Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act Two Scene I - Places to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Necrominus wrote: »
    Bandylegs opens his purse again and places 100GP worth of gems on the counter.
    "Aye I have an apprentice, I'll take 80GP for the loss of her services. Her own salary is 30GP a month, she's a well trained lass."

He hands 20GP back to BandyLegs.

A female dwarf comes out, young enough looking (human equivalent early 20s).

"Rastreserd Ashmantle is the name Sir, I'd be pleased to prentic on the road. Hone my skills and perhaps join the fire dwarf smiths once we're far south enough."

OldGoat wrote: »
    aist deep into the lake and proceeds to wash himself, cracking through the thin sheet of ice to reach the pure waters of the lake.
    The nobles applaud.

"Astounding to look at. I mean I know magic is a powerful force, but when you see it in action it's truly something else."

The water wets Flak, but no heat is transferred. Same with the harsh wind. It makes Flak feel like he is only watching the world, rather than being part of it.

The noble leaves a pouch of 10GP at the lake side.

"Come with us when we speak to the dwarves this evening"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Fourier wrote: »
    "Aye I have an apprentice, I'll take 80GP for the loss of her services. Her own salary is 30GP a month, she's a well trained lass."

He hands 20GP back to BandyLegs.

A female dwarf comes out, young enough looking (human equivalent early 20s).

"Rastreserd Ashmantle is the name Sir, I'd be pleased to prentic on the road. Hone my skills and perhaps join the fire dwarf smiths once we're far south enough."

Bandylegs eyes the female apprentice and nods.

'Aye, a fine smith ye'll make if ye can keep me patched up. Here be yer first month's salary. Will ye be needin' any weapons or tools fer the road lass? Say now and I'll give ye the money to get yer supplies. I've a few things ter do so I'll meet ye with t'others in tavern yonder. Mayhap there'll be more dwarves than ever afore goin' questin!'

Bandylegs hands Rastreserd 30GP and opens his purse to further pay her for her supplies.

Banjo wrote: »
    ONE!
    Oh sorry, in all the excitement I think I lost the run of myself. Bandylegs McGillilicuddy is a cleric of Vergedain. He can't be the only one. I want to speak to the others. You... have got others? Because if you don't have others.." she giggles "...well I don't know what we'll do, I mean most probably I'll have to /charm this fellow " (she jerks her thumb at the Osinzir) "into murdering a couple of you while I make good my escape and what kind of night out would that be? Fetch a few of them, be a darling - I'll wait"
    The guards run to fetch the masters.

They return with master Khukhit, black of beard. He is carrying two crossbows loaded with wooden stakes and an axe with a silver edge.

"This better be good vampire, or you're meeting a quick end."
    Ooc : why are the Osinzir guarding the gates to Dwarrowtown? Didn't they only just get here? Or did we move and I missed it? Was a busy evening and I was operating at reduced capacity :)
    OOC: Shared guarding was a medieval custom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

The nobles applaud.

"Astounding to look at. I mean I know magic is a powerful force, but when you see it in action it's truly something else."

The water wets Flak, but no heat is transferred. Same with the harsh wind. It makes Flak feel like he is only watching the world, rather than being part of it.

The noble leaves a pouch of 10GP at the lake side.

"Come with us when we speak to the dwarves this evening"
    "Thank you sirs, it's a handsome prize. If I could ask a further boon though, I want to meet with the court magician. I would apprentice myself but getting an audience with the mage is nigh on impossible. A letter of introduction would take me far.
    As for meeting with the dwarves, that would be my pleasure. I shall place myself at your call."

Flak pockets the coin purse and hastens off to catch up on his duties. As he serves hot potatoes and stewed meats to the guards he hears strange rumours concerning a missing sentry and a trail of blood. The guards have shed their relaxed air and are on edge, anxious and alert.
    Back in the mobile tavern he calls home Flak uses the kitchen steel to hone his dagger as he waits words of the trip to meet the dwarfs.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Tigger wrote: »
    Age is just a number of potions . I’m looking for the finest bow any bow man has ever bent and I have coin to match also I’m looking for these randonnpotions to be labled
    Finally I’ve grown fond of these (shows the man an xploding arrow) but can you advise better or different
    its not that coin is no object
    but ill be making anyonewho impresses me a good offer
    The weaponer goes to his cart.

"I cannot make exploding arrows, dwarven in nature that trick, but I do have a mastercrafted bow for you and these arrows, they have twice the normal range. Twenty in total. What's your offer.

A young mage named Flak came with us, I would speak to him about the potions.

Also, if you think the dwarves here can make fine weapons, meet with the Fire Dwarves near Zassan."

