Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act Two Scene I - Places to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Ekbard get up and approaches the dwarf who uttered the word Neros, and speaks to him with contempt, "You sir, what do you know of 'Neros'?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

"honey, I'm home!" Othegre calls as she arrives back at her room in the inn. The corpse of Saeros doesnt return the greeting.
    "Simon! You were right, you were so right - guardsmen just can't resist an opportunity to clean their teeth. And oh! I can't even begin to tell you... Those are flies! Its not the same! So look, it's time for that thing we discussed. Pack up. This could go horribly wrong."

She decants half a wineskin worth of the 'god blood' into her waterskin, then stands into her armour so it can snap fast around her.

"My lady, let me know if my course is true"
    The charm, newly installed inside her left wrist, tells her nothing. Not a no, but not a good sign.
    "Nir, stay here. If I'm not back by day break, find your pack."

She swings by the bank to deposit some trinkets, a spell book, a key, two waterskins. And gold. Lots of gold.

She returns to the front gate and, donning her blood soaked cloak, approaches the guards.
    "My good sir! I am Othegre Godslayer! Take me to your leader!" She declares, grabbing him by the collar and flashing her fangs out to full extension. "I think they'll want to hear what I have to say."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

OldGoat wrote: »
    He smiles and bows diplomatically allowing the members of the carriage decide which spell he should use. Having a nobles* approval could open many doors.

OOC: I'm in the running for a Noble Prize in Magic! BaDumTish
    "This nude lake one, what does it involve? I think we'd enjoy it" a handsome dark haired noble enquires, lounging on his recliner.

sKeith wrote: »
    Ekbard get up and approaches the dwarf who uttered the word Neros, and speaks to him with contempt, "You sir, what do you know of 'Neros'?"
    The dwarves rapidly argue among themselves, Ekbard makes out "brizag", the dwarvish for human.

One of the other dwarves speaks "He meant nothing, just explaining that ye were Nerosian, he knows the accent."

Banjo wrote: »
    She returns to the front gate and, donning her blood soaked cloak, approaches the guards.
    "My good sir! I am Othegre Godslayer! Take me to your leader!" She declares, grabbing him by the collar and flashing her fangs out to full extension. "I think they'll want to hear what I have to say."
    "No" says the guard pushing Othegre back. "We know your kind in Osinzir, you are a young vampire. You do not intimidate me."

He adopts a defensive stance, his halberd pointed at the ground and hilt high above his head.

"Try me beast"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Fourier wrote: »
    "Dwacatra has had a riot, as we said. What we didn't say was that the riot is headed by Doraggen Dragonslayer. A gold dragon hunter, he has almost brought them to extinction, an incredibly ruthless and cruel dwarf. We would advise not confronting him.

No, we simply require that old records are removed from the prison. The prisons annals contain obscure information, in the early years many strange prisoners were housed there, when we were friendly with the elves. Details on them may prove useful in the years to come.

Also an ancient idol of our race, a granite statue. We need it taken from the prison before Doraggen learns of it. We would not like him to get his hands on it. It can be found in the old guard station #5 on the prisons 4th floor.

If you can only perform one of these tasks, ensure it is the latter."

'Dragonslayer? Pah! I bet he never met Citra. Very well. I shall see it done, ne'er worry about that. And should this....Dragonslayer and I cross paths... I may have to introduce him to me axe.'

Bandylegs turns to the thief who's name he still hasn't learned.

'I didn't catch yer name laddie. Ye think ye can get me into the prison the way ye got out? We can discuss it on the road anyhap.'

Bandylegs loosens his coin purse a little and pulls out 300GP, tossing it to the man.

'Here, a little extra to make sure ye know I'm serious about ye helpin' me. Feel free to kit yersel' out. Dinnae be worryin' about armour though, I've a studded leather in me pack that will fit ye just fine.'

He turns back to the masters and bows.

'Thankee masters. Now, I'll be takin' me leave o'ye. Dinnae ferget our deal regardin' the dwarf and the fighter. Bandylegs be a dwarf o'his word, just as I'm sure ye are!'

Bandylegs pauses for a short prayer and leaves the temple, heading in the direction of the limbsmiths.

