Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harvey Weinstein scandal (Mod warning in op.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Matt Lauer has been sacked by NBC

Met the guy through work more than a handful of times and it couldn't happen to a nicer guy.

Wowza. That's pretty huge. Lauer would've been one of their biggest draws, I believe. So it just shows how little sh1t anyone is taking with this stuff. Nobody is safe any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

On Monday night NBC received a detailed complaint and by the following day he is sacked? It's amazing how quickly the turnaround is. Wouldn't such organisations need to conduct due diligence by investigating the complaint? Take statements, speak with lawyers etc?

Was he even afforded the opportunity to respond to the complaint at all? Or is it a case of the board hearing of a complaint and immediately telling someone to pack their things while they simultaneously fire up their twitter page to protect their image and brand?

While he in all likelihood sexually harassed the complainant, and thus can expect nothing less than losing his job and having his rep affected, the dizzying speed the sackings happen is a cause for concern and would set a worrying precedent that simply making a complaint can get someone fired. If it can work with someone of Lauer's status then it sure as hell can work against Joey Joey Joe down in accounts. That gives power to and enables those of malicious intentions affording them the opportunity to abuse that power and drowns out the legitimate complaints from actually harassed individuals and not those bearings a grudge or having a vendetta.

Supposedly reporters from the NY Times had been investigating Lauer for weeks before he got fired.

https://twitter.com/brianstelter/status/935848897259245568

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I have no idea who half these guys are. Do we need an update anytime some American is sacked?

All the Money in the Worldthe DeSpaceyd cut

pilly wrote: »
    I have no idea who half these guys are. Do we need an update anytime some American is sacked?

I would reckon that Matt Lauer is one of the more prominent axing in recent weeks. Far as I'm aware, he would have been one of NBCs prominent stars -- Wikipedia has his salary at $28,000,000 annually.

now now, you're being Glib :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,211 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

pilly wrote: »

make a list there of the guys you know,we will notify you if one pops up.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Jaysus, 2016 was the year of the numerous celebrity deaths, 2017 is the year of the celebrity pervs, what will next year be?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,757 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Jaysus, 2016 was the year of the numerous celebrity deaths, 2017 is the year of the celebrity pervs, what will next year be?
    The year of the dead Royals?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,292 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Beasty wrote: »
    The year of the dead Royals?

I'm thinking celebrity divorces-my money's on Beyonce and Prince Harry's marriages both ending.
    Same with Ant from Ant and Dec's marriage htting the skids.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The wonderful thing about all this exposure is that it will cause a 'chilling effect' in the minds of every cuntweasel who thinks that their position of power grants them some sort of immunity, or divine right, to take advantage of another person.

Thank goodness for the information revolution.

Matt Lauer had a button, under his desk, that allowed him to lock his office door when an intern came in...like, wow, that's...that's Bond villain right there...ugh.

yeah and he another one on his chair arm rest which opened the floor into a piranha tank!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

That is very creepy.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,597 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Lauer's statement
    There are no words to express my sorrow and regret for the pain I have caused others by words and actions. To the people I have hurt, I am truly sorry. As I am writing this I realize the depth of the damage and disappointment I have left behind at home and at NBC.
    Some of what is being said about me is untrue or mischaracterized, but there is enough truth in these stories to make me feel embarrassed and ashamed. I regret that my shame is now shared by the people I cherish dearly.
    Repairing the damage will take a lot of time and soul searching and I’m committed to beginning that effort. It is now my full time job. The last two days have forced me to take a very hard look at my own troubling flaws. It’s been humbling. I am blessed to be surrounded by the people I love. I thank them for their patience and grace.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Lauer's statement

Pity he couldn't realise these "flaws" until he was publicly exposed. Could have saved himself a lot of trouble.He is another one who has had these stories flying around for years and mainly seems sorry only that the world knows now.

is he another one of these botanical plantophiles? who cannot pass a pot of soil without **** into it I wonder???

in his particular case, what was the nature of the complaint/complaints? anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

There's a reasonably amusing guy on Twitter that I follow called ''Not A Wolf'' and his comment on these pervs is straightforward ...

JUST STOP TOUCHING PEOPLE MAN HOW HARD IS THAT

JUST IMAGINE EVERY PERSON IS FILLED TO THE BRIM WITH BEES OR SOMETHING

WHATEVER IT TAKES HONESTLY

The wonderful thing about all this exposure is that it will cause a 'chilling effect' in the minds of every cuntweasel who thinks that their position of power grants them some sort of immunity, or divine right, to take advantage of another person.

Thank goodness for the information revolution.

I dunno if it will-there's quite a few people who are constantly saying and doing horrific things (Lena Dunham , for example)...

Unfortunately, Hollywood is a sick, sick town. It needs a total renovation, from the ground up.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Second Yellow

I'm starting to worry that all these revelations will have no real effect on things.

Me too-and no, that's not a bad joke on the hashtag. I'm agreeing with you.

I'm somewhat confused about this-and the dangers therein of believing an allegation upon it being said. The Ed Westwick allegation, for example, has been ringing on my mind. He vehemently denies it, but the two women are being taken for their word. He's complying with police in order to help the women.

What strikes me about it is the two guys the women were dating-having the same reaction, word for word, and one of them is currently in jail for possession of child porn. One of those who has come forward has already changed her story. While it's not uncommon for victims to confuse details, down to trauma, she amended her original post-rather than doing a follow up post.

Also, some people are being lumped in with Weinstein for their 'language', or comments. That's on a completely different level to what Weinstein did. Yet in the eyes of twitterati, it's the same darn thing.
    And even more disturbing is how so many creeps are experiencing a career 'resurgence' cos they're not as bad as 'those guys'. Mel Gibson for example.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I'm not sure about that it makes those who may do such things think that what they previously felt was innocuous behavior is not, a silent revolution has begun and I think if there are reviews and policies put in place in the work force then there will be real change, the gate theatre will certainly be changing their policy and putting safe guards in place, their lively hood depends on it, I mean I personally am not going to any plays until there is a report saying how they are going to change the working environment there.

'Bryan Singer to take time out for health reasons...' Sure Jan.

He's currently directing directing 'Bohemian Rhasody'-the Queen biopic.

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-42193912

Wonder how many other 'health issues' come forward in recent weeks?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Someone is sweating, and so he should be...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

Seemingly Singer has done this before during the production of Superman Returns and XMA.

Issue with drugs.

He seems to have a sickness, alright...:(

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5140031/Metropolitan-Opera-conductor-molested-15-year-old.html

James Levine, a conductor at the Met Opera is under investigation for child molestation, going back to the 80s, probably further. This is apparently huge, from what I can gather.

Allegedly there was numerous payouts and hush payments made over the years. And there is far more than one child who's been abused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Levine is a great conductor and I wouldnt let this business tarnish his reputation as a musician. Enjoyed a fine Tannhauser of his live once, and his recorded catalogue is of a very high standard.

There will be no progress on this whole issue until the responsibility is moved beyond employers or corporate bodies - having the Met Opera, or The Gate Theatre, or 'Hollywood', or Westminster, have anything to do with investigations, responsibility for offenders of whatever sort, and the behaviour of people who by chance happen to work for them, is completely looking in the wrong direction. The world is distracting itself from the true problem at the moment.

People, and society, are the problem. The idea that companies, industries, govt departments,etc are in anyway culpable or lax in policies, culture and need to increase their vigilance, supports, protocols, and responsibilities, is missing the target here by a country mile. Organisations are being thrown into turmoil and bearing a cost both financial and reputational, for which they are in no way responsible.