Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Oakley telling Emmet to sort out Doug reminded me if Fr. Ted

Emmet was confused and when he kinda stuttered and said "do you want me to talk to him?"

I was expecting him to say "due you want me to take care of him"

"Well Tom, where as I now realize you meant take care of in an Al Pacino way, where as I was thinking of a more Julie Andrew's way"

"So you've nothing for me to kill Father? Well feck it, FECK IT ANYWAY!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭threetrees

Is Ronan planning on suicide on Christmas Day?

There's no chance Ciaran will return and kidnap Kerry Ann? I'd gladly take it as an off screen story line, indefinitely preferably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

For a very disturbing moment there I thought Oakley was going to rape Charlotte and use her as a love slave for entry into Mansons group "NO make up now, lets go" :eek::eek::eek:

I know some posters fail to see the cult connection but I think after tonight there can be no doubt this isn't just a tit for tat with Manson and Oakley, this is a burgeoning and very dark cult mindset- look at Emmet, a puppet of a man who does everything Manson and Oakley says, now Charlotte is trapped too. Does Eoghan know these dark events are happening under his roof? If they are going down the road of Oakley using Charlotte then kudos to FC, that's proper strange.

If next weeks spoilers are anything to go by, Manson and Oakley are also trying to entice
    DAN!
    into the Cult. Someone grab a box of matches and save the slaves!!

waco+cult+fire+lopez.jpg?format=1000w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Emmet was confused and when he kinda stuttered and said "do you want me to talk to him?"

"Well Tom, where as I now realize you meant take care of in an Al Pacino way, where as I was thinking of a more Julie Andrew's way"

Hehe. :D

The only difference between the two shows is that Fr Ted was deliberately stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

Oakley goes from enemy number 1 to assistant facilitator in a couple of weeks. Not bad going.

And is Laura going to the Leb for Christmas or are we expected to believe Mark went back there a couple of weeks ago and is nipping back for a bit of turkey and ham on Christmas Day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Just saw the fc Xmas ad there. Pretty much gives away all the plot lines with the exception of the magician lunacy... Looks like that will be the big reveal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Emmet is chief of security FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,132 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Just saw the fc Xmas ad there. Pretty much gives away all the plot lines with the exception of the magician lunacy... Looks like that will be the big reveal...

The magician will enter with his robe hood covering his face and proceed to wow the crowd in the center and later on McCoy's

Then at the end of his act he will throw back the hood to reveal "YES! It's me, Barry O'Hanlan, back for my revenge on yous all"

He then whips out the machine gun he got off a gangster he was locked up with in prison and let's rip

'rat tat tat tat tat'

With many either laying dead, wounded or hiding and peaking over the counter like Hughie, Barry will approach the one man he's been dreaming of getting even with

"Looks like you won't be having anymore turkey Paul"

"No Barry please! I still have the 2018 bursory to award"

"No chance"

'bang!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Never Say Never Again

Damien looks so stupid with his dyed hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Jenny Dixon will be on the Today show this afternoon!

Praise God I avoided it - thanks for the heads up! :D

Katy's hat is starting to get on my nerves for some reason.... :D Don't know whether it's the style or the colour, but it's definitely an annoying looking item of clothing.
    And the Debbie/Tommy/Kilkenny thing is annoying as hell...

Re the whole Oakley thing, I'm still of the opinion that he wants to make Charlotte his ally. And I think that whole ''favour'' thing was - ''you cop to the poisoning, and I'll get rid of Emmet'', because he knows she loathes him) When Emmet gets collared for what we saw in the spoiler, Oakley will claim he twisted his words, and I think Charlotte will back him up. At this stage, I think she's only pretending to be afraid of him; after all she took his hand without any disgust or resistance, then shuffled ''fearfully'' out of the room, simply because Emmet was there. Being as selfish as she is and as consienceless, it's likely they've already formed some sort of alliance, but again, that's just my take. We haven't seen a scene of them alone together since he asked for the ''favour'' and told her she ''couldn't keep hiding from her pain forever'', so who is to say what sort of a pact they made? Anyway, just my own speculation... :)

bazermc wrote: »
    Emmet is chief of security FFS.

