The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭nerwen

bee06 wrote: »
    Where in the US were you? I wouldn’t be tarring the whole country with the same brush. I’ve had a ton of good meals in NY but would never go to a restaurant without checking out the reviews on Yelp or Trip Advisor.

I agree in being careful with writing up a whole country as being one particular thing. I've had a lot of good meals on the west Coast (LA and thereabouts) myself.

There's definitely a tendency for everything to be the same shape and flavour if you hit up the typical chains like PF Changs or IHOP, but there's plenty of good places too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

On the west coast.

And yes I was looking at reviews before I went there.

But in the USA they are after food that looks perfect every veg has to look the same and same as the chicken beaf you name it. So to do this they need pump up every Thing with extremely bad stuff. Then I mean everything over there has suger in there food.

When I was there 95% of meet just does not taste of what it should have tasted like. I was eatting food confused and it's all so extramly costly for what you get there as well and Ireland is a bargin for food compare to the USA.

When i got back to Ireland the amount of food I had over a week was nuts. As everything tasted like food !!!!.

Food is very expensive there alright. We went grocery shopping in NY and a head of cabbage was 8 dollars before tax so trying to get the same quality food there as here is going to cost a lot more. We are very lucky over here in terms of the quality of food we have.

I’ve only ever ate something and felt that it wasn’t “right” though and that was in San Francisco in a touristy restaurant when we were in a rush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Gamb!t wrote: »
    Havent been in Il padrino in years and only ever ate there twice.On both occasions I ate there I felt ill next morning.Not sure if it was what I ordered was bad or certain dishes I ordered just wasn't for me but it certainly left me feeling bit short changed with the prices I had to pay.

What put me off ever going there again (years ago, mind) was turning up on time for a booking and being told that there was a mix up and that we would have to come back in 20 minutes,this was despite there being a free table in the restaurant (it must have been for someone more important than us!).

Previous visit we had to wait outside in the rain for our booked table and then I found the food really tasteless.

Not a fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭ofcork

2 new places opening wow burger where wagamama was part of same group apparently and a vegan place in ernests old pod according to the echo.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

ofcork wrote: »
    a vegan place in ernests old pod according to the echo.

Ooh, any more info on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

ofcork wrote: »
    2 new places opening wow burger where wagamama was part of same group apparently and a vegan place in ernests old pod according to the echo.

where is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭ofcork

Just up from electric used to be yellowsub and sugarcube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

got a take out from Flame on Washington st tonight - knew it was a gamble but anyway.. had chicken and ginger stir fry - the chicken flew over it - but lots of ginger - lots of veg - quite greasy - rice was good - but not a patch on Sago - and no free prawn crackers (sage give them free with 2 mains) - +1 got duck something or other - v v greasy - again the duck flew over it..

but we did get one of the meals for €8 - friendly staff.. still when it comes to quality of food, (for this type of cuisine) Sago all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭limnam

Two experiences recently and polar opposites

First Elbow Lane. Quickly making it into my number one place to go in Cork.
    Everything was just outstanding. The nicest T-Bone steak I've ever had. Amazing staff just the perfect amount of attentiveness. Really great cock tails. Great selection in wine and a lovely ambiance to boot. Really can't fault this place.

SpitJack for brunch. First time in and far from impressed.

I hate the seating where you're almost on top of your neighbor and I find it hard to have a conersation when I have one going on either side of me.

We crack on. I order a bloody Mary at 12:15. They don't serve alcohol until 12:30...WTF. Why they couldn't take the order and bring it to me at 12:30.
    I ordered pancakes that came with crispy bacon and when I say crispy I mean cremated and the pancakes were dry and tasteless. Safe to say I won't be back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Good someone else is saying the same things as me qbout SpitJack.

I had the very same stuff and said the very same things showed photos and got people attacking me over it. It was bad food that was prob one of the worst meals I had in cork. I said it to the owner that the food was shocking and he kicked me out .....

But over the weekend I was at the rochestown park for my xmess party In work the food was grand and can't really give out as cooking for 400 at it.

Was also in white rabbit for the 1st time at weekend. Had beaf with corn on the cob and pattdo saled was fantastic. Herself has the beaf in a bap with mac and cheese she loved it to and she is a extramly fussy eatter. Had the maltiser cheese cake after one of the best cheese cakes I have ever had up there with rolys in balbridge in Dublin. Will go back.

Won't to try go to west corkburger but I am putoff by there prices near 17 euros for a bacan and cheese burger with chips !!!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Silly goose gets thumbs up.

Pub, with a decent burger. Noms.

Great burger, giant mozzarella sticks and good laugh in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

pwurple do you ever eat at home? :-)
    You’re a great contributor to this thread, I must say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,627 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Has no cooker in the house, I'd say. Nearly as cheap, nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    pwurple do you ever eat at home? :-)
    You’re a great contributor to this thread, I must say!

Lol, what can I say, I like to eat!

Naw seriously, i just try to get to the new places if I can when out. Twice a month we manage. That last one was a work thing.

The rest of ye are far too quiet. :)

Myself and the girlfirend we eat out 2 or 3 times a week.

And we got a brand new cooker this year.

