Will Leo be the shortest serving taoiseach in history?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

I do think this is a valid reason for an election.

When the state ruin an honest man's life for almost a decade, lessons need to be learned. There is no evidence of any lessons learned yet.

I heard today there would be no sanction for the 1,500,000 fake breath tests. The corruption within the Gardaí goes on unpunished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Give sf a chance.
    Their time is coming, I'm no fan but only a fool would deny the inevitable.
    They care so much about the gardai they resort to murdering them.

When did SF murder members of AGS?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Has Leo the balls to sack her if he is any kind of leader he would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,903 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Why not just jettison Fitzgerald. Easiest option for all Concerned and I think would show some backbone to the public.

The average person is looking for accountability.

Not cover ups

I think people should again read the statement from the McCabes earlier this year. I don't know how they remained so strong.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/maurice-and-lorraine-mccabe-statement-truth-today--justice-can-follow-776969.html

Here is a small section
    We have endured eight years of great suffering, private nightmare, public defamation, and state vilification arising solely out from the determination of Maurice to ensure that the Garda Siochana adheres to decent and appropriate standards of policing in its dealings with the Irish people.

Our personal lives and our family life, and the lives of our five children, have been systematically attacked in a number of ways by agencies of the Irish state and by people working for the state in those agencies.

These events have, one way or another, given rise to a long series of state investigations, ranging from internal Garda investigations (disciplinary and administrative), the Fennelly Commission, the O'Higgins Commission, several GCOC investigations (some of them targeted indirectly at Maurice), and investigations within HSE and Tusla (some of them targeted at both of us and some of them concerning what those agencies have done to us) and the reports of Sean Guerin SC and former Judge larfhlaith O'Neill. All of these have taken place in private.

We have also been the subject of a long and sustained campaign to destroy our characters in the eyes of the public, and public representatives and in the eyes of the media.

Today, we have heard one Minister, Simon Harris, state that we are entitled to "truth and justice".

We wish to make it clear that we are definitely not agreeable to that entitlement being wholly postponed so that another Commission of Inquiry can conduct a secret investigation behind closed doors and make a report, into which we have no input as of right, in nine or eighteen months' time.

We are entitled to the truth today- justice can follow in its wake.

Jawgap wrote:
    Let's face it SF have never been consistent in support of An Garda Siochana, and that's being kind about their general attitude towards the force over a number of decades......

Lack of support is not the same as wheeliebin's claim that SF murdered Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Lack of support is not the same as wheeliebin's claim that SF murdered Garda.

Sf/pira no difference to me.

You're not fooling anybody trying to bend the truth.

So what then?

Don't know dear boy, I won't be in a position to form a government so pointless question to pose to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Frances Fitzgerald is not a good minister, as minister for children they had the children's referendum, she inspired 70% of the electorate to stay at home and it barely passed. The people who voted like me, just voted as it is something I always do, but she just does a bad job.
    Time for her to do the right thing and resign as she is just not competent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Id love a general election.

Give sf a chance.

They care so much about the gardai they resort to murdering them.

Yeah maybe if the get in gardai can have a fresh start and look into swept under the rug murder cases like Séamus Ludlow rather than stitching innocent men up to look like child abusers as they did under FF/FG's watch.

Bending the truth? It's you dear boy making baseless and false claims or lies choose you own description of what you have said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Ah heyor....

I'll take that as a no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,514 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Nobody is trying to fool you. Everyone knows that former members of the IRA are in SF.

Do you think this is breaking news?

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Bending the truth? It's you dear boy making baseless and false claims or lies choose you own description of what you have said.

Sf/pira have killed gardai.

Are you denying this?

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Jerry_McCabe

FG/Blueshirts no difference to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Simon Harris frantically coaching Frances and Murphy red in the face with anger because he couldn't land a punch were two abiding images today.

The gloss is coming off Leo's government very quickly.

