Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

A woman was a victim of an acid attack in Blackrock/Stillorgan on Friday night.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/woman-left-with-life-changing-injuries-after-acid-attack-in-south-dublin-36377168.html

To the scum who did that, lock him up and throw away the key. Anyone with the mentality to do that should never be allowed into society again.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/woman-left-with-life-changing-injuries-after-acid-attack-in-south-dublin-36377168.html

To the scum who did that, lock him up and throw away the key. Anyone with the mentality to do that should never be allowed into society again.

Christ, this 'trend' for want of a better word is absolutely disgusting. WTF is wrong with people

You are correct Thomond, absolutely zero tolerance with sentencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭determinations

Josh Gordon back for the Browns on Sunday!

Started him as a flex in all 4 of my fantasy leagues, out scored all of my starting WR's.

Could have easily had 2 TD's if Keiser throws were more accurate.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I, too, understand these terms.

Go, sportsmen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Utah_Saint

Christ, this 'trend' for want of a better word is absolutely disgusting. WTF is wrong with people

You are correct Thomond, absolutely zero tolerance with sentencing.
    Its frightening, seems out of control in London.  Terrible if its moved over here!  hope the f£4kers are caught and dealt with severely

• Administrators Posts: 55,089 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Attention parents of boards rugby, I have some questions, especially if you're child was born in Holles St :D

1. In the movies it seems like the mother is sitting watching the telly when suddenly her waters break and it's all hell breaking loose with little baby born 20 minutes later. This, I presume, is very unrealistic with the real process being much more drawn out?

2. What is the craic with getting to Holles St if you have to get there during rush hour? I guess you can use bus lanes, but it'll still be slow. Google estimates an hour for us if it were to happen at the worst time of day. Was anyone stuck in this sort of situation?

3. How annoying is it to get parking near Holles St?

I assume these questions will be answered by some baby course thing I've to go to, but the whole getting her there on time bit is the only bit I'm actually worried about. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Do an online course on home births and deliver the baby yourself. Saves you a lot of hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭swiwi_

awec wrote: »
    Attention parents of boards rugby, I have some questions, especially if you're child was born in Holles St :D

1. In the movies it seems like the mother is sitting watching the telly when suddenly her waters break and it's all hell breaking loose with little baby born 20 minutes later. This, I presume, is very unrealistic with the real process being much more drawn out?

In general, for the first baby, you are likely to be talking hours rather than minutes. Bring something to read or watch. There is only so much " comforting" you can do, before you are bored shìtless

2. What is the craic with getting to Holles St if you have to get there during rush hour? I guess you can use bus lanes, but it'll still be slow. Google estimates an hour for us if it were to happen at the worst time of day. Was anyone stuck in this sort of situation?

I always took the bike from SVUH to Holles St. Two wheels probably not an option for you...

Bike was grand.

I assume these questions will be answered by some baby course thing I've to go to, but the whole getting her there on time bit is the only bit I'm actually worried about. :D

Answers above.

It can happen. More than likely given it's your first you will go through the expected date though and again as it's your first the labour will be longer. Have you decided how you want the birth to go? C-Section? Epidural?

You can call an ambulance so keep that option in the back of your mind. Honestly, even if it takes 2 - 3 hours you'll still have plenty of time most likely. It won't be fun for your wife but it's extremely rare to go from waters breaking to birth within a good few hours and more so again as it's your first.

You should be fine, they have some emergency drop off facility I think but there is loads of parking around merrion square and if you are stuck try fitzwilliam square or the roads between merrion square and the canal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Buer wrote: »
    His ego is the exact reason he won't walk. He can't be pushed. It takes the House of Representatives to vote for impeachment and two thirds of the Senate then to ratify his removal following the impeachment process. The Republicans control both houses. It would take a massive collapse in the mid terms for the Democrats to gain control. It's never going to happen.

I wouldn't agree with that, he's a narcissist, his ego is too fragile to take the constant criticism, you can see it in his twitter rants. It's like a big game of pigeon chess. He will claim the system is broken, blame everyone else and walk away with his head held high, before the weight of his wall comes crashing down on him.

It can happen. More than likely given it's your first you will go through the expected date though and again as it's your first the labour will be longer. Have you decided how you want the birth to go? C-Section? Epidural?

You can call an ambulance so keep that option in the back of your mind. Honestly, even if it takes 2 - 3 hours you'll still have plenty of time most likely. It won't be fun for your wife but it's extremely rare to go from waters breaking to birth within a good few hours and more so again as it's your first.

You should be fine, they have some emergency drop off facility I think but there is loads of parking around merrion square and if you are stuck try fitzwilliam square or the roads between merrion square and the canal.
    Cheers.

Yea I know about the ambulance option, I guess if it's at that time we'll ring the hospital and ask them what they think we should do.

