Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai confirm organised begging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Roma ≠ Romanians

Many forget this minor issue.

Exactly. Roma Gypsies can come from practically anywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Not sure what Romania has to do with it.

But this has been common knowledge; they've been followed and have been seen getting in and out of vans where they get dropped off.

I worked with a guys years ago, he told me he was Italian but I later found out he was from Romania.
    When I asked him why he said he was Italian, he explained that he felt that he'd be thought of the same way as Romanian Gypsy's if people knew he was from Romania.

How awful is that?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Roma ≠ Romanians

Many forget this minor issue.

Very true but Romania has/had a huge number residing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Pathetic attempt to deflect from the massive and very much real homelessness crisis that FG have created.

3/10

What a load of Bollox

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

splinter65 wrote: »
    It never ceases to amaze me how RCC obsessed boardsies will scan the live threads ceaselessly searching for an opportunity to post in a manner which they imagine makes them appear edgy and dangerous but in actual fact reeks of desperation.
    Go on poster. Tell us how begging gangs are bad, but not as bad as the RCC.

It is equally amazing how many will be offended by a little bit of a joke in AH. Now...where is my boot polish so I can go blackface for the day.
    c_man wrote: »
    There's no collection six days out of seven. And you're not obliged to give anything. And my local church back home announced last Christmas that they're no longer passing the plate due to getting a very generous donation.

But yeah, good man yourself.

Lucky you....free mass!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

They’re all over the place in Galway too. Each one of them with a little puppy to make you feel sorry for them.

Dogs should be taken off them.

Tilikum17 wrote: »
    They’re all over the place in Galway too. Each one of them with a little puppy to make you feel sorry for them.

Dogs should be taken off them.

Very common in Brussels too.

But then there's the other side of it:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/homeless-rabbit-dogs-pictures-3678851-Nov2017/

Yeah it's the journal but you get my point...
    Clearly he's a good guy in his heart.
    He is homeless since he was 17.

Despite all the jobs offered, accommodation offered, etc as a result of the above story in 2011, this guy is still homeless... If you need to ask why, then you need to read between the lines.

Tricky situation, you cannot just take animals off people.
    Once the animals is cared for (Fed/Watered/chipped and in good health) that's all the law requires.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Irish are extremely gullible and believe in a lot of cases they can save the world.

Nub of the problem right there. A lot of Irish media commentators actually encourage this viewpoint.
    grahambo wrote: »
    I worked with a guys years ago, he told me he was Italian but I later found out he was from Romania.
    When I asked him why he said he was Italian, he explained that he felt that he'd be thought of the same way as Romanian Gypsy's if people knew he was from Romania.

How awful is that?

Handful of regular Romanians I met were A1. Should be no shame.

I can see his angle though. I was in a shop in London about to approach the counter. Some Pavee were knocking everything over and the chap at the counter got on the phone to the police, calling them 'irish'. To my shame I changed over to an English accent when buying the item. And the cock crew in the background. Awful indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Pathetic attempt to deflect from the massive and very much real homelessness crisis that FG have created.

3/10

Abyssmal attempt at shoe-horning your own political delusion into the debate. Similar to your amateurish attempts at blaming North Korean nuclear proliferation on Obama while conveniently ignoring the fact that NK stuck to the letter of the 1994 Framework Agreement while Clinton and Bush Junior wiped their arses with it.

1/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

Very common in Brussels too.

But then there's the other side of it:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/homeless-rabbit-dogs-pictures-3678851-Nov2017/

Yeah it's the journal but you get my point...
    Clearly he's a good guy in his heart.
    He is homeless since he was 17.

Despite all the jobs offered, accommodation offered, etc as a result of the above story in 2011, this guy is still homeless... If you need to ask why, then you need to read between the lines.

Tricky situation, you cannot just take animals off people.
    Once the animals is cared for (Fed/Watered/chipped and in good health) that's all the law requires.

I noticed that in Brussels too after the attack, very very noticeable and very organised

Has been going on since WAY before the attack.
    Beggers with the most beautiful dogs.
    When I first saw it, I found it very strange.

testtech05 wrote: »
    There was a similar case in courts in Galway a few weeks back where the "beggars" had traveled down from Dublin for a day or 2 of business, seems to be fairly widespread in the bigger towns.

You'll see them on Shop Street on Fiday and Saturday nights. I started filming them one time and they got very agitated, covering their faces, giving the finger etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

I thought this was common knowledge. There was a documentary and various news articles about Romanian begging gangs years ago. The documentary filmers found where they lived in Romania, they had huge houses and lived wealthy lives. They use women with babys in pushchairs too, the baby was given a little 'tipple' to keep it quiet.
    I was getting out of my car once on a car park, a gypsy looking woman got out of a car opposite me. She walked down to the front of the car park and sat down with her begging cup. The car she got out of was better than the one I had at the time.