Emmet will soon be behind bars, I think..... :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭braxen5

I do hope Doug catches Dr. Shipman in a dodgy act and the creepy old doc gets his comeuppance. A natural born manipulator. His expression when Doug accuses him of frightening Charlotte is priceless.

Gormless Emmett is like putty in his hands. Comedy gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

For a very disturbing moment there I thought Oakley was going to rape Charlotte and use her as a love slave for entry into Mansons group "NO make up now, lets go" :eek::eek::eek:

I know some posters fail to see the cult connection but I think after tonight there can be no doubt this isn't just a tit for tat with Manson and Oakley, this is a burgeoning and very dark cult mindset- look at Emmet, a puppet of a man who does everything Manson and Oakley says, now Charlotte is trapped too. Does Eoghan know these dark events are happening under his roof? If they are going down the road of Oakley using Charlotte then kudos to FC, that's proper strange.

If next weeks spoilers are anything to go by, Manson and Oakley are also trying to entice
    DAN!
    into the Cult. Someone grab a box of matches and save the slaves!!

waco+cult+fire+lopez.jpg?format=1000w

Eoghan probably doesn’t give a crap as long as he’s getting the ride and he was obviously pretty desperate seeing as he’s allowed his house to become some kind of hostel.

braxen5 wrote: »
    I do hope Doug catches Dr. Shipman in a dodgy act and the creepy old doc gets his comeuppance. A natural born manipulator. His expression when Doug accuses him of frightening Charlotte is priceless.

Gormless Emmett is like putty in his hands. Comedy gold.

I hope not - I want him to destroy Miriam and her poxy group; I can't stand her and her pack of mutes! He's a decent villain and makes the whole thing more interesting. And for people who really want the cult thing to happen, sadly, I dont't think it'll be the case; RTE is no Channel Four, they'll keep things ''normal'' but slightly brutal - a plain old fashioned tale of revenge, then again, judging by past storylines, that's what I think. Any desire for some cult action is just wishful thinking at this stage....

Remember Niamh and THE PLAN???? And dermot doing a runner only to come back and hand himself in? And then Paul and Niamh get back together as if nothing happened, (trying to kill each other) then she ditches him and fecks off to Figi with her ex bit on the side without any warning.... FC don't do big involved storylines very well; they could never handle a cult storyline; just look at what they did to the Katy in the Box storyline :P

There's no chance Ciaran will return and kidnap Kerry Ann? I'd gladly take it as an off screen story line, indefinitely preferably

He is probably touring the wreck of the titanic at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Ronan is an awful bore. He's a good looking man and an attractive companion for ladies, he could buy all the brandy in the pub.

No Ronan you have, as i've heard someone say recently, the personality of a speed bump. You're as bland as a mild, foggy day in December.

And how the fcuk do you think you'll die on Monday when you're still swanning around being your upper middle class self on the previous Thursday? Terminal illness doesn't work like that in the real world.

Unless he's planning on taking his life. He does fancy himself though.

I hope not - I want him to destroy Miriam and her poxy group; I can't stand her and her pack of mutes! He's a decent villain and makes the whole thing more interesting. And for people who really want the cult thing to happen, sadly, I dont't think it'll be the case; RTE is no Channel Four, they'll keep things ''normal'' but slightly brutal - a plain old fashioned tale of revenge, then again, judging by past storylines, that's what I think. Any desire for some cult action is just wishful thinking at this stage....

Remember Niamh and THE PLAN???? And dermot doing a runner only to come back and hand himself in? And then Paul and Niamh get back together as if nothing happened, (trying to kill each other) then she ditches him and fecks off to Figi with her ex bit on the side without any warning.... FC don't do big involved storylines very well; they could never handle a cult storyline; just look at what they did to the Katy in the Box storyline :P

I wouldn't consider a true cult storyline as pushing out the envelope too much. They are so common in Ireland today. If you had 2 fatalities that wouldn't be any more excessive than a fire or the Halpin family murder and suicide.

I can't understand why Charlotte's being given a subservient role in it. Kerri Anne would be the obvious choice or KT.

I hope not - I want him to destroy Miriam and her poxy group; I can't stand her and her pack of mutes! He's a decent villain and makes the whole thing more interesting. And for people who really want the cult thing to happen, RTE is no Channel Four, they'll keep thing ''normal'' but slightly brutal - a palin old fashioned tale of revenge, then again, judging by past storylines, that's what I think. Any desire for some cult action is just wishful thinking at this stage....

