used pregnancy tests are always just left around in soaps for someone to find and pick up :rolleyes:

And mobile phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭braxen5

Tommy Dillon is one of the biggest pains in soap. No wonder Caoimhe doesn't have a clue on how to handle things. Debbie had a lucky escape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Never Say Never Again

Imagine walking in and out of a community centre several times a day 365 days a year,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Who plays Aoife in Fair City?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Who plays Aoife in Fair City?

An actress named Lesley Conroy. :)

Strazdas wrote: »
    Enjoying Oakley at the moment, he's becoming more and more nasty and dangerous.

Can't help thinking Damien's Christmas Day is going to be a disaster. He spent the whole episode saying how he will be spending it with Saoirse and beaming from ear to ear, which makes me think he won't be spending it with her :D

I love a good villian, and the actor is wasted on FC; probably my favourite character right now. he's a hell of a lot more interesting than Miriam and Emmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I love a good villian, and the actor is wasted on FC; probably my favourite character right now. he's a hell of a lot more interesting than Miriam and Emmet.

He's a total manipulator too, he has everyone like a puppet on a string.

Hope everyone had a lovely day and night. xxx

Damp squib of an episode - too much Damian/Caoimhe/Tommy and feckin Paul - haven't we seen enough of him in the past year or so? Too much community centre too.

Some observations and a twist I thought was going to happen:

First of all, so glad to see Nora changed her hairstyle for Christmas, hopefully the hairband and the ponytail won't be back in the next episode.
    The Bob/Renee thing was bloody ridiculous. How could anyone believe that a real diamond ring was a piece of tat - Hayley really shouldn't have the responsibility of running a business if she can't tell a Christmas cracker ring from the real thing.
    And another rehash of the whole Paul/Hayley BS - so bloomin' ill-matched the pair of them.

Juliet has proven herself to be the brains of the lot of them, and KA was even more annoying than usual.

One thing, which would have been a twist in any other soap, and would probably finish on that note too, was how they made sure that Charlotte was absent for the selfie and made doubly sure that it was known ''that she was having a kip''. If it were well done, in any other soap, we'd have her meeting up with Oakley as she - given the right production and writers - would now be part of his PLAN and co-conspirator. Then again, it's FC. And while I'm on the subject of Charlotte, she was allowed home and was enjoying herself as though she hadn't a care in the world, another pointer - were it a proper soap - that she and Oakley had made some sort of deal.... The other mutes, Emmet and Miriam were stuck at home, Charlotte was living it large, not one trace of fear or apprehension with her own family, which made me go no effin' way, when the ''Charlotte taking a kip'' thing was given voice to, it made me think (and the fact that it was mentioned, usually on soaps things are mentioned with good reason, and how many young ones would be passed out that early on Christmas Day; she didn't even seem drunk?), ''she's meeting up with Oakley and discussing the next move, because we never got to see what fully transpired between them before she copped to the poisoning. As I said, she's self interested and conscienceless enough to go along with anything... Remember Jane? She had no problem helping Oisin set her up with fake dates, then even though it was him in the balaclava, as far as I remember, she thought the whole thing was a laugh, so teaming up with Oakley, depending on what he might have told her, when the scene cut and she started so-operating, is hardly a stretch of the imagination..... An hour of my life I'll never get back.... Wasted on a pile of rubbish....

What I love about Dr Oakley is I think he really plays the role of a doctor well. I'd like him to be the local GP as well and get up to stuff. I think he could be a very good character and I hope they don't ruin him.

They likely will - FC is useless with these type of storylines/characters.

BTW, hope you and yours enjored yeasterday, Freshpopcorn. :)

BTW, hope you and yours enjored the yeaterday, Freshpopcorn. :)

Hope you did as well!

Judging by my typos anyone would think I've been on the lash all day... And I'm tee-total :pac:

And thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 KerryS

Happy Xmas everybody! Long time lurker on this thread but have been mia since the whole Katy/the Plan debacles (head melted after both!).

Have been dipping in and out recently in preparation for the usual Xmas day 'special' which i watched yesterday and must admit haven't a clue what's going on so would be so very grateful for an update on a few of the main 'plotlines'!

