Gardai confirm organised begging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Greybottle

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    FG have been in government for years. They have failed simple as that. Time for change.
    How do we know that? SF, Renua, people before profit alliance, direct democracy Ireland, social democrats etc.. have never been in power in this Republic.

You and others are afraid of change and that's understandable but change we must because we are broken as a nation.

In each county or adminuistrative area, housing is the responsibility of the council.

So in Dublin City it's DCC.

Largest party on DCC is Sinn Fein. They've been in power since 2014, since when then crisis has gotten a lot worse.

Every year, without fail, they vote in a huge tax deduction or relief for the wealthiest people in this country. I'm talking about billionaires and multi millionaires here. They do it by reducing the property tax by 15% every year in a populist move.

There are serious issues with a lack of funding for services, including housing in DCC. Thanks to SF, PBP, Solidarity and the others.

Am I doing this joining the dots thing correctly BillyBobS ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    The saying goes (I believe) that madness is repeating the same mistakes yet expecting a different outcome.

You are incorrect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

grahambo wrote: »
    I've worked my f**king bollix off to get to where I am today.
    I come from a one parent family, we were not well off, I paid for my own college (worked Thur, Fri evenings and all day Sat and Sun for 5+ years). I've studied more since then to keep my qualifications up to date.

And you expect me, someone SF would consider and High earner and have openly said they want to TAX the hell out of, to vote for them!? Cop on to yourself.
    No one who's a PAYE worker and has worked hard to get where they are today would vote for them.

Renua? Ins't that Fine Gael Mk 2?
    Social Dems? Isn't that Labour Mk 2?
    PBP, Socialists? No Thanks....
    DDI - AKA Freemen on the land... Again No Thanks.

So much anger but you won't give them a chance. So be it.

Iv'e worked hard to be able to have a roof over my families head also. FG will never get a vote from me again. Leo the spoofer makes promises and breaks them and if people like yourself can't see it that's up to you. I respect democracy and ones right to vote for whomever and whatever they please.

Greybottle wrote: »
    In each county or adminuistrative area, housing is the responsibility of the council.

So in Dublin City it's DCC.

Largest party on DCC is Sinn Fein. They've been in power since 2014, since when then crisis has gotten a lot worse.

Every year, without fail, they vote in a huge tax deduction or relief for the wealthiest people in this country. I'm talking about billionaires and multi millionaires here. They do it by reducing the property tax by 15% every year in a populist move.

There are serious issues with a lack of funding for services, including housing in DCC. Thanks to SF, PBP, Solidarity and the others.

Am I doing this joining the dots thing correctly BillyBobS ?

Thanks for confirming SF have never been in government.

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    The saying goes (I believe) that madness is repeating the same mistakes yet expecting a different outcome.

And then moaning about it. Takes a certain level of intelligence no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

hawkelady wrote: »
    Are you saying the senior Garda is lying ??

Heaven forfend the possiblity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

And then moaning about it. Takes a certain level of intelligence no doubt.

So what solutions do you think SF, Independents and the rest will come up with?

What are your expectations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭ellejay

Very common in Brussels too.
    Once the animals is cared for (Fed/Watered/chipped and in good health) that's all the law requires.

Would they not have to have a dog license?
    I'm not familiar with details required on a dog license but surely there must be an address?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,286 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

SF are in government, they are in Local Government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Leo the spoofer makes promises and breaks them.

That's every single politician ever!!!!!

99% of them got where they are because a family member was also a politician or they have bullsh*ted there way there.

It's not case anymore in Ireland of who do we want in power, it's more like who do we not want in power.

Bringing in the Mad Left/Right is not going to solve anything.... History has shown us that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Greybottle

Thanks for selectively reading between the lines whilst conveniently ignoring the point I raised. SF are in charge of the council in Dublin, the place where the homeless crisis is at its worse. They have governed at a time when the crisis became worse and have voted in large tax reductions to stifle the amount of money that the council receives.

And putting my pedantic hat on, SF have been a member of 3 (or 7 depending on how you count them) governments in the history of this state, from 1918-1922.

I would have thought that a supporter of SF would have known that.

Ans Yes. They do count as governments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Anyone remember the guy with crutches that couldn't walk without dragging his knee knocking on car windows he would then go around the corner and walk normal and jump into a Mercedes.

Kaiser Sauzee is begging in Ireland?????? :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

FG have been in government for years. They have failed simple as that. Time for change.

Mod: Get back on topic, or don't post here again. Your choice.

Some people :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Did we need a garda to tell us? Its pretty obvious, many of them don't even try to hide it. Quite clearly changing shifts, seen more than a few jump into a car and a new beggar arrives out and sits in her place

wakka12 wrote: »
    Did we need a garda to tell us? Its pretty obvious, many of them don't even try to hide it. Quite clearly changing shifts, seen more than a few jump into a car and a new beggar arrives out and sits in her place

Maybe people need to stop giving them money, also in the great scheam of thing that the Garda have to do non agressive begging is way down there.

Let me see respond to a violent robbery of an elderly person or respond to a report of non aggressive begging on a street which would you choose.

Geuze wrote: »
    SF are in government, they are in Local Government.

SF are not in government.

Mod: BillyBobBS banned for repeatedly ignoring instructions.

