Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star Wars Episode VIII - The Last Jedi *spoilers from Post 2857*

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,671 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Wedwood wrote: »
    Oh, just to add, that sequence of TLJ where the First Order were chasing down the last of the Resistance ships was brilliant. The amount of twists and turns throughout was great and the finale where Holdo turns her ship into the First Order fleet and presses hyperspace was as good as any sequence in the entire saga.

You genuinely felt Leia was going to be finished off after being outsmarted until Holdo plays one final card.

Just to say my initial reaction to seeing TLJ was I wasn't quite sure I liked what I'd just seen as it more or less broke every expectation I had having watched Star Wars for the last 40 years. But over the day or two afterwards, I found I can't wait to see this again precisely because it broke with those expectations.

There are so many twists and turns in the film overall. It's pretty exhausting actually. Every time you think you know where the film is going it pulls the rug out from under you again. This along with the tonal shifts means that the audience is constantly off balance. It's brilliantly done even if it probably makes for a turbulent first viewing. I found it very refreshing since one of my criticisms of most of the Star Wars films bar Empire is the way they run on rails for the last hour or so. Like the numerous Death Star assaults are spectacular and all, but they also bore me on repeat viewings.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,064 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

conorhal wrote: »
    Clearly, Disney's mandate to Johnson was 'burn it all down' so that we can start from scratch and pump out a couple of these a year, unencumbered by it's history or fan base until it runs out of steam.

I've long suspected that that was the plan from the beginning. Get rid of the old crew, jettison the EU and turn Star Wars into a Marvelised 'Guardians of the Galaxy' style comedy romp, until everyone is sick to death of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

pixelburp wrote: »
    Plus, anyone else feel the script cribbed a little from the Battlestar Galactica episode '33'? It was probably a coincidence, but I couldn't help but see the similarities between the Rebellions' limping away from the unshakeable First Order & the problems faced by the BSG's fleet in having to jump every 33 minutes (side, side note: that whole episode is still to me one of the greatest episodes in TV, ever. A masterclass of tension and drama in an episodic, serial drama)

They also cribbed from Michaelangelo calling Shredder Chrome Dome.

And from my school play, Super Leya was straight out of St. Fiachras Peter Pan 1986, with Mr Kilty operating the wires.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Well.. I just saw the movie...

If it has any theme, it's Kylo Ren's, 'burn it all down'.
    Clearly, Disney's mandate to Johnson was 'burn it all down' so that we can start from scratch and pump out a couple of these a year, unencumbered by it's history or fan base until it runs out of steam. In that regard he did a good job.

I'll say this for the film, it gave me a new appreciation for the hack show that was The Force Awakens that's for sure. I'd heard some people say they were were disappointed with the film and so I kind of expected another uninspired film like TFA, but this was a complete sh1tshow from start to finish. Jesus, it opens with a prank call to a star destroyer that ends with a 'yo mamma' joke and it wen't down hill from there.

This wasn't just a bad Starwars movie, this was easily the worst film, and waste of money I've seen all year. Certiantly I've no interest in the next episode.

We that’s a clear cut I’m done with this I’m out response. Which is brilliant.

Can you take all these folks rampantly arguing those who liked it with you? That be great thanks.

Dunkirk eh? Mad film.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭conorhal

Tony EH wrote: »
    Sure, she's "ordinary" and that's great.

But she's pointless, belonging to an utterly redundant side plot, with an incredibly smushy finale...and that's not.

Seriously her crashing into Finn while he's on some suicide run, gushing some ****e and then dying/going unconscious is something a 9 year old girl would write.

Fucking terrible.

Well we did manage to learn an important lesson, self sacrifice is stupid, and all you need to win (even when all your friends are about to get obliterated by a giant Fhuppin cannon) is love! /swoons

• Registered Users Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

It's interesting reading this thread. Personally I have no issue with people who loved the movie or even those who think it's the best star wars movie ever.

I'll preface my post by saying that I was genuinely looking forward to this movie. So much so that I paid for a babysitter for the morning so that the Mrs and I could catch a 9:30am show at the local Imax on Saturday, since that was the only time with any decent seats left.

For me, it was a well made film but in the end another forgettable blockbuster. Perhaps because the review hype set my expectations too high, perhaps because I'm just another jaded moviegoer, or perhaps because I am not a die hard star wars fan and so whether or not this movie subverts star wars tropes has little bearing on my opinion of the movie. I am, however, an ardent Sci-fi and Fantasy fan.

