Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

You've very feminine wrists....

Not compared to mine.

They look like fine manly wrists to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Nah they are tragically thin wrists, but it's a small price to pay for my otherwise magnificent anatomical proportions.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,086 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Nah they are tragically thin wrists, but it's a small price to pay for my otherwise magnificent anatomical proportions.

Pops_Regular_Show_lifesize_cardboard_cutout_buy_cartoon_network_cutouts_at_starstills_jpg_69261_1430408812_450_659.jpg

Neil3030 :)

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Pops_Regular_Show_lifesize_cardboard_cutout_buy_cartoon_network_cutouts_at_starstills_jpg_69261_1430408812_450_659.jpg

Neil3030 :)

Hey!!

I am at least 3% more attractive than that guy :mad:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I've ridiculously thin wrists too. I can wrap my thumb and pinkie around with space to spare. It's not a particularly useful attribute outside maybe of veterinary science.

All I know is, I innocently wandered in here looking for advice on cooking a goddam turkey leg, and I've been thinwristshamed to the point of having that last belgian beer in my fridge.

• Administrators Posts: 55,085 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I've ridiculously thin wrists too. I can wrap my thumb and pinkie around with space to spare. It's not a particularly useful attribute outside maybe of veterinary science.

I'm built like a budgies hard-on and I can't even do the thumb and pinky wraparound on my wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

awec wrote: »

I'm built like a budgies hard-on

Saved for posterity. Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,493 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Neil3030 wrote: »
    ... and I've been thinwristshamed to the point of having that last belgian beer in my fridge.

Really twisted your arm huh. Not that it'd take much, given those wrists, but still.

Well if anything I'd slip easily from any grasp, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Synode wrote: »
    I'd definitely put LCD into the dance music category. Give them a listen (anything except 'Daft Punk is Playing at My House' or 'New York I love you'. I recommend 'Get Innocuous', 'Us VS Them', 'All my Friends' or 'Someone Great'). Quality

I checked them out. Listened to them while I cooked dinner. Some songs had strains of Violent Femmes and Talking Heads (obviously nowhere near as good). Others were a bit 80s to the point I could imagine one of them with a keyboard guitar. There was a bit of The Killers and Franz Ferdinand in there and then also some highly repetitive EDM.

Overall they were alright as background music. Not really my thing and not something I'd put on but the sort I'd have no issue with.

When I hear the words dance music, I immediately think of some guy plugging his iPod in and waving his hands in the air while some female pop singer repeats the same few lines over and over. The fact LCD Soundsystem actually play instruments is a big plus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I've a 90s era apartment, and I wanna buy Hue light bulbs on black Friday. Problem is I'm in China and don't know which type of bulb get. If I get the wrong ones, I'll adverts them.

Anyone know which is a safer bet, Bayonets or E27?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    I checked them out. Listened to them while I cooked dinner. Some songs had strains of Violent Femmes and Talking Heads (obviously nowhere near as good). Others were a bit 80s to the point I could imagine one of them with a keyboard guitar. There was a bit of The Killers and Franz Ferdinand in there and then also some highly repetitive EDM.

Overall they were alright as background music. Not really my thing and not something I'd put on but the sort I'd have no issue with.

When I hear the words dance music, I immediately think of some guy plugging his iPod in and waving his hands in the air while some female pop singer repeats the same few lines over and over. The fact LCD Soundsystem actually play instruments is a big plus.

You're describing house music to a T there.

Listen to Home by LCD Soundsystem. Get annoyed by how there's nothing there. Keep listening all the way through. Wait 5 minutes and listen to it again. Fall in love with the simple trick of progressively adding layer by layer until you have an absolutely stonking tune.

Errlloyd: bayonets are on the way out. Worst case scenario you can get an adaptor from bayonet socket to screw but I'm not sure you can go the other way around.

Thanks man. Ideal advice. Zero risk and future proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,546 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

errlloyd wrote: »

Thanks man. Ideal advice. Zero risk and future proof.
    Yes, but there are two different sizes of Edison screw. The mini size is getting more popular.

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Yes, but there are two different sizes of Edison screw. The mini size is getting more popular.

Lack of standardisation makes me cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Another election? Oh joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Terrible timing too with the stage Brexit is at. Don't think this will work out for FF. Varadkar right to not back down.

Varadkar 100% right not to back down. Incredibly foolish of SF and FF to try and undermine a relatively fragile government at this stage, It really shows they are thinking politics and not about the country.