Very true but Romania has/had a huge number residing.

And?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Where I live it's so painfully obvious. Not there for the whole week then the w.e. comes around and the romanian beggars sitting up against some doorways and along the beach. And people giving them money!! How thick can you be. Then I see them at the dart station with their sleeping bags all folded up out of character looking healthy and happy. Going back to Dublin to do some more begging or laugh at our gullible ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

3/10

Haha that FG created? It's FF that got us into the mess, lot harder to clean it up. But blaming parties is too easy, a lot of people should be blaming themselves, overspending like there was no tomorrow in the naughties. A lot of people have nobody to blame but themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

3/10

Would you ever grow up and learn that other people don't easily buy your own deflection bull****. So the Guards are working in collusion with the Gov to cover up homelessness? (By pointing out organised begging) if you believe that you must not have much experience of how things work around here. Or alternatively you actually care as much about the homeless as ISIS care about equality. It is clear that you are using homelessness to make cheap political points. Just throw it in under any topic that arises because you think the Government are vulnerable on it. A bit obvious that and ineffective

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Mc Love wrote: »
    Haha that FG created? It's FF that got us into the mess, lot harder to clean it up. But blaming parties is too easy, a lot of people should be blaming themselves, overspending like there was no tomorrow in the naughties. A lot of people have nobody to blame but themselves.

FG have been in government for years. They have failed simple as that. Time for change.

To who!?

They are all equally sh*t! :D:pac:

To who!?

They are all equally sh*t! :D:pac:

How do we know that? SF, Renua, people before profit alliance, direct democracy Ireland, social democrats etc.. have never been in power in this Republic.

You and others are afraid of change and that's understandable but change we must because we are broken as a nation.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Back to FF? Or to the SocDems who've promised the earth moon and sun? Very easy to make promises when not in power and break them when in power when you realise you couldn't possibly guarantee those promises. SF - previous front for a terrorist group? Sure when pigs fly.

We've got the best of a bad bunch at the moment hence why in the latest poll they've seen their ratings improve

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Might not be politically correct, but we need to introduce a campaign that educates members of the public to not give money to the Roma beggars.

Some of us have known that they belong to organised gangs for years now.

As I said, might not be politically correct , but if people stop giving them easy money, they might stop viewing here as an easy target.

There I said it.

Back to FF? Or to the SocDems who've promised the earth moon and sun? Very easy to make promises when not in power and break them when in power when you realise you couldn't possibly guarantee those promises. SF - previous front for a terrorist group? Sure when pigs fly.

We've got the best of a bad bunch at the moment hence why in the latest poll they've seen their ratings improve

Where was back to FF mentioned?

I blame Millennials. Because it makes as much sense as the utter shite you're still spewing.

How do we know that? SF, Renua, people before profit alliance, direct democracy Ireland, social democrats etc.. have never been in power in this Republic.

You and others are afraid of change and that's understandable but change we must because we are broken as a nation.

I've worked my f**king bollix off to get to where I am today.
    I come from a one parent family, we were not well off, I paid for my own college (worked Thur, Fri evenings and all day Sat and Sun for 5+ years). I've studied more since then to keep my qualifications up to date.

And you expect me, someone SF would consider and High earner and have openly said they want to TAX the hell out of, to vote for them!? Cop on to yourself.
    No one who's a PAYE worker and has worked hard to get where they are today would vote for them.

Renua? Ins't that Fine Gael Mk 2?
    Social Dems? Isn't that Labour Mk 2?
    PBP, Socialists? No Thanks....
    DDI - AKA Freemen on the land... Again No Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,781 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No long term planning or vision, either in govt or generally in the population. A particularly Irish trait...'shur it'll be grand'.

Now we're in a mess and profiteers; ranging from the big-time faceless letting agencies/vulture funds/rack renting landlords to the small-time 'pretend' homeless/begging rings have come in to take advantage, to the detriment of people in genuine hardship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

So you want to put the lunatics in charge of the asylum?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

No long term planning or vision, either in govt or generally in the population. A particularly Irish trait...'shur it'll be grand'.

Now we're in a mess and profiteers; ranging from the big-time faceless letting agencies/vulture funds/rack renting landlords to the small-time 'pretend' homeless/begging rings have come in to take advantage, to the detriment of people in genuine hardship.

Wow that went from "well there are Roma beggar gangs" to 100 preeeetty fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

So you want to put the lunatics in charge of the asylum?

The saying goes (I believe) that madness is repeating the same mistakes yet expecting a different outcome.