On the positive side, this is a very accomplished blockbuster. The directing, acting(bar one terrible blemish), writing are all of a fairly high standard, by and large. The visual effects are polished and immaculate. The storyline is far from predictable, and that alone sets this film apart from the vast majority of blockbusters in recent years.

Yet despite all this, the movie lacked something. Call it heart, or soul or whatever, I don't know. Did the movie have something to say about the human condition that challenged my understanding or provoked thought? Sadly, no. Maybe the writer/director wanted to say something, if so, they failed to communicate that message to me.

Neither did it grip me with tension or emotion and make its mark upon me that way. Again, perhaps, because I don't have a strong preexisting emotional connection to the franchise or characters per se.

You might say, but it's just a blockbuster. It's meant to be entertaining. Etc. I find this line of argument utterly unconvincing. To accept this as a standard does a disservice to cinema, and more than that to all of the great blockbusters that have come before that have managed to be a rollicking, roller coaster ride that enthralled and still managed to move the audience. We cannot allow the recent trend of junk food blockbusters to allow the bar to be set so low that 'pretty good,' is defined as 'great' simply by comparison.

I contrast this with Coco, a film that had me in tears at the end, compared to The Last Jedi which left me with a feeling of, 'yeah, enjoyed that, nothing special.' Emotions nowhere near invested. What is this but a sign that the storytelling is simply not up to the mark?

Even setting the above aside and looking at it purely as a cinematic spectacle, I still find it lacking.

Yes there were some nice moments with perhaps one moment bordering on special that when:
    Yoda set the tree on fire for Luke. There were some nice moments also. The strong roles by female characters, the obvious bumbling of male bravado,
    Luke's fishing expidition, the bomber run and the suicide crash. The casting of Rose may have been considered bold a couple of years ago but it seems quite a safe option today. Still it was nice that it was there so I'm happy to give credit for that.
    But I could equally make a case for similar 'nice' moments in other recent blockbusters like Thor.

The visual effects were polished and of a high quality yet there was nothing that left me holding my breath, that was truly spectacular. That stood out as a beacon of greatness.

Nothing to match the balletic martial artistry of Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, or the pure coolness of the Matrix's melding of anime style kung fu with western explosiveness, or the mind bending perspectives of Inception, or quite simply the 'holy **** that was fukin' cool' of several moments of The Dark Knight like when Batman kidnaps the mafia's money launderer from China.

Despite the wonderful canvas of the star wars universe, there was no real sense of child like glee or simple wonder that other films manage to evoke. Even watching The Force Awakens I had a couple of moments where I felt goosebumps rising on my arms and a shiver down my spine in the odd moment of visual grandeur. Something this film simply did not deliver for me.

The acting was mostly fine but the least unkind thing I can say of Mark Hamil's acting performance is that it seemed obviously forced. The script gave him something and he all but squandered it, rendering null any potential for poigniancy that lay within the character of Luke Skywalker.

Perhaps most damning of all for me was the complete impotency and ordinariness of the light saber battles, considering that this is one of the major USPs of the universe I found the battles themselves to be functional at best. No real danger, no real thrill and certainly no real coolness.

In the end, I came out of the cinema, with a decided 'Meh.' And I could not understand why. Writing this post has helped to clarify that.

Ultimately, I cannot think of a single category where this film meets any kind of criteria for greatness. It's perhaps close to being the best in a long series of mediocre blockbusters over the last couple of years, but there is nothing there to be proclaimed as special that will stand the test of time, in my humble opinion.

A decent 7.5/10

• Registered Users Posts: 19,611 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I'll say this for the film, it gave me a new appreciation for the hack show that was The Force Awakens that's for sure.

Hyperbole is word of the fcuking month in these parts

david75 wrote: »
    We that’s a clear cut I’m done with this I’m out response. Which is brilliant.

Can you take all these folks rampantly arguing those who liked it with you? That be great thanks.

Dunkirk eh? Mad film.

I wouldn't waste my time. Sure there were plenty of defenders of the prequels that had to spend years in therapy, just to admit to themselves that Jar Jar was a bad idea. I doubt this movie will age even as well as the prequels, once time and distance erodes the deep denial that anybody who thinks TLJ was an objectively good film is suffering I suspect most will realize this was a franchise killer.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Just saw it tonight and found myself very meh at the end. It was all quite predictable and lacked the freshness that I’d enjoyed with TFA.