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    'Master Orimrirlums I presume? I've heard you're the finest maker of tools for people of a certain skillset? I'm in need of your best set of thieves tools. Cost isn't an option.'
    "Well I've got the following kit for ye if you want:

Rope, Silk
    Lockpick kit (thieves' tools in rulebook)
    Lantern
    Lock
    Grappling Hook
    Block and Tackle
    Crowbar
    Winter Blanket

All for 60GP. Sound good?"

Bandylegs hands Rastreserd 30GP and opens his purse to further pay her for her supplies.
    She lifts up a greasy toolkit.

"No need for that Master McGillicuddy, I've come prepared"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

She lifts up a greasy toolkit.

"No need for that Master McGillicuddy, I've come prepared"

Bandylegs laughs.

'Now now lass, I be payin ye, but I not be yer master! Bandylegs be fine or Cleric if ye have to be official. Now if we run inter any trouble on the road, I want ye to stay back with t'other weaker lads and lasses. But... in case ye have ter fight.... here ye go. One from me own collection.'

Bandylegs hands the girl his own hand axe.

'Now, as I said, I'll see ye in the tavern. I've ter meet a dignitary from Olsinzir ter find out what we need ter do there.'

'Now now lass, I be payin ye, but I not be yer master! Bandylegs be fine or Cleric if ye have to be official.
    "Of course Lord Cleric. Thank you for the axe"

She bows with her fists together and leaves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

The weaponer goes to his cart.

"I cannot make exploding arrows, dwarven in nature that trick, but I do have a mastercrafted bow for you and these arrows, they have twice the normal range. Twenty in total. What's your offer.

A young mage named Flak came with us, I would speak to him about the potions.

Also, if you think the dwarves here can make fine weapons, meet with the Fire Dwarves near Zassan."
    20 gpnfor the arrows and
    80 for the bow
    100gp and that includes a reward if you introduce Flak for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

"Well I've got the following kit for ye if you want:

Rope, Silk
    Lockpick kit (thieves' tools in rulebook)
    Lantern
    Lock
    Grappling Hook
    Block and Tackle
    Crowbar
    Winter Blanket

All for 60GP. Sound good?"

'Sounds perfect. I knew I could depend on you. Have you a backpack I could hold these in?' Kal hands over the 60gp.

[OOC: need to keep track of gold this time. I'm terrible with money. 220GP left]

"Of course Lord Cleric. Thank you for the axe"

She bows with her fists together and leaves.

OOC: Spells loaded today:

Level 1: Cure Light Wounds, Protection from Evil, Light
    Level 2: Hold Person, Find Traps
    Level 3: Striking

Bandylegs thanks the limbsmith again and leaves the store, heading for the master craftsmith's shop this time.

He enters the store to see Kal purchasing items and smirks.

'I hope ye have everything ye need now.

Orimrilum? This axe served me well laddie. Can I trouble ye to hone it fer me, and I'll take a second off yer hands too? Also a top up of me rations, Another 20 preserved ones will suffice. Actually, make it 30, 10 fer the laddie there at the counter! I'll not be hagglin' with ye about price, whatever ye like as long as ye be reasonable.'

20 gpnfor the arrows and
    80 for the bow
    100gp and that includes a reward if you introduce Flak for me
    "Fair enough. Here is your bow and...." heaves out a box and opens it "...here are your arrows. This way."

Goodie is led to a trailer with a delicious smell coming from it, various meats and fruits and something he doesn't recognise on the boil.

The weaponer pulls back the entry curtain and speaks to whoever is inside:

"Oy, boy! There is somebody here who needs potions classified, get to work on it. As usual 20% of the fee goes to the nobles, rest for yourself."

Orimrilum? This axe served me well laddie. Can I trouble ye to hone it fer me, and I'll take a second off yer hands too? Also a top up of me rations, Another 20 preserved ones will suffice. Actually, make it 30, 10 fer the laddie there at the counter! I'll not be hagglin' with ye about price, whatever ye like as long as ye be reasonable.'
    "Axes ain't my speciality, I'll get my friend to take a look"

He heads out with the Axe and comes back and also with some food from a grocers.

"22GP in total lad."

'Sounds perfect. I knew I could depend on you. Have you a backpack I could hold these in?' Kal hands over the 60gp.

[OOC: need to keep track of gold this time. I'm terrible with money. 220GP left]
    "Here you go human"

He hands him a surprisingly nice backpack.

"Fair enough. This way."

Goodie is led to a trailer with a delicious smell coming from it, various meats and fruits and something he doesn't recognise on the boil.

The weaponer pulls back the entry curtain and speaks to whoever is inside:

"Oy, boy! There is somebody here who needs potions classified, get to work on it. As usual 20% of the fee goes to the nobles, rest for yourself."

ook did i get ny bow ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

"A warhammer sir, definitely the warhammer."

Ekbard gives Kidunli 45GP. "Go buy yourself some equipment and supplies and get yourself in order to go adventurin' again, when you are ready, come find me."

