Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stellar XLM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Did you buy any? I got only 1500 free which is under 200 euros

If people got them and then forgot about them then they'll be gone as there was a time where you had to transfer from a username / pass based account to private and public key

what service did you use to cash out? I'm holding onto mine longer term anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

If people got them and then forgot about them then they'll be gone as there was a time where you had to transfer from a username / pass based account to private and public key

I had over 2200 from doing the sharing around trick at the the start.

Transferred them into Bitrrex this morn and sold them for 320 usd worth of bitcoin. I forgot all about them.

Quite happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Yeah, I lost mine.

I fecking sold my only litecoin last week and was disgusted over the last few days.

This has cheered me right up. back in the game..

wahey up a dacent amount today

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Offside

I had completely forgot about this and I was able to upgrade my account and hold onto my lumens. I have 4400 all got for free, is this seriously worth around €750 now?

Yes nice one

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Offside

Wow. I’ll hold onto them I guess and see where the value goes.

Offside wrote: »
    I had completely forgot about this and I was able to upgrade my account and hold onto my lumens. I have 4400 all got for free, is this seriously worth around €750 now?

When did you upgrade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,898 ✭✭✭daheff

When did you upgrade?

How can I check what I've got (if anything?)

daheff wrote: »
    How can I check what I've got (if anything?)

Login. I can't remember my password.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭whampiri

My original account says that I've 500 lumens but when I upgraded my account it says I've zero and need to transfer 21 to another account to activate the account. Do I need to buy these? Where and how to I buy and transfer these?

Offside wrote: »

Merry Christmas:):):):)

Login. I can't remember my password.

Next (stupid) question....,where do i login? Whats the site?

For someone with no existing exchange accounts, what's the fastest way to get these sold and into my bank account?

...did you even sign up back in 2014?? See the first post above for the link to the original thread.

I got into it here

https://launch.stellar.org/#/login

and here for the new site

https://www.stellar.org/account-viewer/

...did you even sign up back in 2014?? See the first post above for the link to the original thread.

yeah i did.

i got mails from them since 2014....including recovery code which does not work :(

damn it

ok...so managed to login. Needed the secret key which i finally found it.

have 1,100.999951 lumens :D

whats that worth? 50cent?

€200ish

Ah well done. I got nuthin'. :D

At least they're letting me try every password I can think of.

Ah well done. I got nuthin'. :D

At least they're letting me try every password I can think of.

nah...you need the secret key

i logged in the below site

https://www.stellar.org/account-viewer/#!/

which asked for secret key.....that was the only way i could get in.

For someone with no existing exchange accounts, what's the fastest way to get these sold and into my bank account?

You might have to join a trading site called Bittrex.

Change them into bitcoin.
    https://stellarorg.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003913323-Sending-lumens-XLM-to-Bittrex

Then join coinbase and move them into your bank.

Or hold them for the next Bitcoin pump.

Then change them.

Im sure there may be a simpler way, but thats what I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,777 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Fair play to whomever created the original thread - I only partook at the time to see what was going on. I've a total of 500 odd that I've moved to my Bitrex account in the past few days. Thankfully I have been following the various instructions over the years and kept up to speed with the changes.
    I've another 500 odd in a seperate account which hasn't been upgraded however I am working on sorting that out now.

I think I'll hold onto them all for the minute anyway.

kippy wrote: »
    Fair play to whomever created the original thread - I only partook at the time to see what was going on. I've a total of 500 odd that I've moved to my Bitrex account in the past few days. Thankfully I have been following the various instructions over the years and kept up to speed with the changes.
    I've another 500 odd in a seperate account which hasn't been upgraded however I am working on sorting that out now.

I think I'll hold onto them all for the minute anyway.

I just bought back into them.

Might be a winner.

I just bought back into them.

Might be a winner.

Lumens are inflationary though. There's already a supply of almost 18 billion Lumens and that supply is increasing at 1% per annum.

I've moved to my Bitrex account in the past few days.

how did you find bitrex? I've not seen any great reviews online

actually see that Bittrex has halted new account applications!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Use Bittrex and havent had any issues. Made my account a while back though

No problems but I've been using it for a few months now and not just lumen. They've recently started stopping and reviewing US based accounts I think but not general accounts.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Coinsguy

Could be big news tomorrow at their talk in Hong Kong. Worth putting some money in to I reckon.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Sweet, I have 900 of these yokes! Any reason why I might be wary of sending these to Kraken? It all seems too handy to be given free momey like this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

1451 of them. Worth $400. Somehow in two different wallets. Might hold onto them a bit as they cost me nothing and I’ve no plan for them.

