Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,182 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

in fairness though they only split up because yank thought she had the hots for robbie ... mind you he accused her and said a few bad things to her ... and he's got a terrible accent! - thats enough to dump him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Did anyone else notice that Karen was in the Hungry Pig sunday morning alone and she had 2 empty plates with knifes and forks in front of her despite the fact she was only sipping a coffee?! Who owned the second plate!

I also think when Karen came into it there is no way this big long plan of her thinking Robbie was her dad then the whole Carol suspecting affair/reveal of Dan being a rapist etc was already set in stone. She was brought in as a potential love interest for Sean (remember him?) then she probably impressed producers so they kept her.

In other news, massive spoiler for Manson for the Christmas period episodes:
    Oakley was the father of Miriams child who she lost to cot death and she announces this to everyone in the middle of her group sessions. Elsewhere, Oakley suggests to Emmet that severe action be taken to silence Doug.

Wow, I'm defo tuning in for that!!:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I do hope the group kills Doug because he's so annoying and the smug look he'll have on his face when all is revealed would be annoying!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Karen's back story is a load bollox anyway, super star international dancer my eye, we've never once seen her dance.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Oakley was the father of Miriams child who she lost to cot death and she announces this to everyone in the middle of her group sessions. Elsewhere, Oakley suggests to Emmet that severe action be taken to silence Doug.

Jesus Christ

tenor.gif?itemid=3553140

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭davyboy1975

I see jenny dixon has an agent in america and takes acting classes when she is over there as she helps it helps with her acting and her development.
    Imagine what she be like without them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I see jenny dixon has an agent in america and takes acting classes when she is over there as she helps it helps with her acting and her development.

A fer feck sake, are you serious. I've been watching for years and it's only the scenes with her lately that finally made me give up. I've stayed watching through all of the terribleness and the great stories that were ruined by dragging them on too long (Lucy, Katie, Plan etc etc)

And depressingly FC seem to be going down the exact route I feared with the whole Kerri Ann/Raymond/Decco boreathon with a pregnancy and whos the father. Yawn who didn't see that coming..

If it wasn't for Manson id be gone long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Did anyone else notice that Karen was in the Hungry Pig sunday morning alone and she had 2 empty plates with knifes and forks in front of her despite the fact she was only sipping a coffee?! Who owned the second plate!

I also think when Karen came into it there is no way this big long plan of her thinking Robbie was her dad then the whole Carol suspecting affair/reveal of Dan being a rapist etc was already set in stone. She was brought in as a potential love interest for Sean (remember him?) then she probably impressed producers so they kept her.

Ciaran returns dressed as his sister to save Doug who falls in love with him :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

That Damien is a serious nutcase blaming Miriam for caoimhe leaving him.

He really needs help. Are they planning to turn him into a psycho like his father or what

Poor Hugh Hefner must have called in a lot of favors to get a coach to keep her on the books

She was one of his "bunnies" for anyone that was unaware

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Miriam handled Damien very skillfully.

Are we all reading her wrong? Is she a good person, a counsellor, maybe even a healer.. She looked very relieved that she got through to Damien.. Is she Fair City's own Personal Jesus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

nagdefy wrote: »
    Miriam handled Damien very skillfully.

Are we all reading her wrong? Is she a good person, a counsellor, maybe even a healer.. She looked very relieved that she got through to Damien.. Is she Fair City's own Personal Jesus?

Miriam is someone to hear your prayers. Someone who cares.

EIREDriver wrote: »
    Miriam is someone to hear your prayers. Someone who cares.

Things on your chest
    You need to confess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭js35

Lol at Jackie dressed in a Star Trek uniform :D

It would really throw a spanner in the whole works, the cult etc if she turned out to be genuine.

It would be a missed opportunity by FC.

Just throwing it out there though i'd be 70% sure she's not genuine but you couldn't be definite.

That Damien is a serious nutcase blaming Miriam for caoimhe leaving him.

He really needs help. Are they planning to turn him into a psycho like his father or what

I hope so. I'm praying that he kills Dean/Caoimhe or Tommy then he can be jailed and thrown off the screen, he really is an awful awful yoke of a character and a real scumbag as well. Same old crap every episode, Coaimhe I have a RYE-it to see me DAWWter, big bulgy eyes then tucking his head into his chest.

Fcuk off :rolleyes:

It would really throw a spanner in the whole works, the cult etc if she turned out to be genuine.

Just throwing it out there though i'd be 70% sure she's not genuine but you couldn't be definite.

You are falling for the charms of Manson! No shoes now when you enter the home ha ha

I hope so. I'm praying that he kills Dean/Caoimhe or Tommy then he can be jailed and thrown off the screen, he really is an awful awful yoke of a character and a real scumbag as well. Same old crap every episode, Coaimhe I have a RYE-it to see me DAWWter, big bulgy eyes then tucking his head into his chest.

Fcuk off :rolleyes:

He's not that bad i feel Wanderer. He has a lot of good points. Just the way Fair City are scripting him at present.

Remember during the summer Pete couldn't walk the street without having at least 3 fights. Now he's a nice relaxed gent. Doesn't mind Dolly spending time with Ronan etc. If you didn't see the summer episodes and the craic with the Chilli Peppers, you'd say he was a nice guy.

