Will Leo be the shortest serving taoiseach in history?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,903 ✭✭✭✭listermint

If there is a GE before Christmas the British Govt will get what they want - progress to phase 2 Brexit negotiations and Ireland shafted.

Varadkar won't be able to wield a veto in election mode. We'll be weakened.

If there has to be an election it should be January or Feburary at the earliest in my view.

Then obvious solution is to make her walk.

She's clearly not competent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

listermint wrote: »
    Then obvious solution is to make her walk.

She's clearly not competent

Irrespective of her incompetence around the McCabe fiasco, she doesn't fill me with confidence in any portfolio. I was astounded Leo made her Tanaiste. What has she ever achieved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I don't really care about her competence at this stage tbh.

I'm simply saying the reality that the British Government will get in to phase 2 of their negotiations with the EU if we
    have a General Election before Christmas. Our leverage will be gone.

It is NOT in our national interest to have a general election before Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Thats the confusing thing, I agree with you here.

The more I look at it the more it suits a confident FG than anyone else

But I dunno how confident they should be. Feck all changed since last election imo. Unless someone really dislikes Fitzgerald (and Flanagan at this stage).

Any fall out (of which there surly will be)...from McCabe will surly be painted as the work of fg?

Moreover I would have grave concerns on the message it sends out to likes of gaurds etc if electing straight back in fg,given what it's been accused they are sanctioning

It bears no sense what so ever to stand by her here,surly there's some job at Europe etc she could be sent to??

This is would actually be hilarious if it wasn't so serious as to what McCabe has been put through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,512 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Where would FG voters go? Not to SF,Not to FF,not to labour -Independents? Hardly
    Their type is a core in the mid 50's seat wise so that's the block that will at least come back
    They've nothing to lose here and plenty of hay to make on why mid Brexit a government was felled unnecessarily on something that is the competence of a sitting tribunal

Are you telling us FGs vote never fell before?

There us a campaign to mount and I don't think we know all that went on here. There could be more to come. FG have a habit of arrogance and Irish voters don't like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,903 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I'm simply saying the reality that the British Government will get in to phase 2 of their negotiations with the EU if we

If she's sent to the door there won't be.

So why keep her?

This problem was hers and went through her office.

Its a stain on the Government and the party. Why keep it up

You don't think/care if government ministers or second in charge are competent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I'm looking forward to an election on Christmas Day. There's generally feck all else to do anyway,

There us a campaign to mount and I don't think we know all that went on here. There could be more to come. FG have a habit of arrogance and Irish voters don't like that.

Arah wait now don't you know everything including the findings of an ongoing tribunal.

Jog on buck you've some cheek accusing anyone else of spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,512 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Irrespective of her incompetence around the McCabe fiasco, she doesn't fill me with confidence in any portfolio. I was astounded Leo made her Tanaiste. What has she ever achieved?
    she decent at repeating talking points with a straight face, thats about it

Arah wait now don't you know everything including the findings of an ongoing tribunal.

Jog on beuck you've some cheek accusing anyone else of spin.

How many years now has stuff been tumbling into the public domain about this?

It is not spin, it is almost a certainty there will be more. Charlie Flanagan will have the spotlight on him soon, possibly during a campaign.

Jog on as right.

Any fall out (of which there surly will be)...from McCabe will surly be painted as the work of fg?

Moreover I would have grave concerns on the message it sends out to likes of gaurds etc if electing straight back in fg,given what it's been accused they are sanctioning

It bears no sense what so ever to stand by her here,surly there's some job at Europe etc she could be sent to??

This is would actually be hilarious if it wasn't so serious as to what McCabe has been put through

Agreed that nothing in the handling of the McCabe affair is any good for FG and Varadkar best served by acting strongly and jettisoning Fitzgerald and Flanagan now.

But not once SF and FF demand he do so, for obvious reasons.

What's confusing is why SF pushed knowing the inevitable fallout- Martin was always going to be forced to call his an motion and I doubt any of the major parties want an election nor see any guaranteed jump in seats from last time.

It's a clusterf*ck tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

So FG should tell Frances to clear her desk and get the fook out.

All the party faithful attempting to deflect blame to SF/FF on forcing an election are letting party faithfulness clout their vision.

The justice minister. I repeat the JUSTICE MINISTER has been exposed as to be made aware of a smear campaign do discredit/smear the character of a whistleblower, and do nothing, while simultaneously support him in public .