I have a feeling that Miriam and the dodgy Doc will have a huge fall from their pedestal. The group will fall apart.

Something is going to emerge from their past. They prey on the insecurities of others. I'm sure that there are other Charlotte's and Hannah's out there.

braxen5 wrote: »
    He is probably touring the wreck of the titanic at this stage.

He's heart will go on - and is.... Just waiting for Katy to drop something that reminds her of him into the water to the strains of Celine Dion in the background; only for him to resurface, clutching the yoke - probably the broken CD she tried to stab him with! :P

Looks like dopey Emmeh is going to take care of Doug, in the Al Pacino sense.

If Doug had any chance he'd beat the other wimp, but Emmeh will take him from behind in the dark and he'll do him.

Jesus did i just write that last sentence!! Sound like your man Kiero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Niall_76 wrote: »
    Oakley goes from enemy number 1 to assistant facilitator in a couple of weeks. Not bad going.

The fact that he can speak puts him at a distinct advantage versus the majority of the group when considering people for the job!

He's heart will go on - and is.... Just waiting for Katy to drop something that reminds her of him into the water to the strains of Celine Dion in the background; only for him to resurface, clutching the yoke - probably the broken CD she tried to stab him with! :P

He came back from worse.. remember the time he fell from the 6 or 7 storey building;) Came back and arrived in Carrigstown with a new name and change of occupation.

I know it is a shame that it is FC that are creating this. They don't plan out the story well at all. Pity this isn't a EE or Corrie storyline. It would be a far better outcome than FC's attempt anyway.

nagdefy wrote: »
    I wouldn't consider a true cult storyline as pushing out the envelope too much. They are so common in Ireland today. If you had 2 fatalities that wouldn't be any more excessive than a fire or the Halpin family murder and suicide.

I can't understand why Charlotte's being given a subservient role in it. Kerri Anne would be the obvious choice or KT.

My reasons for my opinion is basically that FC does not do these type of storylines very well - in fact, any attempt at something major and they fail miserably, as in the THE PLAN, so this time, because they got a lot of flack for that, though maybe they did initially intend to do a cult storyline, they bottled it at the last minute and decided; ''we have no idea how to develop this, and after the last convoluted piece of crap we pulled off trying to make a gripping storyline, we'll stick to the tried and trusted formula, revenge, murderr and a few beatings and threats. They're keeping it as simple as they can, I think. :)

Isn't it a terrible lack of ambition and organisation.. You'd think they'd give a group of scriptwriters the project and before starting to film have the script from start to finish.

One thing i really hate is poor organisation. Because it's a 'controllable', the key being communication, deadlines met and sack script writers who don't earn their corn.

I'm going to sign out Ms Westerosi :) Night!

nagdefy wrote: »
    Isn't it a terrible lack of ambition and organisation.. You'd think they'd give a group of scriptwriters the project and before starting to film have the script from start to finish.

One thing i really hate is poor organisation. Because it's a 'controllable', the key being communication, deadlines met and sack script writers who don't earn their corn.

I'm going to sign out Ms Westerosi :) Night!

Exactly; I write both short and serialised horror stories on another site, and I usually - if it's a series, especially - do quite a number of drafts before the final piece. Because, what seems like a great idea in your head at first, and you're running with it, once you read it over you realise it isn't tight enough, and has some glaring inconsistencies, so you go back and revise, all the while keeping the integral elements of the story in place. The final draft, the one I eventually post, is the basis of the original narrative in essence, but without the tangents (unecesssary) and mistakes of the original. I think FC writers do a pitiful amount of drafts, hence all the going nowhere/lost our way in the woods storylines, storylines which can sometimes have a promising start. :)

Anyway belated goodnight/early good morning. :) More Xmas shopping to do to day! I usually love Christmas, but for some reason this year has no real festive feeling at all... Not looking forward to the crowds this morning in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Anyway belated goodnight/early good morning. :) More Xmas shopping to do to day! I usually love Christmas, but for some reason this year has no real festive feeling at all... Not looking forward to the crowds this morning in the slightest.

I love Christmas and I'm enjoying it. One difference between this year and other years is we've never being as prepared as we are this year.