I do wish though that they had done a show down between BB8 and “dark side” BB8 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,611 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I wouldn't waste my time. Sure there were plenty of defenders of the prequels that had to spend years in therapy, just to admit to themselves that Jar Jar was a bad idea. I doubt this movie will age even as well as the prequels, once time and distance erodes the deep denial that anybody who thinks TLJ was an objectively good film is suffering I suspect most will realize this was a franchise killer.

This is so incredibly pretentious and condescending, is it that hard to accept that other people like different movies to you?

Gut instinct. What do you think? Is JJ gonna do something that speaks to TLJ or given all the backlash, is he gonna do a hard F&F uturn and give us a double down hardcore Star Wars story using practical effects! Over familiar design language! Same old tropes and predictable ending we secretly want?
    Or something else ?

I kinda secretly want it and I love TLJ. It needs to be hardcore Star was if it is truly the wrapping up of the Skywalker saga. And I think public opinion (aka current semi real dumpster fire) would welcome it warmly

It might even overtake TFA at the box office.

Maybe that’s been the plan all along?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,101 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Tony EH wrote: »
    Who cares though?

If that's all Finn is worth, it just speaks even more to the redunancy of the character.

We'd likely have the same people complaining that no one gave a ****e about Rey being gone for so long.

Who cares, they might as well have killed off Lando at the end of Empire too while they were at it, sure his main story was done at cloud city?

I've agreed that he could have died at the end of TFA but there's reason why he didn't. Just because he isn't the main event it doesn't mean he doesn't have his place.

Gut instinct. What do you think? Is JJ gonna do something that speaks to TLJ or given all the backlash, is he gonna do a hard F&F uturn and give us a double down hardcore Star Wars story using practical effects! Over familiar design language! Same old tropes and predictable ending we secretly want?
    Or something else ?

I kinda secretly want it and I love TLJ. It needs to be hardcore Star was if it is truly the wrapping up of the Skywalker saga. And I think public opinion (aka current semi real dumpster fire) would welcome it warmly

I have a horrible feeling that most of the worst elements of TLJ were the result of TFA criticisms.
    Oh, here we go again with a secret Skywalker/Rey's parentage? Doesn't matter.
    Thought Snoke was a pointless villan? That's ok, doesn't matter.
    Why is their a rebellion if the rebels won? No they didn't.

I have a horrible feeling that most of the worst elements of TLJ were the result of TFA criticisms.
    Oh, here we go again with a secret Skywalker/Rey's parentage? Doesn't matter.
    Thought Snoke was a pointless villan? That's ok, doesn't matter.
    Why is their a rebellion if the rebels won? No they didn't.

None of that really made any sense at all but I’ll keep trying and come back to you

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Saw it tonight. Hadn't watched any trailers or read any reviews so was going in 'clean' and ready to immerse myself in it....

Opening scenes of a one man army prank calling hux set the tone for the whole movie ... And to be honest i dont think it ever recovered.
    Next scene is Luke ****ing away his lightsabre. There goes my childhood over his shoulder! Felt so disappointing. They totally misjudged the humour on this. There were a few muffled laughs throughout the film in the cinema i was in ...that was it.
    It was all over the place really. The Slow chase through the galaxy was the foundation of the whole film and its was so.poorly conceived....eh lads call in some back up there, some of your preferably fast fighters that can catch up with a passenger freighter.
    Leia flying through space. I actually thought it was some dream sequence for a split second...is this really happening?! ****. Its happening. She actually flew back through space to the ship. Damn.
    There is so much thats wrong with this film, too much to list. Left the cinema disappointed. I wanted it to blow me away. To be dark. To be a step up from TFA yet it was pretty directionless, with purposeless characters...snoke,chromedome,finn,rose,del toro...alot of the world filling creatures reminded me of the prequels. Not good.

Rogue One for me is the best of the newer three that theyve done. Theres actually emotional weight behind it, little.humour and ,obviously, we get suicide missions that are actually suicide missions where main characters die!
    A disappointing 6/10 for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,465 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Watched it last night. Unprejudiced, I'm a big star wars fan.... But. Did ye think it was sh1te, too?

I don't know where to start. There is so much non-sense in this film.

Star Wars was always fantasy, space-opera like science fiction, never had any 'hard scifi' elements. Thats fine I liked that. But this movie....