There'll be no election IMO. The way this is all unravelling Leo won't risk it.
    Firstly I'm impressed you ever thought there was a gloss on this government at any time but In all fairness Gerry could have done with an earpiece many is the time on the media
    I personally think Leo is not one bit afraid of an election and that's probably what he's telling his PP
    The spin on this election is easy it will have been triggered by SF

That seems a miscalculation because they probably expect Leo to blink by the Tánaiste stepping down
    If she doesn't,SF have an open goal as the primary precipitator of the unnecessary election and worse one before Mary Lou is crowned
    That would be their scalping plan back firing should that be how it pans out

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    FG/Blueshirts no difference to me.

You always swore you had no political allegiance??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,258 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    You've evidence of this right.

Call Ferris & Co Taxi services, for all your prison collection needs.

2014-12-27_opi_5719424_I1.JPG

Are you denying this?

You must be a FG supporter given you are insensitively trying to create a smokescreen using Jerry McCabe.

I actually think you will encourage people to vote SF with your "but look over there!" posts. It's quite a childish ploy.

Can I ask, what do you think of FG's handling of Sgt Maurice McCabe? Have you ever read his statement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Varadkar isn't going to scrafice his career for her?

He'll throw her under the bus to save himself?

You must be a FG supporter given you are insensitively trying to create a smokescreen using Jerry McCabe.

I actually think you will encourage people to vote SF with your "but look over there!" posts.

Can I ask, what do you think of FG's handling of Sgt Maurice McCabe?

Just can see pure hypocrisy when it smacks you in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Varadkar isn't going to scrafice his career for her?

He'll throw her under the bus to save himself?

If he has any sense that's exactly what he will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Panrich

Are we now going to start competing with the Brits for stupidity by shooting ourselves in the foot at possibly the most crucial time of the Brexit negotiations? Sinn Fein should be looking at the bigger picture here given how important a phase we are now in. What we need from our politicians now is thinking on a global scale and not local opportunism that weakens our hand abroad.

By all means, store the gripe and bring it back when the time allows. The Tory newspapers and backers must be delighted to see this.

Just can see pure hypocrisy when it smacks you in the face.

Do you answer questions or deflect?

Can I ask, what do you think of FG's handling of Sgt Maurice McCabe? Have you ever read his statement?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/maurice-and-lorraine-mccabe-statement-truth-today--justice-can-follow-776969.html

Call Ferris & Co Taxi services, for all your prison collection needs.

2014-12-27_opi_5719424_I1.JPG
    Nothing to see here folks.

SF stand for justice for an garda.

Ah stop would ya:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,514 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Firstly I'm impressed you ever thought there was a gloss on this government at any time but In all fairness Gerry could have done with an earpiece many is the time on the media
    I personally think Leo is not one bit afraid of an election and that's probably what he's telling his PP
    The spin on this election is easy it will have been triggered by SF

That seems a miscalculation because they probably expect Leo to blink by the Tánaiste stepping down
    If she doesn't,SF have an open goal as the primary precipitator of the unnecessary election and worse one before Mary Lou is crowned
    That would be their scalping plan back firing should that be how it pans out

FF are tripping over themselves to get a motion down first. Why? So they can claim the high ground.

I think the electorate will know exactly why the gov falls, if it does. Rank hypocrisy and the cover up of an attempt to destroy one man.
    Missing transcripts now, what more will tumble out during a campaign?

Leo will need the dazzle socks methinks.

You always swore you had no political allegiance??

Point out where i said i have.

I'm just calling you out on the nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

littelady wrote: »
    I would personally vote Leo for Taoiseach again & again I think he is doing great work.

This mentality is what's wrong with the country.

Do you answer questions or deflect?

I think they handled it as best possible.

It's a mess which goes a lot deeper than a few members of fg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Are you denying this?

The current tanaiste and fine gael high ranking member is/was involved in a scheme to portray a garda whistleblower as a child abusers.your deflection is weak at best.