Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Bella is back for his thrice yearly appearance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Fawlty Pipes ffs Ronan

Is this RTE's spin off of Fawlty Towers?!

nagdefy wrote: »
    Fawlty Pipes ffs Ronan

Is this RTE's spin off of Fawlty Towers?!

Don't talk about Kerri Anne like that.

Jesus KT..your eyebrows are nearly as weird as the cult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭threetrees

sligojoek wrote: »
    I think the actor himself must be ill or in pain. He's always sitting in his scenes.

I wonder will Jake and Hughie get into the whole western movie thing. Remember Bella, Charlie and Cass (and maybe Christy?) used to have western movie afternoons? Then Esther arrived to mess it all up!

Kilkenny, Zack and auntie Kitty in one sentence.

Ans we're meant to believe that Oakley is a regular GP. There must be a lot of sh*te on him to be found.

This drivel will be placed annoyingly alongside the much better cult storyline akin to the Condors and other such storylines in the past were. Kerri Ann (this seems to be the official spelling!) is one of these characters that need a bit of a reinvention. They had the perfect opportunity to have her gullible character fall into the cult but instead have this stupid not getting on with Decco. Decco's character is wasted and I would like to see him become a Darren (Love/Hate) type character with his past catching up despite his best intentions. Little room for this with this Kerri Ann rubbish though.

Since Atwell from Home and Away became involved we have the Home and Away template. Troubled people who come on the soap, foster kids, river boys etc are rehabilitated. Same craic now with Decco and Fair City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'm surprised she wasn't sent to the corner!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Normally when people are voting they say aye but seeing as the mutes can't talk all they can is just stand look like zombies and raise there hands.

Muppets!

No Fair City on Tuesday!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Charlie is back from his Canadian adventure too apparently, although we've not seen head nor tail of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I saw "the room" for the first time last week and i'm find the acting tonight in fair city to be very similar.
    I'll be tuned in now til xmas to see how the magician plot line develops. I assume it will climax with pete disguised as a magician with a "comedy" Italiaaaano accent pulling rabbits out of hats

Ah the stupidity of that episode.

Walk away Charlotte FFS. It's obvious Oakley really wants you there to ingratiate himself more with Miriam.

This cult is turning to rubbish. Miriam looks as evil as haemorrhoids and now the whole focus is on this nutcase doctor. And as for the crowd of moving statues who won't even speak on a vote but stick up there hands like dummies.

And Pete and Mario the Majician. Pete's acting like a transition year student, just say it fell through. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

The two young lads squaring up to each other and they such pathetic looking weaklings a garden hose would wash them away

I actually think an evil GP could be a great character but I don't think the cult is right for him.

Don't talk about Kerri Anne like that.

Is it not her 'tank' that's faulty rather than her pipes?!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Not a bad episode at all however they could have built the whole mind games between Okilly Dokilly and Charlotte a bit longer. Is Manson losing her power, its all about the evil doctor now. Very sinister that hes trying to get Charlotte locked up, but Charlotte seems to be losing some of her toughness, she just does everything Manson says- "go back to the house"....WTF? I was waiting for Charlotte to reply "Go and fcuk yourself".

Also, where is Katy living now? Shes not in the cult house so is she living rent free in her kidnappers apartment? :rolleyes:

giphy.gif

The two young lads squaring up to each other and they such pathetic looking weaklings a garden hose would wash them away

Absolutely. Little weeds!

Then again Mondo is great at dealing with young people:p

threetrees wrote: »
    I think the actor himself must be ill or in pain. He's always sitting in his scenes.

I wonder will Jake and Hughie get into the whole western movie thing. Remember Bella, Charlie and Cass (and maybe Christy?) used to have western movie afternoons? Then Esther arrived to mess it all up!

Even 5/6 years ago Jim Bartley could hardly walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Absolutely. Little weeds!

Then again Mondo is great at dealing with young people:p

Mondo is blind as well as stupid Melanie is a 100 times the woman that airy fairy Kerry Ann is

Kilkenny, Zack and auntie Kitty in one sentence.

There'll be a great oul session at Aunt Kitty's funeral. Fair City should do a one hour special from Kilkenny with the Ram on the rampage with women all over the city and county.

Mondo is blind as well as stupid Melanie is a 100 times the woman that airy fairy Kerry Ann is

She's by far the best looking woman on Fair City. Small bit of a geanc (colloquial down my way for nose) but a very minor fault. A real cracker, at Christmas or anytime;)

There'll be a great oul session at Aunt Kitty's funeral. Fair City should do a one hour special from Kilkenny with the Ram on the rampage with women all over the city and county.

I wonder would all of Tommy's mistresses go?

Kerri Anne and her dream about a unicorn on the beach. I think that's one of the worst lines i've ever heard of in a soap. I don't think anyone dreams those 5 year old stories??

Like you have falling dreams, anxiety where you might be redoing an exam etc. I have one where i'm last in the dressing room and a match starts without me as my boot laces break. But unicorns on the beach??

I wonder would all of Tommy's mistresses go?

Should do! A bit like JR in Dallas funeral with Sue Ellen, Cally, Mandy Winger:)

Even 5/6 years ago Jim Bartley could hardly walk.

Him and Charlie should be put out to pasture. I said it years ago. They're RTE staffers since at least the seventies. They add nothing to the show. If they never worked another day in their lives they'll have a pension worth more than I make every week workin my bo££ocks off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Jim Bartley was in one of RTE's very first soaps, Tolka Row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Him and Charlie should be put out to pasture. I said it years ago. They're RTE staffers since at least the seventies. They add nothing to the show. If they never worked another day in their lives they'll have a pension worth more than I make every week workin my bo££ocks off.

Can you take Carol with them please. Another character who adds nothing to the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

By elevating single motherhood from an unfortunate consequence of poor planning to a sophisticated act of self-fulfilment, they've helped to fashion a world not just in which fathers are scarce, but in which men are superfluous. Fair City seem to accept that children shouldn't be raised without mothers, but they regard the contributions of fathers as optional.