I get Kerri Ann/Decco/Mondo triangle (juliets interest and involvement slightly creepy), the Carol/Robbie/Aoife thing-WTF???!!! Dans a rapist now??? And this daughter, sorry name escapes me now, wasn't she a dancer that Sean had a thing with (where is Sean, is he officially gone for good now or still changing a barrel in the Station?) When did Robbie turn cheater? How many husbands is Carol on now, seriously writers, any chance of a happy ever after?

Niamh-whattt? So she's gone now, saw her sleezy hook up with hairy chest yank, but had she reconciled with Paul before that? What a crock of predictable sh1t! And then she hightails it to wherever she's gone and strings Paul along, is there actually any point to him anymore, and I won't even start on the Hayley Xmas day fumble, eeewwwww, dirty old man. I like how Wayne seems to have the upper hand in that particular pairing now, how did that happen? Was there not an issue with the insurance on the garage back when the writers blew it up? What's actually happening there?

And Damo, has he lost the plot or what? Tommy is still a gob****e, ranting about Damo being a psycho, ah hello? Were you not in the asylum not that many years ago for actually stalking your wife and shooting her partner, and then you turn on Damien for wanting to see his kid on Xmas day. Don't know what happened with him and Caoimhe but she's a moany wagon anyway, last time I saw that storyline she was heading clubbing and abandoning the buggy wherever she felt like it. And Debbie and Tommy-all over?

Pete-whats up with him, he's always been a whinger but any few bits I've seen of him he seems to have beef with everyone, very annoying!

And to the juicy part-what happened to poor Miriam??? She was a nice, albeit slightly nosey, do gooder when she came into it. Is she a baddie now? Didn't she get it on with Eoghan at one stage, I see she's using his house for her meetings. The doctor dude is obviously a fruit cake, one night I tuned in to see him threatening some girl that Doug was trying to help. Don't know what the hell is going on, is this a cult thing or what, how do Doug, Emmet, Charlotte and now poor Damien fit in? Obvs Miriam and Dr Psycho are the main players but what's the background??

Am sure I'm not the only one who lost faith after Katy got out of the box (where is she now anyway) so if any of you die-harders could get me up to speed it would be great! Thanks guys!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

An actress named Lesley Conroy. :)

An easy paycheck for anyone I guess, I don't know why any good actor/actress would strive to be in Fair City only for the pay check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,874 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Has Sean been in 10 episodes in 2017?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

pjohnson wrote: »
    Has Sean been in 10 episodes in 2017?

Who? Oh do you the bouncer who was on the station front door and turned his niece away and didn't even acknowledge her as being his niece?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

I haven't watched Fair City properly in months but any time I tune in lately I never see Heather or Farrah... have they left?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I think John Deegan has been let go or he’s out on sick leave?hes been missing for ages and they have a new guard now.

I thought it was hilarious how mondo was happy and congratulating Kerrianne when Decco announced she was pregnant, it didn’t even dawn on him at all that he could be the father until he’s daughter said it to him.

fin12 wrote: »
    I think John Deegan has been let go or he’s out on sick leave?hes been missing for ages.

The Guard is really clocking up the hours lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

KerryS wrote: »

And Damo, has he lost the plot or what? Tommy is still a gob****e, ranting about Damo being a psycho, ah hello? Were you not in the asylum not that many years ago for actually stalking your wife and shooting her partner, and then you turn on Damien for wanting to see his kid on Xmas day. Don't know what happened with him and Caoimhe but she's a moany wagon anyway, last time I saw that storyline she was heading clubbing and abandoning the buggy wherever she felt like it. And Debbie and Tommy-all over?

Yes, they have Tommy acting rather out of character for the last few weeks. He's normally sensible and reasonable but he has been a bit nasty and aggressive as of late, especially concerning Damien. Not sure where they're going with Damien either, he always looks like he is about to deck someone.

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    I haven't watched Fair City properly in months but any time I tune in lately I never see Heather or Farrah... have they left?!

Back to Brazil with the hairy doctor, ready break didn't even call them them xmas day, more than likely she has forgotten them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

Back to Brazil with the hairy doctor, ready break didn't even call them them xmas day, more than likely she has forgotten them.

Who is ready break? Renee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I know someone who's a friend of the new guard. He's only in it temporarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

That's a pity, they were both great actors, especially Heather. Too good for FC, really