The dwarves rapidly argue among themselves, Ekbard makes out "brizag", the dwarvish for human.

One of the other dwarves speaks "He meant nothing, just explaining that ye were Nerosian, he knows the accent."

Ekbard, in a more calm and gentler tone, asks how he knows the accent, and has he come across any other Nerosians recently.

Necrominus wrote: »
    'Thankee masters. Now, I'll be takin' me leave o'ye. Dinnae ferget our deal regardin' the dwarf and the fighter. Bandylegs be a dwarf o'his word, just as I'm sure ye are!'

Bandylegs pauses for a short prayer and leaves the temple, heading in the direction of the limbsmiths.
    The main master grabs BandyLegs after his prayer.

"Just before you leave us fellow Cleric. We must know. In the temple, did you...no, eh....there is a certain room...."

He collects himself.

"The Judge, did you encounter him, yes or no?"

Ekbard, in a more calm and gentler tone, asks how he knows the accent, and has he come across any other Nerosians recently.
    The dwarf turns out to be an adventurer, he has raided the odd ancient site himself, nearly met his end at the hands of a wraith. He explains that a small group of Nerosians had arrived in town, no more than three, of which the man Ekbard spoke with was one".

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,064 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

The main master grabs BandyLegs after his prayer.

"Just before you leave us fellow Cleric. We must know. In the temple, did you...no, eh....there is a certain room...."

He collects himself.

"The Judge, did you encounter him, yes or no?"

'Nay. Sadly The Butcher ripped off me arms 'fore we could explore anymore. My comrades killed The Twins.... they froze me in place. I didn't get a bad feel from them, but my friends are... quick to act. Especially the halfling who's youth belies his speed and combat ability.

The Butcher was taken down by the Nerosian... but not afore he killed Xanthea... the elf, Saeros - one of his kind, truly, an elf even the great masters would have enjoyed with time. The Nerosian saved me after The Butcher ripped my arms from my body.

We encountered another creature... a foul beast with fangs who said she could not harm us in the light...she also told us about The Judge. With me injuries and the party weakened, twas safer, and smarter to escape afore any more harm befell us.

Why would ye ask?'

The dwarf turns out to be an adventurer, he has raided the odd ancient site himself, nearly met his end at the hands of a wraith. He explains that a small group of Nerosians had arrived in town, no more than three, of which the man Ekbard spoke with was one".
    "Well dwarf, would you be interested in goin' adventuring again? Spoils will be a plenty, I could offerer you a retainer of 2gp per day or a share in any spoils we encounter, your choice. I could use someone who is not afraid of traveling long distances away from home, no homesick prone people may apply."

'Nay.
    "Thank Vergadain" he looks to have tears in his eyes. He embraces BandyLegs. "I am glad brother dwarf."
    The Butcher was taken down by the Nerosian...
    He is shocked at this. "I suspect you have won our bet. The Butcher was a renowned fighter in his day. Jhgis III in life, he fought one of our elite units singlehandedly. Outstanding for a royal raised in a life of leisure.
    We encountered another creature... a foul beast with fangs who said she could not harm us in the light...she also told us about The Judge. With me injuries and the party weakened, twas safer, and smarter to escape afore any more harm befell us.

Why would ye ask?'
    "We know this one. She is cruel beyond words, but she can be fought, we have ignored her. Content that she cannot leave the tomb...

...but the Judge is dangerous. Cold and dangerous. Promise me fellow dwarf no matter the treasures within that tomb, you will never return. We have not dealt with him for 300 years. The measures in place ensure he can never leave. No riches, even the ones he was buried with, the wealth of a kingdom, are worth meeting the being or risking his release."

The master looks genuinely concerned for BandyLegs.

Bandylegs nods solemnly.

'I have ne'er a wish to return to the mountain top, dinnae worry abou' that. Two friends we lost on the top. One on the way up... or so we thought... and fer good on the way back down.

Too many deaths and memories fer me up there. Nay, I shall not return. Unless Vergadain wills it, o'course. Ye understand I'm sure.'

Bandylegs decides to test whether his telepathy has worn off or not yet on the dwarf.