FF/SF/Lab are ALL saying it's not good enough, and are calling for her resignation.

Its a case from FG of 'everyone else is wrong and we're right'

The elections avoidable. Frances needs to do the right thing.

A corrupt justice minister is too serious to let slide. I don't see what benefit Leo will get from letting this tarnish him for years to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Isn't Charlie Flanagan somewhat culpable too?

vicwatson wrote: »

He is, so far as letting Leo take flack by way of making him correct the Dail.

He should be gone too imo.

vicwatson wrote: »

He let Leo tell porkies in the Dail.
    I think they thought they would plamas it all away. The arrogance of power FG style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I'm looking forward to an election on Christmas Day. There's generally feck all else to do anyway,

You could always watch a James Bond movie .:)

Ivan Yates says Leo has lost his mandate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Jawgap wrote: »
    Grand so, I expect they'll vote with the Shinners on their motion then ;)

I do enjoy when people like your good self show how little they understand about a situation.

Frances is going to be tripped over on a sword or we've got a problem, all three parties have called their own bluff on this. Gob****es, should be fun:D

Does Leo think the FG rank and file like him enough to hit the doorsteps just before Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Think Sinn Fein and Fine Fail are seriously misjudging the mood for an election right now. There’s too much going on with Brexit and the 8th Ammendment right now and it could back fire on them entirely.

I also reckon that Fine Fail want to go to the polls now because Gerry Adams will still be in charge of Sinn Fein and for them it’s a much more tempting prospect to go up against the Sinners with him in charge rather than someone like Mary Lou. It’ll be much harder to push the provo point with her in charge.

Agreed that nothing in the handling of the McCabe affair is any good for FG and Varadkar best served by acting strongly and jettisoning Fitzgerald and Flanagan now.

But not once SF and FF demand he do so, for obvious reasons.

What's confusing is why SF pushed knowing the inevitable fallout- Martin was always going to be forced to call his an motion and I doubt any of the major parties want an election nor see any guaranteed jump in seats from last time.

It's a clusterf*ck tbh

Theres a zero lose game for SF....even if they lose 2-3 poorer performing TDs (have heard not hugely happy with traction some are getting)..most likely 2 to labour and 1 indo aparently??

They'll just cite it as leadership instability....

Noone Couldve predicted varadkar would back her though.....a modern Taoiseach for a modern ireland.....and walks himself into what looks like a clusterfcuk election??

Either they are polling unreal privately or Maurice McCabe is about to change the course of Irish history and land micheal Martin into the Taoiseach office within 10 years of bankrupting the county

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    So FG should tell Frances to clear her desk and get the fook out.

All the party faithful attempting to deflect blame to SF/FF on forcing an election are letting party faithfulness clout their vision.

The justice minister. I repeat the JUSTICE MINISTER has been exposed as to be made aware of a smear campaign do discredit/smear the character of a whistleblower, and do nothing, while simultaneously support him in public .

FF/SF/Lab are ALL saying it's not good enough, and are calling for her resignation.

Its a case from FG of 'everyone else is wrong and we're right'

The elections avoidable. Frances needs to do the right thing.

A corrupt justice minister is too serious to let slide. I don't see what benefit Leo will get from letting this tarnish him for years to come

Great posts. Sums it up well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

I normally love elections but i don't want one right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

I think they've a core vote and,it's where it's at
    If the country was falling asunder for the people that typically vote for them,then they'd be in trouble
    It's not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Al porters available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I thought he had a boyfriend :P

Think Sinn Fein and Fine Fail are seriously misjudging the mood for an election right now. There’s too much going on with Brexit and the 8th Ammendment right now and it could back fire on them entirely.

I also reckon that Fine Fail want to go to the polls now because Gerry Adams will still be in charge of Sinn Fein and for them it’s a much more tempting prospect to go up against the Sinners with him in charge rather than someone like Mary Lou. It’ll be much harder to push the provo point with her in charge.

Lynn Boylan SF just said Gerry won't be leading them. A special Are Fheis will be called.
    FF were simply outplayed and won't allow SF to taunt them about it IMO.

Lynn Boylan SF just said Gerry won't be leading them. A special Are Fheis will be called.

If there's an election before xmas....there won't be time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jesus if that’s true, Fianna Fáil have really been played. Wouldn’t be surprised to see them backtrack and find some fudge of a compromise tomorrow now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,512 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

in what way?