Cheers for the info! I had suspected it was extremely rare for it to be fast. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Do an online course on home births and deliver the baby yourself. Saves you a lot of hassle.

This. I've been told there can be poo involved in childbirth so ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Every time is different, but since it's your first, it's more likely to be a slow drawn out process. Not sure what Holles street is like now, as mine are nearer to child bearing age, than they are to their arrival. From the time we arrived on both though to the time they were born, was between 12 and 17 hours, so in terms of parking, get a lift or get a taxi, having a car anywhere near there is a nightmare and running in and out to feed meters and move the car about while she's in the height of labour won't go down well.

Those pre-natal videos are horrific, I'd strongly recommend skipping that, it's one thing seeing your missus go through it, but watching some randomer give birth is actually quite off putting.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

First one, got a lift in a fire engine to the hospital, took a few hours. Was a month early.
    Second one, took about 30 minutes, born at home (not by choice).

No time-wasting here.

Cheers.

Yea I know about the ambulance option, I guess if it's at that time we'll ring the hospital and ask them what they think we should do.

Cheers for the info! I had suspected it was extremely rare for it to be fast. :)

Seriously, I went home and slept, before coming back several hours later. Ok, it was the 2nd, and I just about missed it :o but I felt refreshed :pac:

DGRulz wrote: »

It's just the bodies way of creating a natural and safe landing pad for the baby. It's beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

DGRulz wrote: »

Lets hope not. Won't be long until number two is on the way for awec.

Yes, I mean for that to work on several levels before anyone points it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Buer wrote: »
    Lets hope not. Won't be long until number two is on the way for awec.

Yes, I mean for that to work on several levels before anyone points it out.

How many levels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

How many levels?

4. Try to find them all.

Number 3 will shock you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Most of this stuff will be answered in your antenatal classes awec (which you should be starting around now). Basically the most likely scenario is that she'll start having contractions but you could be at home for hours before having to go anywhere. You'll need to time the contractions (time between and length) and aim to be in Holles St for when the contractions are 5 mins apart. Waters don't always break the way you'd expect. Sometimes it can even be hard to tell that it's happened. It's far more likely everything will be determined by the contractions.

Parking will depend on time of day, but there are generally spaces to be had around Merrion Sq. You'll drop her off and get parking once she's inside. There is a parking app to save you having to run in and out once you have parked up.

As for things like epidurals etc, make sure you know what the craic is with them but don't go making a plan. There will always be an element of taking it as it comes. But the first one will generally take hours so be sure to bring loads of food (for you, she can't have any) and something to pass the time.

The 4th antenatal class is definitely worth you both attending. Just out of it today myself. It's done by a physio who goes through all the practical things you can be doing while there as well as all her breathing stuff etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Jaysus anti-natal classes?! Surely you should be in favour of the whole childbirth thing before you get this far down the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,550 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

The point that all are different is pretty true. Our first was an emergency C=section; can still hear the doc telling me to run (yes run) down the corridor and get the lift. :eek:

All was fine, but herself insisted on being awake for the procedure with only the epidural as anaesthetic.

Jaysus anti-natal classes?! Surely you should be in favour of the whole childbirth thing before you get this far down the road?

I can say I'm in favour of childbirth all I like.....no wait, that's actually a lie. I can only say it out of earshot of herself. I'm not that brave. I was certainly in favour of my part in the process if that makes any difference....

molloyjh wrote: »
    I can say I'm in favour of childbirth all I like.....no wait, that's actually a lie. I can only say it out of earshot of herself. I'm not that brave. I was certainly in favour of my part in the process if that makes any difference....
    Was that a whoosh? :D

Our classes are next week (I think).

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Was that a whoosh? :D

Mayyyyybe.........

EDIT: Having reread I do, in fact, get jokes. But only when they've been pointed out to me.

Our classes are next week (I think).

Are you doing them all in one or over a few weeks?

He took them on when the South Africans got the nod for the RWC 2023. After the anti-Natal classes he was going to move on to the other provinces.

It all became moot when France won the vote though. :D

Are you doing them all in one or over a few weeks?

We have 2 x 2 hour classes I'm told, two wednesdays in a row.

Most of this stuff will be answered in your antenatal classes awec (which you should be starting around now). Basically the most likely scenario is that she'll start having contractions but you could be at home for hours before having to go anywhere. You'll need to time the contractions (time between and length) and aim to be in Holles St for when the contractions are 5 mins apart.

This x 10. If you head in to Holles St at the first hint of a contraction...you'll be told to head home and come back in 24 hours.

Ireland is weird - in NZ (where the first was born), you have a room to yourself for the entire process. In Cork (and the Coombe) there was a shared labour room, then you are whisked off to a private room for the last 30 minutes or so.

Unless you are one of these people wasting thousands of euros on a private obstetrician???