"Well dwarf, would you be interested in goin' adventuring again? Spoils will be a plenty, I could offerer you a retainer of 2gp per day or a share in any spoils we encounter, your choice. I could use someone who is not afraid of traveling long distances away from home, no homesick prone people may apply."
    The dwarf leaps from the table.

"Aye, it's part of who I am, the raiding and adventuring life calls me. You have the service of Kidunli Mudshoulder."

Kidunli Mudshoulder:
    Level 2 Dwarf.

STR: 10
    DEX: 12
    CON: 10
    INT: 9
    WIS: 9
    CHA: 11

Studded Leather.

AC: 5
    HP: 10

Too many deaths and memories fer me up there. Nay, I shall not return. Unless Vergadain wills it, o'course. Ye understand I'm sure.'

Bandylegs decides to test whether his telepathy has worn off or not yet on the dwarf.
    He finds the power has left him.

The dwarf leaps from the table.

"Aye, it's part of who I am, the raiding and adventuring life calls me. You have the service of Kidunli Mudshoulder."
    "Excellent Kidunli, whats your favoured weapon?"

OOC: :( Was worth a shot. As an aside, we're going to have about 8/10 dwarves in the party at this rate :pac::pac:

OOC: Probably 10, that way you get a Sergeant.

"No" says the guard pushing Othegre back. "We know your kind in Osinzir, you are a young vampire. You do not intimidate me."

He adopts a defensive stance, his halberd pointed at the ground and hilt high above his head.

"Try me beast"

She walks over to the nearest drain, holds up her waterskin and counts
    Oh wait I forgot to mention, I have half a waterskin full of Vergedain's blood 65432

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

"This nude lake one, what does it involve? I think we'd enjoy it" a handsome dark haired noble enquires, lounging on his recliner.

"Sir. With the aid of my magics I can withstand the chill of yon ice rimmed lake. I propose,with your indulgence gents, that I can stay immersed in the water while each of you also take a turn, in turns in the water.
    I shall outlast all 4 of you. I shall enter the water and one by one each of you shall too. When the last of you steps out to be swaddled in warm clothing I shall stay for another 5 minutes in the water unharmed by the cold.
    I hope that this trick will satisfy."

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Banjo wrote: »
    She walks over to the nearest drain, holds up her waterskin and counts
    Oh wait I forgot to mention, I have half a waterskin full of Vergedain's blood 65432
    The Osinzir helping to guard the gate cares not. The dwarves nearby however...

"Woooooooow, hold on, hold on, HOLD ON!!!! You went to the temple, didn't you? You have bloody what?!!! Don't do it."

OldGoat wrote: »
    "Sir. With the aid of my magics I can withstand the chill of yon ice rimmed lake. I propose,with your indulgence gents, that I can stay immersed in the water while each of you also take a turn, in turns in the water.
    I shall outlast all 4 of you. I shall enter the water and one by one each of you shall too. When the last of you steps out to be swaddled in warm clothing I shall stay for another 5 minutes in the water unharmed by the cold.
    I hope that this trick will satisfy."
    "Oh goodie! Let's do it!"

They all head out to the lake, but have a change of mood.

"Good lord even this Northern weather is too much. Perhaps you alone may enter the lake. Surely it cannot be done."

Shaking his head at the loss of this power, he bows again to the dwarf and bids his leave.

He heads for the limbsmiths.

'Good day, laddie, I wanted to thank ye fer restoring me functionalities. I just have a few questions. We got hit by an avalanche on the mountain above us, and it knocked me legs clean off.

Now, I be hopin not to encounter such again in me life, but I have a lad with me who were able to fix me up till I got back here at least. He be skilled, but not like us dwarves. Any chance ye could show him the ropes afore he leaves in case o'the worst?

Or... if ye have an apprentice smith I'd be happy ter take him along fer the trip with me, show 'im the world. I'll pay his salary, kit him out and teach him how ter fight as well. As long as he can fix me up should anythin happen me I dinnae mind... and there'd be coin in it fer yerself as well as a finder's fee....'

Bandylegs opens his purse again and places 100GP worth of gems on the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

"Oh goodie! Let's do it!"

They all head out to the lake, but have a change of mood.

