Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,510 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

24852380_10155589384015189_5926229662323030353_n.jpg?oh=f3ba48753692f4a933a440830a2e309d&oe=5A8C2118

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

coolhull wrote: »
    Kerri-Anne loses her cool the other night and shouts at Ama (something like) : " You think you're great, an angel of the nursing profession.
    But you're just a sad, judgemental, interfering cow. You're an unpleasant busybody, who can't keep a man of your own, and you gets your kicks out of meddling in other people's love lives. You'll end up with no man, no career, and no mates, just a dried-up lonely old cow. We all know that that's exactly what you deserve.
    And just one more thing, Ama. Please can we still be friends?"
    Boy, those retired Army fellas are made of strong stuff.
    Robbie threatens Dan, a former Army lieutenant ( now a semi - paraplegic cripple , facing the rest of his life in a wheelchair ) then grabs him roughly by the throat, yanks him out of his wheelchair, and throws him to the ground, then presumably stamps on his useless, damaged spine, bangs his head against a solid floor and finally kicks him in the n*ts.
    Of course, Dan, thanks to his magnificent training in the Curragh, tosses aside such insignificant assaults, and lifts himself from the ground, with nothing to show from his prolonged, vicious beating other than a slight nosebleed.
    Ex-Army guys? Don't mess with 'em!
    Ah, Doug, God bless his twisty little head.
    Between plumbing jobs, he now appears to working in the Coffee Dock of the community centre.
    The other night, after clearing that awkward blockage in the upstairs toilet with his bare hands, he came straight back down to serve coffee and refreshments to the poor dumb extras queuing up at the counter.
    None of this ''wash your hands " nonsense for our Dougie.
    " Yes, Ma'am. Coffee and Banoffi pie? Certainly. D'ya want cream with that? "
    Rightly or wrongly, Doug always maintains that soap is for wimps.
    Why can't real-life be more like Fair City?

.... All right, things may not have happened exactly as I outlined above, but I'm probably not far wrong.....

Bang on the money birthday boy :D
    24852380_10155589384015189_5926229662323030353_n.jpg?oh=f3ba48753692f4a933a440830a2e309d&oe=5A8C2118

Me right now

Hopefully she will wear her little santa dress again this year on christmas day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

Funny thing is, I'm teetotal - not because I'm a recovering alcoholic, or anything as FC like as that, but because i never really liked drink, nor did I like what it did to the contents of my wallet, so I just gave it up. (I thought I'd get a fitness type like Laura, or I'd even have been happy with someone like Jane) But Carol????:confused: I'm the furthest thing from that yoke in the world, as I suspect is everyone who did the quiz and got herself, Paul, or as someone mentioned bloody Ben! :D:D:D

The first time I did it I got Carol. The second time I changed my answer on the Bishop question to "I'm a little pipsqueak" and got Ben. :D

Christ. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭branie2

For a second there, I thought that was the Christmas RTE guide

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

youwould wrote: »
    Christ. :rolleyes:

I bet you still would though :pac:

If she didn't talk, yes. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

You're gas, MsWesterois... I'd have matched you with....... None of them, you're unique :D

I can see some of meself in Carol, cigarettes and booze and a bit of involvement with crooks...... But I'm grand now, cut off 1/3 of that carry-on. :)
    Thanks, but I'd say more insane myself :P It's Fair City, or rather, watching it, it does strange things to the brain! :D

Actually, I do smoke the odd fag, but I never go over the ten a day mark. Tis just the chainsmoking, drink, the crying and screaming like a banshee to a crowd who don't give a f**k about ''wha' Trigger did to me'', breaking down every now and again about my dead son, who normally, when I'm on a fairly even keel, I forget existed for a while, forgetting my six year old exists and always getting my hairband wearing mother in law to mind him, when I do remember him, the violent, jealous outbursts, the inappropriate clothing - jaysus but I hate that red top she wear with the slashes in it, teamed with the leather skirt - looking like I permanently suck lemons for a living and beating the crap out of the poor young one I thought was after my husband.