Total lack of awarness and if it does go to the polls I hope they both get absolutely smashed for it.

All that said, she will definitely resign and that will be that. The two other parties will rub the governments nose in it and bring it up before the next election.

Honestly wish these lads could put the country first at this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

It would be a disaster for them to go to an election at this point. Critical point in Brexit and referendums coming down the line. Cutting the nose off to spite the face, comes to mind.

I'm not sure FF would even want to go to the people at this point. FG are looking solid enough in the polls right now and I'm not sure how much this current situation is going to hurt them.

With all that said, Varadkar has missed an opportunity to come out with some sort of boost in terms of PR by sacking Fitzgerald on this matter. He'd come across as decisive and actually taking some action in the McCabe situation. I can only hope she resigns at this point for the greater good and any election is deferred.

I find the SF motion of no confidence hilarious. Fair play to them for wanting to protect an honourable Garda like Jerry...I mean Maurice McCabe.

• We have an election, nobody has enough seats to form a Govt, potentially the only viable coalition is FF/FG + SF, neither of them will go into power with SF... so we need another confidence and supply agreement? What's the point?

We have an election, nobody has enough seats to form a Govt, potentially the only viable coalition is FF/FG + SF, neither of them will go into power with SF... so we need another confidence and supply agreement? What's the point?

I wouldn't rule out FF going in with SF. Martin would accept it to be Taoiseach.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Terrible timing too with the stage Brexit is at. Don't think this will work out for FF. Varadkar right to not back down.
    Hope to jesus people don't forget what FF have done to this country in the last 20 years. Can't wait for FF & FG to just amalgamate and get it done with.

• ClanofLams wrote: »
    I wouldn't rule out FF going in with SF. Martin would accept it to be Taoiseach.

Ugh. Would be about the most unforgivable thing they've done in the last 15 years imo, which is saying something.

Buer wrote: »
    It would be a disaster for them to go to an election at this point. Critical point in Brexit and referendums coming down the line. Cutting the nose off to spite the face, comes to mind.

I'm not sure FF would even want to go to the people at this point. FG are looking solid enough in the polls right now and I'm not sure how much this current situation is going to hurt them.

With all that said, Varadkar has missed an opportunity to come out with some sort of boost in terms of PR by sacking Fitzgerald on this matter. He'd come across as decisive and actually taking some action in the McCabe situation. I can only hope she resigns at this point for the greater good and any election is deferred.

I find the SF motion of no confidence hilarious. Fair play to them for wanting to protect an honourable Garda like Jerry...I mean Maurice McCabe.

Varadkar can only sack Francis Fitzgerald before the **** hit the fan. After the fact just makes it look like he is bowing to Fine Fail.

It's not even all that massive a scandal in my opinion, at least Francis Fitzgerald part in it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Also, not sure why FF are throwing their toys out of the pram over the email and have sfa to say about the acting commissioner deciding that no disciplinary action for falsified breath tests is absolutely fine. Oh wait....

I hope the Independents take a hammering too. Complete waste of time the vast majority of them and a roadblock to stable government.

It's probably/definitely too late now but a law like the one they have in Germany whereby you can't take a seat unless you're a member of a grouping that polls 5% nationwide would be brilliant.

ClanofLams wrote: »

Both FF and FG already came out last week and said they would not go into a government with SF.

Sinn Fein can make eyes all they want and claim they're ready to go into government in a coalitiion but they're still on the outside p*ssing in. I can't understand why they'd want an election at this point. They've their own leadership contest to go through yet and the unknown aspect of that surely won't increase their vote at this point.

Varadkar can only sack Francis Fitzgerald before the **** hit the fan. After the fact just makes it look like he is bowing to Fine Fail.

That's what I said; he has "missed an opportunity" :confused:

At this point, it needs to be a resignation from Fitzgerald or nothing.

• Buer wrote: »
    Both FF and FG already came out last week and said they would not go into a government with SF.

Sinn Fein can make eyes all they want and claim they're ready to go into government in a coalitiion but they're still on the outside p*ssing in. I can't understand why they'd want an election at this point. They've their own leadership contest to go through yet and the unknown aspect of that surely won't increase their vote at this point.

Elections give them the biggest possible platform to do what they do best - shout and scream and lie with absolutely no chance they will have to implement or be accountable for their nonsense.