"Good lord even this Northern weather is too much. Perhaps you alone may enter the lake. Surely it cannot be done."
    Flak pauses momentarily focusing on the elusive power within him, shaping it to his will. His fingers form the shapes required to harness that power. He feel a familiar rush of joy as the magic starts to shift, to bend to his desire. He murmurs the words to complete the spell.
    Grinning at the courtiers he quickly removes his clothing and walks waist deep into the lake and proceeds to wash himself, cracking through the thin sheet of ice to reach the pure waters of the lake.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

The Osinzir helping to guard the gate cares not. The dwarves nearby however...

"Woooooooow, hold on, hold on, HOLD ON!!!! You went to the temple, didn't you? You have bloody what?!!! Don't do it."

ONE!
    Oh sorry, in all the excitement I think I lost the run of myself. Bandylegs McGillilicuddy is a cleric of Vergedain. He can't be the only one. I want to speak to the others. You... have got others? Because if you don't have others.." she giggles "...well I don't know what we'll do, I mean most probably I'll have to charm this fellow " (she jerks her thumb at the Osinzir) "into murdering a couple of you while I make good my escape and what kind of night out would that be? Fetch a few of them, be a darling - I'll wait"

Ooc : why are the Osinzir guarding the gates to Dwarrowtown? Didn't they only just get here? Or did we move and I missed it? Was a busy evening and I was operating at reduced capacity :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

The other halflings scoff.

"Look a northerner. Our race seems to not agree with the Northern climes."

The Osinzir weaponer turns.

"Ignore them. You're all halflings to me. You have come for something, weapons I would imagine. Aren't you a bit young for adventuring?"

Age is just a number of potions . I’m looking for the finest bow any bow man has ever bent and I have coin to match also I’m looking for these randonnpotions to be labled
    Finally I’ve grown fond of these (shows the man an xploding arrow) but can you advise better or different
    its not that coin is no object
    but ill be making anyonewho impresses me a good offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Bandylegs turns to the thief who's name he still hasn't learned.

'I didn't catch yer name laddie. Ye think ye can get me into the prison the way ye got out? We can discuss it on the road anyhap.'

Bandylegs loosens his coin purse a little and pulls out 300GP, tossing it to the man.

'Here, a little extra to make sure ye know I'm serious about ye helpin' me. Feel free to kit yersel' out. Dinnae be worryin' about armour though, I've a studded leather in me pack that will fit ye just fine.'
    'Oh! I assumed you knew my name since you sought me out! It's Kalgay Sharpshard. My friends call me Kal. We can discuss the rock when we're out of the city and away from prying eyes.
    I thank ye for the coin. Is there somewhere you want to meet when I'm ready?'

Mollyb60 wrote:
    'Oh! I assumed you knew my name since you sought me out! It's Kalgay Sharpshard. My friends call me Kal. We can discuss the rock when we're out of the city and away from prying eyes. I thank ye for the coin. Is there somewhere you want to meet when I'm ready?'

'Aye, a warrior by the name o'Ekbard is in the tavern. We'll all be meetin there afore we head out. Pleased ter meet ye Kal. The rest o'the party be Moy, a cleric of Nír, Goodie, the veteran halfling- dinnae let his size fool ye, he can take the eye from a crow at 500 feet with his bow. And.... Othegre. She be...different. Ye'll find out yerself how different.
    We had others but they fell in battle. I be hopin the same fate not afall ye laddie...'

Bandylegs turns and leaves for the limbsmiths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Kal feels a little giddy with 300Gp in his hands. He heads first to the first alehouse he can find and has a hearty meal (of NOT stew) and a good ale. With his belly full for the first time in ages, he sets off to the nearest tailor to get himself a fine outfit for his new escapade. [OOC: no idea how much regular clothes would cost?]
    Once outfitted, he then gets down to business and heads to Orimrirlums to equip himself with the necessary tools.
    'Master Orimrirlums I presume? I've heard you're the finest maker of tools for people of a certain skillset? I'm in need of your best set of thieves tools. Cost isn't an option.'

"Excellent Kidunli, whats your favoured weapon?"
    "A warhammer sir, definitely the warhammer."