So we have a slow car chase where the Resistance is running out of fuel? Seriously? And they are like in naked eye watching distance but nobody has any weapon that can bridge the short distance? (Which of course makes no fkn sense in space/vacuum whatsoever but lets just go with Star Wars space physics for the moment). And 5 star destroyers and some new super star destroyer, ships that could single handedly wreck a world, have all but 5 tie fighters on board and no torpedoes or anything? And the energy weapons they do have fly through space in a ballistic arc? Thats the main theme for a star wars movie now? Like Max Max in space?

Then your man's stupid flying antics. Leia flying through space/vacuum after the bridge getting a full hit not harming her one iota. Through her force I suppose? Come on. Of course a few more cuddly toys thrown in just in time for christmas business. And then the entire rebellion reduced to 20 odd folks who all fit into the falcon just to set up a back from the brink scenario in time for the last episode.

Also I'm not surprised Mark Hamill never made it as an actor outside SW. He's terrible. And poor Carrie Fisher aged about 15 years since the last movie. She clearly wasnt well. Donal Gleeson. Terrible. For the casino plot they obviously got Lucky Besson in since it looked like a mix between the 5th Element and that whacky Budapest hotel film with Ralph Fiennes in it. Then the whole Snoke's throne room scene looked so plasticy and poor its not even funny anymore.

I'm thinking they butchered it. Ruined. Completely. Worst star war movie to date. Straight after a really good one (admittedly not constrained by the overall plot). Nearly puts me off star wars for the future.

Really disappointed. It actually had potential after the force awakens but they butchered it. This is what happens when you make a movie by corporate committee. You want to make it extra best and what comes out is a watery nothing. Really sad.

I really don't get the problem with him throwing the lightsaber away, he was a miserable bollox on the island, and he wasn't interesting in playing laser swords with people, so he threw it away. What's the problem?

I think it was the manner in which it was done, essentially for a laugh. The act that signifies a man bitter and broken by failure that was to be the first re-introduction of a famous character and set his tone ...was played for a laugh. The whole tone of the movie IMO was horribly misjudged.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Or something else ?

The worry I have with JJ is that they revert to “what the fans want”.

Snoke will either not be dead or there is some other puppet master. Like originals, we realize we didn’t really see the baddy in the flesh until ROTJ.

Rey’s backstory or parents will be fantastical or special, prob insinuate the super villain be her dad (like Palps with Anakin) because familiar twists are familiar.

Rey will subsequently be revealed to be a man, for those who say they don’t have anything against female characters but complain about most of them on some level !

Luke will be a force ghost with some Awesome explanation for his goofyness that restores the perfect image some people desperately wanted from him.

Hux will be killed in favour of a generic first order general who acts the way people expect them to act.

There will Be humour that’s ok because JJs Star Wars will be safer and closer to what some people imagine a Star Wars film should be. It will prob involve C3PO cause people expect stupid camp sh*t to come out of his character and will excuse it off the bat!

I wonder though, is there a plan? It’s not clear that there is or that there needs to be. Making sh*t up as you go along was the way the originals were made so why would Disney need a roadmap? Also I would argue that a long term plan leads to marvel universe where each movie exists mostly just to tee up the next.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,990 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I doubt this movie will age even as well as the prequels, once time and distance erodes the deep denial that anybody who thinks TLJ was an objectively good film is suffering I suspect most will realize this was a franchise killer.
    A franchise killer? Yeah, just like the mauled "Phantom Menace" killed off the franchise back in the late '90s after which we never saw a Star Wars film again. This must be one of the greatest exaggerations yet on this thread.

ixoy wrote: »
    A franchise killer? Yeah, just like the mauled "Phantom Menace" killed off the franchise back in the late '90s after which we never saw a Star Wars film again. This must be one of the greatest exaggerations yet on this thread.

Is it really? Did the prequels enhance the brand or kill it for a decade untill it was sold off to a franchisee in Disney?

Do you think people's interest will be maintained and the brand enhanced by another dud of a trilogy, particularly one that was not merely inept but actually an insult?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,220 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'm thinking they butchered it. Ruined. Completely. Worst star war movie to date. Straight after a really good one (admittedly not constrained by the overall plot). Nearly puts me off star wars for the future.

I think to be honest, they are not aiming at us any more, the 40 and 50 yr olds who want the films to remind them of their childhoods. They are creating a new universe with new characters. Han's gone, Luke's gone, they'll have to write Leia out now. Its a new generation, and maybe the new generation of viewers want what they are being given.