A frightening thought just occurred - maybe I'm really Miriam..... I'm fond of that auld healing circle :P

What is your favorite Fair City theme?
    For me it's 2005 and I'd say current one is the one I like the least!

nagdefy wrote: »
    Did he really sing Carrickfergus?!! I must have missed that!
    He did - or a bit of it - the time he was stalking Judith. He was sitting in his car looking at - I can't be sure, but I think it was a picture of the farm in Kilkenny he was planning on buying for himself and Judith (even though she was with Bob back then) and he might have had a picture of her too - can't rightly remember whether he had or not. It was just that part of it that goes, ''In Kilkenny, it is reported, they've marble stone there as black as ink'' or something to that effect. Sorry if I butchered the song and got the lines wrong, but that's what it sounded like to me. I think he had the shotgun in the car at the time too. :D

I kind of like the 1989 one, not because it's great to look at, but because my mam said it was a lot more down to earth back then and had good older characters who were more realistic, and that Charlie Kelly was a lazy, fella who liked backing the horses and hanging out in McCoys with his friend/partner in ''crime'' (no crime, really, they used to just dodge the Social Welfare and stuff), Paddy Clarke. I hate the newest one, I agree with you on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

1996 for me. It's the most iconic. They all bring back memories though.

happyday wrote: »
    1996 for me. It's the most iconic. They all bring back memories though.

The 1996 one really reminds me of being a child and Kay Mccoy for some reason!

96 for me, 2005 one is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I really like the 1996 one and the current one after that. Don’t like the other two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭I-like-eggs,mmm

1996 is the most memorable one for me. It just sticks out the most. They’ve been using the current theme tune for YEARS!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

2005 very 'Celtic Tiger'.

All others ok.

nagdefy wrote: »
    2005 very 'Celtic Tiger'.

All others ok.

I really associate the 2005 one with this story in 2005!
    I'd love if they did something similar again.

For the next two weeks, Fair City, will break from its normal storylines for a dramatic two week special entitled “Sins of our Children”. The plot revolves around Mondo O’Connell (George McMahon) and will result in his departure from the soap. The episodes will be broadcast in the usual Fair City time-slot at 8.00pm, between […]

For the next two weeks, Fair City, will break from its normal storylines for a dramatic two week special entitled “Sins of our Children”. The plot revolves around Mondo O’Connell (George McMahon) and will result in his departure from the soap. The episodes will be broadcast in the usual Fair City time-slot at 8.00pm, between Tuesday 26th July and Sunday 7th of August on RTÉ One, and will include a dramatic one-hour episode on Thursday 28th of July at 8.00pm.

As the story begins, Mondo is becoming involved with a few of Lauren’s (Rachel Kavanagh) friends who are embroiled in insider trading. They’re young, rich and arrogant and are using information gleaned from their wealthy and influential parents for their own benefit. Between them they have amassed millions which are hidden away in offshore accounts.

The group consists of Jake (Billy Carter), Finn (Ciaran Fitzgerald), Emmet (Colin O’Donoghue) and Avril (Orla O’Rourke). Jake is the brains of the operation, a Machiavellian character who is adept at manipulating the group. He’s also blackmailing Finn, supplying him with heroin while at the same time threatening to go public with his addiction.

However, things quickly unravel for the group when Finn is murdered at a party in Emmet’s house. One person holds the key to what has happened: Mondo. He witnesses Finn’s death from a bedroom window. No one believes his account though, as Jake busily spins a web of lies in attempt to cover his tracks.

To make matters worse, the Office of Corporate Enforcement notice something amiss in some of their companies’ transactions and the investigation leads them to Emmet.

Mondo and Lauren rekindle their relationship. The reunion is short-lived, however, when Mondo finally admits the real reason for their break-up. He begs for forgiveness and tries to warn her about Jake. But it’s Jake that Lauren chooses to believe. Jake remains worried though – Mondo needs to be silenced if Jake’s to keep out of trouble with the law.

George McMahon has decided to take a break from the Fair City but may return at some point in the future. He is twenty years of age and has been in the soap for three years. During this time George has been involved in some of the soaps more popular soaplines such as his on/off relationship with Kira Cassidy, the birth of their daughter Juliet, and his transition from apprentice mechanic to burgeoning business tycoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

You know the way they often say soap stars let the "fame" go to their heads and start acting like entitled egotistical d!ckheads? I get that vibe off George McMahon in spades, id say hes exactly the type of guy who thinks that hes someone. The type who struts down the street expecting to be recognized and using the line "Don't you know who I am?" despite him being nobody. Him and Orla I get that feeling from very much.

Even though George McMahon tried to break Hollywood but failed as is now back where he started...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Speaking of LA, I had been under the impression she had been an actual Playboy Bunny but it seems she was merely invited to the mansion as a guest to parties a few times. She spoke in an interview with the Indo of going there to pursue a career in acting, modelling and TV presenting but it appears she spent only three months in LA during one summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

How old is Karen? Is she definitely not Robbie's? I've only been watching sporadically

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    How old is Karen? Is she definitely not Robbie's? I've only been watching sporadically

They did a DNA test! Karen's mother had a fair idea that Dan was the father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

You know the way they often say soap stars let the "fame" go to their heads and start acting like entitled egotistical d!ckheads? I get that vibe off George McMahon in spades, id say hes exactly the type of guy who thinks that hes someone. The type who struts down the street expecting to be recognized and using the line "Don't you know who I am?" despite him being nobody. Him and Orla I get that feeling from very much.