I think it's the fact both of us work extramly long hours and when your home after being out for 12 hours the idea of having to cook is the worst so take away it is or meet up in town after work for food.

I have nearly eatting everywhere in town at this stage ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,200 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Went to Jacobs on the Mall last night. This place is my absolute favourite in Cork, the food is always great, the building is beautiful and you can actually have a conversation without having to shout. Last night was a work night out and everyone at the table thoroughly enjoyed their food. The place was packed.

Details here about Miyazaki restaurant opening March. Where Fenns Quay was & will be tasting menu of around 8 courses for €85.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/food-and-drink/takashi-miyazaki-to-open-japanese-fine-dining-restaurant-in-cork-1.3320550

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭eurokev

Anyone try bao boi on barrack street. Looks really really interesting.

Where exactly is it?

Tried West Cork Burger.
    Nice enough, bit pricey & wouldn’t say it’s better than other places in town. But worth a try.

Like the build your own approach. Had the Wagyu beef which is more expensive than the Angus & it didn’t taste much different than “regular” beef. Then you get a choice of cheese & good selection of toppings & sauces.

The prices are clearly marked, so it didn’t come as a shock but with chips & coke it came to 19 quid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭11214

I'm really looking forward to Miyazaki opening, read about it today and it sounds great.

Popped into Barry's in Douglas for breakfast during the week, very nice, good coffee as well.

Miyazaki 85 euros a head !!!!.

Yah the tiger is defo back in full force then.

Well I be one who won't be going anyway due to me handing a allgrey to all goods off fish. I have ended up in A and E before because of it.

I have eatting in Miyazaki quite a few times its bang addverge japonise food like it's no better then Ramon and sago?. It says a lot when I used to rate the katsu curry more in wagamammas of all places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,627 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The translation took me a little while. Yeah €85 is nuts. A someone said the other night the Celtic Tiger (CT) is back, for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

€85 is far from nuts if it's top class, which it has the potential to be.

Yeah I don't know if I'd count that as "celtic tiger" prices. It's a high end offering and he could probably charge more.

Would love to check it out but I don't eat meat (do eat fish/seafood) so don't know would they adjust the menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 80 ✭✭Drdenise75

Tried BaoBoi tonight. It's just down barracks st from barbarella. Small place. I think about 8 high stools for eating in. We got take away. Tried 4 of the baos pork, beef, fish and mushroom. Good overall. The buns themselves ie the dough are really good. Soft and pillowy. The ingredients in the fillings were good too. You can see they are using quality ingredients. The beef was lovely, tender and 2 thick pieces in the bao. The fish and pork were very tasty too. The mushroom was a bit of a let down though. It had more tomato than mushroom but minor quibble... will go back again and eat in next time as i think the food doesn't travel too well. They do other things too... spice bags fries banh mi and others i don't remember all of. Very friendly staff and quick service. Cash only at the moment until they get their card machines up and running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Jentle Grenade

Tbh €85 ahead for a kaiseki experience is reasonable and I imagine the Miyazaki experience will be phenomenal. I paid ~$180 for n/naka earlier this year and £120 in Umu a couple of months ago. I can't wait to try it and I hope it takes off!

Back to Miyazaki I still think paying 85 euros for a meal you need your head looked at.

Back in Italy in my dad's village there is a place that's 35 euros a head but it includes the wine that is made on the land. They keep bringing you foods to your full and everything is made on the land of the restaurant as well.

And the chef comes and speaks to you during your meal to.

You sit on plastic garden chairs there is miss matched table clothes. The place looks like someone's front room. But by good this is a proper dineing exp to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Back to Miyazaki I still think paying 85 euros for a meal you need your head looked at.

Personally, I think you need your head looked at to pay €26 for a rack of lamb or €8 for a malteesers cheese cake but people do it all the time.

HI end, creative dining is expensive. It is very labour intensive, time consuming and often uses expensive, difficult to obtain ingredients. For me, there's very poor value in mid range restaurants. There are loads of restaurants around that I wouldn't eat in because I imagine the food to be poor value for money and probably not to my taste. However, I don't come on boards, repeatedly naming them and going on about how outrageous they are (or in this case, will be). I just don't go to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Back in Italy in my dad's village there is a place that's 35 euros a head but it includes the wine that is made on the land. They keep bringing you foods to your full and everything is made on the land of the restaurant as well.

And the chef comes and speaks to you during your meal to.

You sit on plastic garden chairs there is miss matched table clothes. The place looks like someone's front room. But by good this is a proper dineing exp to me.

But you can enjoy both of those experiences. One of them isn't better than the other, they are different.

One of the best meals I had was simple Serrano ham and cheese served on greaseproof paper with fantastic local wine. One of the other best meals I had was a 10 course tasting menu with paired wine for about 8 times the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,856 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Miyazaki 85 euros a head !!!!.

Yah the tiger is defo back in full force then.

Well I be one who won't be going anyway due to me handing a allgrey to all goods off fish. I have ended up in A and E before because of it.

I have eatting in Miyazaki quite a few times its bang addverge japonise food like it's no better then Ramon and sago?. It says a lot when I used to rate the katsu curry more in wagamammas of all places.

You can't get decent sushi in Ramen or Sago, in fact you can't get decent sushi anywhere else in Cork