I have absolutely no great expectation of any future SW film now. My excitement and anticipation have been wasted now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I really enjoyed it. Much better than TFA imo, and . Started well, ended well, but the middle was pretty pointless. The casino, the very slow rebel chase and i think they stayed on Skellig Michael for too long.

At first i was a bit annoyed that we didn't get to see Luke go all prequel Jedi, and fling AT-AT's around the place. But in hindsight, i think that was done better. Not sure why it seemed to "kill" him though. I just assumed he was a hologram when fighting Ren, and was surprised when he became one with the force or whatever it was that happened. He'll be back in the 3rd flim anyway, as a force ghost. It was a bit (lot) underwhelming for Luke Skywalker though.

And I can't believe people are annoyed that Snoke was killed off. We don't need another "old evil emperor" as the bad guy. Having it be Kylo, who is a better/more believable character, is a much better option.

The best scene was the jump to lightspeed through the First Order fleet. That looked (and sounded - lack of sound) amazing. Cinema went dead silent for it.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I think to be honest, they are not aiming at us any more, the 40 and 50 yr olds who want the films to remind them of their childhoods. They are creating a new universe with new characters. Han's gone, Luke's gone, they'll have to write Leia out now. Its a new generation, and maybe the new generation of viewers want what they are being given.

I have absolutely no great expectation of any future SW film now. My excitement and anticipation have been wasted now.

I think you are Correct in that Disney are hoping to keep a lot of the original fans but are primarily targeting its newer fans.

When I watch a movie with my kids, if there are bits for adults and children and they really enjoy it, I can usually enjoy it more.

I agree with some of the things people thought weren’t great , but just didn’t mind them as much or enough to let them ruin the movie. Mary Poppins, Hux and Poe - yeh that wasn’t for me, was for the kids, wouldn’t be what I would of done but that’s ok.

The one thing I have noticed is that asides from Rey and Kylo, I’m not too bothered what happens to other characters. The originals most definitely had more charm and lovable characters good and bad! I’d rather just go with it then fight it and rally against it because there is seldom a payoff in being angry at something you want to be good.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,978 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Can someone explain why this movie is getting such positive reviews?

Outside the RT audience score it's rated really high, even Mark Kermode loved it.

What am I missing?! The overall feedback on this thread alone seems to be most people did not like it and found it very poor.

I could understand the opposite - fans loving the movie and critics hating it but not the other way round :confused:

Can someone explain why this movie is getting such positive reviews?

Outside the RT audience score it's rated really high, even Mark Kermode loved it.

What am I missing?! The overall feedback on this thread alone seems to be most people did not like it and found it very poor.

I could understand the opposite - fans loving the movie and critics hating it but not the other way round :confused:

The overall feedback here is not negative, it’s quite split. The difference is that most people who enjoyed it don’t bother trying to reason with those who vehemently hate it.

And angry people are usually more vocal and easier to see then happy people, you don’t see people out protesting on the streets because they are content with life. Most happy people are content to let angry people rant away and allow them to think that the echo of their ranting equates to consensus.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,614 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

People need to stop watching Star Wars. Most just seem to like 2 1/2 movies. From the originals. And hate everything else.

If you only like 2 and a half out of 9 movies, its time to stop watching.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,220 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The Nal wrote: »
    People need to stop watching Star Wars. Most just seem to like 2 1/2 movies. From the originals. And hate everything else.

If you only like 2 and a half out of 9 movies, its time to stop watching.

A good point I suppose.

If the last SW film you enjoyed was in 1983, then maybe it is time to let it go!

Having said that, I thought TFA and R1 were grand films. Just that this one was a completely different level of average.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,990 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Do you think people's interest will be maintained and the brand enhanced by another dud of a trilogy, particularly one that was not merely inept but actually an insult?
    But it's not a dud and, for many many many people, not an insult either.What one person sees as insulting, others have found refreshing.
    I do agree with another poster that it's setting up a new Star Wars universe and not just playing to the same old tune. To a degree, I was annoyed with the creative decisions made when 'Doctor Who' came back in '05 and had large changes - but really, it wasn't being relaunched / reinvented just for me. It was to attract new audiences too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,217 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

It's OK everyone, those of us who genuinely liked it and have explained why are merely experiencing 'deep denial' and will resort to angry internet vitriol in due course ;)

latest?cb=20140406080802