Likewise with Damo at the moment. He's one big angry mess with the partner gone and worried about losing his child. He's in a bad place and very angry. At another time he can be thoughtful, loyal, warm, big brotherly. Just he's got 6 mts of angry crap he's acting through. He was really good with Mark and Laura after their parents death. He has a lot of baggage, a mother murdered by his father. And then all the stuff at present.

Really 'bad' or 'evil' characters were Billy Meehan, Terence, Paddy Bishop and the like not Head n Shoulders. Though he's a man who could do bad things, though far from a truly bad person.

Carol has been angry and nasty for a lot longer than Damien.

For me a scumbag is a drug pusher, involved in crime, from a really low background who's family members are the same. Ok Mark is nasty but Laura isn't and his mam Tess was a lady.

You are falling for the charms of Manson! No shoes now when you enter the home ha ha

I'm not really, honest:D I fear FC may go down the route of her being reasonably genuine and we'll miss out on serious cult stuff.

Even the earlier Christmas spoiler is very personal stuff for her rather than the cult stepping up a notch.

I suppose Wanderer the nature of cults/gurus etc, many will swear they were helped by them.

It's like some small good comes as a side effect of something that is generally bad or evil.

He's not that bad i feel Wanderer. He has a lot of good points. Just the way Fair City are scripting him at present.

Remember during the summer Pete couldn't walk the street without having at least 3 fights. Now he's a nice relaxed gent. Doesn't mind Dolly spending time with Ronan etc. If you didn't see the summer episodes and the craic with the Chilli Peppers, you'd say he was a nice guy.

Likewise with Damo at the moment. He's one big angry mess with the partner gone and worried about losing his child. He's in a bad place and very angry. At another time he can be thoughtful, loyal, warm, big brotherly. Just he's got 6 mts of angry crap he's acting through. He was really good with Mark and Laura after their parents death. He has a lot of baggage, a mother murdered by his father. And then all the stuff at present.

Really 'bad' or 'evil' characters were Billy Meehan, Terence, Paddy Bishop and the like not Head n Shoulders. Though he's a man who could do bad things, though far from a truly bad person.

Carol has been angry and nasty for a lot longer than Damien.

For me a scumbag is a drug pusher, involved in crime, from a really low background who's family members are the same. Ok Mark is nasty but Laura isn't and his mam Tess was a lady.

An in depth review but correct for sure. Fair City can never be accused of good writhing but you can see why he's going arse ways

I liked how Mark the same mentality re Caoimhe as I was saying here to the family. If I was Damian I would be getting one of those court orders to stop her permanently leaving the country with the child without his consent.

In fact, I think he's automatically the children's guardian anyway as the updated laws were in effect with the last few years so he doesn't need to do that part like father's used have to

That's what annoyed me with Damiens "there's nothing I can do Maaaark!"

Then again Fair City isn't known for their facts, researching or realism

I think with Damien (and i'm no psychologist:D) there's a lot of latent anger from the Suzanne episode.

I'd imagine any man who was beaten by his wife would feel a little..ashamed (which they shouldn't) that's bound to fester too and the anger is a kind of show, asserting his masculinity if you like.. That man would have issues..

An in depth review but correct for sure. Fair City can never be accused of good writhing but you can see why he's going arse ways

I liked how Mark the same mentality re Caoimhe as I was saying here to the family. If I was Damian I would be getting one of those court orders to stop her permanently leaving the country with the child without his consent.

In fact, I think he's automatically the children's guardian anyway as the updated laws were in effect with the last few years so he doesn't need to do that part like father's used have to

That's what annoyed me with Damiens "there's nothing I can do Maaaark!"

Then again Fair City isn't known for their facts, researching or realism

Very good points Jurgen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

They need to give Svetlana a bigger part. She's an absolute stunner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I would love the cult to be genuine just to prove Doug and Pete wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

I was thinking along the same lines. And while we're on the subject of the cult; isn't Oakley a bloomin' doctor??? The writers seem to remind us subtly of this fact - or at least they did - in almost every scene he was in until this episode and the previous one; i.e. him carrying that old fashioned looking doctor's bag around everywhere with him, dressed in a suit and tie. Yet he's hanging around in the pub/Vinos, etc and drinking coffee and pints for the last two episodes! Was he sacked from his job or something, or are doctors' hours really short in Carrigstown??? And he supposedly works at some fictional hospital called St. Catherine's. Who knew that there was more than one hospital (with one single bed ward) in FC - we're all so used to seeing that one doc played by Bob's real life brother who seems to specialise in everything from paediatrics to oncology :P Back to Oakley; I sincerely hope that he is trying to infiltrate Miriam's cult in order to destroy it, but judging from that whipped dog expression of his every time he tries with Damian and fails, and she still doesn't trust him, it looks like it's going to be a sh***y case of him genuinely wanting to make amends with Miriam and desperately wanting to be part of her group. Well, he did finally manage to get Damian back into her fold.... Jaysus, Miriam is one hell of a counsellor, because for once no neck is finally starting to see that his eff up of a life might be his own fault! :D

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

BTW, I think the actor who plays Robbie is wasted in a so-called soap like FC - one of the few genuinely talented actors on the whole show, but that's just my opinion. :)

Just one quick point re tonight's episode: For a dying man, Ronan is really upbeat; must be some great class of anti-depressant he's on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

I honestly dunno what to make of Miriam. Sometimes I think she's completely genuine, other times I think *she believes* she's completely genuine. I also wonder if Oakley could be a red herring and maybe Miriam is the bad guy after all? We'll probably find out at Christmas... Christmas 2018. ;)