Even though George McMahon tried to break Hollywood but failed as is now back where he started...

I saw George in Greece the musical a few years ago, he was very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I really associate the 2005 one with this story in 2005!
    I'd love if they did something similar again.

For the next two weeks, Fair City, will break from its normal storylines for a dramatic two week special entitled “Sins of our Children”. The plot revolves around Mondo O’Connell (George McMahon) and will result in his departure from the soap. The episodes will be broadcast in the usual Fair City time-slot at 8.00pm, between […]

For the next two weeks, Fair City, will break from its normal storylines for a dramatic two week special entitled “Sins of our Children”. The plot revolves around Mondo O’Connell (George McMahon) and will result in his departure from the soap. The episodes will be broadcast in the usual Fair City time-slot at 8.00pm, between Tuesday 26th July and Sunday 7th of August on RTÉ One, and will include a dramatic one-hour episode on Thursday 28th of July at 8.00pm.

As the story begins, Mondo is becoming involved with a few of Lauren’s (Rachel Kavanagh) friends who are embroiled in insider trading. They’re young, rich and arrogant and are using information gleaned from their wealthy and influential parents for their own benefit. Between them they have amassed millions which are hidden away in offshore accounts.

The group consists of Jake (Billy Carter), Finn (Ciaran Fitzgerald), Emmet (Colin O’Donoghue) and Avril (Orla O’Rourke). Jake is the brains of the operation, a Machiavellian character who is adept at manipulating the group. He’s also blackmailing Finn, supplying him with heroin while at the same time threatening to go public with his addiction.

However, things quickly unravel for the group when Finn is murdered at a party in Emmet’s house. One person holds the key to what has happened: Mondo. He witnesses Finn’s death from a bedroom window. No one believes his account though, as Jake busily spins a web of lies in attempt to cover his tracks.

To make matters worse, the Office of Corporate Enforcement notice something amiss in some of their companies’ transactions and the investigation leads them to Emmet.

Mondo and Lauren rekindle their relationship. The reunion is short-lived, however, when Mondo finally admits the real reason for their break-up. He begs for forgiveness and tries to warn her about Jake. But it’s Jake that Lauren chooses to believe. Jake remains worried though – Mondo needs to be silenced if Jake’s to keep out of trouble with the law.

George McMahon has decided to take a break from the Fair City but may return at some point in the future. He is twenty years of age and has been in the soap for three years. During this time George has been involved in some of the soaps more popular soaplines such as his on/off relationship with Kira Cassidy, the birth of their daughter Juliet, and his transition from apprentice mechanic to burgeoning business tycoon.

I remember those episodes well. It was a good story. I think only Mondo, Seamus McAleer and McAleer's daughter were the only then regulars to feature. It was 100% focused on that story and there was no annoying filler inner stuff like Kerry Ann's relationship with Decco or the Condors basketball team.

There was another special storyline back then too to feature only a few regulars but I cannot remember it well. It involved Seamus Mannion and his daughter if I recall correctly?

I remember those episodes well. It was a good story. I think only Mondo, Seamus McAleer and McAleer's daughter were the only then regulars to feature. It was 100% focused on that story and there was no annoying filler inner stuff like Kerry Ann's relationship with Decco or the Condors basketball team.

There was another special storyline back then too to feature only a few regulars but I cannot remember it well. It involved Seamus Mannion and his daughter if I recall correctly?

It was something to do with a woman living possibly foreign living in a big house with kids and it I think she was a prostitute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Lollipop95 wrote: »

She's 23 (born 1994) and the DNA test ruled out Robbie as the father.

Jackie too the drunkard, "Any chance chilli boy could stay with you?"

Drunkard: " Oh well I dunno, heathers stuff is still in the spare room..."

Jackie"You'd be doing be a HUGE favor! ;)"

Drunkard then says like a shot"I'll do it!"

SAP!

Oh no please don't let Damien and Doug team up in the I hate Miriam group!
    NAM00764-0010-i-hate-miriam-badge.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭davyboy1975

Jackie too the drunkard, "Any chance chilli boy could stay with you?"

Drunkard: " Oh well I dunno, heathers stuff is still in the spare room..."

Jackie"You'd be doing be a HUGE favor! ;)"

Drunkard then says like a shot"I'll do it!"

SAP!

Given that jackie runs a hotel surely she could give him a room until their house is painted

He's obviously desperate too hang onto her ;)