Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,182 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

that feckin' check and did she cash it or did she not cash it storyline ... is this gonna carry on til christmas?

is fair city (or rather the Irish viewing public) ready to see a guy in a wheelchair twatted big time by an old army mate? - they will be on the phone to Joe Duffy saying how shocking the scenes were showing an able bodied man beating up a guy in a wheelchair! :eek: ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

... and then after all that Manson says in her sternly softly spoken voice - "Thats good carol .. your showing your emotion .... emotion is power!"

Carol: 'I'll show ya bleedin emotion, i'll rip your head off.. D'YA HEAR ME??!!'

Carol then proceeds to grab and pull out tufts of Manson's lovely brunette hair. Emmet jumps in to pull Carol off her. Meanwhile Hannah collapses due to shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    You could equally say that she's convinced herself that he raped her. She was a soldier, why didn't she get him in a headlock and tie his ****s in a knot if he was making unwanted advances.

Do we know if she upped and left Robbie the day after the 'episode' or 'drunken tryst' with Dan or a couple of months later when the pregnancy test was positive.

It doesn't matter if Aoife was a ballerina, a soldier or a sumo wrestler, she said that she tried to stop it and Dan wouldn't listen. She trusted him as a friend and he raped her. He admitted that he raped her. As someone else said people often freeze in these situations and don't react like they would if someone punched them. A sexual assault/rape is a completely different type of attack.

nagdefy wrote: »
    Carol: 'I'll show ya bleedin emotion, i'll rip your head off.. D'YA HEAR ME??!!'

Carol then proceeds to grab and pull out tufts of Manson's lovely brunette hair. Emmet jumps in to pull Carol off her. Meanwhile Hannah collapses due to shock.

.... And doug twists his neck and gives himself whiplash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

that feckin' check and did she cash it or did she not cash it storyline ... is this gonna carry on til christmas?

She definitely cashed it and kept it for herself I reckon. “Oh I donated 20 grand to a homeless shelter and here’s the proof, a written thank you card.”If I was Debbie I’d be adamant she shows me bank statements and name exactly what homeless charity it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

I'm just sick of Carol now..she's been an absolute cult the last few months..i cant see how the writers will bring her back to normality...maybe she'll leave..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

I'm the same as everyone else. Hate Carol. Robbie is too good for her. Her time is up, she brings nothing other than a scowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I've said it before, Robbie is one of the best actors on FC. Now, that's not really a great compliment considering most of them seem to be graduates of the Joey Tribbiani school of acting, Kerri Ann even employs the smell the fart acting in her scenes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

nagdefy wrote: »
    Carol is the one person i feel could completely destroy the group :D

'Where are you going with the bleedin lovey dovey stuff, you hadn't Trigger Foley for a father, married Billy Meehan and had your Lorcan shot by your boyfriend, the toe rag. And i haven't even bleedin startad.. Fcuk you and your shoes i want me fags and a bottle of whiskey'.

Carol will use her gangland connections to get Mcgregor in to sort out this cult. "You'll do nuttin Miriam, Nuttin!"

whats the betting in the end (seeing as this is Fair City) the Token (and what seems at most times only cop Deegan) will shut down Miriam's group and surprise us all :D

I dont quite know how because he is about as frightening/forceful as joe pasqualie ....

... but he will, watch this space :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭trixiebust

As someone who suffers with depression, I have to say Fair City is unintentionally, the funniest show produced by RTE.

I only occasionally watch, but when I do, I'm absolutely guaranteed a laugh.
    Bravo ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,510 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Apart from playing the little detective what else is Doug up to these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

The cult storyline in FC is very interesting and its one of the most original storylines ever shown on soap. Manson is not only a great actress, I actually LIKE her character, in a kind of "Manson would understand me, sure she only wants to help etc". Even as a viewer I'm brainwashed by her, that's the measure of the character. The way people behave around her, its as if she is the almighty Creator, it makes my spine tingle.

At the moment its all very peaceful and lovey but surely they are going to get dark soon? This story would be a complete waste if one day Manson robbed 100euros from the kitty and was run out of town- this mass brainwashing must be leading to something. It cant be money- Eoghan and Emmet and Hannah etc only hand only a few bob a week, I sense she will coerce them to start committing crimes for the good of the "group" soon. FC have a fantastic opportunity right now to make this an excellent and controversial storyline, I hope they grab it with both hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

I can see shortly Miriam will start introducing the odd word as gaeilge at group meetings...over time it will morph into RnR 2....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭De Bild

Mrs. Bild asked me as we were watching the massaging scenes in Fair City last night that perhaps Eoghan was a 'Hairy Krishna'!

Much mirth and giggles in the De Bild household:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm just sick of Carol now..she's been an absolute cult the last few months..i cant see how the writers will bring her back to normality...maybe she'll leave..

Is there two cults :confused::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,793 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I don't know why they brought Mark back, all he did was go around trying (and failing) to act the hard man and spill coffee on a laptop.

Completely unrealistic as well having Haley drooling after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,510 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I don't know why they brought Mark back, all he did was go around trying (and failing) to act the hard man and spill coffee on a laptop.

I was expecting for a story about him being kicked out of the army due to his anger issues!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

youwould wrote: »
    It doesn't matter if Aoife was a ballerina, a soldier or a sumo wrestler, she said that she tried to stop it and Dan wouldn't listen. She trusted him as a friend and he raped her. He admitted that he raped her. As someone else said people often freeze in these situations and don't react like they would if someone punched them. A sexual assault/rape is a completely different type of attack.

I'm just getting back into Fair city, I missed where he said he raped her. Still can't see Dan as a rapist, not at any stretch of the imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Absolutely, him and Hayley would look ridiculous together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is there two cults :confused::P

A pair of cults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I'm just getting back into Fair city, I missed where he said he raped her. Still can't see Dan as a rapist, not at any stretch of the imagination.

He admitted to Carol that he raped her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Still can't see Dan as a rapist, not at any stretch of the imagination.

He has a dark and violent past. Didn't he beat a fella so badly he ended up as a vegetable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭cumulonimbus

He has a dark and violent past. Didn't he beat a fella so badly he ended up as a vegetable?
    Mushy peas? Mashed potato?

I was expecting for a story about him being kicked out of the army due to his anger issues!

I think he'll be back properly for Christmas. Can't wait to watch himself and NoNeck fight over who has the worst anger issues. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Isn't Dr. Oakley actor her real life son?
    I think so. Actually, I think someone on here mentioned it once.

The cult storyline in FC is very interesting and its one of the most original storylines ever shown on soap. Manson is not only a great actress, I actually LIKE her character, in a kind of "Manson would understand me, sure she only wants to help etc". Even as a viewer I'm brainwashed by her, that's the measure of the character. The way people behave around her, its as if she is the almighty Creator, it makes my spine tingle.

I think Sorcha Fox is playing an absolute blinder as Miriam. It sort of reminds me of when loopy Lucy was hanging around Dolores. The story dragged out for ages but you couldn't fault actress Lorna Quinn - her performance was chilling just like Sorcha as Miriam.

Do we know how far in advance Fair City is filmed? I'm only asking because Sorcha is also on Ros na Rún at the moment, though I think that could be filmed longer ago.

sligojoek wrote: »
    A pair of cults.
    Carol is the biggest cult of all.....:p

trixiebust wrote: »
    As someone who suffers with depression, I have to say Fair City is unintentionally, the funniest show produced by RTE.

I only occasionally watch, but when I do, I'm absolutely guaranteed a laugh.
    Bravo ;)
    Same as that. :)