Fourier wrote:
    "22GP in total lad."

Bandylegs hands over the coin.

'Thankee sir. Now, I must meet with this delegate from Olsinzor.'

Bandylegs hands the 10 rations to Kal.

'There ye go lad. Fer the road.'

He leaves in the direction of the main gate, looking for the Olsinzor delegate and stops to ask a guard directions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

"Here you go human"

He hands him a surprisingly nice backpack.

'Thank you muchly! I see Mr Legs has obtained some rations for me. I think that might be me all ready to go. Unless, would you be able to point me in the direction of someone who could get me a war hammer? I miss the feel of a hammer in my hands. A crossbow and some bolts for it wouldn't go astray either if you know where I could get one of those?'

[OOC: Forgot to deduct money for the outfit - any idea how much it would cost Four?]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

The guards run to fetch the masters.

They return with master Khukhit, black of beard. He is carrying two crossbows loaded with wooden stakes and an axe with a silver edge.

"This better be good vampire, or you're meeting a quick end."

One? There's only one of you? No...no this won't do...I can't make a deal with only one, there have to be more or this makes no sense, I say 'i have a bunch of Vergedain's blood and one drop will grant the faithful an audience with your god' and you say 'Othegre how can we ever thank you' and I say 'of each of the three questions your clerics get, one of them is mine' and you say 'why that's a lot of questions' because, you know, there's more than one of you and I say 'i need a lot of answers' and we both laugh and you ask why your own cleric didn't bring you any of this stuff back and I say 'i guess he's still finding his feet in the Clericing business' and you laugh and repeat 'finding his feet' because we didn't, we didn't find his feet, or his arms, but I think he kept the ear that fell off and you say 'why don't you drink it yourself?' and I remind you that Vergedain is a dwarf god and dwarfs hate vampires, so their God's probably really loathe them and he won't see that I'm doing it for good reasons and he'll probably kill me where I stand if you haven't already and OH NO! Simon was right, I didn't think this through!'

She pauses for a breath she doesn't need.

'so...uh...friends?'

Ekbard leaves the tavern.

ook did i get ny bow ?
    OOC: Sorry, yes. I'll add back in the line

He leaves in the direction of the main gate, looking for the Olsinzor delegate and stops to ask a guard directions.
    "That way lad, ten trailers and two palanquins. Fancy as humans go." he points across the square from the temple of Vergadain.

'Thank you muchly! I see Mr Legs has obtained some rations for me. I think that might be me all ready to go. Unless, would you be able to point me in the direction of someone who could get me a war hammer? I miss the feel of a hammer in my hands. A crossbow and some bolts for it wouldn't go astray either if you know where I could get one of those?'

[OOC: Forgot to deduct money for the outfit - any idea how much it would cost Four?]
    "I can give you the crossbow, as for the warhammer, hold on......" he leaves the store and returns about ten minutes later with a friend.

"It's her who wants it." The friend, clearly a smith hands over a warhammer.

"I want 8GP for that."

Orimrirlums speaks up "And 25GP for the crossbow, I'll throw in 20 bolts for 4GP"

OOC: Standard clothing is 3SP = 0.3GP, so very cheap. I'll assume you got it on the way here.

hello Flak
    we need a magic user for outlr group
    if youblabel these potions for me ill govebyou 300gp or you could join us and ill give you 300 and ill cover the 60’tpnyhe nobels

Bandylegs sighs.

'Back to the masters I suppose.'

He spies Ekbard leaving the tavern.

'OY! Ekbard, come 'ere! I've signed ye up to a challenge laddie... come with me and we'll meet this delegate.'

Bandylegs walks to meet with the Nerosian and explains everything he has been told thus far, including mentioning Kal.

She pauses for a breath she doesn't need.

'so...uh...friends?'
    Khukhit stares at Othegre.

"If that is really Vergadain's blood ye have on your person, the two halves of yer body are getting a divorce. You think you can bribe a Cleric of Vergadain beast?"

He raises his hand and a dull yellow glow emerges from the palm.

"If it is Vergadain's blood hand it over. If not, keep it and don't bother me again. If it is and ye try to keep it, yer dead."

The Osinzir guard, though taller than Khukhit by three feet, steps back in fear of the dwarf.

Bandylegs walks to meet with the Nerosian and explains everything he has been told thus far, including mentioning Kal.
    OOC: In case it wasn't clear, the embassay is across the square from the temple, no need to see the masters. Unless you are going to them for the challenge with Ekbard.

Ekbard goes to the local shop and buys a war horse, saddle, cart, 50 days feed, 5 heavy rope, 2 light rope, block and tackle, 20 preserved rations, two waterskins, a grappeling hook, 20 torches, steel and flint, wineskin filled with wine.

He loads everything in his cart and rides to the front gates and waits.