That's every single politician ever!!!!!

99% of them got where they are because a family member was also a politician or they have bullsh*ted there way there.

It's not case anymore in Ireland of who do we want in power, it's more like who do we not want in power.

Bringing in the Mad Left/Right is not going to solve anything.... History has shown us that.

Voting in the likes of Leo is not going to solve anything.

Greybottle wrote: »
    Thanks for selectively reading between the lines whilst conveniently ignoring the point I raised. SF are in charge of the council in Dublin, the place where the homeless crisis is at its worse. They have governed at a time when the crisis became worse and have voted in large tax reductions to stifle the amount of money that the council receives.

And putting my pedantic hat on, SF have been a member of 3 (or 7 depending on how you count them) governments in the history of this state, from 1918-1922.

I would have thought that a supporter of SF would have known that.

Ans Yes. They do count as governments.

SF are not in government. Doesn't matter how you dice it and spin it they are not part of the present government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I never give the Roma a penny I must say.

But obviously someone does.

This drives me mad. It's obvious what they're up to and yet there are still people giving them money. What the hell is wrong with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I thought this was common knowledge. There was a documentary and various news articles about Romanian begging gangs years ago. The documentary filmers found where they lived in Romania, they had huge houses and lived wealthy lives. They use women with babys in pushchairs too, the baby was given a little 'tipple' to keep it quiet.
    I was getting out of my car once on a car park, a gypsy looking woman got out of a car opposite me. She walked down to the front of the car park and sat down with her begging cup. The car she got out of was better than the one I had at the time.

This grinds my gears a bit. Don't get me wrong, your post is spot on but calling them Romanian begging gangs is the same as calling itinerants abroad Irish Tarmac Scam gangs. It's not technically wrong but it leaves out the fact that these aren't regular Romanians but are instead a minority of that country that has a high participation in crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The wealth and mansions in Romania are only for the bosses, who take the vast majority of the proceeds of begging. I have seen a few bosses around Dublin - they are lighter-skinned than the beggars, who by no means have mansions.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

It should also be noted that not all Roma are beggers, in the same way that not all Roma are Romanian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I'd say you have wet dreams over FG, FF and SF. Every thread you wriggle into you discuss the political parties. It's cringe worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Not sure what the point of the OP is.

Criminals do criminal things.

Criminals do criminal things: Like pretending to be charities. Steal identities. Pretend to busk.

But charities do exist. So do identities. So do buskers.

Criminal do criminal things.

That's why they're called criminals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

ArtSmart wrote: »

Criminals do criminal things: Like pretending to be charities. Steal identities. Pretend to busk.

And I think the OP thinks that criminals coming here to do criminal things are so committed to their con that they're dying of hypothermia on our streets and not staying in houses/hotels during their visits here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

The begging in Galway is on an industrial scale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

ArtSmart wrote: »

This is true, but in our important efforts to signal virtues it's easy to lose sight of the real world. Different groups are disproportionately responsible for different crimes. Travellers would be responsible far more for ripping off old ladies with dodgey tarmac driveways or bare knuckle brawls for example. Or African people for genital mutilation. Most of the stealing of fish from fisheries will be done by eastern europeans such as Polish for their love of fish. Most of the organised begging gangs will be Romanian.
    Like it ir not, no matter how uncomfortable it makes you feel, this is the case. If you refuse to accept these things then we're going nowhere fast.
    Homegrown white Irish people are also responsible for the majority of the drug dealing and gang warfare that goes on here. It's not offensive to say this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

And I think the OP thinks that criminals coming here to do criminal things are so committed to their con that they're dying of hypothermia on our streets and not staying in houses/hotels during their visits here.

Drama much? You sound like a Chugger who shouts at people when passing on the street and do not provide bank details to them that we do not care about babies with cancer.

Services are in place to stop people from dying of hypothermia on our streets. There is accommodation available for every homeless person in Ireland should they want it. There are obvious rules in homeless shelters for a reason e.g. no pets, no shooting up etc. Homeless people cannot claim that there is nowhere for them to sleep if they do not want to follow shelter rules.

The day is fading when vocally loud liberals can scream at us on how flucked up we are for having jobs/homes and not giving more money to the liberal cause of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

This is true, but in our important efforts to signal virtues it's easy to lose sight of the real world. Different groups are disproportionately responsible for different crimes. Travellers would be responsible far more for ripping off old ladies with dodgey tarmac driveways or bare knuckle brawls for example. Or African people for genital mutilation. Most of the stealing of fish from fisheries will be done by eastern europeans such as Polish for their love of fish. Most of the organised begging gangs will be Romanian.
    Like it ir not, no matter how uncomfortable it makes you feel, this is the case. If you refuse to accept these things then we're going nowhere fast.
    Homegrown white Irish people are also responsible for the majority of the drug dealing and gang warfare that goes on here. It's not offensive to say this.
    Yes, but one reality does not nullify or lessen the another - which is what I think the OP is implying.

There's are criminal gangs who beg, and pretend to be homeless.

There are homeless people.

Both statements can be true at the same time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I hate how when people criticise the church people start going "omg you're so edgy".

Anyway - why do people give money to Roma beggers? If we didn't do that, they'd go away. I find it baffling.