I keep getting transaction failed. Anyone any ideas what the problem might be? I'm getting charged the transaction fee every time I try...

EDIT: I figured out my mistake. I had left the required 20 XLM in the account but hadn't left enough for the transaction fee (.00001XLM). In case anyone else has the same issue.

My 881 new XLM are worth about €210 In my Kraken account. I did literally nothing except sign up for a stellar account in 2014. I can't remember in the slightest why I did and I'm 100% sure I didn't do the sharing craic others in the OP's thread were doing. What a lovely result.

There are a few wishful projections of $2-5 dollars for XLM, imagine that for doing nutin'??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

I have the following from 2014 signup

Your balance:

600.999963 lumens

I have no idea how any of this works

benjamin d wrote: »
    I keep getting transaction failed. Anyone any ideas what the problem might be? I'm getting charged the transaction fee every time I try...

EDIT: I figured out my mistake. I had left the required 20 XLM in the account but hadn't left enough for the transaction fee (.00001XLM). In case anyone else has the same issue.

My 881 new XLM are worth about €210 In my Kraken account. I did literally nothing except sign up for a stellar account in 2014. I can't remember in the slightest why I did and I'm 100% sure I didn't do the sharing craic others in the OP's thread were doing. What a lovely result.

There are a few wishful projections of $2-5 dollars for XLM, imagine that for doing nutin'??
    Hard to know where the value will go. But at the end of the day they didn't cost anything so not too relevant.

Relevant to selling now and putting the money elsewhere or holding to be fair..

Crystal ball stuff. No relevance once you didn't put real money into them in the first instance.
    These Cryptos are random enough from what I can tell.

I'm not selling these anyway. If they go to nothing then easy come easy go. If they really moon and go 3, 4 or even 5(!) figures then we'll all party. Can't lose :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

I'm not selling these anyway. If they go to nothing then easy come easy go. If they really moon and go 3, 4 or even 5(!) figures then we'll all party. Can't lose :)

Stellar Boards Meet . We drink it all :)

There's already a supply of almost 18 billion Lumens and increasing, to reach 4 figures now, the market cap would have to be $18 trillion! That's about 30 times larger than all cryptocurrencies in existence today combined. :pac:

How does one explain any value attached to these at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

How does one explain any value attached to these at all?

No one cares!

As long as the next fella pays more, our coins go up in value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Dohnjoe wrote: »
    No one cares!

As long as the next fella pays more, our coins go up in value

Nobody will sanely look at a coin with a 20 quadrillion market cap and take it seriously.

Some care.

grindle wrote: »
    Nobody will sanely look at a coin with a 20 quadrillion market cap and take it seriously.

Some care.

Why is there any value attached to them at all?

That's an interesting question!

The coins need to be bought in order to enable their economic use (if it's that kind of token, like XLM or XRP) and for as long as the users believe that it'll get use institutionally, they'll pile on with the belief that large MNCs will start buying them for their own use re: International monetary movement and liquidity, and that'll drive the price up. And so it does.

There's always an equilibrium at the top where people get burnt no matter what the coin or token does. Same with shares in a company - somebody always buys the top and gets rekt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

You could ask the same about any crypto. Indeed, you could ask the same about gold. It has very little intrinsic value.

It's a completely open secondary market where people can potentially make serious bank buying/selling/holding articially created digital assets

Some of them do stuff, some don't, some are even used by industry, but generally speaking it's the "get rich" and "make money" parts that attract the vast bulk of interest

It's the unregulated casino of investment, everything else looks boring in comparison

generally speaking it's the "get rich" and "make money" parts that attract the vast bulk of interest.

...every investment ever.

grindle wrote: »
    ...every investment ever.

Except that many of these investments are supposed to be currencies, which are the opposite of investment instruments

So for all this blurb about crypto-"currencies", the market says **** that, and treats them like speculative digital precious metals

Except that many of these investments are supposed to be currencies, which are the opposite of investment instruments

So for all this blurb about crypto-"currencies", the market says **** that, and treats them like speculative digital precious metals

It's still very much in the growing stage. This kind of volatility will die down as their use grows, and, yeah, the speculative stage is very much like the gold rush, but once it really starts bearing down and taking over it'll start working just like cash. Don't worry about it!
    Plus it democratises IPOs. That's good, no?